DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 33 recites “the first side and the second side are transverse to one another”. This is not mentioned in the specification and is considered new matter. Note that transverse is defined as “situated or extending across something” so it is not clear what the intended relationship of the sides is meant to be and since it is not described with this term in the specification, it is especially unclear and the drawings are not sufficient to explain which sides are being referred to. Note that since the claims are generically referring to various sides and claiming different configurations of which sides are being referred to (i.e. compare claim 33-34 with claim 36), and since the specification does not use the term “transverse”, it becomes unclear which sides are even being referred to in each instance. This makes for an invention which will be difficult for the public to decipher if it were to become a patent.
Claim 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites “the first side and the second side are transverse to one another”. This is not mentioned in the specification and is considered new matter. Note that transverse is defined as “situated or extending across something” so it is not clear what the intended relationship of the sides is meant to be and since it is not described with this term in the specification, it is especially unclear and the drawings are not sufficient to explain which sides are being referred to. Note that since the claims are generically referring to various sides and claiming different configurations of which sides are being referred to (i.e. compare claim 33-34 with claim 36), and since the specification does not use the term “transverse”, it becomes unclear which sides are even being referred to in each instance. This makes for an invention which will be difficult for the public to decipher if it were to become a patent. The scope is thus unclear.
Claim 34 recites “the housing has a fourth housing bore formed into a third side, opposite the second side, of the housing, and the first housing bore and the second housing bore are positioned between the first side and the second side of the housing”. This appears to be claiming an impossible geometry since claim 28 requires that a plate has bores aligned with the first and second bores of the housing (and thus the first and second bores must be parallel to each other) and the plate is fastened to the first side. And claim 34 requires the housing bores to be between first and second sides of the housing so it is unclear how a third side could be opposite the second side. It appears this third side would actually be the first side and thus the entire claim is unclear and incomprehensible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 19, 21-23, 26, 28-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Barnett (PGPub 2017/0204852).
Re Claim 17, Barnett discloses a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic fluid pump, the fluid end assembly comprising: a housing (plurality elements 26 together; Fig. 20) having a first housing bore (at 293, Fig. 19) formed through a first side of the housing and a second housing bore (Fig. 18, bore where plunger 256 is inserted) formed through a second side, opposite the first side, of the housing (Fig. 18-19);a retainer 40 closing the first housing bore; a reciprocating element 256 extending through the second housing bore at the second side of the housing (Fig. 18); and a plate 161 coupled to the first side of the housing, the plate comprising: a first external surface abutting the housing; a second external surface opposite the first external surface; a wall extending from the first external surface to the second external surface to define a plate bore axially aligned with the first housing bore, the plate bore receiving the retainer and removably securing the retainer to close the first housing bore (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 19, Barnett discloses the plate 161 further comprises a plurality of fastener openings, each of the plurality of fastener openings extending through the plate so that a plurality of fasteners installed in the plurality of fastener openings can extend through the plate and into the housing to fasten the plate to the housing (Fig. 19; para. 127).
Re Claim 21, Barnett discloses the first housing bore and the second housing bore are circular (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 22, Barnett discloses the housing comprises a third housing bore formed through the first side, and the plate comprises an additional wall extending from the first external surface to the second external surface to define an additional plate bore axially aligned with the third housing bore of the housing (Fig. 19; on an adjacent element 26, Fig. 20; Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 23, Barnett discloses the plate bore and the additional plate bore are arranged side-by-side along the plate (Fig. 19, 20; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 26, Barnett discloses the retainer [is offset from the housing while positioned in the plate bore] (Fig. 19, 20; para. 127-136). The recitations noted in brackets [ ] above are considered functional language. Barnett discloses all the claimed structure of the plate assembly, which read on those of the instant invention. Therefore, the plate of Barnett is capable of performing the same desired functions as the instant invention as claimed.
Re Claim 28, Barnett discloses a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic fluid pump, the fluid end assembly comprising: a housing (plurality elements 26 together; Fig. 20) having a first housing bore 293 (Fig. 19; this bore being on a first element 26, Fig. 20) and a second housing bore 293 (Fig. 19; this bore being on an adjacent element 26, Fig. 20); a plate 161 fastened to a first side of the housing, the plate having a first plate bore aligned with the first housing bore and a second plate bore aligned with the second housing bore (Fig. 19; para. 127); a first retainer 40 (Fig. 19; on a first element 26, Fig. 20) engaging the first plate bore and closing the first housing bore; a second retainer 40 (Fig. 19; on an adjacent element 26, Fig. 20) engaging the second plate bore and closing the second housing bore; and a reciprocating element 256 extending into the housing at a second side, different from the first side, of the housing (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 29, Barnett discloses the reciprocating element extends into the housing toward the first housing bore or the second housing bore (Fig. 19-20).
Re Claim 30, Barnett discloses the first retainer extends at least partially out of the first plate bore, and the second retainer extends at least partially out of the second plate bore (Fig. 19-20).
Re Claim 31, Barnett discloses the housing has a third housing bore, and the reciprocating element extends into the housing via the third housing bore (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 32, Barnett discloses a packing arrangement 54 disposed in the third housing bore and surrounding the reciprocating element (Fig. 18-22; para. 136).
Re Claim 33, as best understood, Barnett discloses the first side and the second side are transverse to one another (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 34, as best understood, Barnett discloses the housing has a fourth housing bore formed into a third side, opposite the second side, of the housing, and the first housing bore and the second housing bore are positioned between the first side and the second side of the housing (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 35, Barnett discloses the first housing bore is an outlet bore (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Re Claim 36, Barnett discloses the first side and the second side are opposite one another (Fig. 18-22; para. 127-136).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett in view of Patterson (PGPub 2017/0107983).
Re Claim 18, Barnett discloses the retainer includes external threads which can threadedly engaging internal threads (Fig. 19; para. 127) but does not disclose the wall includes internal threads. However, Patterson teaches a plate 15 with a bore having internal threading and a retainer 18 with external threads (para. 21). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize internal threads on a bore wall and a retainer with external threads, as taught by Patterson, since use of internal and external threads are a well-known and effective technique for retaining components and is extremely well-known configuration in the art and it would provide extra reinforcement of the fastener.
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 20, 28-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,131,295.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of '295 "anticipate" the broader claims of the present application. Accordingly, the claims of the present application are not patentably distinct from those in '190. Since it is clear that the more specific '295 claims encompass the claims of the present application, following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20, 24-25, 27 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if double patenting rejections are overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 17-36 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799