DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the height adjusting mechanism, height lifting cylinder, vertically oriented height adjustment holes, and a pig supporting device with a plurality of locking pins must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (2) as being clearly anticipated by Hepburn (US PUB 20090152520 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hepburn teaches, a pig-handling device comprising:
a sled including (fig. 1 – (1) shows a sled:
a container designed to carry one or more pigs (fig. 2 – (20)),
a pig-supporting device connected to the container (fig. 2 – (10)- frame connected to container),
a pair of front wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – (60)),
a pair of rear wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – (57)),
and a plurality of fasteners ([0018] – bolts used for construction).
Regarding claim 9, Hepburn teaches, A pig-handling device comprising:
a sled including (fig. 2 – (20)):
a container having a half hollow cylinder, designed to carry one or more pigs, (fig. 2 – (20))
a pig-supporting device having one or more hydraulic lifting cylinders (fig. 2 - (30), [0023]),
connected to the container (fig. 2 – (11) – connection of container and lifting frame),
a pair of front wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – 60)),
a pair of rear wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – (57)),
and a plurality of fasteners ([0018]).
Regarding claim 11, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 9,
wherein the pig-supporting device includes a height adjustment component (fig. 2 – (30)).
Regarding claim 12, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 11,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a plurality of vertically oriented height adjustment holes extending therethrough (fig. 2 – (32) – holes in the lifting cross member, [0023] – hole for shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 13, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 12,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a locking pin (fig. 2 – (32) – holes in the lifting cross member, [0023] – shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 14, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 12,
wherein the height adjustment component includes rectangular cross-sections ([0017] – frame constructed of steel square tubes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 8, 10, and 15 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hepburn (US PUB 20090152520 A1) in view of Kyung-Lyong (WIPO PCT 2017/052311 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hepburn does not teach,
the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pig-supporting device includes a plurality of locking pins.
However, Kyung-Lyong teaches a plurality of locking pins on a pig supporting device (fig. 9 – (250/252))
Hepburn and Kyong-Lyong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of Pipeline manufacturing and maintenance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hepburn’s pig-handling device to include the locking pins taught by Kyong-Lyong. Doing so would increase safety and capacity of the system by adding secondary braking/stability measures when loading and unloading pigs.
Regarding claim 3, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 2,
wherein the container includes a half hollow cylinder (fig. 2 – 20)).
Regarding claim 4, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 2,
wherein the pig-supporting device includes a height adjustment component (fig. 2 – (30) – lifting assembly).
Regarding claim 5, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 2,
wherein the pig-supporting device includes one or more hydraulic lifting cylinders (fig. 2 – (30), [0021] – describes hydraulic cylinder and motor).
Regarding claim 6, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 3,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a plurality of vertically oriented height adjustment holes extending therethrough (fig. 2 – (32) – holes in the lifting cross member, [0023] – hole for shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 7, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 6,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a locking pin ([0023] – describes use of shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 8, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 6,
wherein the height adjustment component includes rectangular cross-sections ([0017] – frame constructed of steel square tubes).
Regarding claim 10, Hepburn does not teach,
the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the pig-supporting device includes a
plurality of locking pins.
However, Kyung-Lyong teaches a plurality of locking pins on a pig supporting device (fig. 9 – (250/252))
Regarding claim 15, Hepburn teaches, a pig-handling device comprising:
a sled including (fig. 1 – (1)):
a container having a half hollow cylinder, designed to carry one or more pigs fig. 2 – (20)),
a pair of front wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – (60)),
a pair of rear wheels connected to the pig-supporting device (fig. 2 – (57)),
and a plurality of fasteners ([0018]).
Hepburn does not teach, a pig-supporting device having a plurality of locking pins, connected to the container,
however, Kyung-Lyong teaches a pig supporting device having a plurality of locking pins, connected to the container (fig. 9 – (250/252))
Regarding claim 16, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the pig-supporting device includes a height adjustment component (fig. 2 – (30)).
Regarding claim 17, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the pig-supporting device includes one or more hydraulic lifting cylinders ([0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 17,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a plurality of vertically oriented height adjustment holes extending therethrough (fig. 2 – (32) – holes in the lifting cross member, [0023] – hole for shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 19, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 18,
wherein the height adjustment component includes a locking pin ([0023] – shackle and clevis pin).
Regarding claim 20, Hepburn teaches, the pig-handling device as claimed in claim 19,
wherein the height adjustment component includes rectangular cross-sections ([0017] – frame constructed of steel square tubes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Olivier (US PUB 20110174387 A1) – teaches a pig extractor and transport apparatus.
Pierre (WO 2010036932 A2) – Teaches a portable device for transporting pipeline pig.
/JUAN S MOSCOSO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652