DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Child data
PCT/US24/49163 filed on 09/29/2024 is a of 18391045, filed on 12/20/2023.
Information Disclosure statements
Applicant has no Information Disclosure statements (IDS) on file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fliszar et al (US 2022/0320718) in view of Odes (US 2025/0105529).
Regarding claim 1, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system) comprising:
a non-conductive substrate (Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
an antenna formed onto at least a portion of the non-conductive substrate (Antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate. Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate. Antenna 1102 can be located at the location of the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, [0027], line 1, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
a shielding element that at least partially encloses the non-conductive substrate and the antenna formed onto the non-conductive substrate, wherein the shielding element structurally secures the antenna and the non-conductive substrate to a substructure of the system (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8); and
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 2, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the antenna and the shielding element are detachably coupled together (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 3, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the antenna coupled to the shielding element comprises a single, combined component that is installed within the substructure of the system as a single unit (The antennas 1102 and 1104 can be coupled to the same surface of the housing 860, or to different surfaces of the housing 860 that are orthogonal, [0108], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the system comprises a pair of augmented reality (AR) glasses (display 812 displacement results in a boresight shift (i.e., the FOV of the projector is shifted from being parallel to the optical axis of rotational symmetry). This is advantageous in an augmented reality (AR) system because this enables the projector at a non-normal angle to a waveguide, such as used in eyewear optics, allowing for a better fit in the industrial design supporting a larger pantoscopic tilt, [0073], lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 5, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the substructure of the system comprises at least one of: a lens housing, a nose bridge, or a glasses side arm (fig. 1A, In the eyeglasses example, the right hinge 126B (glasses side arm) connects the right temple 110B to a right temple 125B of the eyewear device 100, [0050], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the antenna, the non-conductive substrate, and the shielding element are installed as a single unit in a hinged corner of the AR glasses (display 812 displacement results in a boresight shift (i.e., the FOV of the projector is shifted from being parallel to the optical axis of rotational symmetry). This is advantageous in an augmented reality (AR) system because this enables the projector at a non-normal angle to a waveguide, such as used in eyewear optics, allowing for a better fit in the industrial design supporting a larger pantoscopic tilt, [0073], lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 7, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the grounding element comprises a grounding screw that is grounded to the substructure of the system.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein the grounding element comprises a grounding screw that is grounded to the substructure of the system (Antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18. In various implementations, the circuit board 2104 may be fixed to the tapered side portion 24 of the UWB antenna, such as by fasteners (e.g., screws), using an adhesive (e.g., electrically conductive), via soldering, or in another suitable manner, [0051], lines 4-5 and [0087], 3-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of wherein the grounding element comprises a grounding screw that is grounded to the substructure of the system of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the shielding element shares the grounding screw with a main logic board of the system.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein the shielding element shares the grounding screw with a main logic board of the system(Antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18. In various implementations, the circuit board 2104 may be fixed to the tapered side portion 24 of the UWB antenna, such as by fasteners (e.g., screws), using an adhesive (e.g., electrically conductive), via soldering, or in another suitable manner, [0051], lines 4-5 and [0087], 3-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of wherein the shielding element shares the grounding screw with a main logic board of the system of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the shielding element provides electrical shielding for at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a camera, or a microphone (FIG. 1B is a top cross-sectional view of a temple of the eyewear device of FIG. 1A depicting a visible light camera, [0006], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the shielding element provides electrical shielding for one or more flex connectors that run between the antenna and an antenna feed (The antennas 1102 and 1104 can be coupled to the same surface of the housing 860, or to different surfaces of the housing 860 that are orthogonal, [0108], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Fliszar et al discloses system (FIG. 2A is a rear view of an example hardware configuration of an eyewear device, which includes an eye scanner on a frame, for use in a system for identifying a user of the eyewear device, [0007], lines 1-2),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of further comprising an antenna grounding clip and a cable grounding clip, wherein the antenna grounding clip secures the antenna to the grounding element, and wherein the cable grounding clip secures one or more conductive cables between the antenna and an antenna feed to the grounding element.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of further comprising an antenna grounding clip and a cable grounding clip, wherein the antenna grounding clip secures the antenna to the grounding element, and wherein the cable grounding clip secures one or more conductive cables between the antenna and an antenna feed to the grounding element (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of further comprising an antenna grounding clip and a cable grounding clip, wherein the antenna grounding clip secures the antenna to the grounding element, and wherein the cable grounding clip secures one or more conductive cables between the antenna and an antenna feed to the grounding element of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the non-conductive substrate includes a channel for the antenna (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8);.
Regarding claim 13, Fliszar et al discloses system (fig. 2A, system), wherein the channel for the antenna is capped on at least one end of the channel (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 14, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device) comprising:
a non-conductive substrate (Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
an antenna formed onto at least a portion of the non-conductive substrate (Antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate. Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate. Antenna 1102 can be located at the location of the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, [0027], line 1, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
a shielding element that at least partially encloses the non-conductive substrate and the antenna formed onto the non-conductive substrate, wherein the shielding element structurally secures the antenna and the non-conductive substrate to a substructure of the mobile electronic device (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8); and
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 15, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the shielding element provides additional system grounding for one or more electronic components positioned next to the shielding element.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein the shielding element provides additional system grounding for one or more electronic components positioned next to the shielding element (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of wherein the shielding element provides additional system grounding for one or more electronic components positioned next to the shielding element of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device), wherein the shielding element is configured to provide electrical shielding for one or more electronic components that are positioned next to the antenna (FIG. 1B is a top cross-sectional view of a temple of the eyewear device of FIG. 1A depicting a visible light camera, [0006], line 1, [0032], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein a laser is implemented to weld one or more antenna grounding clip attachment points to the shielding element.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein a laser is implemented to weld one or more antenna grounding clip attachment points to the shielding element (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of further comprising an antenna grounding clip and a cable grounding clip, wherein the antenna grounding clip secures the antenna to the grounding element, and wherein the cable grounding clip secures one or more conductive cables between the antenna and an antenna feed to the grounding element of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the antenna grounding clip is electrically connected to a grounded screw, and wherein the grounded screw forms a grounding connection for a plurality of other electronic system components.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein the antenna grounding clip is electrically connected to a grounded screw, and wherein the grounded screw forms a grounding connection for a plurality of other electronic system components (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of wherein the antenna grounding clip is electrically connected to a grounded screw, and wherein the grounded screw forms a grounding connection for a plurality of other electronic system components of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Fliszar et al discloses mobile electronic device (fig. 1A, eyewear device),
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the antenna is formed using laser direct structuring.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of wherein the antenna is formed using laser direct structuring (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of wherein the antenna is formed using laser direct structuring of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Fliszar et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1A, eyewear device) comprising:
a non-conductive substrate (Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
an antenna formed onto at least a portion of the non-conductive substrate (Antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate. Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 is a substrate. Antenna 1102 can be located at the location of the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, [0027], line 1, [0104], lines 2, 5 and 7);
a shielding element that at least partially encloses the non-conductive substrate and the antenna formed onto the non-conductive substrate, wherein the shielding element structurally secures the antenna and the non-conductive substrate to a substructure of the apparatus (figs. 10 and 11, housing element 860 (shielding element) that houses (encloses) the Conductor-free volume of Projector 150 substrate and the antenna is coupled to the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, wherein the housing element 860 houses the antenna 1102 and the conductor-free volume of projector 150 substrate, such as on the inside the surface of the housing system 860, [0028], lines 1-7 and [0104], lines 1-8); and
Fliszar et al does not specifically disclose concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded.
However, Odes specifically teaches concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded (antenna feed 46 (antenna) can include an inner conductor of a coaxial cable and a woven copper shield (shielding element) (not shown) of the coaxial cable can be connected to the ground plane 18, [0051], lines 4-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Fliszar et al with concept of grounding element to which the shielding element and the antenna are grounded of Odes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve ultra wide band antennas with radio frequency (RF) baluns, (Odes, [0002], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681