DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 01/04/2024 and 10/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed 03/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-18 and 20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 10 and 18 were amended and Claims 2
11 and 19 were cancelled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
5. Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen et al. (US-11197075-B1), hereinafter “Kamen” in view of Wang et al. Non-patent literature: “Cluster-Based Maximum Consensus Time Synchronization for Industrial Wireless Sensor Networks” hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Kamen discloses, ‘A method of synchronizing clocks between a plurality of tiers of network nodes, the method comprising:
for a first tier of nodes having long links, the long links having at least one quality measure that is lower than a quality measure of a short link, selecting a master reference node’ (Clock synchronization of cluster-node and cluster-topology Col. 4 [0055-0056]; Fig. 12 illustrates cross-cluster time sync includes multiple leaf nodes and Fig. 9 includes strata that is tiers in a network; And, clock sync for an edge computing applications. And, measure the network conditions at individual level or the cluster level to perform the time sync on each leaf node in the respective cluster Col. 46 [0030-0034]. In Fig. 11 cross-cluster time sync includes grand-master at strata 0, secondary master (intermediary) at strata 1 and another set of secondary master at strata 2. Further to a set of leaf nodes Col. 47 [0010, 0035-0040]. And, the network conditions measures based on distance and dynamically adjust time period Col. 31[0041]. Clusters in a regions based on distance (to reduce attenuation/delay based on the distance) and arranged in a hierarchy Col. 48 [0045, 0053]);
And discloses, ‘for a group of nodes within a second tier of nodes, selecting a local reference node’ (Fig. 11 illustrates group of nodes at strata/tiers; selection of the secondary master among the strata 1, Col. 47 [0029-0031]. In Fig. 11 and Fig. 12, 324/424 are local reference node at the second tier for their leaf nodes 306/406.);
‘adjusting, a local reference clock of the local reference node based on a clock difference between the local reference clock and a master reference clock of the master reference node’ (time difference between grand-master and the secondary master and sync; estimation and correction, Col. 6 [0001, 0008, 0014]; Also precise time to the master device. And, time adjustment/time difference between the master device and to the secondary device, uses timestamp offset or correction that is clock/timestamp sync, Col. 6 [0005-0007]);
And didn’t disclose, ‘during a plurality of cycles,’ of the local reference clock,
Wang in the relevant art discloses, each cluster member updates its clock upon receiving the cluster head’s time synchronization; converges after multiple iterations, page-9. In a cluster-based maximum time sync, a local node l will update clock parameter based on the latest time information received from node j. node j is the cluster member when node l is the cluster head. Otherwise, node j is the cluster head when node l is the cluster member, section 4.1, page-6.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Kamen and to include
with that of Wang to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Kamen includes sync offset module includes offset computation and scoring Fig. 6. And, consider parameters includes: time interval, clock drift and apply weight to the timestamps to acquire precision clock sync, a motive of Kamen to for the purpose of NTP/PTP. To include iteration limit a lower bound and a upper bound that would increase accuracy in the clock synchronization and reduces the error, Kamen Col. 6 [0045].
And discloses, ‘and for each node of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes, adjusting, its corresponding clock based on a corresponding clock difference between its corresponding clock and the local reference clock, wherein adjustments to the local reference clock are applied during each of the using guardrails that are not applied when adjusting clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes.’ (Perform time-sync to the secondary devices and the leaf nodes Col. 10 [0056-0058].
Disclosure includes technique to compute timestamp offsets for end devices connected to a secondary master device, secondary master devices from strata “i+1” connected to a secondary master device from strata “i,” and secondary master devices connected to a grand master device. Each of these examples can be formally presented by the set of device pairs {(x, y1), . . . , (x, yn)}. And, end devices connected to a secondary master device, {x<- secondary master device, y1, . . . , yn are end devices}
Determine a weight for the respective secondary device and time-sync offset for each secondary device of the plurality of the devices. And, scores of the respective secondary device Col. 18 [0019, 0023-0025, 0034].
And discloses, ‘wherein the guardrails comprise a maximum magnitude of change that can be applied to the local reference clock’ (Sync offset computation module calculate timestamp offset and calibrate each pair of device Col. 28 [0053]. Associated with each device and device connected with pair of weights co-efficient Col. 38 [0031, 0048]. Fig. 6 includes synchronization offset module computes scores and timestamp offset to each pair of devices in the set of device pairs {(x, y1), . . . , (x, yn)}. that minimizes the error function. Weight associated to time synchronization offset filter each time synch offset of the secondary device represents reference clock to the leaf nodes. The weights includes a maximum weight and threshold Col. 20[0001, 0005] and Fig. 12. As part of universal time sync offset determination, sync engine rank each of the secondary devices of the plurality of the secondary devices uses particular number of time offsets with the highest or lowest weights. And, dynamically track and evaluate these weights when changes to threshold amount. The sync engine filter each of the time offset where the secondary devices satisfy a threshold weight to generate a filtered sets of one/more time sync offsets. The sync engine uses classes of offsets Col. 19 [0033-0035, 0043-0044, 0047, 0054, 0058].).
And didn’t disclose, ‘during the plurality of cycles’ and for the guardrails ‘per cycle’ (motive would be identical to disclosed above to the second claim element. In addition, speed the convergence time and improve the sync precision, contribution summarized for the cluster based consensus time sync for industrial wireless sensor networks, page-2.
Regarding the maximum magnitude of changes to applied, Wang discloses the estimation of clock skew update maximum value, uses an upper bound to converge after multiple iteration and lower bound after converges to logic skew. The cluster head updates its clock after receiving all of its cluster member’s time information during each iterative process and each cluster member update its clock upon receiving the cluster head’s time sync, page-9. ).
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Wang discloses, ‘wherein the clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes converge more quickly to the local reference clock than the local reference clock converges to the master reference clock based on the guardrails.’ (Fig. 4 illustrates the convergence speed of maximum error and skew within the cluster with a max cluster head 20. And error skew and the offset reduces/converge quickly increases cluster head to 5, page-12. In contrast, in Fig.6 illustrates the convergence speed of maximum error and the skew between the clusters/inter-cluster when increases the cluster head 20 and above reduces skew and offset and converge 50 and above, page-13. )
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Kamen and to include with that of Wang to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Kamen includes the clock synchronization to optimize the computation. Connection between the clusters require many hops cause delay or attenuation due to distance. Therefore uses hierarchy between the clusters. Include motivation: need an efficient time synchronization reduces packet delay/loss, congestion and maximize the bandwidth while achieve an optimal time synchronization. Adapting faster convergence would significantly reduce energy consumption.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘wherein a given node of the group of nodes has leaf nodes, the method further comprising: establishing the leaf nodes as a third tier of nodes’ (Fig. 11 and 12 includes the group of leaf nodes.);
‘selecting the given node as a third tier reference clock for the leaf nodes; and adjusting clocks of the leaf nodes with respect to the third tier reference clock and without respect to the local reference clock.’ (strata 1/i master devices connected to strata 2/i+1 master device Col. 8 [0053-0054]. Includes sync offset module to calculate universal time sync offset based timestamp for the master and the secondary device Col. 31[0065-0067]. Time sync and accurately estimation of the offset and calculate error to adjust clock improve precision Col. 6 [0040-0041, 0045]. )
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The method of claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘further comprising adjusting the third tier reference clock using the local reference clock of the local reference node of the second tier of nodes.’ (Compute system aggregate timestamp offsets across multiple leaf nodes of leaf nodes to calculate universal time sync offset sent to each leaf node either in particular cluster or multiple cluster; determine offset or weight Col. 11[0049-0053, 0056]. And, multiple cluster at tiers in Fig. 12. Aggregate cross-cluster timestamp offset Col. 7[0007]).
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘wherein adjustment of clocks comprises application of clock corrections that drive a difference from a reference towards zero.’ (time difference between the master and the secondary device is called timestamp offset and process of timestamp correction uses timestamp offset that is clock sync Col. 6 [0005-0009]. At moment to timestamp estimation C (to) has been corrected by the timestamp offset. Accurately estimates error defined by function to increase the precision of the secondary device clock Col. 6 [0011, 0041] and decrease clock error Col. 6 [0063].)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘wherein the long links are at least partially transmitting data using path switching.’ (the network conditions measures based on distance and dynamically adjust time period Col. 31[0041]. Clusters in a different regions based on distance (to reduce attenuation/delay based on the distance) and arranged in a hierarchy. Over long distances require multiple hops Col. 48 [0045, 0053]. Perform path switch and MPLS Col. 13[0056]. Individual leaf node receive time sync packet. Aggregate across multiple cluster Col. 11[0033, 0041]
Regarding Claim 10,
Identical to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon for synchronizing clocks between a plurality of tiers of network nodes, the instructions, when executing, causing one or more processors to perform operations, the instructions comprising instructions to: for a first tier of nodes having long links, the long links at least partially transmitting data using path switching, select a master reference node; for a group of nodes within a second tier of nodes, select a local reference node; adjust, during a plurality of cycles, a local reference clock of the local reference node based on a clock difference between the local reference clock and a master reference clock of the master reference node; and for each node of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes, adjust, during the plurality of cycles, its corresponding clock based on a corresponding clock difference between its corresponding clock and the local reference clock, wherein adjustments to the local reference clock are applied during each of the plurality of cycles using guardrails that are not applied when adjusting clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes,
wherein the guardrails comprise a maximum magnitude of change that can be applied to the local reference clock per cycle.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes converge more quickly to the local reference clock than the local reference clock converges to the master reference clock based on the guardrails.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein a given node of the group of nodes has leaf nodes, the instructions further comprising instructions to: establish the leaf nodes as a third tier of nodes; select the given node as a third tier reference clock for the leaf nodes; and adjust clocks of the leaf nodes with respect to the third tier reference clock and without respect to the local reference clock.’
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘the instructions further comprising instructions to adjust the third tier reference clock using the local reference clock of the local reference node of the second tier of nodes.’
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein adjustment of clocks comprises application of clock corrections that drive a difference from a reference towards zero.’
Regarding Claim 18,
Identical to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon for synchronizing clocks between a plurality of tiers of network nodes; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: for a first tier of nodes having long links, the long links at least partially transmitting data using path switching, selecting a master reference node; for a group of nodes within a second tier of nodes, selecting a local reference node; 56adjusting, during a plurality of cycles, a local reference clock of the local reference node based on a clock difference between the local reference clock and a master reference clock of the master reference node; and for each node of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes, adjusting, during the plurality of cycles, its corresponding clock based on a corresponding clock difference between its corresponding clock and the local reference clock, wherein adjustments to the local reference clock are applied during each of the plurality of cycles using guardrails that are not applied when adjusting clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes,
wherein the guardrails comprise a maximum magnitude of change that can be applied to the local reference clock per cycle.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The system of claim 18’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the clocks of the group of nodes within the second tier of nodes converge more quickly to the local reference clock than the local reference clock converges to the master reference clock based on the guardrails.’
6. Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen et al. (US-11197075-B1), hereinafter “Kamen” in view of Wang et al. and further in view of Philip et al (US-11863298-B1) hereinafter “Philip”.
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘further comprising: receiving a request to determine whether nodes of the group of nodes are co-located on a same device’ (Geolocation of the device enables to recognize clustering and master device associated with a set of devices located near proximity Col. 25 [0018, 0024-0025]. In Fig. 11 and Fig. 12 includes location based clustering group of nodes connected to grand-master, secondary master and the leaf nodes, Col. 8 [0065]. Distance based clustering in different regions and hierarchy Col. 48 [0045, 0053].);
And didn’t disclose, ‘and responsive to receiving the request, estimating co-location with respect to the local reference clock.’ (Calculate time reference based on the location pairwise distance between the nodes in a network graph Col. 10[0008, 0023-0024]).
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Kamen and Wang to include with that of Philip to come up with the claim invention,
Motive to include would be to reduce network-wide inaccuracy in the reference time of the network. Pairwise location based transceiver selection would reduce propagation delay and increase the accuracy of the pairwise time-bias. Increase the accuracy while calculate the offset between the clocks of each pair of transceivers, time-bias and the distance between each pair of transceivers, Philip Col. 4[0001-0004, 0017].
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The method of claim 4’ (disclosed above),
Kamen discloses, ‘wherein a plurality of local reference clocks are used within the second tier of nodes, wherein the request specifies at least one node of the group of nodes, and wherein the local reference clock is selected for the estimating of the co-location based on the request specifying the at least one node of the group of nodes.’ (Fig. 11 and Fig. 12, the local reference/secondary master device for the second tier of nodes are 414 and 424. Disclosure includes determination of geolocation of the respective secondary device is closer to the geolocation of first master device Col. 23 [0007-0010]).
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘wherein the instructions further comprise instructions to: receiving a request to determine whether nodes of the group of nodes are co-located on a same device; and responsive to receiving the request, estimating co-location with respect to the local reference clock.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 5 disclosed above, ‘wherein a plurality of local reference clocks are used within the second tier of nodes, wherein the request specifies at least one node of the group of nodes, and wherein the local reference clock is selected for the estimating of the co-location based on the request specifying the at least one node of the group of nodes.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the “wherein the guardrails comprise a maximum magnitude of change that can be applied to the local reference clock per cycle." Previously presented in Claim 2 and traverses the rejection and included the claim limitations in the claims 1, 10 and 18. Examiner respectfully disagree, Kamen motive to acquire precision timing and synchronize timing by determining universal time sync offset uses sync engine, in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 sync offset module and perform the offset computation. The sync engine rank each of the secondary devices in the plurality of the devices uses particular number of time offsets with the highest or lowest weights. And, dynamically track and evaluate these weights when changes to threshold amount. The sync engine filter each of the time offset where the secondary devices satisfy a threshold weight to generate a filtered sets of one/more time sync offsets. The sync engine uses classes of offsets Col. 19 [0033-0035, 0043-0044, 0047, 0054, 0058].
This is further disclosed by Wang presents the cluster-based maximum consensus time sync algorithm. Perform iteratively and updates each cluster member clock upon receiving the cluster head’s time sync, page-9. And convergence time and improve the sync precision, page-2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Lenzen, Christoph, Philipp Sommer, and Roger Wattenhofer. "Optimal clock synchronization in networks." Proceedings of the 7th ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems. 2009.
Jia et al. "Digital-twin-enabled intelligent distributed clock synchronization in industrial IoT systems." IEEE Internet of Things Journal 8.6 (2020): 4548-4559. (Year: 2021)
Oliveira, Horacio ABF, et al. "Localization in time and space for wireless sensor networks: An efficient and lightweight algorithm." Performance Evaluation 66.3-5 (2009): 209-222. (Year: 2009);
Shi et al. "Fast convergence time synchronization in wireless sensor networks based on average consensus." IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics 16.2 (2019): 1120-1129.
Philip et al. (US20230254110A1) “Methods for time synchronization and localization in a mesh network”;
David et al. (US20220123849A1) “Technologies to compensate for errors in time synchronization due to clock drift”;
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466