DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/20/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
(1) first and second portions having substantially equal sizes of claim 4;
(2) reference axis that meets the reflector surface at a normal angle of claim 5;
(3) first and second portions having substantially different sizes of claim 7;
(4) reference axis that meets the reflector surface at a non-normal angle of claim 9; and
(5) the first and second sub-portions having different curvatures of claim 10,
must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "it" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “it” refers to the concave reflector portion, the concave reflector surface, or the reference axis. The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that “it” refers to the reference axis.
Claim 9 recites that the reference axis is perpendicular to a plane defined by the transducers and that the reference axis is also not perpendicular to the reflector surface. However, in light of the lack of illustration of the invention, it is unclear what arrangement is being described by the claim (i.e. it is unclear how the reference axis can be perpendicular to a plane defined by the transducers and also not perpendicular to the reflector surface, therefore it is unclear what is being described).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "it" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “it” refers to the concave reflector portion, the concave reflector surface, or the reference axis. The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that “it” refers to the reference axis.
Claim 10 depends on claim 9 and is rejected for inheriting the same problems.
Claim 15 recites “a reflector assembly arranged on the base-portion-facing side of the cover portion” in line 6. It is unclear whether or not this is a new reflector assembly or if it is the same reflector assembly recited in parent claim 1. The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that it is the same assembly previously recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2540737 by Strickland as listed in the IDS dated 12/20/2023 (“Strickland”) in view of U.S. Patent 11,656,109 issued to Scarborough, III et al. (“Scarborough”).
As for claim 1, Strickland discloses a wind measurement apparatus (Figs. 4, 7 and 8) comprising:
a base portion (12) and a cover portion (26) arranged at a distance from each other to allow for an airflow therebetween (see Fig. 7);
an arrangement of N transducers (50, 52, 54) disposed on a cover-portion-facing side of the base portion in respective positions that serve as respective vertices of a convex regular polygon of order N, where N is at least three (see Fig. 8); and
a reflector assembly (26) arranged on a base-portion-facing side of the cover portion (see Fig. 7),
wherein the reflector assembly (26) and the base portion (12) are disposed with respect to each other such that a center point (at 28) of the reflector assembly is spatially aligned with a center point (at 28) of said convex regular polygon (see Figs. 7 and 8) and that each of the N transducers (50, 52, 54) is spatially aligned with a respective boundary (a line connecting the transducer and 28) between two adjacent reflector portions (spaces on 26 and “above” 12 at the midpoint between adjacent transducers; see Figs. 7 and 8),
wherein each transducer (50, 52, 54) is arranged to:
transmit a respective ultrasonic measurement signal in a respective transmitter beam, TX beam, towards the reflector assembly (26) such that the respective TX beam (having two lobes; paragraph [0046]) meets the two adjacent reflector portions on opposite sides of the respective boundary with which the respective transducer is spatially aligned (paragraphs [0036] and [0046] and Fig. 8), and
receive, via said two adjacent reflector portions, respective partial reflections of the respective TX beams originating from those ones of the N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer (paragraphs [0036] and [0046]), and
wherein the apparatus further comprises a control portion (30) arranged to:
operate each transducer to transmit the respective ultrasonic measurement signal in the respective TX beam and to capture the respective ultrasonic measurement signals received in the respective partial reflections of the respective TX beams transmitted from those ones of the N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer (paragraphs [0040] and [0041]), and
derive one or more wind characteristic based on respective propagation delays of the respective ultrasonic measurement signals transmitted from the N transducers and captured at those ones of the N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer (paragraph [0041]).
Strickland does not disclose that the reflector portion is divided into N substantially identical concave reflector portions as recited.
However, Scarborough discloses a reflector assembly (500) that is divided into N (where N equals the number of transducer pairs; see Fig. 4B) substantially identical concave reflector portions (502, 503), that are provided as respective recesses on a base-portion-facing surface of a cover portion (500).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the reflector assembly of Strickland to have N substantially identical concave reflector portions as disclosed by Scarborough in order to improve amplitude and reduce signal loss from each transducer by the other transducer of the transducer pair (Scarborough: col. 2, lines 38-44).
As for claim 2, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that each concave reflector portion (Scarborough: 502, 503) is arranged to focus a portion of the respective TX beam originating from a first transducer (for example, Strickland: 50 and Scarborough: 120-1 in Fig. 6) of the N transducers to a second transducer (for example, Strickland: 52 and Scarborough: 120-2 in Fig. 6) of the N transducers and focus a portion of the respective TX beam originating from the second transducer to the first transducer (Scarborough: col. 5, lines 44-51 and col. 6, lines 23-27), where the first transducer is spatially aligned with a first boundary (Scarborough: an edge of 502 that is close to 120-1 in Fig. 6) of the respective reflector portion and the second transducer is spatially aligned with a second boundary (Scarborough: and edge of 502 that is close to 120-2 in Fig. 6) of the respective reflector portion.
As for claim 4, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that each transducer (Strickland: 50, 52, 54) is arranged to transmit the respective TX beam (Strickland: the two-lobed beam; paragraph [0046]) having its center axis (Strickland: the portion between the two lobes) directed towards a respective target position on the boundary between said two adjacent reflector portions so as to split the respective TX beam at least into a first portion (Strickland: the first lobe) that meets a surface of a first reflector portion on one side of said boundary and a second portion (Strickland: the second lobe) that meets a surface of a second reflector portion on the opposite side of said boundary, where the first and second portions have substantially equal sizes, thereby facilitating power transfer between said two transducers (Strickland: paragraph [0046]).
As for claim 5, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that each concave reflector portion (Scarborough: 502, 503) comprises a concave reflector surface arranged with respect to the respective two transducers that are spatially aligned with the respective boundaries of the respective reflector portion such that a reference axis meets the reflector surface at a normal angle (Scarborough: see Fig. 6), where said reference axis is substantially perpendicular to a plane defined by respective locations of the N transducers (Scarborough: see Fig. 6) and it intersects a conceptual line connecting said two transducers at a position that is substantially at an equal distance from respective positions of said two transducers (Scarborough: see Fig. 6), thereby facilitating power transfer between said two transducers.
As for claim 6, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that each concave reflector portion (Scarborough: 502, 503) comprises a concave reflector surface defined as a concave cap of an underlying concave surface that is separated therefrom by a surface normal of its center axis (Scarborough: see Fig. 6), wherein the underlying concave surface comprises one of the following:
an ellipsoid (Scarborough: col. 5, lines 25-29),
a sphere (Scarborough: col. 5, lines 25-29),
a paraboloid.
As for claim 8, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that each concave reflector portion (Scarborough: 502, 503) comprises a concave reflector surface having a shape arranged to facilitate power transfer in the respective TX beams transmitted from the N transducers for reception after a first refection from the reflector assembly (Scarborough: see Fig. 6) while limiting power transfer in reflections of TX beams from respective front faces of the N transducers after the first reflection from the reflector assembly (Scarborough: see Fig. 6).
As for claim 11, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that the N substantially identical concave reflector portions form a contiguous reflector area for the reflector assembly (Scarborough: see Fig. 5A), thereby forming a respective ridge at each boundary between two adjacent reflector portions (Scarborough: see Fig. 5A).
As for claim 12, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that the reflector portion (Strickland: 26) further comprises a beam suppression portion (Scarborough: portions of 500 between 502 and 503 in Fig. 5A) that includes N sections that each extend from the center point of the reflector assembly towards a perimeter of the reflector assembly (Strickland: corresponding to the areas between the lobes in paragraph [0046]) such that they form a respective boundary area between each pair of adjacent reflector portions that are arranged to steer TX beam portions directed thereat off the N transducers.
As for claim 13, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that said boundary areas are provided as respective substantially planar surfaces (Scarborough: see Figs. 5A and 5C).
As for claim 14, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that the control portion (Strickland: 30) is arranged to:
operate each transducer to further capture respective reflected measurement signals that are reflected from respective front faces of those ones of the N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer (Strickland: paragraphs [0040] and [0041]); and
derive the one or more wind characteristics further based on respective propagation times of the respective measurement signals transmitted from the N transducers and captured at respective other ones of the N transducers after reflections from respective front faces of those ones of the N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer (paragraph [0041]).
As for claim 15, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses that N is three (Strickland: see Figs. 7 and 8), the wind measurement apparatus thereby including:
an arrangement of three transducers (Strickland: 50, 52, 54) disposed on the cover-portion-facing side of the base portion in respective positions that serve as respective vertices of a regular equilateral triangle (Strickland: see Fig. 8); and
a reflector assembly (Strickland: 26) arranged on the base-portion-facing side of the cover portion (120), wherein the reflector assembly (Strickland: 26) is divided into three substantially identical concave reflector portions (Strickland: see Fig. 8 and Scarborough: see Fig. 5A) that are provided as respective recesses on the base-portion-facing surface of the cover portion(Scarborough: see Fig. 5A), the reflector assembly thereby exhibiting trilateral rotational symmetry (to match Fig. 8 of Strickland).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2540737 by Strickland as listed in the IDS dated 12/20/2023 (“Strickland”) in view of U.S. Patent 11,656,109 issued to Scarborough, III et al. (“Scarborough”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of CN 114088973 by Shi et al. (“Shi”).
As for claim 3, Strickland as modified by Scarborough discloses the wind measurement apparatus according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Strickland as modified by Scarborough does not disclose that each of the N transducers comprises a respective piezoelectric transducer. Instead, Strickland discloses generic transducers that create ultrasonic waves to determine a wind speed (Abstract).
However, Shi discloses that each of N transducers (6) comprises a respective piezoelectric transducer (see the paragraph beginning “the position relation of the ultrasonic transducer group 6 and the upper reflecting plate 14 …”). Shi discloses that the piezoelectric transducers create ultrasonic waves to determine a wind speed (Abstract).
Because Strickland and Shi both disclose transducers that create ultrasonic waves to determine a wind speed, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the piezoelectric transducers of Shi for the generic transducers of Strickland to achieve the predictable result of providing transducers that create ultrasonic waves to determine a wind speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record and the examiner’s knowledge does not disclose or suggest that each transducer is arranged transmit a respective TX beam having its center axis directed towards a predefined target position that is offset from a boundary between said two adjacent reflector portions so as to split the respective TX beam at least into a first portion that meets a surface of a first reflector portion on one side of said boundary and a second portion that meets a surface of a second reflector portion on the opposite side of said boundary, where the first and second portions have substantially different sizes, thereby limiting power transfer in reflections of TX beams from respective front faces of those ones of N transducers that are adjacent to the respective transducer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 5,372,047 issued to Russwurm et al. (“Russwurm”) is cited for all that it discloses including a concave reflector portion that focuses ultrasonic waves.
CN 113484532 by Yang et al. (“Yang”) is cited for all that it discloses including a wind measurement system comprising N transducers and a concave reflector portion that focuses ultrasonic waves emitted by the transducers.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853