DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “the AS BR” in line 6. For clarity, it is suggested to replace with “the AS RB”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “maximum” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “a maximum number of bearer flows” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “maximum”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 10, line 4, recites “processing second traffic to be transmitted received via a second AS RB”. It is unclear whether processing second traffic to be a) “transmitted” or b) “received” via a second AS RB. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 14, line 4, recites the limitation "the bearer flow". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether it is referring to “a first bearer flow” in lines 3-4. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 14, line 6, recites the limitation "the second bearer flow". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether it is referring to “the bearer flow” in line 4. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 16, line 6, recites “the traffic flow”. It is unclear whether it is referring to a) “the first traffic flow” or b) “the second traffic flow”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 17, line 3, recites “the traffic flow”. It is unclear whether it is referring to a) “the first traffic flow” or b) “the second traffic flow”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 18, line 10, recites the limitation "the UE". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 15 and 19-20 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adjakple et al. (US 2020/0267753 A1, hereinafter “Adjakple”).
Regarding claim 1, Adjakple discloses a method to be implemented by a component of a network element [see Fig. 9-14, 37-38, 52B, 52F, para. 75-92, 169-195, 361-362, 398-400, 404; a method to be implemented by AN CP/UP node (CP/UP Functions of a gNB)], the method comprising:
processing traffic to be transmitted via an access stratum (AS) radio bearer (RB) [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; processing traffic to be transmitted via a data radio bearer (DRB)];
mapping the traffic to a bearer flow assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; mapping/binding the traffic to a packet flow assigned to the DRB]; and
generating a packet associated with the traffic to be transmitted via the bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generating a data packet associated with the traffic to be transmitted via the packet flow].
Regarding claim 2, Adjakple discloses assigning the bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; assigning the packet flow to the DRB]; and
initializing, based on said assigning of the bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; based on said assigning of the packet flow to the DRB], a layer 2 (L2) resource set associated with the bearer flow based on a configuration of the AS RB [see Fig. 42-44, para. 206-211, 229-237, 297; initializing a L2 resource set associated with the packet flow based on a configuration of the DRB; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 147-155].
Regarding claim 3, Adjakple discloses wherein the L2 resource set includes sequence numbers, state variables, or timers [see Fig. 42-44, para. 206-211, 229-237, 297; the L2 resource set includes TTI or time interval; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 147-155].
Regarding claim 4, Adjakple discloses associating, at a MAC layer, an AS RB logical channel ID with a plurality of bearer flows mapped to the AS RB [see para. 161-162, 169-170, 172-173, 189-190; associate, at a MAC layer, a packet flow identity/identifier with a group of packet flows mapped to the DRB; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 127-132, 147-155].
Regarding claim 5, Adjakple discloses wherein the traffic is a first service data flow (SDF), the bearer flow is a first bearer flow, the packet is a first packet [see Fig. 11, 13, para. 90-92, 172-173; the traffic is a first SDF (e.g. service data flow “a”), the packet flow is a first packet flow (e.g. packet flow C), the data packet is a first packet], and the method further comprises:
processing a second SDF [see Fig. 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; process a second service data flow];
assigning a second bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; assign a second packet flow to the DRB];
mapping the second SDF to the second bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; map the second service data flow to the second packet flow]; and
generating a second packet associated with the second SDF to be transmitted via the second bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generating a second data packet associated with the second SDF to be transmitted via the second packet flow],
wherein the first bearer flow is associated with a first layer 2 (L2) resource set and the second bearer flow is associated with a second L2 resource set [see Fig. 42-44, para. 206-211, 229-237, 297; resource grants are data flows specific; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 147-155].
Regarding claim 6, Adjakple discloses wherein transmissions and retransmissions associated with transmitting the first SDF are independent from transmissions and retransmissions associated with the second SDF [see Fig. 11-13, para. 91-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 187, 189-190, 194-195; transmissions and retransmissions associated with transmitting the first SDF are independent from transmissions and retransmissions associated with the second SDF].
Regarding claim 8, Adjakple discloses processing an indication received from a network, the indication associated with a maximum number of bearer flows to be assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 37, para. 161, 168; processing an indication (mark) received from CN CP, the indication associated with a number of packet flows to be assigned to the DRB].
Regarding claim 9, Adjakple discloses wherein transmitting the traffic via the bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; transmitting the traffic via the packet flow] comprises: assigning a flow identification (ID) number to the bearer flow; and including the flow ID in a packet header [see para. 161-162, 169-170, 172-173, 189-190; assigning a packet flow identifier to the packet flow; and including the packet flow identifier in a packet header].
Regarding claim 10, Adjakple discloses wherein the traffic is a first traffic, the bearer flow is a first bearer flow, the AS RB is a first AS RB, the packet is a first packet [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; the traffic is a first traffic, the packet flow is a first packet flow, the DRB is a first DRB, the data packet is a first packet], and the method further comprises:
processing second traffic to be transmitted received via a second AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 2, para. 174-176, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; processing second traffic to be transmitted via a second DRB];
mapping the second traffic to a second bearer flow assigned to the second AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 2, para. 174-176, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; mapping/binding the second traffic to a second packet flow assigned to the second DRB]; and
generating a second packet associated with the second traffic to be transmitted via the second bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 2, para. 174-176, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generating a second data packet associated with the second traffic to be transmitted via the second packet flow].
Regarding claim 11, Adjakple discloses detecting a release condition; and releasing the bearer flow based on detecting the release condition [see para. 75, 79, 91, 155; releasing the packet flow based on detecting a Packet Discard Priority Indicator (PDPI)].
Regarding claim 12, Adjakple discloses wherein the traffic is uplink data traffic of a traffic flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; the traffic is uplink data traffic of a traffic flow] and the method further comprises: processing downlink data traffic of the traffic flow received via the bearer flow or another bearer flow assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 11-12, para. 91-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 181-182, 187, 190, 194-195; processing downlink data traffic of the traffic flow received via the packet flow or another packet flow assigned to the DRB].
Regarding claim 14, Adjakple discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a component of a first device to [see Fig. 9-14, 37-38, 52B, 52F, para. 75-92, 169-195, 361-362, 398-400, 404; a computer-readable storage medium having instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause AN CP/UP node (CP/UP Functions of a gNB) to]:
process data traffic of a first traffic flow from a second device via a first bearer flow, wherein the bearer flow is assigned to an access stratum (AS) radio bearer (RB) by the second device [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; process data traffic of a first traffic flow from a UE via a first packet flow, wherein the packet flow is assigned to a data radio bearer (DRB) by the UE];
process data traffic of a second traffic flow via the second bearer flow, the second bearer flow assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 11-12, para. 91-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 181-182, 187, 190, 194-195; process data traffic of a second traffic flow via a packet flow, the packet flow assigned to the DRB]; and
process transmissions or retransmissions associated with the data traffic of the first traffic flow independent from transmissions or retransmissions associated with the data traffic of the second traffic flow [see Fig. 11-13, para. 91-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 187, 189-190, 194-195; process transmissions or retransmissions associated with the data traffic of the first traffic flow independent from transmissions or retransmissions associated with the data traffic of the second traffic flow].
Regarding claim 15, Adjakple discloses wherein the instructions further cause the component of the first device to:
detect a flow identifier (ID) in a packet header associated with the first traffic flow [see para. 161-162, 169-170, 172-173, 189-190; detect a packet flow identifier in a packet header associated with the first traffic flow];
determine the bearer flow from the flow ID [see para. 161-162, 169-170, 172-173, 189-190; determine the packet flow from the packet flow identifier]; and
update a mapping table to indicate that the bearer flow is assigned to the AS BR [see para. 172, 190; update a binding table to indicate that the packet flow is assigned to the DRB].
Regarding claim 16, Adjakple discloses wherein the data traffic of the first traffic flow is a first data traffic of the first traffic flow [see Fig. 11-13, para. 90-92, 172-173; the data traffic of the first traffic flow is a first data traffic of the first traffic flow], and the instructions further cause the component of the first device to:
process a second data traffic of the first traffic flow to be sent to the second device via the AS RB [see Fig. 11-13, para. 91-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 181-182, 187, 190, 194-195; process a second data traffic of the first traffic flow to be sent to the UE via the DRB]; and
generate a packet associated with the second data traffic of the traffic flow to be transmitted via the bearer flow or another bearer flow assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generate a packet associated with the second data traffic of the traffic flow to be transmitted via the packet flow assigned to the DRB].
Regarding claim 18, Adjakple discloses an apparatus to be implemented in a user network element [see Fig. 9-14, 37-38, 52B, 52F, para. 75-92, 169-195, 361-362, 398-400, 404; AN CP/UP node to be implemented in a gNB], the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry [see Fig. 52B, 52F, para. 361-362, 398-400, 404; a processor] to:
process traffic to be transmitted via an access stratum (AS) radio bearer (RB) [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; process traffic to be transmitted via a data radio bearer (DRB)];
map the traffic to a bearer flow assigned to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; map/bind the traffic to a packet flow assigned to the DRB]; and
generate a transmission associated with the traffic to be transmitted via the bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generate a transmission associated with the traffic to be transmitted via the packet flow]; and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry, the interface circuitry to communicatively couple the processing circuitry to a component of the UE [see Fig. 52B, 52C, para. 361-362, 376; a transceiver coupled with the processor, the transceiver to communicatively couple the processor to a component of the WTRU].
Regarding claim 19, Adjakple discloses wherein the processing circuitry further to:
assign the bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; assign the packet flow to the DRB];
initialize, based on said assigning of the bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; based on said assigning of the packet flow to the DRB], a layer 2 (L2) resource set associated with the bearer flow based on a configuration of the AS RB, the L2 resource set includes sequence numbers, state variables, or timers [see Fig. 42-44, para. 206-211, 229-237, 297; initialize a L2 resource set associated with the packet flow based on a configuration of the DRB, the L2 resource set includes TTI or time interval; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 147-155]; and
associate, at a MAC layer, an AS RB logical channel ID with a plurality of bearer flows mapped to the AS RB [see para. 161-162, 169-170, 172-173, 189-190; associate, at a MAC layer, a packet flow identity/identifier with a group of packet flows mapped to the DRB; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 127-132, 147-155].
Regarding claim 20, Adjakple discloses wherein the traffic is a first service data flow (SDF), the bearer flow is a first bearer flow [see Fig. 11, 13, para. 90-92, 172-173; the traffic is a first SDF (e.g. service data flow “a”), the packet flow is a first packet flow (e.g. packet flow C)], and the processing circuitry further to:
process a second SDF [see Fig. 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; process a second service data flow];
assign a second bearer flow to the AS RB [see Fig. 9, 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; assign a second packet flow to the DRB];
map the second SDF to the second bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11-13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; map the second service data flow to the second packet flow]; and
generating a packet associated with the second SDF to be transmitted via the second bearer flow [see Fig. 9, 11, 13, para. 90-92, Fig. 37, para. 169-170, Fig. 38, Option 1, para. 172-173, 178, 182-183, 189-190, 194-195; generating a packet associated with the second SDF to be transmitted via the second packet flow], the first bearer flow is associated with a first layer 2 (L2) resource set and the second bearer flow is associated with a second L2 resource set [see Fig. 42-44, para. 206-211, 229-237, 297; resource grants are data flows specific; also see Fig. 28-34, para. 147-155].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adjakple in view of Liu et al. (US 2019/0253918 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 11, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose detecting a release condition; and releasing the bearer flow based on detecting the release condition.
However, Liu teaches detecting a release condition; and releasing a bearer flow based on detecting the release condition [see para. 126-132; a set radio bearer is released according to a set timer; and/or a set radio bearer is released upon reception of such a notification of the core network control entity that transmission of a data flow ends].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “detecting a release condition; and releasing a bearer flow based on detecting the release condition”, as taught by Liu, into the system of Adjakple so that it would provide a radio bearer releasing procedure [see Liu, para. 126-132].
Regarding claim 13, Adjakple does not explicitly disclose process an unmapping indication; and unmapping the traffic from the bearer flow based on the unmapping indication.
However, Liu teaches process an unmapping indication; and unmapping traffic from a bearer flow based on the unmapping indication [see para. 126-132; a set radio bearer is released upon reception of such a notification of the core network control entity that transmission of a data flow ends].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “process an unmapping indication; and unmapping traffic from a bearer flow based on the unmapping indication”, as taught by Liu, into the system of Adjakple so that it would provide a radio bearer releasing procedure [see Liu, para. 126-132].
Regarding claim 17, Adjakple discloses process an indication of the traffic flow, the indication received from the second device; and mapping of the traffic flow to the bearer flow based on the indication of the traffic flow [see para. 192-195; process an indication of the traffic flow (a mark in the packet header) received from the UE and map the traffic flow to the packet flow based on the mark].
Although Adjakple disloses an indication of the traffic flow,
Adjakple does not explicitly disclose an indication of “ending of” the traffic flow.
However, Liu teaches receiving an indication of ending of the traffic flow from a UE [see para. 126-132; access network node receives completion signaling returned by the UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receiving an indication of ending of the traffic flow from a UE”, as taught by Liu, into the system of Adjakple so that it would provide a radio bearer releasing procedure [see Liu, para. 126-132].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2022/0286896 A1), discloses determining remapping configuration information, wherein the remapping configuration information indicates a remapped quality of service flow of a sidelink interface, a corresponding source sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) and a corresponding target SLRB; and sending the remapping configuration information to a second communication node.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469