DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “most closely”. However, the claim limitation is indefinite. The Examiner cannot determine what the applicant is intended to claim as the claim is indefinite. Therefore, the claim is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor intended and/or regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0007096 A1), hereinafter “HUANG”.
Regarding claim 1, HUANG teaches, ‘A communication method, wherein the method
comprises:’ (Paragraph [0005], A method and apparatus are disclosed from the perspective of a first User Equipment (UE)… the method includes the first UE being configured or pre-configured with a sidelink resource pool for sidelink transmission):
‘sending first sidelink control information (SCI) in N first time units,’ (Paragraph [0005], the method includes the first UE transmitting a SCI (Sidelink Control Information) and the TB on the first resource in a slot (corresponds to N first time unit) to a second UE),
‘wherein the first SCI indicates first configuration information, the first configuration information indicates a resource of a first periodic transmission,’ (Paragraph [0368], The first UE may transmit an initial or new sidelink transmission of the first TB in the first slot. The first (scheduling) SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) (corresponds to first configuration information) could include long term reserved resource(s)... The long-term reserved resource(s) may be in a periodic manner (corresponds to first periodic transmission) (e.g., every Z ms)),
‘the resource of the first periodic transmission comprises a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource,’ (Paragraph [0369], The first SCI could indicate time domain and/or frequency domain of the first number of quantity or resource(s) (e.g., occupied which slot and/or occupied which sub-channel(s) in the sidelink resource pool),
‘the first periodic transmission comprises M transmissions, a transmission cycle of the first periodic transmission is a first cycle,’ (Paragraph [0366], …more number retransmissions for sidelink (e.g., sidelink blind retransmission and/or HARQ-ACK based sidelink retransmission) are considered (corresponds to M transmissions = initial transmission + subsequent retransmissions). Paragraph [0368], The first UE may transmit an initial or new sidelink transmission of the first TB in the first slot. The first (scheduling) SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) could include long term reserved resource(s)... The long-term reserved resource(s) may be in a periodic manner (corresponds to first periodic transmission, first cycle) (e.g., every Z ms duplicate the short-term reserved resource(s))),
‘the M transmissions correspond to P transmission time units, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, M is an integer less than or equal to P, and P is an integer greater than N;’ (Paragraph [0371], The size of the first field could be pool-specific. The first field could be a common part in a SCI. Common may mean that an RX UE could be acknowledged or aware that the reserved resource indicated by the SCI (corresponds to M transmissions) after monitoring or receiving the SCI. If the sidelink resource pool supporting an SCI could reserve at most Y reserved resource(s) (which is future reserved resource(s) – corresponds to P, reserved larger set of future slots, M ≤ P), the size of the first field in a SCI could be ceiling (log2(Y)). Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI … in a first slot (corresponds to N=1, a single SCI physically sent in one slot, P > N));
‘and sending, in N second time units, second SCI associated with the first SCI, wherein the first SCI sent in the N first time units and the second SCI sent in the N second time units are used to schedule the M transmissions.’ (Paragraph [0371], The size of the first field could be pool-specific. The first field could be a common part in a SCI. Common may mean that an RX UE could be acknowledged or aware that the reserved resource indicated by the SCI (corresponds to M transmissions) after monitoring or receiving the SCI. For two-stage SCI where the first stage SCI (corresponds to N first time units) could indicate information for more than one sidelink UEs… and the second stage SCI (corresponds to N second time units) could indicate UE-specific or group-specific information… Paragraph [0140], SCI format 1 (corresponds to N first time units) is used for the scheduling of PSSCH (corresponds to N second time units). Paragraph [0192], SCI includes at least one SCI format which includes the information necessary to decode the corresponding PSSCH).
Regarding claim 15, HUANG teaches, ‘A communication device, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0046],
communication device 300):
‘one or more processors;’ (Paragraph [0046], a central processing unit (CPU) 308);
‘one or more memories;’ (Paragraph [0046], a memory 310);
‘and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored
in the one or more memories, the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors of the communication device, the communication device is enabled to perform operations comprising:’ (Paragraph [0046], The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300):
‘sending first sidelink control information (SCI) in N first time units,’ (Paragraph [0005], the method includes the first UE transmitting a SCI (Sidelink Control Information) and the TB on the first resource in a slot (corresponds to N first time unit) to a second UE),
‘wherein the first SCI indicates first configuration information, the first configuration information indicates a resource of a first periodic transmission,’ (Paragraph [0368], The first UE may transmit an initial or new sidelink transmission of the first TB in the first slot. The first (scheduling) SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) (corresponds to first configuration information) could include long term reserved resource(s)... The long-term reserved resource(s) may be in a periodic manner (corresponds to first periodic transmission) (e.g., every Z ms)),
‘the resource of the first periodic transmission comprises a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource,’ (Paragraph [0369], The first SCI could indicate time domain and/or frequency domain of the first number of quantity or resource(s) (e.g., occupied which slot and/or occupied which sub-channel(s) in the sidelink resource pool),
‘the first periodic transmission comprises M transmissions, a transmission cycle of the first periodic transmission is a first cycle,’ (Paragraph [0366], …more number retransmissions for sidelink (e.g., sidelink blind retransmission and/or HARQ-ACK based sidelink retransmission) are considered (corresponds to M transmissions = initial transmission + subsequent retransmissions). Paragraph [0368], The first UE may transmit an initial or new sidelink transmission of the first TB in the first slot. The first (scheduling) SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) could include long term reserved resource(s)... The long-term reserved resource(s) may be in a periodic manner (corresponds to first periodic transmission, first cycle) (e.g., every Z ms duplicate the short-term reserved resource(s))),
‘the M transmissions correspond to P transmission time units, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, M is an integer less than or equal to P, and P is an integer greater than N;’ (Paragraph [0371], The size of the first field could be pool-specific. The first field could be a common part in a SCI. Common may mean that an RX UE could be acknowledged or aware that the reserved resource indicated by the SCI (corresponds to M transmissions) after monitoring or receiving the SCI. If the sidelink resource pool supporting an SCI could reserve at most Y reserved resource(s) (which is future reserved resource(s) – corresponds to P, reserved larger set of future slots, M ≤ P), the size of the first field in a SCI could be ceiling (log2(Y)). Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI … in a first slot (corresponds to N=1, a single SCI physically sent in one slot, P > N));
‘and sending, in N second time units, second SCI associated with the first SCI, wherein the first SCI sent in the N first time units and the second SCI sent in the N second time units are used to schedule the M transmissions.’ (Paragraph [0371], The size of the first field could be pool-specific. The first field could be a common part in a SCI. Common may mean that an RX UE could be acknowledged or aware that the reserved resource indicated by the SCI (corresponds to M transmissions) after monitoring or receiving the SCI. For two-stage SCI where the first stage SCI (corresponds to N first time units) could indicate information for more than one sidelink UEs… and the second stage SCI (corresponds to N second time units) could indicate UE-specific or group-specific information… Paragraph [0140], SCI format 1 (corresponds to N first time units) is used for the scheduling of PSSCH (corresponds to N second time units). Paragraph [0192], SCI includes at least one SCI format which includes the information necessary to decode the corresponding PSSCH).
Regarding claim 16, HUANG teaches, ‘A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,
wherein the computer-readable storage medium is configured to store a computer program, and when the computer program is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method according to claim 1.’ (Paragraph [0480], computer-readable storage medium … may be coupled to a computer/ processor can read information (e.g., code) from and write information to the storage medium. … any suitable computer-program product may comprise a computer-readable medium comprising codes relating to one or more of the aspects of the disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of Fong et al. (US 2022/0015109 A1), hereinafter “FONG”
Regarding claim 2, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI further indicates an index of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0090], A configuration index of SPS control signaling utilized for activating/deactivating SPS for a sidelink groupcast according to aspects of the disclosure may be conveyed using a SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to first SCI) message and/or a SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) message. Paragraph [0012], the activation state indicator being transmitted at least in part via one or more fields of a SCI format 0-1 message, one or more fields of a SCI format 0-2 message, or a combination thereof. Paragraph [0093], the configuration index may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters for the SPS [Semi-Persistent Scheduling] sidelink groupcast. … such as one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number of times that a TB [Transport Block] … can be transmitted. Paragraph [0107], a configuration index together indicate a set of parameters associated with the SPS for the sidelink groupcast (e.g., one or more parameters, such as a periodicity …)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 3, HUANG and FONG teach, The method according to claim 2, HUANG does not
explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI further indicates hybrid automatic repeat request (HARO) information of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG - Paragraph [0091], one or more bits of a HARQ process ID within the HARQ process ID field of a corresponding SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) message may specify an index value of the configuration index. Paragraph [0115], HARQ process ID field is set to the HARQ process ID of the SPS. …transmitting a second SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to first SCI) message… a second SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) message… wherein a same HARQ process ID as used for original transmission of the groupcast TB is used for retransmitting. Paragraph [0012], a combination of contents of a field of the SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to first SCI) message indicating group SPS and a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identification field specifying an index value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 4, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG does not
explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI indicates that the first configuration information is valid or is no longer valid or is invalid.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0087], An activation state indicator … may be conveyed using a SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to first SCI) message and/or SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) message. Paragraph [0088], an activation state indicator may indicate activation of the SPS… when… frequency and time resource assignments… are feasible (corresponds to valid)). …indicate deactivation of the SPS… when… frequency and time resource assignments… are not feasible (e.g., invalid values, such as all set to all 0s - corresponds to no longer valid/invalid)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 5, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG does not
explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the second SCI further indicates a source address and a destination address that are associated with a service of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0066], SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) provides fields for HARQ process ID, new data indicator, redundancy version, source ID, destination ID, and channel state information (CSI) request. Paragraph [0012], transmitting, by the first UE, a first SCI format 0-1 message for the sidelink groupcast, transmitting, by the first UE, a first SCI format 0-2 message for the sidelink groupcast, wherein the SPS control signaling for the sidelink groupcast transmitted by the first UE is included in
the SCI format 0-1 message, the SCI format 0-2 message, or a combination thereof. Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 6, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches,
‘wherein an ith second time unit in the N second time units is a time unit for sending one transport block…’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI… in a second slot, may be later than the first slot in the time domain (corresponds to ith second time unit). Paragraph [0367], SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying a first TB (Transport Block) in a first slot (corresponds to time unit for sending one TB). Paragraph [0365], A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot offset… between the first resource and the second resource (corresponds to first time offset).
‘or a first time offset exists between the ith second time unit in the N second time units and a latest sending time unit of a transport block,’ (Paragraph [0365], A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot offset… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI… in a second slot, may be later than the first slot in the time domain (corresponds to ith second time unit)),
‘i is any integer from 0 to N-1, the latest sending time unit of the transport block is later than the ith second time unit,’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI… in a second slot, may be later than the first slot in the time domain (corresponds to ith second time unit). Paragraph [0375], The first SCI could indicate a first number of reserved resource (e.g., in this example, the first number is 3) for the first TB. … The first UE could transmit a second SCI in slot tn+k· The second SCI could indicate a second number of reserved resource (e.g., in this example, the second number is 2) for the first TB (corresponds to I indexing from 0 to total count minus one (N-1) e.g., from 3 to 2)).
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘…in the M transmissions, and i is any integer from 0 to N-1;’ (FONG – Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700. Paragraph [0080], a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs in facilitating SPS sidelink groupcast. Paragraph [0107], A configuration index (corresponds to index i within periodic resources N (0 to N-1), allocated for M transmissions of a groupcast service) may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters including one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted);
‘and the transport block is one transport block in the M transmissions.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0073], to schedule PSSCH and transmit data (e.g., one or more transport block TB through the PSSCH... Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented… to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages (corresponds to M transmissions) via one or more sidelinks. Paragraph [0093], The SPS sidelink groupcast configuration my indicate a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 7, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches,
‘wherein the first time unit is the same as the second time unit;’ (Paragraph [0371], Paragraph [0371], The size of the first field could be pool-specific. The first field could be a common part in a SCI. Common may mean that an RX UE could be acknowledged or aware that the reserved resource indicated by the SCI after monitoring or receiving the SCI. For two-stage SCI where the first stage SCI (corresponds to first time unit) could indicate information for more than one sidelink UEs… and the second stage SCI (corresponds to second time units) could indicate UE-specific or group-specific information… Paragraph [0382], The third field and the first field could be same field in the
first SCI. Paragraph [0376], Occupied sub-channel(s) of the reserved resource in the third slot… is the same as the first slot);
‘or a second time offset exists between an ith first time unit and the ith second time unit,’ (Paragraph [0365], A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot offset… between the first resource and the second resource),
‘and the second time offset is indicated by the first SCI, (Paragraph [0365], A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot offset… between the first resource and the second resource),
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘or is predefined or preconfigured.’ (FONG –Paragraph [0107], a configuration index together indicate a set of parameters associated with the SPS for the sidelink groupcast (e.g., one or more parameters, such as a periodicity… Paragraph [0093], SPS sidelink groupcast configurations may be preconfigured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 8, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches,
wherein the method further comprises: ‘sending third SCI in K first time units,’ (Paragraph [0373], The
first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI (corresponds to third SCI) in a reserved resource… in a
second slot (corresponds to K first time units, as subset of time units), may be later than the first slot in
the time domain);
‘wherein the K first time units are associated with K transport blocks…’ (Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying a first TB (Transport Block) in a first slot. Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource … and/or a second resource ... A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot offset (corresponds to K first time units)… between the first resource and the second resource)…
‘the third SCI indicates second configuration information,’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may
transmit a second (scheduling) SCI (corresponds to third SCI) in a reserved resource… in a second slot,
may be later than the first slot in the time domain. Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control
Information) … could indicate a first resource … and/or a second resource... A time gap field
(corresponds to configuration information) in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot
offset… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraph [0368], The first (scheduling)
SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) could include long term
reserved resource(s) (corresponds to second configuration information)).
‘and a jth transport block in the N transport blocks is a transport block that occurs in a j second
time unit in the N second time units…’ (Paragraph [0375], the first UE transmits a first SCI in the slot tn. The first SCI schedules a PSSCH carrying a first TB (corresponds to first TB j=0, jth transport block) in the slot tn. Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource (corresponds to transmission of a TB) … and/or a second resource (corresponds to retransmission of the TB, N transport blocks)... A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot (corresponds to N second time units) offset… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource… in a second slot (corresponds to jth second time unit), may be later than the first slot in the time domain)…
‘or a transport block that most closely follows the jth second time unit in the N second time units,’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource… in a second slot (corresponds to jth second time unit), may be later than the first slot in the time domain. Paragraph [0365], A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset(corresponds to N second time units) via logical slot offset… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraphs [0375], The first SCI could indicate a first number of reserved resource (e.g., in this example, the first number is 3 (corresponds to N second time units where N=3)),
‘…indicated by the first SCI sent most recently before the third SCI is sent,’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource (corresponds to indicated by the first SCI)… in a second slot),
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘…in the M transmissions,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented… to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages (corresponds to M transmissions) via one or more sidelinks),
‘the K transport blocks are transport blocks in the M transmissions other than N transport blocks,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation… the sidelink TX UE may omit (corresponds to K transport blocks existing in M transmissions other than the initial N blocks) transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to N transport blocks accompanied by first SCI) messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (corresponds to K transport blocks). Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented… to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages (corresponds to M transmissions) via one or more sidelinks),
‘wherein the second configuration information is the same as all or some information comprised in first configuration information…’ (FONG – Paragraph [0077], Existing V2X protocols… require a sidelink TX UE… to groupcast SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages… even when the SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages remain the same),
‘and K is a positive integer less than or equal to P-N.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0107], A configuration index may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters including one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number (corresponds to P) of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted. Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700). Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation… the sidelink TX UE may omit (corresponds to K transport blocks existing in M transmissions other than the initial N blocks) transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to N transport blocks accompanied by first SCI) messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (corresponds to K transport blocks, K≤P-N, where N: count of initial activation messages [0078], K: number of subsequent messages, remaining slots available in the periodic schedule after N is subtracted from the total P).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 9, HUANG and FONG teach, The method according to claim 8, HUNAG does
not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, wherein the method further comprises: ‘skipping sending the second SCI associated with the third SCI.’ (FONG - Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation… the sidelink TX UE may omit (corresponds to skipping) transmission of both SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to third SCI) and SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 10, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches, wherein the method further comprises: ‘and the jth transport block in the N transport blocks is a transport block that occurs in the jth second time unit in the N second time units…’ (Paragraph [0375], the first UE transmits a first SCI in the slot tn. The first SCI schedules a PSSCH carrying a first TB (corresponds to first TB j=0, jth transport block) in the slot tn. Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource (corresponds to transmission of a TB) … and/or a second resource (corresponds to retransmission of the TB, N transport blocks)... A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot (corresponds to N second time units) offset… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource… in a second slot (corresponds to jth second time unit), may be later than the first slot in the time domain)…
‘or a transport block that most closely follows the j second time unit in the N second time units.’ (Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource (corresponds to transmission of a TB) … and/or a second resource (corresponds to retransmission of the TB, N transport blocks)... A time gap field in the SCI could indicate time domain offset via logical slot (corresponds to N second time units) offset (corresponds to TB is scheduled in a resource that follows the control unity by minimal interval)… between the first resource and the second resource. Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource… in a second slot (corresponds to jth second time unit), may be later than the first slot in the time domain. The reserved resource in the second slot could be used for retransmission of the first TB).
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘skipping sending the second SCI in P-N
second time units,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation (corresponds to N units at the initial activation)… the sidelink TX UE may omit (corresponds to skipping) transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (corresponds P-N, where N: count of initial activation messages, P-N: remaining slots available in the periodic schedule after N is subtracted from the total P). Paragraph [0107], A configuration index may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters including one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number (corresponds to P) of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted).
‘wherein the P-N second time units are associated with P-N transport blocks in the M transmissions other than the N transport blocks,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying a first TB (Transport Block) in a first slot (corresponds to time unit) in the sidelink resource pool. Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation (corresponds to N units at the initial activation)… the sidelink TX UE may omit transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (corresponds P-N, where N: count of initial activation messages, P-N: remaining slots available in the periodic schedule after N is subtracted from the total P). Paragraph [0107], A configuration index may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters including one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number (corresponds to P) of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted),
‘…in the M transmissions,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 11, HUANG and FONG teach, The method according to claim 10, HUANG
further teaches, wherein the method further comprises: ‘sending a first transport block… on a first resource,’ (Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource (corresponds to transmission of a TB)… Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first
(scheduling) SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying a first TB (Transport Block)).
‘the first resource comprises a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource,’ (Paragraph [0369], The first SCI could indicate time domain and/or frequency domain of the first number of quantity or resource(s) (e.g., occupied which slot and/or occupied which sub-channel(s) in the sidelink resource pool)
‘and the first resource is determined based on a latest first SCI before the first resource.’ (Paragraph [0373], The first UE may transmit a second (scheduling) SCI in a reserved resource… in a second slot (corresponds to latest), may be later than the first slot in the time domain).
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘…of the periodic transmission…’ (FONG - Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700)),
‘wherein the first transport block is one of the P-N transport blocks,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0078], …after the sidelink TX UE groupcasts the activation (corresponds to N units at the initial activation)… the sidelink TX UE may omit transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (corresponds P-N, where N: count of initial activation messages, P-N: remaining slots available in the periodic schedule after N is subtracted from the total P). Paragraph [0107], A configuration index may provide an index to one or more parameters of a set of parameters including one or more of a SPS RNTI, a periodicity of the sidelink groupcast, and/or a maximum number (corresponds to P) of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 12, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI further indicates whether to send the second SCI associated with the first SCI.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0086], an extra field may be added inside of the SCI format 0-1 (corresponds to first SCI) (e.g., a 1-bit SPS indicator field – corresponds to whether to send) to indicate the presence of group SPS information in the SCI format 0-1 message and/or corresponding SCI format 0-2 (corresponds to second SCI) message. Paragraph [0097], subsequent PSSCH groupcast data transmissions… may be accompanied by no SCI or only a SCI format 0-1 message when… activation of the SPS… is complete).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 13, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG does not
explicitly teach but FONG teaches, wherein the method further comprises: ‘sending third configuration information,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0082], SPS control signaling utilized for activating/deactivating SPS for a sidelink groupcast may include a SPS indicator… an activation/deactivation indicator… and a
configuration index (e.g., conveyed at least in part via one or more fields of a SCI format 0-1 message and/or SCI format 0-2 message).
‘wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a second cycle, the second cycle is a cycle for a receive end of the first periodic transmission to detect the first SCI,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0093], …a configuration index may identify the group SPS configuration for a SPS sidelink groupcast, such as may provide parameters such as… periodicity of group SPS, the maximum number of times that a TB can be transmitted using the configured grant, etc.),
‘and the second cycle is greater than or equal to the first cycle.’ (FONG – Paragraph [100], updating of a SPS configuration for a SPS sidelink groupcast may be performed… using a different SPS configuration… for reactivating or updating (corresponds to greater than or equal to) a SPS sidelink groupcast using a different SPS configuration. Paragraph [0093], …a configuration index may identify the group SPS configuration for a SPS sidelink groupcast, such as may provide parameters such as… periodicity of group SPS (corresponds to longer periodicity (Second cycle > First Cycle), if reactivate, same periodicity (Second cycle = First cycle), the maximum number of times that a TB can be transmitted using the configured grant, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Regarding claim 14, HUANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches,
wherein the method further comprises: ‘sending fourth configuration information,’ (Paragraph [0365], A SCI (Sidelink Control Information) … could indicate a first resource (corresponds to transmission of a TB) … and/or a second resource (corresponds to retransmission of the TB). Paragraph [0452], the first UE may select a third resource (for a retransmission of the TB),
‘wherein the fourth configuration information indicates a quantity of transport blocks comprised in each transmission…’ (Paragraphs [0375], The first SCI could indicate a first number of reserved resource (e.g., in this example, the first number is 3 – corresponds to quantity of transport blocks, fourth configuration information) for the first TB),
‘…that is occupied… ‘(Paragraph [0367], The first UE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying (corresponds to occupied) a first TB (Transport Block) in a first slot)....
HUANG does not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘…of the first periodic transmission,’ (FONG - Paragraph [0077], Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is implemented according to aspects of the present disclosure to facilitate the transmission of periodic messages via one or more sidelinks (e.g., the sidelinks of CPE communication configuration700)),
‘and/or a resource of the first periodic transmission and… by a transport block comprised in each transmission.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0107], A configuration index may provide an index to… a maximum number of times that a TB for the sidelink groupcast can be transmitted using the configured grant (corresponds to each transmission)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG is that FONG provides SPS for sidelink groupcast that a sidelink TX UE may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs, such as through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast. After activation, the sidelink TX UE (V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast, where control overhead is reduced with respect to the sidelink groupcasts. Such reduced control overhead may provide improved reliability with respect to the periodic sidelink groupcast data, such as through freeing bandwidth of the sidelink resources for more robust PSSCH data transmission. (See paragraph [0078], FONG)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479