DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received June 10th, 2026. Claims 1, 8, 12, 19 have been amended. Claims 1-19 have been entered and presented for examination.
Priority
Application 18/391,254 is a Continuation of PCT/JP2022/016831 03/31/2022 and claims benefit of the Japanese Application 2021-103549 06/22/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Novlan does not explicitly disclose make a notification of information indicating a configuration of uplink communication and downlink communications of a second TDD pattern.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant claims an indication of the configuration of uplink communication and downlink communications of a second TDD pattern, but not explicitly including the configuration of uplink communication and downlink communications of a second TDD pattern.
Furthermore, Novlan discloses the pattern or set of slots for which the semi-persistent DFSC is provided can be configured by higher layer signaling along with a periodicity of the pattern; the DFSC can be indicated by a new DCI (downlink control information) format defined for IAB resource coordination. In another alternative, the DFSC can be indicated by an L1 scheduling DCI, which provides dynamic UL/DL determination for a given resource allocation (e.g. one or more slots); The technology allows flexible patterns of downlink/uplink resources to be coordinated across a backhaul link including semi-persistent resource allocation (paragraphs 0057-0058, 0061). The IAB UE can then uses a frame structure coordination (FSC) control plane (IAB-C) message to indicate the dynamic update of the frame structure to enable the IAB DU to utilize those resources (paragraph 0042). The content of a DFSC can include multiple parameters for indicating the update frame structure and available downlink/uplink resources (paragraph 0048).
Furthermore, Novlan discloses an IAB UE can send a DFSC request message (sent as represented by block 658) can be used for requesting resources to be reserved for downlink/uplink transmission by the IAB or parent node (paragraph 0045) wherein the target node may send a rejection indication of the resource request, or may send an updated DFSC (e.g., block 660) with a subset of available resources from the set of requested resources (paragraph 0045). The IAB Node 2 relays the information to the UE (see Figure 1).
Novlan further discloses in the subframes 440 and 441 during slot t+1 and slot t+2, the IAB parent node does not have any downlink traffic to schedule (e.g., relay traffic) for the IAB node's UE function. However, because the frame structure is semi-statically coordinated, without dynamic coordination as described herein, the IAB DU, which is scheduled to receive data at blocks 442 and 443, cannot adapt the frame structure to allow downlink transmissions (to access UEs or other IAB nodes) because the IAB DU is not aware of the potential scheduling of the IAB parent node (see Figure 4 and paragraph 0041). Dynamic coordination allows the IAB parent and IAB node to perform dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC). For example, as represented in FIG. 5, via DFSC, e.g., a message (labeled 550), the parent node indicates to the IAB UE component that a set of resources are available or released, overriding the semi-statically coordinated and configured downlink/uplink resource pattern. The IAB UE can then uses a frame structure coordination (FSC) control plane (IAB-C) message to indicate the dynamic update of the frame structure to enable the IAB DU to utilize those resources (paragraph 0042). After the DFSC is sent to the UE, the parent node changes the FSC so that the IAB UE can use those resources.
For the reasons above, the rejection of claims 1-19 is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 12, 19, Novlan et al. disclose a base station apparatus (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0032 [gNB 102]) comprising: at least one memory storing program (paragraph 0062 [a processor, and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor]); at least one processor that, upon execution of the stored program (paragraph 0062 [a processor, and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor]), is configured to operate as:
determining unit configured to determine whether to change an operation of a time-division duplex (TDD) pattern indicating a configuration of uplink communication and downlink communication used when communicating with a user equipment connecting to the base station using TDD (paragraphs 0005, 0045 [TDD; IAB parent and IAB node to perform dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC) suggesting determination; also in response to a request, the target node may send a rejection indication of the resource request, or may send an updated DFSC (e.g., block 660) with a subset of available resources from the set of requested resources ]);
notifying unit configured to make a notification of information indicating a configuration of uplink communication and downlink communications of a second TDD pattern (paragraphs 0057-0058, 0061 [the pattern or set of slots for which the semi-persistent DFSC is provided can be configured by higher layer signaling along with a periodicity of the pattern; the DFSC can be indicated by a new DCI (downlink control information) format defined for IAB resource coordination. In another alternative, the DFSC can be indicated by an L1 scheduling DCI, which provides dynamic UL/DL determination for a given resource allocation (e.g. one or more slots); The technology allows flexible patterns of downlink/uplink resources to be coordinated across a backhaul link including semi-persistent resource allocation]), in a case where the operation is determined to be changed by the determining unit, before changing a first TDD pattern being used for the operation to a second TDD pattern planned to be changed, for determining the second TDD pattern to a relay apparatus that relays communication of the base station apparatus and communicates with second user equipment using TDD (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0005, 0042 [TDD; IAB parent and IAB node to perform dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC). For example, as represented in FIG. 5, via DFSC, e.g., a message (labeled 550), the parent node indicates to the IAB UE component that a set of resources are available or released, overriding the semi-statically coordinated and configured downlink/uplink resource pattern. The IAB UE can then uses a frame structure coordination (FSC) control plane (IAB-C) message to indicate the dynamic update of the frame structure to enable the IAB DU to utilize those resources]);
and changing unit configured to change the operation of the TDD pattern to the second TDD pattern after the information for determining the second TDD pattern is notified by the notifying unit (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0048-0056 [Indication of the location or starting position of downlink and uplink symbols within a slot; Number of consecutive slots with available resources]).
Regarding claims 2, 13, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 12 and further discloses wherein the notifying unit further makes a notification of timing information enabling determination of a timing at which the operation is to be changed together with the information for determining the second TDD pattern (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0048-0056 [Indication of the location or starting position of downlink and uplink symbols within a slot; Number of consecutive slots with available resources]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 14, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 8, 12, and further discloses wherein the notifying unit makes the notification of the information for determining the second TDD pattern to the relay apparatus using a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) message (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0005, 0042 [TDD; IAB parent and IAB node to perform dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC). For example, as represented in FIG. 5, via DFSC, e.g., a message (labeled 550), the parent node indicates to the IAB UE component that a set of resources are available or released, overriding the semi-statically coordinated and configured downlink/uplink resource pattern. The IAB UE can then uses a frame structure coordination (FSC) control plane (IAB-C) message to indicate the dynamic update of the frame structure to enable the IAB DU to utilize those resources]).
Regarding claims 6, 17, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 12 and further discloses wherein the notifying unit makes the notification of the information for determining the second TDD pattern using Integrated Access and Backhaul (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 0005, 0042 [TDD; IAB parent and IAB node to perform dynamic frame structure coordination (DFSC). For example, as represented in FIG. 5, via DFSC, e.g., a message (labeled 550), the parent node indicates to the IAB UE component that a set of resources are available or released, overriding the semi-statically coordinated and configured downlink/uplink resource pattern. The IAB UE can then uses a frame structure coordination (FSC) control plane (IAB-C) message to indicate the dynamic update of the frame structure to enable the IAB DU to utilize those resources]).
Regarding claim 9, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 8 and further discloses wherein: the notification received by the receiving unit further includes timing information enabling determination of a timing at which operation is to be changed (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0048-0056 [Indication of the location or starting position of downlink and uplink symbols within a slot; Number of consecutive slots with available resources]), and the changing unit changes the operation of the TDD pattern in the relay apparatus so that an operation of the second TDD pattern is started by the relay apparatus upon the timing at which the base station apparatus changes the operation of the TDD pattern (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0048-0056 [Indication of the location or starting position of downlink and uplink symbols within a slot; Number of consecutive slots with available resources; MPEP 2111.04 ]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of R3-191532.
Regarding claims 4, 11, 15, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 8, 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the changing unit changes the operation of the TDD pattern to the second TDD pattern after the notifying unit notifies the information for determining the second TDD pattern to the relay apparatus and the base station apparatus has received response information to the notification from the relay apparatus.
However, R3-191532 discloses wherein the changing unit changes the operation of the TDD pattern to the second TDD pattern after the notifying unit notifies the information for determining the second TDD pattern to the relay apparatus and the base station apparatus has received response information to the notification from the relay apparatus (see Figure 4 [DL/UL configuration of an IAB node should be transmitted to neighbor IAB nodes to mitigate CLI between IAB nodes; configuration update and configuration update acknowledgment]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the gNB could receive an acknowledgment for the DFSC message. The motivation is to acknowledge receipt.
Regarding claims 7, 18 Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 6, 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in a case where a plurality of relay apparatuses are controlled by the base station apparatus, the notifying unit makes the notification of the information for determining the second TDD pattern to the plurality of relay apparatuses.
However, R3-191532 discloses wherein in a case where a plurality of relay apparatuses are controlled by the base station apparatus, the notifying unit makes the notification of the information for determining the second TDD pattern to the plurality of relay apparatuses (see Figure 4 [DL/UL configuration of an IAB node should be transmitted to neighbor IAB nodes to mitigate CLI between IAB nodes; configuration update and configuration update acknowledgment]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the gNB could receive an acknowledgment for the DFSC message. The motivation is to acknowledge receipt.
Claim(s) 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al. (US 2019/0349079) in view of Samdanis et al. (US 2019/0174498).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Novlan et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining unit determines whether to change the operation of the TDD pattern based at least on the slice information designating a network slice obtained from a user equipment.
However, Samdanis et al. discloses wherein the determining unit determines whether to change the operation of the TDD pattern based at least on the slice information designating a network slice obtained from a user equipment (paragraph 0042 [Once the shared base station 5 has been configured to support a particular tenant (and any associated mobile telephone 3) via the corresponding network slice, the base station 5 schedules the traffic/subcarrier(s) associated with that tenant/mobile telephone based on the TDD configuration pattern applicable for that network slice. Specifically, the base station 5 is configured to use a cell specific dynamic UL/DL reconfiguration or a TDD eIMTA scheme for adapting the UL/DL frame configuration of that network slice to match the UL/DL traffic demands within the base station's 5 cell. Beneficially, therefore, the base station 5 is able to apply appropriate QoS and congestion control to each traffic type and for each tenant (in its associated network slice) independently from the configuration (UL/DL frames, QoS, congestion control, etc.) applicable to other tenants/services (in other network slices) in the same cell.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the TDD configuration pattern could be sent to the UE in order to access the slice.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465