DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the current collecting part” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Thus, it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. For examination purposes, “the current collecting part” in line 13 will be read as “a current collecting part.”
Appropriate correction is required in order to overcome the indefiniteness rejection. Suggested corrections are bolded and underlined for emphasis only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US 2022/0247043) (Su).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses a current collecting component (11) (title; abstract), comprising: a current collecting part (112) comprising a current collecting region (1120+1111) and at least one electrical connection region (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]); and a connection part (111) connected with the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]), wherein a thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) is greater than a thickness of the electrical connection region (1122) (see Modified Figure 7 below; [0088]).
Modified Figure 7, Su
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Su further discloses that the at least one electrical connection region (1122) comprises two electrical connection regions (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0105]), and the two electrical connection regions (1122) are connected to each other via the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0106]).
Regarding claim 4, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Su further discloses that the current collecting component (11) comprises a first current collecting part (112+one layer 110) and a second current collecting part (111, excluding the one layer 110 included in the first current collecting part) stacked together (see Figs. 4, 7, and 8; [0088]), and the first current collecting part (112+one layer 110) comprises a first connection region (1112), a first current collecting subregion (1120+1111), and the two electrical connection regions (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]), the two electrical connection regions (1122) are connected to each other via the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0106]), the second current collecting part (111) comprises a second connection region (1112) and a second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Fig. 4; [0105]-[0106]), the first connection region (1112) is electrically connected with the second connection region (1112) to form the connection part (111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0096]-[0106]), and the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) is electrically connected with the second current collecting subregion (1111) to form the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0096]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 4. Su further discloses that the second current collecting subregion (1111) is not overlapped with each electrical connection region (1122) when viewed from a thickness direction of the current collecting component (11) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Su discloses that the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) is welded to the second current collecting subregion (1111) ([0096]; [0100]; [0102]-[0103]), and the first connection region (1112) is welded to the second connection region (1112) ([0096]; [0099]; examiner interprets the first and second connection regions as also including the welded regions 1113).
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 4. Su further discloses that in an extension direction of the connection part (111), one end of the first connection region (1112) is connected to the second current collecting subregion (1120+1111), and one end of the second connection region (1112) is connected to the second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0096]-[0106]), and the first connection region (1112) and the second connection region (1112) both comprise at least one bending region (113, 114), the at least one bending region (113, 114) of the first connection region (1112) overlaps with the at least one bending region (113, 114) of the second connection region (1112) when viewed from a thickness direction of the current collecting component (11) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Su further discloses that the first connection region (1112) and the second connection region (1112) both comprise a bending region (113), the bending region (113) of the first connection region (1112) is connected to the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111), and the bending region (113) of the second connection region (1112) is connected to the second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Su further discloses that the first connection region (1112) and the second connection region (1112) both comprise two bending regions (113, 114) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0098]), the two bending regions (113, 114) of the first connection region (1112) are arranged at intervals along the extension direction of the first connection region (1112) (see Figs. 4 and 5), and the two bending regions (113, 114) of the second connection region (1112) are arranged at intervals along the extension direction of the second connection region (1112) (see Figs. 4 and 5); one (113) of the two bending regions (113, 114) of the first connection region (1112) is connected to the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0098]), and one (113) of the two bending regions (113, 114) of the second connection region (1112) is connected to the second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Figs. 4 and 5; [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Su discloses a battery (101) (title) comprising: a housing (14) having an opening (141) (see Fig. 3; [0111]-[0113]); an electrode assembly (13) accommodated in the housing (14) (see Fig. 3; [0112]-[0113]); and a current collecting component (11) accommodated in the housing (14) (see Fig. 3; [0111]-[0113]), wherein the current collecting component (11) comprises: a current collecting region (1120+1111) and at least one electrical connection region (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]); and a connection part (111) connected with the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]), wherein a thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) is greater than a thickness of the electrical connection region (1122) (see Modified Figure 7 above; [0088]), and the at least one electrical connection region (1122) is electrically connected with the electrode assembly (13) (see Fig. 3; [0105]).
Regarding claim 12, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 11. Su further discloses that the at least one electrical connection region (1122) comprises a protrusion protruding toward the electrode assembly (13) (see Figs. 3-5 and 11; [0108]).
Regarding claim 13, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 11. Su further discloses all of the limitations in claim 13 as set forth above for claim 4, which has the same subject matter as claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Su further discloses all of the limitations in claim 14 as set forth above for claim 8, which has the same subject matter as claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Su further discloses that the second current collecting subregion (1111) is located on a surface (1125) of the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111). Away from the electrode assembly (13) along the thickness direction of the current collecting component (11) (see Figs. 4, 7, and 11; [0104]).
Regarding claim 16, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Su further discloses that the at least one electrical connection region (1122) comprises a protrusion protruding toward the electrode assembly (13) (see Figs. 3-5 and 11; [0108]), wherein the second current collecting subregion (1111) is located on a surface (1125) of the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111). Away from the electrode assembly (13) along the thickness direction of the current collecting component (11) (see Figs. 4, 7, and 11; [0104]). Under BRI, examiner can consider the second current collecting part (111) which comprises the second current collecting subregion (1111) as only including one of the sheets (110) that are stacked together ([0088]; [0093]). Thus, with the interpretation, it is clear that the height of the protrusion is greater than the thickness of the second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0091]).
Modified Figure 8, Su
Regarding claim 17, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 11. Su further discloses that the battery (101) further comprises an end cover assembly (150) for sealing the opening (141) (see Fig. 3; [0113]-[0115]), the end cover assembly (150) comprises a terminal (12) (see Fig. 3; [0111]-[0113]), and the terminal (12) is electrically connected to the connection part (111) (see Fig. 3; [0088]).
Regarding claim 20, Su discloses a battery module (100) comprising a battery (101) (see Fig. 2; [0084]-[0085]), wherein the battery comprises: a housing (14) having an opening (141) (see Fig. 3; [0111]-[0113]); an electrode assembly (13) accommodated in the housing (14) (see Fig. 3; [0112]-[0113]); and a current collecting component (11) accommodated in the housing (14) (see Fig. 3; [0111]-[0113]), wherein the current collecting component (11) comprises: a current collecting region (1120+1111) and at least one electrical connection region (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]); and a connection part (111) connected with the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]), wherein a thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) is greater than a thickness of the electrical connection region (1122) (see Modified Figure 7 above; [0088]), and the at least one electrical connection region (1122) is electrically connected with the electrode assembly (13) (see Fig. 3; [0105]). Su additionally discloses that the current collecting part (112) comprises two electrical connection regions (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0105]), and the two electrical connection regions (1122) are connected to each other via the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0106]), the current collecting component (11) comprises a first current collecting part (112+one layer 110) and a second current collecting part (111, excluding the one layer 110 included in the first current collecting part) stacked together (see Figs. 4, 7, and 8; [0088]), and the first current collecting part (112+one layer 110) comprises a first connection region (1112), a first current collecting subregion (1120+1111), and the two electrical connection regions (1122) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]), the two electrical connection regions (1122) are connected to each other via the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0106]), the second current collecting part (111) comprises a second connection region (1112) and a second current collecting subregion (1111) (see Fig. 4; [0105]-[0106]), the first connection region (1112) is electrically connected with the second connection region (1112) to form the connection part (111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0096]-[0106]), and the first current collecting subregion (1120+1111) is electrically connected with the second current collecting subregion (1111) to form the current collecting region (1120+1111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0096]-[0106]); and the two electrical connection regions (1122) are electrically connected with the electrode assembly (13) (see Fig. 3; [0105]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2022/0247043) (Su).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Examiner interprets the current collecting region (1120+1111) as comprising the main body portion (1120) of the current collecting part (112) and the first section (1111) of the connection part (111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]). Therefore, since Su discloses that the thickness of the current collecting part (112) is 0.3-0.4 mm (which is also the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122 and the main body portion 1120), and the thickness of each sheet (110) of the connection part (111) is 0.05-0.1 mm, wherein the connection part (111) comprises 8 to 10 sheets (110) ([0093]-[0094]), it is clear that a thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) as defined by examiner would be between 0.7 mm (0.3+8*0.05) and 1.4 mm (0.4+10*0.1), which includes the claimed scenario in which the thickness of the current collecting region is more than twice the thickness of each electrical connection region (the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122 being 0.3-0.4 mm). Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the claimed scenario, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Su to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 3 the based on the range of possible scenarios disclosed by Su.
Regarding claim 7, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 4. Under BRI, examiner takes an alternate interpretation of Su such that the first connection region (1122) and the second connection region (1122) are only contained in four respective layers (110) of the stacked layers (110) of the connection part (111) (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0088]). Similarly, examiner takes the first current collecting subregion as only including the region (1111) in the four bottom layers (110) of the stacked layers (110) of the connection part (111) (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0088]), and examiner takes that second current collecting subregion (1111) as only including the region (1111) in the four layers (110) adjacent to the four bottom layers (110) of the stacked layers (110) of the connection part (111) (see Modified Figure 8 below; [0088]). Therefore, since Su discloses that each of the layers (110) of the connection part (111) can have a same thickness ([0094]), it is clear that Su suggests the limitation that the first connection region (1122), the first current collecting subregion (1111), the second connection region (1122), and the second current collecting subregion (1111) have a same thickness. Furthermore, since Su discloses that the thickness of the current collecting part (112) is 0.3-0.4 mm (which is also the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122), and the thickness of each sheet (110) of the connection part (111) is 0.05-0.1 mm, wherein the connection part (111) comprises 8 to 10 sheets (110) ([0093]-[0094]), it is clear that the first connection region (1122), the first current collecting subregion (1111), the second connection region (1122), and the second current collecting subregion (1111) have thicknesses between 0.2 mm (4*0.5) and 0.4 mm (4*0.1), which includes the claimed scenario in which these regions have a same thickness as that of the electrical connection regions (1122) (the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122 being 0.3-0.4 mm). Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the claimed scenario, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Su to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 7 based on the range of possible scenarios disclosed by Su.
Modified Figure 8, Su
Regarding claim 18, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 17. Su further discloses that the current collecting component (11) is configured as a positive current collecting component (see Fig. 3; [0086]), the terminal (12) of the end cover assembly (150) is configured as a positive terminal (see Fig. 3; [0086]), and the current collecting component (11) is located between the terminal (12) and the electrode assembly (13) (see Fig 3). Examiner interprets the current collecting region (1120+1111) as comprising the main body portion (1120) of the current collecting part (112) and the first section (1111) of the connection part (111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]). Therefore, since Su discloses that the thickness of the current collecting part (112) is 0.3-0.4 mm (which is also the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122 and the main body portion 1120), and the thickness of each sheet (110) of the connection part (111) is 0.05-0.1 mm, wherein the connection part (111) comprises 8 to 10 sheets (110) ([0093]-[0094]), Su necessarily discloses that the thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) is between 0.7 mm (0.3+8*0.05) and 1.4 mm (0.4+10*0.1), which overlaps the claimed range of 0.4 mm to 0.7 mm. Furthermore, the thickness range of 0.3 mm to 0.4 mm for the electrical connection region (1122) suggests the claimed range of 0.3 mm to 0.4 mm, and a thickness difference between the current collecting region (1120+1111) and the electrical connection region (1122) is 0.4 mm (8*0.05) to 1.0 mm (10*0.1), overlapping the claimed range of 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm. In the case where the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the claimed ranges, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Su to have satisfied all of the claimed ranges based on the overlapping ranges disclosed by Su.
Regarding claim 19, Su discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 17. Su further discloses that the current collecting component (11) is configured as a negative current collecting component (see Fig. 3; [0086]), the terminal (12) of the end cover assembly (150) is configured as a negative terminal (see Fig. 3; [0086]), and the current collecting component (11) is located between the terminal (12) and the electrode assembly (13) (see Fig 3). Examiner interprets the current collecting region (1120+1111) as comprising the main body portion (1120) of the current collecting part (112) and the first section (1111) of one layer (110) of the connection part (111) (see Fig. 4; [0088]; [0097]; [0106]; [0109]). Therefore, since Su discloses that the thickness of the current collecting part (112) is 0.3-0.4 mm (which is also the thickness of the electrical connection regions 1122 and the main body portion 1120), and the thickness of each sheet (110) of the connection part (111) is 0.05-0.1 mm ([0093]), Su necessarily discloses that the thickness of the current collecting region (1120+1111) is between 0.35 mm (0.3+0.05) and 0.5 mm (0.4+0.1), which encompasses the claimed range of 0.4 mm to 0.5 mm. A prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05. Furthermore, the thickness range of 0.3 mm to 0.4 mm for the electrical connection region (1122) overlaps the claimed range of 0.2 mm to 0.3 mm, and a thickness difference between the current collecting region (1120+1111) and the electrical connection region (1122) is 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm, overlapping the claimed range of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm. In the case where the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality for the claimed ranges, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Su to have satisfied all of the claimed ranges based on the overlapping and encompassing ranges disclosed by Su.
Conclusion
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749