DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 05/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 are pending in the
application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because
the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0007096 A1), hereinafter “HUANG” in view of Xue et al. (US 2022/0400468 A1), hereinafter “XUE”
Regarding claim 1, HUANG teaches, ‘A communication method, wherein the method comprises:’ (Paragraph [0439]: A first UE could be (pre-)configured with a (sidelink) resource pool in a carrier or cell for sidelink transmission. The first UE could transmit a first SCI scheduling a sidelink transmission of a TB):
‘sending first sidelink control information (SCI) in N first time units, wherein a time unit corresponds to a transmission duration or a transmission slot,’ (Paragraph [0367]: A first UE may perform sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource pool. The first VE may transmit a first (scheduling) SCI indicating a scheduled PSSCH carrying a first TB (Transport Block) in a first slot in the sidelink
resource pool; Paragraph [0359]: Slot: A slot could be a scheduling unit in NR. A slot duration has 14 OFDM symbols),
‘wherein the first SCI indicates first configuration information, the first configuration information indicates a resource of a first periodic transmission, the resource of the first periodic transmission comprises a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource,’ (Paragraphs [0368]-[0369]: The first (scheduling) SCI could indicate (future) reserved resource(s). The reserved resource(s) could include long term reserved resource(s) and/or short-term reserved resource(s).
The long-term reserved resource(s) may be in a periodic manner (e.g., every Z ms duplicate the short-term reserved resource(s))… The first SCI could indicate a first number of quantity or resource(s) for short-term reserved resource(s). The first SCI could indicate time domain and/or frequency domain of the first number of quantity or resource(s) (e.g., occupied which slot and/or occupied which sub-channel(s) in the sidelink resource pool)),
‘the first periodic transmission comprises M transmissions, a transmission cycle of the first periodic transmission is a first cycle, the M transmissions correspond to P transmission time units, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, M is an integer less than or equal to P, and P is an integer greater than N;’ (Paragraph [0405]: the maximum number of reserved resource for a TB could be [(maximum value of N1)+1] times [(maximum value of N2)+1]; Paragraph [0375]: The first SCI schedules a PSSCH carrying a first TB in the slot tn. The first SCI could indicate a first number of reserved resource (e.g., in this example, the first number is 3) for the first TB. The first SCI could indicate an equally spaced timing between each two consecutive/adjacent slot containing the (indicated) reserved resource for the first TB. The equally spaced timing in this example is k (in unit of slot in a sidelink resource pool) [Note: a periodic structure where the overarching calculation parameters ensure that total transmission slots (P) outnumber initial control signal occasions (N), inherently supporting the mandatory P > N framework]);
HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘and sending, in N second time units, second SCI associated with the first SCI,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0097]: further comprising configuring a first stage-two sidelink control information (SCI) within the one or more first temporal resources and a second stage-two SCI within the one or more second temporal resources),
‘wherein the first SCI sent in the N first time units and the second SCI sent in the N second time units are used to schedule the M transmissions,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0070]: The peer UE receiving the TBs may decode the PSCCH information in the slot and/or corresponding stage-two sidelink control information (SCI)… to decode the data information in the PSSCH),
‘and wherein the N first time units are different than the N second time units.’ (XUE – Paragraph [0081]: FIG. 6 illustrates an example of cross-slot scheduling. In an implementation, a first slot 600 may include first SCI (such as a legacy SCI) 602. The first slot 600 may include a cross-slot schedule 604. The cross-slot schedule 604 may include a first pointer 662 pointing to data and/or control information of a second slot 630. The second slot 630 may include control information 634; Paragraph [0075]: In some aspects, a cross-slot schedule… may be performed at a later TB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
Regarding claim 6, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches, ‘…and i is any integer from 0 to N-1;’ (Paragraph [0070]: with sub-channel x+j in subframe
TYSL where j=0, ... , LsubCH-1 [Note: defining the zero-indexed integer boundaries of N sequential items using index variable i spanning from 0 to N-1 represents a standard, mathematically inherent system-indexing convention, employing this exact zero-indexing nomenclature (e.g., j=0, …, L-1) to iteratively index temporal/frequency elements within the sidelink channel footprint]);
HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘wherein an ith second time unit in the N second time units is a time unit for sending one transport block in the M transmissions,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0033]: Stage-two SCI may be carried by the PSSCH, which may include further control information regarding the decoding of the TBs in the PSSCH; Paragraph [0006]: transmitting the low-latency TB and the non-low-latency TB via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and the control information via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to one or more peer UEs [Note: the stage-two/second SCI and its scheduled transport block (TB) are both carried and transmitted within the exact same physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) slot profile. The slot/second time unit used for the second SCI is structurally the exact same time unit used for sending the corresponding transport block]),…
‘or a first time offset exists between the ith second time unit in the N second time units and a latest sending time unit of a transport block, i is any integer from 0 to N-1, the latest sending time unit of the transport block is later than the ith second time unit, and the transport block is one transport block in the M transmissions.’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
Regarding claim 15, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
HUANG teaches, ‘A communication device, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories; and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the one or more memories, the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors of the communication device, the communication device is enabled to perform operations comprising:’ (Paragraph [0046]: As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs (or ATs) 116 and 122 in FIG. 1 or the base station (or AN) 100 in FIG. 1, and the wireless communications system is preferably the LTE or NR system. The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300):
Regarding claim 16, HUANG teaches, ‘A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium is configured to store a computer program, and when the computer program is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method according to claim 1.’ (Paragraph [0480]: The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by
a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module (e.g., including executable instructions and related data) and other data may reside in a data memory… or any other form of computer-readable storage medium known in the art).
Claims 2-5, 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of XUE in view of Fong et al. (US 2022/0015109 A1), hereinafter “FONG”
Regarding claim 2, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI further indicates an index of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG –Paragraph [0082]: SPS control signaling utilized for activating/deactivating SPS for a sidelink groupcast may include a SPS indicator (e.g., conveyed at least in part via SCI format 0-1 message), an activation/deactivation indicator (e.g., conveyed at least in part via SCI format 0-1 message and/or SCI format 0-2 message), and a configuration index (e.g., conveyed at least in part via one or more fields of a SCI format 0-1 message and/or SCI format 0-2 message); Paragraph [0008]: semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) control signaling for the sidelink groupcast including a SPS indicator, an activation state indicator, and a configuration index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 3, HUANG, XUE and FONG teach, The method according to claim 2, HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI further indicates hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)information of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0066]: SCI format 0-1 provides fields for priority, frequency resource assignment, time
resource assignment, resource reservation period, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern, second-stage SCI format (broadcast, unicast, groupcast), Beta_offset indicator, number of DMRS port, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and a reserved field. SCI format 0-2 provides fields for HARQ process ID, new data indicator, redundancy version, source ID, destination ID, and channel state information (CSI) request, also if the second-stage SCI format field in the corresponding SCI provided in SCI format 0-1 indicates type 1 groupcast zone ID and communication range requirement fields are present [Note: the 1st-stage and 2nd-stage control payloads are SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 that the second SCI (SCI format 0-2) indicates the HARQ process ID and new data indicators]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 4, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI or the second SCI indicates that the first configuration information is valid or is no longer valid or is invalid.’ (FONG – Paragraphs [0087]-[0088]: An activation state indicator of SPS control signaling utilized for activating/deactivating SPS for a sidelink groupcast according to aspects of the disclosure may be conveyed using a SCI format 0-1 message and/or SCI format 0-2 message. The activation state indicator may, for example, indicate either activation of the SPS of the sidelink groupcast or deactivation of the SPS of the sidelink groupcast… By way of example, an activation state indicator may indicate activation of the SPS of the sidelink groupcast when… frequency and time resource assignments for the sidelink groupcast are feasible (e.g., valid values, available for implementing by the UEs, etc.). Similarly, an activation state indicator may indicate deactivation of the SPS of the sidelink groupcast when… frequency and time resource assignments for the sidelink groupcast are not feasible (e.g., invalid values, such as all set to all 0s, unavailable for implementing by the UEs, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 5, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the second SCI further indicates a source address and a destination address that are associated with a service of the first periodic transmission.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0066]: SCI format 0-2 provides fields for HARQ process ID, new data indicator, redundancy
version, source ID, destination ID, and channel state information (CSI) request, also if the second-stage SCI format field in the corresponding SCI provided in SCI format 0-1 indicates type 1 groupcast zone ID and communication range requirement fields are present [Note: Source ID and Destination ID in standard V2X protocol layer design correspond directly to L1/L2 source and destination addresses used for packet filtering and routing]; Paragraph [0012]: The above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the SPS RNTI being a common sidelink SPS RNTI (SL-SPS-RNTI) common to all UEs in sidelink communication with the first UE. The above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the common SL-SPS-RNTI indicating that the SCI format 0-1 message and a corresponding SCI format 0-2
message contain SPS information for the sidelink groupcast [Note: the periodic/SPS transmission is a “sidelink groupcast” or ongoing data stream service, where the second SCI message (SCI format 0-2) directly maps these source/destination IDs to identify the respective transmitting/receiving devices belonging to that specific persistent stream]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 7, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG further teaches, ‘…or is predefined or preconfigured.’ (Paragraph [0005]: the first UE being configured or pre-configured with a sidelink resource pool for sidelink transmission [Note: handled via preconfigured or predefined higher-layer parameters within the UE device]).
HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘or a second time offset exists between an ith first time unit and the ith second time unit, and the second time offset is indicated by the first SCI,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0081]: FIG. 6 illustrates an example of cross-slot scheduling. In an implementation, a first slot 600 may include first SCI (such as a legacy SCI) 602. The first slot 600 may include a cross-slot schedule 604. The cross-slot schedule 604 may include a first pointer 662 pointing to data and/or control information of a second slot 630. The second slot 630 may include control information 634, first DMRSs and stage-two SCI 636 [Note: an offset (cross-slot allocation) exists between the first time unit (slot 600) and the second time unit (slot 630) containing the stage-two SCI, and this temporal offset/relationship is explicitly indicated by the first pointer inside the first SCI]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first time unit is the same as the second time unit;’ (FONG – Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]: current PC5 interface protocols require a sidelink TX UE of a group of sidelinks to groupcast SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages with the periodic PSSCH data, even when the SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages remain the same. In implementing SPS for sidelink groupcast… a sidelink TX UE… may transmit group SPS activation/deactivation to a group of sidelink RX UEs… through SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages transmitted with the first PSSCH data of a sidelink groupcast [Note: the first SCI (format 0-1) and the second SCI (format 0-2) are transmitted together with the data in the exact same transmission slot/duration, satisfying the scenario where the time units are identical]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 8, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: HUANG further teaches, ‘sending third SCI in K first time units, wherein the K first time units are associated with K transport blocks in the M transmissions,’ (Paragraph [0362]: a V2X resource pool is configured with one of the transmission modes. Thus, the two transmission modes are not mixed utilized in a V2X resource pool [Note: in standard mixed-mode sidelink resource pools, a transmitting UE broadcasts control messages (such as standard stage-one SCI format 1) associated with multiple independent transport blocks spanning across distinct timing slots]),
‘the third SCI indicates second configuration information,’ (Paragraph [0214]: SCI decoding applied during sensing procedure provides at least information on sidelink resources indicated by the UE transmitting the SCI),
‘…and K is a positive integer less than or equal to P-N.’ (Paragraph [0076]: where j=0, 1, ... , Cresel-1… and q=1,2, ... , Q [Note: Delineating residual, non-overlapping frame subsets using bound integer equations (K ≤ P – N) represents a mathematically inherent framework property, handling tracking discrete, residual scheduling sub-allocations using precise iterative boundary variables (e.g., Cresel – 1 and subsets of Q) within the standard sidelink resource reservation framework]).
HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘the K transport blocks are transport blocks in the M transmissions other than N transport blocks, and a jth transport block in the N transport blocks is a transport block that occurs in a jth second time unit in the N second time units in the M transmissions, or a transport block that next follows the jth second time unit in the N second time units,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0006]: configuring, in a slot, a low-latency transport block (TB) occupying one or more first temporal resources, a non-low-latency TB occupying one or more second temporal resources different from the one or more first temporal resources [Note: the segregation of a single unified slot or sequential slot matrix into discrete, non-overlapping subsets of transport blocks – such as low-latency transport blocks and alternative non-low-latency transport blocks that temporally occupy separate, non-overlapping resource boundaries inside the exact same fame structure]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the second configuration information is the same as all or some information comprised in first configuration information indicated by the first SCI sent most recently before the third SCI is sent,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0077]: current PC5 interface protocols require a sidelink TX UE of a group of sidelinks to groupcast SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages with the periodic PSSCH data, even when the SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages remain the same),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 9, HUANG, XUE and FONG teach, The method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘skipping sending the second SCI associated with the third SCI.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0078]: After activation, the sidelink TX UE ( e.g., UE 115r operating in V2X Mode 1) may omit transmission of both SCI format 0-1 and SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast. As another example, after activation, the sidelink TX UE (e.g., UE 115r operating in V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (e.g., continued transmission of SCI format 0-1 messages may be utilized by the sidelink TX UE to maintain existing resource sensing procedures for Mode 2 operation) [Note: a transmitting UE can choose to continue sending a 1st-stage SCI (“transmit SCI format 0-1 messages”) for sensing purposes while intentionally omitting or skipping the corresponding 2nd-stage SCI (“omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages”) for subsequent transmission blocks. This corresponds the structural limitation of sending a 1st-stage control channel – the third SCI – while skipping the associated 2nd-stage control channel – the second SCI]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 10, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘…wherein the P-N second time units are associated with P-N transport blocks in the M transmissions other than the N transport blocks, and the j transport block in the N transport blocks is a transport block that occurs in the jth second time unit in the N second time units in the M transmissions, or a transport block that next follows the j second time unit in the N second time units.’ (XUE – Paragraph [0006]: Aspects of the present disclosure include methods by a user equipment (UE) for configuring, in a slot, a low-latency transport block (TB) occupying one or more first temporal resources, a non-low-latency TB occupying one or more second temporal resources different from the one or more first temporal resources… wherein the low-latency TB and the non-low-latency TB are time division multiplexed [Note: dividing a transmission sequence or slot profile into discrete, mutually exclusive subsets of transport blocks – separating low-latency initial blocks from non-low-latency transport blocks that sequentially follow one another or reside in separate timing boundaries across time-division multiplexed resource allocations]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘skipping sending the second SCI in P-N second time units,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0078]: As another example, after activation, the sidelink TX UE (e.g., UE 115r operating in V2X Mode 2) may transmit SCI format 0-1 messages and omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages with respect to subsequently transmitted PSSCH data of the sidelink groupcast (e.g., continued transmission of SCI format 0-1 messages may be utilized by the sidelink TX UE to maintain existing resource sensing procedures for Mode 2 operation) [Note: “omit transmission of SCI format 0-2 messages” directly maps to “skipping sending the second SCI”. The variable count of P-N represents the remaining discrete slots/time units of a persistent session allocation following an initial verification cycle]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 11, HUANG, XUE and FONG teach, The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: HUANG further teaches, ‘…and the first resource is determined based on a latest first SCI before the first resource.’ (Paragraphs [0375]-[0376]: The reserved resource in the third slot indicated by the first SCI is aligned with the reserved resource indicated by the second SCI. In other words, the first UE may not or does not trigger resource reselection for the reserved resource in the third slot. The third slot indicated by the first SCI is the same as indicated by the second SCI. The third slot is the slot tn+2k… Occupied sub-channel(s) of the reserved resource in the third slot (e.g., tn+2k) is the same as the first slot (e.g., tn) [Note: an iterative resource chain reservation mechanism, where multiple upcoming retransmissions/periodic resources are spaces apart]).
HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘sending a first transport block of the periodic transmission on a first resource, wherein the first transport block is one of the P-N transport blocks,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0097]: and transmit the subsequent PSSCH groupcast data transmission for the sidelink groupcast unaccompanied by an instance of a SCI format 0-1 message and an instance of a SCI format 0-2 message [Note: transmitting subsequent data packets/transport blocks of the periodic sidelink service track on configured resources without accompanying control signaling payloads]),
‘the first resource comprises a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0088]: and frequency and time resource assignments for the sidelink groupcast are feasible),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 12, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘wherein the first SCI further indicates whether to send the second SCI associated with the first SCI.’ (FONG – Paragraph [0084]: the common SL-SPS-RNTI may indicate that the SCI format 0-1 message and a corresponding SCI format 0-2 message contain SPS information for the sidelink groupcast; Paragraph [0086]: an extra field may be added inside of the SCI
format 0-1 (e.g., a 1-bit SPS indicator field) to indicate the presence of group SPS information in the SCI format 0-1 message and/or corresponding SCI format 0-2 message [Note: the 1st-stage SCI payload (SCI format 0-1) carries an indicator bit or scrambling sequence that dynamically alerts the receiving device whether a subsequent 2nd-stage SCI (SCI format 0-2) is actively present/sent or omitted for that target transmission sequence]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Regarding claim 14, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: HUANG does not explicitly teach but XUE teaches, ‘…wherein the fourth configuration information indicates a quantity of transport blocks comprised in each transmission of the first periodic transmission,’ (XUE – Paragraph [0006]: Aspects of the present disclosure include methods by a user equipment (UE) for configuring, in a slot, a low-latency transport block (TB) occupying one or more first temporal resources, a non-low-latency TB occupying one or more second temporal resources different from the one or more first temporal resources… wherein the low-latency TB and the non-low-latency TB are time division multiplexed [Note: configuring an intra-slot time-division multiplexed arrangement defining a precise quantity of distinct transport blocks (e.g., a low-latency TB and a non-low-latency TB) comprised within a scheduled transmission pool]),
‘and/or a resource of the first periodic transmission that is occupied by a transport block comprised in each transmission.’ (XUE – Paragraph [0006]: configuring, in a slot, a low-latency transport block (TB) occupying one or more first temporal resources, a non-low-latency TB occupying
one or more second temporal resources different from the one or more first temporal resources… and
transmitting the low-latency TB and the non-low-latency TB via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XUE with HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XUE into HUANG is that XUE provides a cross-slot scheduling paradigm for physical sidelink control signaling, which systematically separate the configuration time units (N first time units) from the dynamic data execution units (N second time units). This temporal decoupling ensures that the receiving device’s decoder is not overwhelmed trying to process massive composite assignment blocks concurrently, while also facilitating aggressive power-saving maneuvers (such as micro-sleep windows) while waiting for the target data slot to arrive (See paragraph [0032], [0075] and [0081], XUE).
HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘sending fourth configuration information,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0008]: transmitting, by the first UE, semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) control signaling for the sidelink groupcast including a SPS indicator, an activation state indicator, and a configuration index),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FONG with HUANG and XUE because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FONG into HUANG and XUE is that FONG resolves the operational overhead and ambiguity that arises when multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) processes or periodic services run concurrently over shared physical sidelink channels, by adding a dedicated “configuration index field” directly into the first-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-1) and/or second-stage (e.g., SCI format 0-2) control structures. This allows the receiving terminal an immediate, unambiguous pointer to a specific pre-allocated parameter matrix (e.g., specific cycle intervals or hybrid automatic repeat request configurations) (See paragraph [0008], [0082] and [0092], FONG).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of XUE in view of FONG in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2016/0338127 A1), hereinafter “MATSUMOTO ”
Regarding claim 13, HUANG and XUE teach, The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: HUANG and XUE do not explicitly teach but FONG teaches, ‘sending third configuration information,’ (FONG – Paragraph [0093]: According to some aspects, SPS sidelink groupcast configurations may be preconfigured (e.g., by the TX UE, a base station, etc.), whereby a SPS sidelink groupcast configuration for a particular groupcast may be selected and/or agreed upon between a TX UE and the group of RX UEs using a configuration index),
HUANG, XUE and FONG do not explicitly teach but MATSUMOTO teaches, ‘wherein the third configuration information is used to configure a second cycle,’ (MATSUMOTO – Paragraph [0064]: the base station transmits, to the first user terminal, the control resource information for indicating the control resource area provided in a second cycle that is an integral multiple or an integral submultiple of the first cycle),
‘the second cycle is a cycle for a receive end of the first periodic transmission to detect the first SCI,’ (MATSUMOTO – Paragraph [0276]: since the cycle of the SA[Scheduling Assignment] resource area is eight [subframes], the OoC[Out of Coverage]-UE is capable of receiving (decoding) the SA 3 and the SA 7. Moreover, the OoC-UE is capable of receiving (decoding) DATA 3 and the SA 4 on the basis of the data resource indicated by the SA 3 [Note: SA corresponds to the first-stage Sidelink Control Information (first SCI), which functions as a control pointer detailing the positioning of data resource allocations. The “OcC-UE” represents the receive and evaluating the periodic control space]),
‘and the second cycle is greater than or equal to the first cycle.’ (MATSUMOTO – Paragraphs [0275]-[0276]: Specifically, the OoC-UE sets the cycle of the SA resource area to eight [subframes]. In step S408, the InC[In Coverage]-UE transmits the SA 1, SA 2, SA 3, SA 4b, SA Sb, SA 6, and SA 7 in a cycle of two [subframes] (see FIG. 32). On the other hand, since the cycle of the SA resource area is eight [subframes], the OoC-UE is capable of receiving (decoding) the SA 3 and the SA 7 [the transmission cycle (first cycle) operates at an interval of 2 subframes, whereas the control detection/monitoring window at the receive end (second cycle) operates on a wider period of 8 subframes, which renders a configured parameter setting where the second cycle is greater than or equal to the first cycle (8 ≥ 2)]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of MATSUMOTO with HUANG, XUE and FONG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of MATSUMOTO into HUANG, XUE and FONG is that MATSUMOTO provides a decoupled control channel monitoring cycle at the receive end that is configured to be an integral multiple of (and thus greater than or equal to) the data transmission cycle, where to implement a decoupled control cycle (2nd cycle) to allow the receive-end device to dynamically remain in a sleep or low-power state across several data transmission intervals (1st cycle). The control monitoring cycle is an integral multiple of the baseline transmission cycle to guarantee that out-of-coverage UEs can successfully capture control allocations from in-coverage UEs without altering the fast, low-latency transmission profiles of the active transmitters (See paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0064] and [0268], MATSUMOTO).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the
extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date
of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will
be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/WEI ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479