Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/391296, filed on 12/20/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
The “shelf comprises coupling features such that in a deployed mode configuration, the opposing arms are slidably coupled to the construction shelf by the coupling features and, in a stowage configuration, the opposing arms are stowable by aligning the extending arms with the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf” of claims 1 and 11 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Figs. 1 and 2 show the shelf (115) is placed on top of the arms (110), but fail to show any coupling features that allow the arms to be slidably coupled to the shelf as claimed.
The “first portion configured to be coupled to the construction shelf and extending along the axis, and a second portion, extending along a second axis intersecting the axis, the arm configured such that, when the arm is releasably coupled to the vertical construction beam and supporting the construction shelf: the first portion is angled upwards and away from the construction shelf, and the second portion is horizontal” of claims 2 and 12 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Figs. 1 and 3 show a shaft portion (135) supporting shelf (115) in a horizontal orientation which contradicts the claimed first portion is configured to be coupled to the shelf and also angled upwards and away from the shelf as claimed. It is unclear whether the head of the arm is considered the first or second portion.
The “stowage cavity configured to be open upwards” of claims 3 and 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Figs. 1 and 2 show a solid shelf (115), Fig. 5 shows a tray (505) with grooves, but the figures fail to show a stowage cavity as claimed.
The “construction shelf further comprises a cover releasably coupled to the construction shelf such that the cover is operable between an open position and a closed position” of claims 4 and 16 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Figs. 1 and 2 show a solid shelf (115) but fail to show a cover that can close or open as claimed.
The “cover is hingedly coupled to the construction shelf” of claims 5 and 17 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Figs. 1 and 2 show a solid shelf (115) but fail to show a cover attached to the shelf by a hinge as claimed.
The “a latch mechanism configured to lock the operable cover” of claims 6 and 18 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. The figures fail to show a latch mechanism as claimed.
The “cover further comprises a first segment and a second segment configured to fold in opposing directions such that, when the first segment and the second segment are folded flat, they form a substantially continuous working surface area” of claims 7 and 19 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Fig. 5 shows a tray 505 but fails to show a cover that is segmented and foldable as claimed.
The “light module electrically coupled to a battery and a human interface switch, coupled to the construction shelf to illuminate a storage module of the construction shelf” of claim 8 and 20 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. Fig. 5 shows the location of a light module (520) an on/off switch, and an area with grooves (530) but fails to show a battery or storage module as claimed.
The “the stowage cavity is configured to store an electric tool” of claim 14 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. Figs. 1, 2, and 5 show tools 120 sitting atop the shelf (115) and tool (535) sitting atop tray (505) but fail to show a stowage cavity capable of storing an electric tool as claimed.
The “stowage cavity is configured to store fasteners” of claim 15 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. Figs. 1, 2, and 5 show tools 120 sitting atop the shelf (115) and tool (535) sitting atop tray (505) but fail to show a stowage cavity capable of storing fasteners as claimed.
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “510” and “525” in Fig. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “[0052]” should be removed from the first line. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, and 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter not properly described in the application as filed includes:
Claims 1 and 11 – the specification fails to disclose the shelf having coupling features, a deployment mode where arms are slidably coupled to the construction shelf (115), or how the slidably coupled arms align with the construction shelf (115) in stowage mode. Various exemplary embodiments of a construction shelf (700) are described as having a deployable mode, a stowage mode, and arms rotatably coupled to the shelf and folding to enter a stowage mode OR arms detachable to be stowed separately (Specification, paragraph 0046) but the specification fails to mention any details of coupling features or slidably coupling the arms and the shelf. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 3, 13, 14, and 15 – the specification fails to disclose the shelf comprises a stowage cavity. A “stowage insert configured for an electric saw” is mentioned (Specification, paragraph 0024) but it is unclear what the stowage insert is. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 4 and 16 – the specification fails to disclose a cover releasably coupled to the construction shelf (115). One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 5 and 17 – the specification fails to disclose a cover hingedly coupled to the construction shelf (115). One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 6 and 18 – the specification fails to disclose a latch mechanism configured to lock the operable cover. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 7 and 19 – the specification fails to disclose a cover comprises a first segment and a second segment configured to fold in opposing directions, forming a continuous working surface area. An exemplary embodiment of the construction shelf (700) is described as having a built-in tray (505) that may “deploy fold out into three separate trays” (Specification, paragraph 0044) but it is unclear whether the tray (505) is also a cover for the shelf. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claims 8 and 20 – the specification fails to disclose a storage module of the construction shelf (115). The specification describes the construction shelf (115) may include a light, a battery, and a human interface switch (Specification, paragraph 0028) but does not further describe these elements working together to light a storage module. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use this feature as described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sode (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20030226944).
With respect to claim 9, Sode discloses a repositionable construction shelf comprising: a construction shelf (Fig. 1, shelf 14) extending along a longitudinal direction; an arm (left support bracket 10) extending along an axis intersecting the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf (shelf 14) when the construction shelf is supported in a horizontal orientation across the arm (left support bracket 10); opposing protrusions (Fig. 4 and 7, projections 28 and 30) extending transversely from a same side of the arm (left support bracket 10), configured such that the opposing protrusions (projections 28 and 30) may releasably couple the arm to a vertical construction beam (Fig. 3-5 show left bracket 10 releasably coupled to left stud 12), wherein the opposing protrusions (projections 28 and 30) are positioned on the arm (left 10) such that a distal protrusion is higher than a proximal protrusion (Fig. 4, distal projection 30 higher than proximal projection 28), when the arm (left 10) is disposed on the vertical construction beam (left stud 12), such that a weight of the construction shelf (left 10) urges both protrusions (28 and 30) to frictionally engage with the vertical construction beam in opposing directions (Figs. 4 and 5 show projections 28 and 30 in contact with opposite sides of left stud 12).
With respect to claim 10, Sode discloses a second arm (right support bracket 10) configured to be coupled to a second vertical construction beam (right stud 12) adjacent the vertical construction beam (left stud 12), such that the construction shelf (shelf 14) is supported by both the arm and the second arm (left and right support brackets 10).
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Sode discloses the arm (left support bracket 10) comprises a first portion (body 18) configured to be coupled to the construction shelf (Fig. 1 shows shelf 14 coupled to body 18 via support arm 12) and extending along an axis, and a second portion (support arm 20), extending along a second axis intersecting the axis, the arm (support bracket 10) configured such that, when the arm (10) is releasably coupled to the vertical construction beam (stud 12) and supporting the construction shelf (14): the first portion (18) is angled upwards (Fig. 1, body 18 is angled vertically) and away from the construction shelf (14), and the second portion (20) is horizontal (Fig. 1, support arm 20 is horizontal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Bradford (U.S. Pub. No. 20240008645).
With respect to claim 1, Sode discloses a repositionable construction shelf comprising: a construction shelf (Fig. 1, shelf 14) extending along a longitudinal direction; opposing arms (support brackets 10) extending along an intersecting axis to the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf (shelf 14), each opposing arm (support bracket 10) comprising: opposing protrusions (Fig. 4 and 7, projections 28 and 30) extending transversely from a same side of the opposing arms (10), configured such that the opposing protrusions (28 and 30) may releasably couple the opposing arms (10) to at least one adjacent vertical construction beam (stud 12) such that the opposing protrusions (28 and 30) are positioned such that a distal protrusion is higher than a proximal protrusion (Fig. 4, distal projection 30 higher than proximal projection 28) such that a weight of the shelf (14) urges both protrusions (28 and 30) to frictionally engage with the vertical construction beam (12).
Sode fails to disclose wherein the shelf comprises coupling features configured such that: in a deployed mode configuration, the opposing arms are slidably coupled to the construction shelf by the coupling features and, in a stowage configuration, the opposing arms are stowable by aligning the extending arms with the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf.
Bradford discloses wherein a shelf (Fig. 4, shelf 13) comprises coupling features (Fig. 4, left and right shelf bracket holes 131 and 132) configured such that: in a deployed mode configuration (Fig. 3, middle shelf assembled to uprights 11 and 12), the opposing arms (tube brackets 31) are slidably coupled to the construction shelf by the coupling features (left and right shelf bracket holes 131 and 132) and, in a stowage configuration (Fig. 3, bottom shelf disassembled from uprights 11 and 12), the opposing arms (tube brackets 31) are stowable by aligning the extending arms with the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf (disassembled tube brackets 31 capable of being aligned in the longitudinal direction of the shelf 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode to include bracket holes such as taught by Bradford in order to easily and securely receive the shelf brackets and to further strengthen the shelf when it is fully assembled and in use.
With respect to claim 11, Sode discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the shelf comprises coupling features configured such that: in a deployed configuration, the opposing arms are slidably coupled to the construction shelf by the coupling features and, in a stowage configuration, the arm is stowable by aligning the extending arms with the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf.
Bradford discloses wherein a shelf (Fig. 4, shelf 13) comprises coupling features (Fig. 4, left and right shelf bracket holes 131 and 132) configured such that: in a deployed configuration (Fig. 3, middle shelf assembled to uprights 11 and 12), the opposing arms (tube brackets 31) are slidably coupled to the construction shelf by the coupling features (left and right shelf bracket holes 131 and 132) and, in a stowage configuration (Fig. 3, bottom shelf disassembled from uprights 11 and 12), the opposing arms (tube brackets 31) are stowable by aligning the extending arms with the longitudinal direction of the construction shelf (disassembled tube brackets 31 capable of being aligned in the longitudinal direction of the shelf 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode to include bracket holes such as taught by Bradford in order to easily and securely receive the shelf brackets and to further strengthen the shelf when it is fully assembled and in use.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Bradford (U.S. Pub. No. 20240008645) in further view of Lown (U.S. Pat. No. 7278537).
With respect to claim 3, Sode in view of Bradford discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the shelf comprises a stowage cavity configured to be open upwards when the construction shelf is releasably coupled to the vertical construction beam.
Lown discloses a shelf (Fig. 1, storage compartment 12) comprises a stowage cavity (main storage area 12g) configured to be open upwards when the shelf is in use (Fig. 12, lid 16 with storage compartment 12 in upright use position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode in view of Bradford to include a storage cavity such as taught by Lown so that a user can easily and securely store and organize various tools and items.
With respect to claim 4, Sode in view of Bradford discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the construction shelf further comprises a cover releasably coupled to the construction shelf such that the cover is operable between an open position and a closed position.
Lown discloses wherein the shelf (Fig. 1, storage compartment 12) further comprises a cover (lid 16) releasably coupled to the shelf (12) such that the cover (Fig. 2, 12 and 16 coupled via hinges 18) is operable between an open position (Fig. 1 shows storage shelf 12 in open lid 16) and a closed position (Fig. 4 shows storage shelf 12 with closed lid 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode in view of Bradford to include a lid such as taught by Lown so that a user can easily and securely store and organize various tools and items between the shelf and the lid.
With respect to claim 5, the combination (Lown) further discloses wherein the cover (lid 16) is hingedly coupled to the shelf (Fig. 2, 12 and 16 coupled via hinges 18).
With respect to claim 6, the combination (Lown) further discloses a latch mechanism (Fig. 1, latch handles 121) configured to lock the operable cover (Fig. 4, latch handles 121 releasably locked on to latch hooks 16h).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention when modifying the shelf of Sode in view of Bradford to include the lid such as taught by Lown in claim 4, to further include latches so that the lid and shelf can remain securely closed during transportation of the shelf.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) and Bradford (U.S. Pub. No. 20240008645) in view of Lown (U.S. Pat. No. 7278537) in further view of Fosnaugh (U.S. Pat. No. 2852325).
With respect to claim 7, Sode in view of Bradford in further view of Lown discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the cover further comprises a first segment and a second segment configured to fold in opposing directions such that, when the first segment and the second segment are folded flat, they form a substantially continuous working surface area.
Fosnaugh discloses a cover (Fig. 1, top leaves 14 and 15) comprises a first segment (top leaf 14) and a second segment (top leaf 15) configured to fold in opposing directions (Fig. 4 shows opposing folding directions of 14 and 15) such that, when the first segment (14) and the second segment (15) are folded flat, they form a substantially continuous working surface area (Fig. 2, leaves 14 and 15 form continuous surface with top leaves 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover lid of Sode in view of Bradford in further view of Lown to be made of two folding leaves such as taught by Fosnaugh in order to provide additional work surfaces for users to place tools and items.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Bradford (U.S. Pub. No. 20240008645) in further view of Babcock (U.S. Pub. No. 20110017102).
With respect to claim 8, Sode in view of Bradford discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the construction shelf further comprises a light module, electrically coupled to a battery and a human interface switch, coupled to the construction shelf to illuminate a storage module of the construction shelf.
Babcock discloses a shelf (Fig. 1, shelf 18) comprises a light module (Fig. 2, light source 24), electrically coupled to a battery (battery pack 30) and a human interface switch (on/off switch 32), coupled to the shelf (18) to illuminate a storage module of the construction shelf (Fig. 1, storage areas of shelving assembly 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode in view of Bradford to include lights such as taught by Babcock in order to make it easier for a user to quickly and accurately identify tools and items placed on the shelf.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Lown (U.S. Pat. No. 7278537).
With respect to claim 13, Sode discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the shelf comprises a stowage cavity configured to be open upwards when the construction shelf is releasably coupled to the vertical construction beam.
Lown discloses a shelf (Fig. 1, storage compartment 12) comprises a stowage cavity (main storage area 12g) configured to be open upwards when the shelf is in use (Fig. 12, lid 16 with storage compartment 12 in upright use position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode to include a storage cavity such as taught by Lown so that a user can easily and securely store and organize various tools and items.
With respect to claim 14, the combination (Lown) further discloses the stowage cavity (main storage area 12g) is capable of storing an electric tool (Fig. 1 shows main storage area 12g is large enough to accommodate an electric tool).
With respect to claim 15, the combination (Lown) further discloses the stowage cavity (main storage area 12g) is capable of storing fasteners (Fig. 1 shows main storage area 12g is large enough to accommodate fasteners).
With respect to claim 16, Sode discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the construction shelf further comprises a cover releasably coupled to the construction shelf such that the cover is operable between an open position and a closed position.
Lown discloses wherein the shelf (Fig. 1, storage compartment 12) further comprises a cover (lid 16) releasably coupled to the shelf (12) such that the cover (Fig. 2, 12 and 16 coupled via hinges 18) is operable between an open position (Fig. 1 shows storage shelf 12 in open lid 16) and a closed position (Fig. 4 shows storage shelf 12 with closed lid 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode to include a lid such as taught by Lown so that a user can easily and securely store and organize various tools and items between the shelf and the lid.
With respect to claim 17, the combination (Lown) further discloses wherein the cover (lid 16) is hingedly coupled to the shelf (Fig. 2, 12 and 16 coupled via hinges 18).
With respect to claim 18, the combination (Lown) further discloses a latch mechanism (Fig. 1, latch handles 121) configured to lock the operable cover (Fig. 4, latch handles 121 releasably locked on to latch hooks 16h).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention when modifying the shelf of Sode to include the lid such as taught by Lown in claim 4, to further include latches so that the lid and shelf can remain securely closed during transportation of the shelf.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Lown (U.S. Pat. No. 7278537) in view of Fosnaugh (U.S. Pat. No. 2852325).
With respect to claim 7, Sode in view of Lown discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the cover further comprises a first segment and a second segment configured to fold in opposing directions such that, when the first segment and the second segment are folded flat, they form a substantially continuous working surface area.
Fosnaugh discloses a cover (Fig. 1, top leaves 14 and 15) comprises a first segment (top leaf 14) and a second segment (top leaf 15) configured to fold in opposing directions (Fig. 4 shows opposing folding directions of 14 and 15) such that, when the first segment (14) and the second segment (15) are folded flat, they form a substantially continuous working surface area (Fig. 2, leaves 14 and 15 form continuous surface with top leaves 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cover lid of Sode in view of Lown to be made of two folding leaves such as taught by Fosnaugh in order to provide additional work surfaces for users to place tools and items.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sode (U.S. Pub. No. 20030226944) in view of Babcock (U.S. Pub. No. 20110017102).
With respect to claim 20, Sode discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the construction shelf further comprises a light module, electrically coupled to a battery and a human interface switch, coupled to the construction shelf to illuminate a storage module of the construction shelf.
Babcock discloses a shelf (Fig. 1, shelf 18) comprises a light module (Fig. 2, light source 24), electrically coupled to a battery (battery pack 30) and a human interface switch (on/off switch 32), coupled to the shelf (18) to illuminate a storage module of the construction shelf (Fig. 1, storage areas of shelving assembly 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shelf of Sode to include lights such as taught by Babcock in order to make it easier for a user to quickly and accurately identify tools and items placed on the shelf.
Conclusion
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637