DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0055551; Note also PCT/CN2022/089183, attached with substantively identical disclosure) in view of Song, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0075486), Abia, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2019/0150183) and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0127160 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising and a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
a transceiver (paragraph 0069) configured to transmit/transmitting an indicator to request transmission of one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RSs) (The UE transmits a request for an opportunity to transmit an aperiodic transmission of a CSIA-RS (paragraph 0152) which is a type of CSI-RS (paragraph 0117 – “..the CSIA-RS may be a CSI-RS configured for measuring and reporting CSI..”) (paragraph 0152 – UE transmits a request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS with an optional indication of the time at which the CISA-RS is to be sent. In the present case we are considering the case without the optional indication of the time of the CISA-RS.)
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to determine/determining a CSI reporting setting and measure the one or more CSI-RSs. (The UE performs measurement of the CSIA-RS and reports the result to the base station in a measurement report (paragraphs 0113-0114. The reporting is based on a determined CSI reporting setting (paragraph 0151- UE may be configured by the base station with respect to when to send the report, for example, in a configured grant or semi-persistent UL transmission that enables the UE to determine the CSI reporting setting/time of transmission of the CSI report).
Zhang fails to disclose receiving a DCI indicating a CSI request, determining a CSI resource and measuring, based on the CSI resource setting, the one or more CSI-RSs. In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses a DCI format indicating a CSI request, determining a CSI resource and measuring, based on the CSI resource setting, the one or more CSI-RSs. (The system of Song discloses the use of a DCI indicating a request for a CSI report [paragraph 0041 – DCI triggers aperiodic CSI report as configured by the CSI report request information received from the base station/network device using RRC]. The report request information includes a T2/X offset, which is the offset between receiving the DCI indicating CSI-RS transmission and reporting and the CSI-RS transmission, which the UE uses to determine the CSI resource/resource for CSI-RS transmission [paragraph 0101, 0069, 0073 – network determines T2/time offset/X/CSI resource and configures UE with it; see also claim 4, network device configures T/time offset/X/CSI resource; paragraph 0148 – UE determines offset X which is the offset between the DCI and the transmission of the CSI-RS]. The UE further determines a CSI reporting setting/Y/offset between the CSI-RS and transmission of the CSI measurement report [paragraph 0148].)
Therefore, since Song suggests using DCI for indicating the scheduling request causing the scheduling of the CSI resource and reporting settings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI scheduling of Song with the system of Zhang by using a DCI to trigger the UE to determine the CSI resource offset and therefore CSI resource for CSI-RS transmission and the CSI reporting setting indicating the CSI report offset and therefore resource for CSI reporting/the CSI reporting setting. The motive to combine is to allow the UE to determine when to receive the CSI-RS and transmit the CSI report in a single DCI indication to reduce overhead.
Zhang as modified by Song fails to disclose receiving a downlink control information (DCI) format indicating a value of a CSI request field and determining based on the value the CSI resource and reporting setting. (i.e. Song discloses that the DCI Indicates a CSI request but is not explicit as to a field indicated by a DCI format.) In the same field of endeavor, Abia discloses receiving a downlink control information (DCI) format indicating a value of a CSI request field and determining based on the value the CSI resource and reporting setting.
That is, Zhang as modified by Song discloses the type of CSI request being indicated as aperiodic is used to determine the CSI resource and CSI reporting settings based on an aperiodic mode of determination (see combination, supra).
The system of Abia discloses a DCI format, for example, DCI format D, indicating that the CSI request field indicating an aperiodic CSI mode including a CSI report based on a CSI-RS measurement (paragraph 0176, 0063, 0169)
Therefore, since Abia discloses DCI formats indicating a CSI request field for aperiodic mode CSI reporting, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI format of Abia with the system of Zhang as modified by Song by modifying the DCI of Zhang as modified by Song to be based on a DCI format with a CSI request field indicated by the DCI type and indicating an aperiodic CSI mode, thereby causing the system of Zhang as modified by Song to select the value of the CSI resource/CSI-RS location and the CSI report/CSI reporting setting/CSI report location based on an aperiodic mode, as indicated by the CSI request field for aperiodic CSI indicated by the DCI format. The motive to combine is to specify particulars of the DCI format to allow for distinguishing of the different DCI formats so the UE may rapidly and readily determine what type of indications the DCI relates to for better efficiency.
Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclose identifying a first time window identifying a reception time of the DCI format relative to a last symbol for transmission of the indicator. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses identifying a first time window identifying a reception time of the DCI format relative to a last symbol for transmission of the indicator.
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by transmitting the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, while further tracking a first time window based on a received RACH configuration parameter starting with the last symbol of the msg a/request indicator to determine if the response/msg b is timely received and only proceeding with CSI measurement and reporting if the message is properly/timely received and retransmitting the msg a/indication to request transmission if the msg b is not received within the window. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses identifying the reception time of the DCI format is within the first time window the processor is further configured to determine, based on the measurement, a beam report and the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the CSI reporting setting, the beam report. (as discussed in the combinations of the independent claim, supra, the CSI report is only sent when the response/DCI/msg b is timely received. Zhang further discloses that the report may include a beam report [paragraphs 0152, 0156].)
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the reception time of the DCI format is outside of the first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-transmit the indicator (as discussed in the combinations of the independent claim, supra, the msg a/indication to request transmission is retransmitted if the msg b/response/DCI is not received within the first window).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the processor is further configured to identify a second time window; the transceiver is further configured to receive an acknowledgement (ACK) for the indicator; and the processor is further configured to identify a reception time of the ACK relative to the last symbol for transmission of the indicator. (Since no ordering is required by the claims and the second time window is not used for any purpose, the identified second time window is mapped to the window associated with transmission of a second indicator in the same manner as that of the claimed steps of the first indictor, to request CSI measurement transmission that occurs at a later time when beams are switched again, as taught by Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki. Furthermore, the reception of the DCI acts as an implicit acknowledgement of the reception of the indicator and it is determined if the DCI is received within the first window, a determination that relates to the last symbol of the transmission of the indicator, in accordance with the combination with Khoshkholgh Dashtaki.)
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the transceiver is further configured to receive first information related to one or more first uplink resources and receive second information related to an association between the indicator and the one or more first uplink resources and the processor is further configured to determine, based on the first and second information, one or more second uplink resources. (Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki in the independent claim discloses the UE receives first information (i.e. the transmission occasions of the msg a configured by the base station – see the combination with Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, supra) and second information related to an association between the indicator and the one or more first uplink resources (i.e. the second information is the indication that the first uplink resources was used for transmission of the indicator for aperiodic CSI in the form of the received DCI format on the downlink sent in response to the first information/indication sent with the appropriate RNTI) and the first and second information are used to determine the location of the second uplink resources/resources (via the position of the DCI containing the second indication and offset) used for transmission of the CSI report based on the offset rules discussed with respect to Song and also via the rules concerning successful transmission discussed in Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, which depend on the first and second information to determine if the response was received within the window.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the reception time of the DCI format is within the first time window: the processor is further configured to determine, based on the measurement, a beam report and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the beam report based on the one or more second uplink resources. (As discussed in the parent claim, supra, the trasmission of the CSI report, which in accordance with Zhang is a beam report [paragraphs 0152, 0156] is based on the determined second resources. Finally, the CSI report is only sent when the response/DCI/msg b is timely received, as discussed in the independent claim, supra.)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0055551; Note also PCT/CN2022/089183, attached with substantively identical disclosure) in view of Song, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0075486), Abia, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2019/0150183)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a base station (BS), comprising a processor and a transceiver operably coupled with the processor (paragraph 0073), the transceiver configured to:
the transceiver (paragraph 0069) configured to receive an indicator to request transmission of one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RSs) (The UE transmits and the base station receives a request for an opportunity to transmit an aperiodic transmission of a CSIA-RS (paragraph 0152) which is a type of CSI-RS (paragraph 0117 – “..the CSIA-RS may be a CSI-RS configured for measuring and reporting CSI..”) (paragraph 0152 – UE transmits a request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS with an optional indication of the time at which the CISA-RS is to be sent. In the present case we are considering the case without the optional indication of the time of the CISA-RS.)
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to transmit one or more CSI-RSs according (The base station transmits a CSI-RS/CSIA/RS [paragraphs 0151-0152].)
Zhang fails to disclose transmitting a DCI indicating a CSI request, transmit the one or more CSI-RSs according to a CSI resource setting. In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses a transmitting a DCI indicating a CSI request, transmit the one or more CSI-RSs according to a CSI resource setting. (The system of Song discloses the use of a DCI indicating a request for a CSI report [paragraph 0041 – DCI triggers aperiodic CSI report as configured by the CSI report request information received from the base station/network device using RRC]. The report request information includes a T2/X offset, which is the offset between receiving the DCI indicating CSI-RS transmission and reporting and the CSI-RS transmission, which the UE uses to determine the CSI resource/resource for CSI-RS transmission [paragraph 0101, 0069, 0073 – network determines T2/time offset/X/CSI resource and configures UE with it; see also claim 4, network device configures T/time offset/X/CSI resource; paragraph 0148 – UE determines offset X which is the offset between the DCI and the transmission of the CSI-RS]. The UE further determines a CSI reporting setting/Y/offset between the CSI-RS and transmission of the CSI measurement report [paragraph 0148].)
Therefore, since Song suggests using DCI for indicating the scheduling request causing the scheduling of the CSI resource and reporting settings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI scheduling of Song with the system of Zhang by using a DCI to indicate the CSI resource offset and further determining the CSI resource offset and therefore CSI resource for CSI-RS transmission and the CSI reporting setting indicating the CSI report offset and therefore resource for CSI reporting/the CSI reporting setting. The motive to combine is to allow the base station to determine when to transmit the CSI-RS and receive the CSI report based on the single DCI indication sent to the UE to reduce overhead.
Zhang as modified by Song fails to disclose transmitting a control information (DCI) format indicating a value of a CSI request field and transmitting the one or more CSI-RSs according to a CSI resource setting associated with the value. (i.e. Song discloses that the DCI Indicates a CSI request but is not explicit as to a field indicated by a DCI format.) In the same field of endeavor, Abia discloses transmitting a control information (DCI) format indicating a value of a CSI request field and transmitting the one or more CSI-RSs according to a CSI resource setting associated with the value.
That is, Zhang as modified by Song discloses the type of CSI request being indicated as aperiodic is used to determine the CSI resource and CSI reporting resources based on an aperiodic mode of determination (see combination, supra).
The system of Abia discloses a DCI format, for example, DCI format D, indicating that the CSI request field indicating an aperiodic CSI mode including a CSI report based on a CSI-RS measurement (paragraph 0176, 0063, 0169)
Therefore, since Abia discloses DCI formats indicating a CSI request field for aperiodic mode CSI reporting, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the DCI format of Abia with the system of Zhang as modified by Song by modifying the DCI of Zhang as modified by Song to be based on a DCI format with a CSI request field indicated by the DCI type and indicating an aperiodic CSI mode, thereby causing the system of Zhang as modified by Song to select the value of the CSI resource/CSI-RS location and the CSI report/CSI reporting setting/CSI report location based on an aperiodic mode, as indicated by the CSI request field for aperiodic CSI indicated by the DCI format. The motive to combine is to specify particulars of the DCI format to allow for distinguishing of the different DCI formats so the UE may rapidly and readily determine what type of indications the DCI relates to for better efficiency.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0055551; Note also PCT/CN2022/089183, attached with substantively identical disclosure) in view of Song, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0075486) and Abia, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2019/0150183) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0127160 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclose when a transmission time of the DCI format is within a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to receive a beam report associated with the CSI-RSs and a CSI reporting setting associated with the value. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the reception time of the DCI format is outside of the first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-transmit the indicator.
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by having the UE transmit the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, while further tracking a first time window based on a received RACH configuration parameter starting with the last symbol of the msg a/request indicator to determine if the response/msg b is timely received and only proceeding with CSI measurement and reporting if the message is properly/timely received and retransmitting the msg a/indication to request transmission if the msg b is not received within the window, thereby resulting in the base station receiving a beam report associated with the CSI-RSs and a CSI reporting setting associated with the value when the a transmission time of the DCI format is within a first time window as determined by the UE. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclose a transmission time of the DCI format is outside of a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-receive the indicator. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a transmission time of the DCI format is outside of a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-receive the indicator.
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by having the UE transmit the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, while further tracking a first time window based on a received RACH configuration parameter starting with the last symbol of the msg a/request indicator to determine if the response/msg b is timely received and only proceeding with CSI measurement and reporting if the message is properly/timely received and retransmitting the msg a/indication to request transmission if the msg b is not received within the window, thereby resulting in the base station re-receiving the indicator when the DCI format is outside of the first time window. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclos the transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) for the indicator. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a the transceiver is further configured to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) for the indicator.
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by having the UE transmit the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, while further tracking a first time window based on a received RACH configuration parameter starting with the last symbol of the msg a/request indicator to determine if the response/msg b is timely received and only proceeding with CSI measurement and reporting if the message is properly/timely received and retransmitting the msg a/indication to request transmission if the msg b is not received within the window, thereby resulting in the DCI transmitted from the base station acting as an implicit acknowledgement of the indicator as the request indicator will be re-trasmitted if the DCI is received by the UE outside of the window. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclose a transmission time of the DCI format is outside of a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-receive the indicator. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a transmission time of the DCI format is outside of a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-receive the indicator. (Claim interpretation note, in this case claim 11 does not depend from any claims defining the first window [contrast with claim 5, supra] therefore the broadest reasonable interpretation allows mapping of the second window to what the first window was previously mapped to in claims 5 and 9).
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a second response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by having the UE transmit the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki, while further tracking a first time window based on a received RACH configuration parameter starting with the last symbol of the msg a/request indicator to determine if the response/msg b is timely received and only proceeding with CSI measurement and reporting if the message is properly/timely received and retransmitting the msg a/indication to request transmission if the msg b is not received within the second window, thereby resulting in the base station re-receiving the indicator when the DCI format is outside of the first time window. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang as modified by Song and Abia fails to disclose the transceiver is further configured to transmit first information related to one or more first uplink resources and transmit second information related to an association between the indicator and the one or more first uplink resources; and the processor is further configured to determine, based on the first and second information, one or more second uplink resource. In the same field of endeavor, Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses the transceiver is further configured to transmit first information related to one or more first uplink resources and transmit second information related to an association between the indicator and the one or more first uplink resources; and the processor is further configured to determine, based on the first and second information, one or more second uplink resource.
That is Zhang as modified by Song and Abia (in particular Zhang) discloses that the UE may identify an appropriate window for receiving a response from the base station in some situations based on the transmission time of the request for the CSI-RS/CSIA-RS f (see paragraph 0152 – “…the aperiodic UL transmission from the UE to the base station may request aperiodic transmission of T-RS and/or CSIA-RS after certain delay that is considered to start from the UL transmission”). However, this window is related to an embodiment of Zhang with delayed transmission of the CSI-RS without DCI indication, and Zhang is silent with respect to the use of a window in the cited embodiments. Zhang further discloses that the request message/indicator may be sent via a the PUSCH and may be a MAC CE (paragraph 0151 in view of 0152).
The system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses sending a PUSCH transmission in a 2 step RACH including a MAC CE in the msg a (paragraphs 0354-0355) and determining a response window for the downlink DCI containing msg b based on the end of transmission (last symbol) of the msg A (paragraph 0355 – response window starts after msg a containing MAC CE and is a msb b containing a DCI in response to msg a; 0485 – making clear the windows are measured from the last symbol of msg a). If the msg b is decoded within the window, it is processed, and if it is not, the msg/indicator to request transmission is retransmitted (paragraph 0385). Transmission occasions of the msg a are configured via RRC messages (paragraph 0300) and the length of the window is also configured via RACH configuration parameters received from the base station (paragraphs 0401, 0289).
Therefore, since Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a 2 step RACH for MAC CE and DCI transmission, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia by having the UE transmit and the base station receive the MAC CE containing the request indicator of the system of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia in the msg a of a 2 step RACH at an occasion configured by the base station and then transmitting the DCI response indicating a CSI request/second information of Zhang as modified by Song and Abia using the DCI of the msg b of the 2 Step RACH of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki. The base station further transmits first information/transmission occasions of msg a via RRC configuration. The end result of this combination is that the UE receives and the base station transmits first information (i.e. the transmission occasions of the msg a configured by the base station via RRC – see the present combination) and second information related to an association between the indicator and the one or more first uplink resources (i.e. the second information is the indication that the first uplink resources was used for transmission of the indicator for aperiodic CSI in the form of the received DCI format on the downlink sent in response to the first information/indication sent with the appropriate RNTI, as discussed more thoroughly in the combination with Abia) and the first and second information are used by the base station to determine the location of the second uplink resources/resources (via the position of the DCI containing the second indication and offset) used for reception of the CSI report based on the offset rules discussed with respect to Song, supra. The motive to combine is to allow random access for transmission of the request to allow for rapid channel access and to further track successful reception by using a reception window and retransmission to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki discloses a transmission time of the DCI format is within a first time window, the transceiver is further configured to receive, based on the one or more second uplink resources, a beam report associated with the CSI-RSs. (As discussed in the parent claim, supra, the transmission of the CSI report, which in accordance with Zhang is a beam report [paragraphs 0152, 0156] is based on the determined second resources.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose the reception time of the ACK is outside of the second time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-transmit the indicator. That is, in prior claim 4, the “second time window” is mapped to a later time window of a later second transmitted indicator of a later beam switch indication as the “first time window” is already mapped to the time window after the transmission of the indicator for the DCI that is the implicit acknowledgement in claim 4. Furthermore, because the “second time window” as mapped in claim 4 does not relate to the claimed indicator, but rather a second unrelated indicator, it makes no sense to retransmit the claimed indicator based on the time window. Furthermore, since the system of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki already discloses a retransmission system based on reception of the DCI in the first window that acts as an implicit acknowledgement of the indicator, there is little motivation to add a second acknowledgement and window to a transmission that is already acknowledged via the first window. Finally, although acknowledgements for transmissions are generally known in the art, no art in which an acknowledgement is specifically applied to an indicator as claimed could be located and given the number and type of combinations already made, the further modification of the system of Zhang as modified by Song, Abia and Khoshkholgh Dashtaki with a generic indication of acknowledgements was considered to be beyond the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cao, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0168662) – disclosing MAC CE signaling reporting the need to send a measurement report
R1-1909145 (Author Unknown, Aperiodic CSI-RS triggering and other remaining aspects for MR-DC, pages 1-8, Doc No. R1-1909145, Aug 2019) – disclosing CSI-RS triggering
R1-2208010 (Author Unknown, Correction for Aperiodic triggering offset for FR2-2 in ST 28.214, pages 1-8, Doc No. R1-1909145, Aug 2019) – setting different offsets for CSI-RS transmission after triggering in DCI
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466