DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received March 18th, 2026. Claims 1, 10, 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “While Zhang describes the use of two wake-up receivers, Zhang's description of such wake- up receivers does not disclose different wake stages using different detection techniques for a same signal including a data packet. More specifically, Zhang describes first and second wake-up receivers that detect different wake signals, where such receivers operate sequentially, and the first receiver merely activates the second receiver which may then listen for separate wake signals. Such a general description of wake receivers does not disclose receiving a signal that includes a data packet, and using a first wake stage, that uses a first signal detection technique, to perform a first wake detection operation, determining a designated pattern and performance parameters for the data packet, and then using a second wake stage, that uses a second signal detection technique, to perform a second wake detection operation, where the first and second signal detection techniques are different, and where they are both performed on the same data packet.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang et al. discloses the first wake-up receiver 104a can have limited functionality such that it merely detects high-level waveform characteristics (e.g., envelope shape, amplitude, frequency, and/or time duration) of incoming wireless signals to reduce its power consumption; the first wake-up receiver 104a activates the second wake-up receiver 104b after the first wake-up receiver 104a detects one or more wake-up signals; interference mode; second receiver can use a medium interference sensitivity (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11, column 14, lines 40-65 ).
Furthermore, the claims do not recite the second stage receives the same packet. The claims only recite “determining, based on the designated pattern and performance parameters associated with the data packet, if a second wake detection operation should be performed at a second wake stage of the wireless device, the second wake stage using a second signal detection technique different form the first signal detection technique.”
For the reasons stated above, the rejection of the claims is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 11272454) in view of Quinlan et al. (US 20220416828).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 16, Zhang et al. discloses a method comprising: receiving a signal at a wireless device (see Abstract [ first wake-up receiver can detect a first wake-up signal within a first group of wireless signals]), the signal comprising a data packet compatible with a wireless communication protocol (column 5, line 63 – column 6, line 7 [Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)]); performing, using one or more processing elements, a first wake detection operation at a first wake stage of the wireless device (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11 [the first wake-up receiver 104a can have limited functionality such that it merely detects high-level waveform characteristics (e.g., envelope shape, amplitude, frequency, and/or time duration) of incoming wireless signals to reduce its power consumption]), the first wake stage using a first signal detection technique (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11, column 14, lines 40-65 [the first wake-up receiver 104a can have limited functionality such that it merely detects high-level waveform characteristics (e.g., envelope shape, amplitude, frequency, and/or time duration) of incoming wireless signals to reduce its power consumption; the first wake-up receiver 104a activates the second wake-up receiver 104b after the first wake-up receiver 104a detects one or more wake-up signals; interference mode]); determining a designated pattern and performance parameters for the data packet (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11, column 14, lines 40-65 [the first wake-up receiver 104a can have limited functionality such that it merely detects high-level waveform characteristics (e.g., envelope shape, amplitude, frequency, and/or time duration) of incoming wireless signals to reduce its power consumption; the first wake-up receiver 104a activates the second wake-up receiver 104b after the first wake-up receiver 104a detects one or more wake-up signals; interference mode]); determining, based on the designated pattern and performance parameters associated with the data packet, if a second wake detection operation should be performed at a second wake stage of the wireless device, the second wake stage using a second signal detection technique different form the first signal detection technique (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11, column 14, lines 40-65 [the first wake-up receiver 104a can have limited functionality such that it merely detects high-level waveform characteristics (e.g., envelope shape, amplitude, frequency, and/or time duration) of incoming wireless signals to reduce its power consumption; the first wake-up receiver 104a activates the second wake-up receiver 104b after the first wake-up receiver 104a detects one or more wake-up signals; interference mode; second receiver can use a medium interference sensitivity]).
Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11), but does not explicitly disclose determining, using one or more processing elements, if a valid wake code has been received based on a designated wake code included in the data packet.
However, Quinlan et al. discloses determining, using one or more processing elements, if a valid wake code has been received based on a designated wake code associated with the data packet (paragraph 0047 [The wake-up receiver 110 is configured to remain on and monitor for wake-up signals received via the antenna 140 at any one or more predefined wake-up channel frequencies; if a recovered digital code matches any of the one or more wake-up codes, the wake-up receiver 110 may output a wake-up signal 115 to the communications transceiver 120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the second wakeup receiver could detect the wake-up code and determine whether the code matches since Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11). The motivation for this is to activate the transceiver based on a matching wake-up code thereby saving power in the device.
Regarding claims 3, 12, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 10.
Zhang et al. further discloses wherein the first wake detection operation comprises: identifying a first plurality of data values based on envelope detection (column 3, line 30 – column 4, 43 [the first wake-up receiver monitors a first wireless channel to listen for and detect a first wake-up signal transmitted by the remote device. One example of the first wake-up signal is a wireless signal with a particular envelope shape. If the first wake-up receiver detects the first wake-up signal, the first wake-up receiver can activate the second wake-up receiver. The second wake-up receiver has greater processing capabilities than the first wake-up receiver, and thus consumes more power than the first wake-up receiver. But the second wake-up receiver still consumes less power than the transceiver does when engaged in wireless communications. Thus, the first wake-up receiver in this example is an ultra-low power wake-up receiver, while the second wake-up receiver is a low-power wake-up receiver, and both wake-up receivers consume less power than the transceiver]).
Regarding claims 4, 13, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 3, 12.
However, Quinlan et al. further discloses wherein the second wake detection operation comprises: identifying a second plurality of data values based on frequency modulation (paragraph 0027 [there is provided a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), or Bluetooth (BT) Classic wake-up receiver for use in a wireless communications device, the wake-up receiver being configured to: receive a radio frequency, RF, signal on a BLE advertising frequency, wherein the RF signal is modulated with a digital code using a Gaussian frequency shift key, GFSK, modulation scheme according to the BLE standard; recover the digital code from the RF signal; compare the digital code to one or more predetermined wake-up codes; and if the digital code matches any of the one or more predetermined wake-up codes, output a wake-up signal to one or more other units within the wireless communications device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the second wakeup receiver could detect the wake-up code and determine whether the code matches since Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11). The motivation for this is to activate the transceiver based on a matching wake-up code thereby saving power in the device.
Regarding claims 5, 14, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 4, 13.
However, Quinlan et al. further discloses wherein a frequency component of the frequency modulation is determined based on the wireless communication protocol (paragraph 0027 [there is provided a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), or Bluetooth (BT) Classic wake-up receiver for use in a wireless communications device, the wake-up receiver being configured to: receive a radio frequency, RF, signal on a BLE advertising frequency, wherein the RF signal is modulated with a digital code using a Gaussian frequency shift key, GFSK, modulation scheme according to the BLE standard; recover the digital code from the RF signal; compare the digital code to one or more predetermined wake-up codes; and if the digital code matches any of the one or more predetermined wake-up codes, output a wake-up signal to one or more other units within the wireless communications device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the second wakeup receiver could detect the wake-up code and determine whether the code matches since Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11). The motivation for this is to activate the transceiver based on a matching wake-up code thereby saving power in the device.
Regarding claim 6, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 5.
Zhang et al. further discloses wherein the wireless communication protocol is a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol (column 5, line 63 – column 6, line 7 [Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)]).
Regarding claims 7, 15, 19, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 10, 16.
However, Quinlan et al. further discloses comprising: comparing the data values extracted from the data packet with a designated wake code; and generating a wake signal in response to the data values matching the designated wake code (paragraph 0047 [The wake-up receiver 110 is configured to remain on and monitor for wake-up signals received via the antenna 140 at any one or more predefined wake-up channel frequencies; if a recovered digital code matches any of the one or more wake-up codes, the wake-up receiver 110 may output a wake-up signal 115 to the communications transceiver 120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the second wakeup receiver could detect the wake-up code and determine whether the code matches since Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11). The motivation for this is to activate the transceiver based on a matching wake-up code thereby saving power in the device.
Regarding claims 8, 20, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 7, 19.
Zhang et al. further discloses providing the wake signal to one or more power domains of the wireless device; and transitioning the one or more power domains from a sleep mode to a wake mode (column 4, lines 44-51 [The second wake-up receiver can activate the transceiver in a variety of ways, such as by transmitting a second activation signal (e.g., an interrupt signal) to the processing device. The processing device receives the second activation signal and responsively applies power from a power source to the transceiver to activate the transceiver.]).
Regarding claim 9, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 1.
Zhang et al. further discloses wherein the data packet is a beacon frame (column 2, lines 50-51 [wherein the wake-up signal includes a Bluetooth advertisement signal]).
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 11272454) in view of Quinlan et al. (US 20220416828) as applied to claim 1, 10 above, and further in view of Twitchell (US 20060276161).
Regarding claims 2, 11, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 10, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the determining if the second wake operation should be performed at a second wake stage further comprises: determining that the first wake stage is experiencing interference.
However, Twitchell suggests wherein the determining if the second wake operation should be performed at a second wake stage further comprises: determining that the first wake stage is experiencing interference (paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0065[When the detector 64 determines that a wake-up signal is likely present, for example, by way of a measured signal strength that prevails over any present RF noise, the RSI 12 and, specifically, the wake-up receiver 26 enters the second subdomain "A2"; in this subdomain "A2", the wake-up receiver 26 evaluates the signal for one or more particular criteria, such as the presence of a particular modulation in the possible wake-up signal detected in subdomain "A1", which signal may convey digital information. In this regard, the high gain amplifier 66, threshold circuitry 70, and conditional gate 68 are activated and the signal is analyzed with regard to amplitude, frequency and/or phase to determine if the signal is modulated according to the applicable standard, such as GFSK or FSK, that is being utilized in the operation of the decoder 72. This determination is typically completed within 30 microseconds of the RSI 12 entering the second subdomain "A2". If the signal is not modulated according to the applicable standard (a situation where digital information is not going to be extracted from the signal by the decoder 72), then the signal is deemed not to be a wake-up signal and the RSI 12 returns to the first operational subdomain "A1”; by utilizing a stepped wake-up sequence in the wake-up receiver 26, an even lower power consumption rate is realized. Indeed, it is believed that a majority of the time the RSI 12 will reside within the first domain "A", during which time the RSI 12 as a whole will draw only on the order of tens of microamps of current. Indeed, by first detecting for the presence of a likely signal within a noisy RF environment, substantial power savings can be achieved using this preferred stepped wake-up sequence because the attempt to extract meaningful data from a received signal, which is an exercise that results in significantly increased power consumption, is not attempted if the signal is determined to be noise.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize if the receiver detects a possible signal with noise, then further analyze the signal to determine whether or not the received signal is a wake-up signal or only noise. The motivation for this is to further process the signal while maintaining power saving benefits.
Regarding claim 17, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 16.
Zhang et al. further discloses wherein the first wake detection operation comprises identifying a first plurality of data values based on envelope detection (column 3, line 30 – column 4, 43 [the first wake-up receiver monitors a first wireless channel to listen for and detect a first wake-up signal transmitted by the remote device. One example of the first wake-up signal is a wireless signal with a particular envelope shape. If the first wake-up receiver detects the first wake-up signal, the first wake-up receiver can activate the second wake-up receiver. The second wake-up receiver has greater processing capabilities than the first wake-up receiver, and thus consumes more power than the first wake-up receiver. But the second wake-up receiver still consumes less power than the transceiver does when engaged in wireless communications. Thus, the first wake-up receiver in this example is an ultra-low power wake-up receiver, while the second wake-up receiver is a low-power wake-up receiver, and both wake-up receivers consume less power than the transceiver]).
The references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 16, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the determining if the second wake operation should be performed at a second wake stage further comprises determining that the first wake stage is experiencing interference.
However, Twitchell suggests wherein the determining if the second wake operation should be performed at a second wake stage further comprises: determining that the first wake stage is experiencing interference (paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0065[When the detector 64 determines that a wake-up signal is likely present, for example, by way of a measured signal strength that prevails over any present RF noise, the RSI 12 and, specifically, the wake-up receiver 26 enters the second subdomain "A2"; in this subdomain "A2", the wake-up receiver 26 evaluates the signal for one or more particular criteria, such as the presence of a particular modulation in the possible wake-up signal detected in subdomain "A1", which signal may convey digital information. In this regard, the high gain amplifier 66, threshold circuitry 70, and conditional gate 68 are activated and the signal is analyzed with regard to amplitude, frequency and/or phase to determine if the signal is modulated according to the applicable standard, such as GFSK or FSK, that is being utilized in the operation of the decoder 72. This determination is typically completed within 30 microseconds of the RSI 12 entering the second subdomain "A2". If the signal is not modulated according to the applicable standard (a situation where digital information is not going to be extracted from the signal by the decoder 72), then the signal is deemed not to be a wake-up signal and the RSI 12 returns to the first operational subdomain "A1”; by utilizing a stepped wake-up sequence in the wake-up receiver 26, an even lower power consumption rate is realized. Indeed, it is believed that a majority of the time the RSI 12 will reside within the first domain "A", during which time the RSI 12 as a whole will draw only on the order of tens of microamps of current. Indeed, by first detecting for the presence of a likely signal within a noisy RF environment, substantial power savings can be achieved using this preferred stepped wake-up sequence because the attempt to extract meaningful data from a received signal, which is an exercise that results in significantly increased power consumption, is not attempted if the signal is determined to be noise.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize if the receiver detects a possible signal with noise, then further analyze the signal to determine whether or not the received signal is a wake-up signal or only noise. The motivation for this is to further process the signal while maintaining power saving benefits.
Regarding claim 18, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claim 17.
However, Quinlan et al. further discloses wherein the second wake detection operation comprises: identifying a second plurality of data values based on frequency modulation (paragraph 0027 [there is provided a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), or Bluetooth (BT) Classic wake-up receiver for use in a wireless communications device, the wake-up receiver being configured to: receive a radio frequency, RF, signal on a BLE advertising frequency, wherein the RF signal is modulated with a digital code using a Gaussian frequency shift key, GFSK, modulation scheme according to the BLE standard; recover the digital code from the RF signal; compare the digital code to one or more predetermined wake-up codes; and if the digital code matches any of the one or more predetermined wake-up codes, output a wake-up signal to one or more other units within the wireless communications device]) and wherein a frequency component of the frequency modulation is determined based on the wireless communication protocol (paragraph 0027 [there is provided a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), or Bluetooth (BT) Classic wake-up receiver for use in a wireless communications device, the wake-up receiver being configured to: receive a radio frequency, RF, signal on a BLE advertising frequency, wherein the RF signal is modulated with a digital code using a Gaussian frequency shift key, GFSK, modulation scheme according to the BLE standard; recover the digital code from the RF signal; compare the digital code to one or more predetermined wake-up codes; and if the digital code matches any of the one or more predetermined wake-up codes, output a wake-up signal to one or more other units within the wireless communications device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the second wakeup receiver could detect the wake-up code and determine whether the code matches since Zhang et al. discloses the second wake-up receiver 104b can perform digital data analysis (e.g., analyze the digital data carried by incoming wireless signals) (column 10, line 6 – column 11, line 11). The motivation for this is to activate the transceiver based on a matching wake-up code thereby saving power in the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465