DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/01/2024 and 09/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: element 140 (i.e. the shell). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsushita et al.
Matsushita et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338628 A1) discloses (see annotated Figures 1B and 2C):
Regarding claim 1, a laser device (see light emitting device illustrated in Figure 1B), comprising: a shell including: a base plate (Figure 1B, element 12); and a frame (Figure 1B, element 14) disposed on the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12) and connected to the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12), so as to provide an accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A) with an opening; the frame (Figure 1B, element 14) including: a frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e), and a first flange bent (Figure 1B, element 14d) relative to the frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e) and fixedly connected to the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12); an upper cover assembly (Figure 1B, element 80) fixed to the shell (Figure 1B, elements 12 and 14) and closing the accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A); a plurality of light-emitting assemblies (Figure 1B, element 30) located in the accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A) and disposed on the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12); and a plurality of conductive pins (Figure 1B, element 15) being electrically connected with the plurality of light-emitting assemblies (Figure 1B, element 30); any one of the plurality of conductive pins (Figure 1B, element 15) being electrically connected to a corresponding light-emitting assembly (Figure 1B, element 30); wherein the frame body (Figure 2C, element 14e) includes a plurality of flanging holes (Figure 2C, element 14c), and the plurality of flanging holes (Figure 2C, element 14c) correspond to the plurality of conductive pins (Figure 2C, element 15); a depth (see space/distance illustrated between elements B1 and B2 in Figure 2C) of any one of the plurality of flanging holes (Figure 2C, element 14c) is greater than a thickness (see space/distance illustrated between elements C1 and C2 in Figure 2C) of the frame body (Figure 2C, element 14e); and a portion of the any one of the plurality of conductive pins (Figure 2C, element 15) is located at an outside of the accommodating space through a corresponding one of the plurality of flanging holes (Figure 2C, element 14c).
Regarding claim 2, a plurality of flanging portions (Figure 1B, element 16); any one of the plurality of flanging portions (Figure 1B, element 16) having a tubular shape protruding towards the outside of the accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A) relative to the frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e); and the any one of the plurality of flanging holes (element 14c) running through the any one of the plurality of flanging portions (Figure 1B, element 16) along an extending direction of the any one of the plurality of flanging portions (Figure 1B, element 16).
Regarding claim 3, a plurality of annular insulators (Figure 1B, element 17) corresponding to the plurality of conductive pins (Figure 1B, element 15); wherein any one of the plurality of annular insulators (Figure 1B, element 17) is located between a corresponding one of the plurality of conductive pins (Figure 1B, element 15) and an inner wall of a corresponding one of the plurality of flanging holes (element 14c) and configured to fix the corresponding conductive pin (Figure 1B, element 15) in the corresponding flanging hole (element 14c).
Regarding claim 4, the frame (Figure 1B, element 14) further includes a second flange (Figure 1B, element 82) connected to the frame body; the first flange (Figure 1B, element 14d) is located at a side of the frame body, and the second flange (Figure 1B, element 82) is located at another side of the frame body and is opposite to the first flange (Figure 1B, element 82); and the upper cover assembly (Figure 1B, element 80) is fixedly connected to the second flange (Figure 1B, element 82).
Regarding claim 5, the first flange (Figure 1B, element 14d) is bent towards an inside of the accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A) relative to the frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e), and the second flange (Figure 1B, element 82) is bent towards the outside of the accommodating space (Figure 1B, element A) relative to the frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e).
Regarding claim 6, the frame (i.e. plate bodies) is a sheet metal member (page 7, claim 14, lines 2-3), and a thickness of each position of the frame is a same thickness (clearly illustrated in Figure 1B); and the thickness of the frame is in a range from 0.1 mm to 1 mm, inclusive (page 7, claim 12, lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, the upper cover assembly (Figure 1B, element 80) includes: a cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84), an outer edge of the cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84) being fixed to a surface of the frame body (Figure 1B, element 14e) away from the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12); and a light transmitting layer (i.e. phosphor-containing member; page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 14-15) fixed to an inner edge of the cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84).
Regarding claim 8, the cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84) has a same material (page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 1-6) as the frame (Figure 1B, element 14).
Regarding claim 12, at least one of a surface of the light transmitting layer (i.e. phosphor-containing member; page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 14-15) proximate to the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12) is provided with a brightness enhancement film (i.e. phosphor-containing member).
Regarding claim 13, the upper cover assembly (Figure 1B, element 80) further includes a sealing member (i.e. bonding material), and the light transmitting layer is fixed to the cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84) through the sealing member (i.e. bonding material); and the sealing member (i.e. bonding material) includes any one of low-temperature glass solder, glass melt glue, or epoxy sealant (page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 19, the base plate (Figure 1B, element 12) includes: a middle portion (Figure 1B, element 12A) configured to carry the plurality of light-emitting assemblies (Figure 1B, element 30); and a peripheral portion configured to carry the frame (Figure 1B, element 14); a thickness of the peripheral portion being less than a thickness of the middle portion (clearly illustrated in Figure 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. in view of Tian et al.
Matsushita et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338628 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 1C) a laser source (Figure 1C, element C) including the laser device (Figure 1C, element 30), and the laser source (Figure 1C, element C) being configured to emit illumination beams (Figure 1C, element B). However, Matsushita et al. does not teach a laser projection apparatus, comprising: an optical modulation component being configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source to obtain projection beams; and a projection lens being configured to project the projection beams into an image.
Tian et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0224826 A1) discloses a laser projection apparatus (Figure 8, element 600), comprising: an optical modulation component (i.e. light valve; page 6, paragraph 0073, line 10) being configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source (Figure 8, element 200) to obtain projection beams (page 6, paragraph 0073, lines 10-13); and a projection lens (Figure 8, element 300) being configured to project the projection beams into an image (page 6, paragraph 0076, lines 20-23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a laser projection apparatus, comprising: an optical modulation component being configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source to obtain projection beams; and a projection lens being configured to project the projection beams into an image as shown by Tian et al. in combination with Matsushita et al.’s invention for the purpose of creating an image (Tian et al., page 6, paragraph 0073, lines 10-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Matsushita et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338628 A1) discloses a cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84), a base plate (Figure 1B, element 12), and a light transmitting layer (i.e. phosphor-containing member; page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 14-15). However, Matsushita et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a laser device wherein at least one wrinkle portion located between the outer edge region and the inner edge region; wherein the wrinkle portion is configured to protrude from the inner edge region in a direction away from the base plate or recess in a direction proximate to the base plate.
Regarding claim 14, Matsushita et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338628 A1) discloses a cover plate (Figure 1B, element 84), a base plate (Figure 1B, element 12), and a light transmitting layer (i.e. phosphor-containing member; page 6, paragraph 0061, lines 14-15). However, Matsushita et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a laser device wherein the upper cover assembly includes a solder layer located between the light transmitting layer and the surface of the frame away from the base plate, so as to fix the light transmitting layer and the surface of the frame away from the base plate.
Regarding claims 10-11 and 15-18, the claims are allowable based on their dependence from allowable claims 8 and 14 (respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhon et al. (CN 112825409 A) discloses a laser comprising: a bottom plate; a tube shell; the shell and the bottom plate form a containing space; in the containing space, a plurality of laser chips and at least one reflecting prism are located on the bottom plate; the reflecting prism is used for emitting the light emitted by the laser chip along the direction away from the bottom plate; a conductive pin passing through the side wall of the tube shell; the orthographic projection of the tube shell and the conductive pin on the bottom plate is located at the peripheral edge of the bottom plate; and the peripheral edge of the bottom plate is recessed relative to the middle region of the bottom plate towards one side away from the tube shell. The invention solves the problem that the light emitting effect of the laser is bad. The invention is used for emitting light.
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
02/20/2026