DETAILED ACTION
This paper is responsive to the application filed December 20, 2023, claiming the benefit of provisional patent application 63/483,201 filed February 3, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7, 10-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. 20220330070 to Junhyuk Song et al. (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches An apparatus for a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN intelligent controller (RIC) comprising: a processing circuitry configured to:
generate radio access network (RAN) measurement parameters to configure an E2 node in Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN);
Song Fig. 2B illustrates a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN intelligent controller (RIC) with E2 nodes per the O-RAN specification:
transmit an action definition to the E2 node through an E2 interface, (Song teaches multiple E2 nodes coupled to the RIC via E2 interfaces illustrated in Fig. 2A above) wherein the action definition comprises a measured value reporting conditions information element (IE) based on the RAN measurement parameters, indicating to the E2 node to generate measurement reports. (Song Fig. 7 teaches a RIC transmitting an action definition that is an IE based on RAN measurement parameters for an E2 node to generate reports in para [0067] “At operation 705 , the RIC may transmit a subscription request message to the E2 node. A specific xApp positioned in the RIC may request an RIC E2 termination function to subscribe to a specific RAN Function Definition function supported in the E2 .” Fig. 7 illustrates the transmissions:
and
identify the measurement reports received from the E2 node; (Song teaches in paras. [0067]-[0071] a RIC receiving a message from the E2 node including update message such as “E2 NODE function capability information element (RAN Function Definition)”)
and
a memory to store the RAN measurement parameters. (Song Fig. 5 storage 520 illustrates a memory within a RIC as taught in para. [0057]-[0060] including data storage for storing information as directed from the controller)
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE instructs the E2 node about inclusion of specific RAN measurement results in the measurement reports. (Song teaches in Table 1 and para. [0072] different IEs and specific RAN measurement results in an E2 indication message as “RIC Call process ID”, which para. [0076] teaches provides details of a measurement report for a NEAR-RT RIC for performance measurements as shown in Fig. 8.)
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE instructs the E2 node about exclusion of specific RAN measurement results from the measurement reports. (Song para. [0036] teaches that “ RIC may perform communication with the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP using the E2 interface, and may set an event occurrence condition by generating and transmitting a subscription message, and may transmit through an E2 indication/report. Control of the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP is provided using an E2 control message.” Examiner interprets the “condition” as excluding specific measurement results.)
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the E2 node is an O-RAN Central Unit-Control Plane (O-CU-CP), O-RAN Central Unit-User Plane (O-CU-UP), and O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU). (Song Fig. 4 illustrates each of the O-RAN Central Unit-Control Plane (O-CU-CP), O-RAN Central Unit-User Plane (O-CU-UP), and O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU):
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measurement report comprises a value that indicates to the Near-RT RIC that a measured value did not satisfy a configured condition. (Song para. [0065] teaches “An RAN Function Definition value is a value that is set by OAM, and the RIC may receive information on the value set by OAM and may determine what call processing function is supported by the E2 node, based on the RAN Function Definition value.” Examiner interprets that a value that indicates that a call processing function is not supported then a configured condition is not met.)
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the action definition comprises multiple measured value reporting conditions IEs. (Song teaches multiple measured value reporting condition IEs as shown in Fig. 8 and described in para. [0081]:
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measurement report comprises a “Not Valid” indication when a configured condition is not met. (Song para. [0036] teaches “For example, the RIC may perform communication with the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP using the E2 interface, and may set an event occurrence condition by generating and transmitting a subscription message, and may transmit through an E2 indication/report. Control of the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP is provided using an E2 control message.” The E2 report includes when a configured condition is not met indication.)
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches A computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions which when executed by one or more processors (Song para. [0115] teaches a computer readable storage medium for configured for execution performed by processors) result in performing operations comprising:
generating radio access network (RAN) measurement parameters to configure an E2 node in Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN); Song Fig. 2B illustrates a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN intelligent controller (RIC) with E2 nodes per the O-RAN specification:
transmitting an action definition to the E2 node through an E2 interface, (Song teaches multiple E2 nodes coupled to the RIC via E2 interfaces illustrated in Fig. 2A above) wherein the action definition comprises a measured value reporting conditions information element (IE) based on the RAN measurement parameters, indicating to the E2 node to generate measurement reports; (Song Fig. 7 teaches a RIC transmitting an action definition that is an IE based on RAN measurement parameters for an E2 node to generate reports in para [0067] “At operation 705 , the RIC may transmit a subscription request message to the E2 node. A specific xApp positioned in the RIC may request an RIC E2 termination function to subscribe to a specific RAN Function Definition function supported in the E2 .” Fig. 7 illustrates the transmissions:
and
identifying the measurement reports received from the E2 node. ; (Song teaches in paras. [0067]-[0071] a RIC receiving a message from the E2 node including update message such as “E2 NODE function capability information element (RAN Function Definition)”).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE instructs the E2 node about inclusion of specific RAN measurement results in the measurement reports. . (Song teaches in Table 1 and para. [0072] different IEs and specific RAN measurement results in an E2 indication message as “RIC Call process ID”, which para. [0076] teaches provides details of a measurement report for a NEAR-RT RIC for performance measurements as shown in Fig. 8.)
Regarding claim 12, Song teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE instructs the E2 node about exclusion of specific RAN measurement results from the measurement reports. (Song para. [0036] teaches that “ RIC may perform communication with the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP using the E2 interface, and may set an event occurrence condition by generating and transmitting a subscription message, and may transmit through an E2 indication/report. Control of the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP is provided using an E2 control message.” Examiner interprets the “condition” as excluding specific measurement results.)
Regarding claim 13, Song teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the E2 node is an O-RAN Central Unit-Control Plane (O-CU-CP), O-RAN Central Unit-User Plane (O-CU-UP), and O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU). (Song Fig. 4 illustrates each of the O-RAN Central Unit-Control Plane (O-CU-CP), O-RAN Central Unit-User Plane (O-CU-UP), and O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU):
Regarding claim 14, XXX teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the measurement report comprises a value that indicates to the Near-RT RIC that a measured value did not satisfy a configured condition. (Song para. [0065] teaches “An RAN Function Definition value is a value that is set by OAM, and the RIC may receive information on the value set by OAM and may determine what call processing function is supported by the E2 node, based on the RAN Function Definition value.” Examiner interprets that a value that indicates that a call processing function is not supported then a configured condition is not met.)
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the action definition comprises multiple measured value reporting conditions IEs. (Song teaches multiple measured value reporting condition IEs as shown in Fig. 8 and described in para. [0081]:
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the measurement report comprises a “Not Valid” indication when a configured condition is not met. (Song para. [0036] teaches “For example, the RIC may perform communication with the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP using the E2 interface, and may set an event occurrence condition by generating and transmitting a subscription message, and may transmit through an E2 indication/report. Control of the O-DU, O-CU-CP, O-CU-UP is provided using an E2 control message.” The E2 report includes when a configured condition is not met indication.)
Regarding claim 19, Song teaches A system, (Song para. [0030] comprising: at least one memory that stores computer-executable instructions; (Song Fig. 5 storage 520 and para. [0060])
and
at least one processor (Song Fig. 5 controller 530 coupled to storage 520 and para. [0061]) configured to access the at least one memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to:
generate radio access network (RAN) measurement parameters to configure an E2 node in Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN); (Song Fig. 2B illustrates a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN intelligent controller (RIC) with E2 nodes per the O-RAN specification:
transmit an action definition to the E2 node through an E2 interface, (Song teaches multiple E2 nodes coupled to the RIC via E2 interfaces illustrated in Fig. 2A above) wherein the action definition comprises a measured value reporting conditions information element (IE) based on the RAN measurement parameters, indicating to the E2 node to generate measurement reports; (Song Fig. 7 teaches a RIC transmitting an action definition that is an IE based on RAN measurement parameters for an E2 node to generate reports in para [0067] “At operation 705 , the RIC may transmit a subscription request message to the E2 node. A specific xApp positioned in the RIC may request an RIC E2 termination function to subscribe to a specific RAN Function Definition function supported in the E2 .” Fig. 7 illustrates the transmissions:
and
identify the measurement reports received from the E2 node. (Song teaches in paras. [0067]-[0071] a RIC receiving a message from the E2 node including update message such as “E2 NODE function capability information element (RAN Function Definition)”).
Regarding claim 20, Song teaches The system of claim 19, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE instructs the E2 node about inclusion of specific RAN measurement results in the measurement reports. (Song teaches in Table 1 and para. [0072] different IEs and specific RAN measurement results in an E2 indication message as “RIC Call process ID”, which para. [0076] teaches provides details of a measurement report for a NEAR-RT RIC for performance measurements as shown in Fig. 8.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8-9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of O-RAN Near-Real-time RAN Intelligent Controller E2 Service Model (E2SM), RAN Function Network Interface (NI) 1.0, ORAN-WG3.E2SM-NI-v01.00.00, Technical Specification O-RAN Working Group 3, published February 2020 (hereinafter O-RAN).
Regarding claim 8, Song does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR.
In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR. (O-RAN page 26 teaches IE structure comprises a test condition with condition values as shown in Section 8.3.8 “RAN Parameter Test Condition”, and illustrates that a RAN parameter value may be a Boolean IE and reference in Section 8.3.9 “RAN Parameter Value”. Examiner interprets a Boolean value as defining an “or” condition.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Song with O-RAN to teach test conditions. Each of Song and O-RAN are directed to wireless communications, and to O-RAN implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Song and O-RAN in order to implement the O-RAN specification and, as taught in page 22 of O-RAN, the information provided for information elements sent by the RAN 4 to a NEAR-RT RIC node provide “all required information for the Near-RT RIC to determine how a given E2 Node has been configured to support a given RAN Function specific E2SM.”
Regarding claim 9, Song does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the test condition is enumerated and comprises at least one of an “equal to,”“greater than,”“less than,”“contains,” or “present.”
In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the test condition is enumerated and comprises at least one of an “equal to,”“greater than,”“less than,”“contains,” or “present.” (O-RAN page 26, Section 8.3.8 illustrated above teaches each of “equal to,” “greater than,” “less than,” “contains,” and “present” as shown.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Song with O-RAN to teach test conditions. Each of Song and O-RAN are directed to wireless communications, and to O-RAN implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Song and O-RAN order to implement the O-RAN specification and, as taught in page 22 of O-RAN, the information provided for information elements sent by the RAN 4 to a NEAR-RT RIC node provide “all required information for the Near-RT RIC to determine how a given E2 Node has been configured to support a given RAN Function specific E2SM.”
Regarding claim 17, Song does NOT teach The computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR. In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR.
In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR. In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the measured value reporting conditions IE is a structure that comprises a test condition, a test condition value, and a logical OR. (O-RAN page 26 teaches IE structure comprises a test condition with condition values as shown in Section 8.3.8 “RAN Parameter Test Condition”, and illustrates that a RAN parameter value may be a Boolean IE and reference in Section 8.3.9 “RAN Parameter Value”. Examiner interprets a Boolean value as defining an “or” condition.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Song with O-RAN to teach test conditions. Each of Song and O-RAN are directed to wireless communications, and to O-RAN implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Song and O-RAN in order to implement the O-RAN specification and, as taught in page 22 of O-RAN, the information provided for information elements sent by the RAN 4 to a NEAR-RT RIC node provide “all required information for the Near-RT RIC to determine how a given E2 Node has been configured to support a given RAN Function specific E2SM.”
Regarding claim 18, Song does NOT teach The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the test condition is enumerated and comprises at least one of an “equal to,”“greater than,”“less than,”“contains,” or “present.”
In the analogous art of O-RAN specifications for wireless communications, O-RAN teaches wherein the test condition is enumerated and comprises at least one of an “equal to,”“greater than,”“less than,”“contains,” or “present.” (O-RAN page 26, Section 8.3.8 illustrated above teaches each of “equal to,” “greater than,” “less than,” “contains,” and “present” as shown.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Song with O-RAN to teach test conditions. Each of Song and O-RAN are directed to wireless communications, and to O-RAN implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Song and O-RAN order to implement the O-RAN specification and, as taught in 22 of O-RAN, the information provided for information elements sent by the RAN 4 to a NEAR-RT RIC node provide “all required information for the Near-RT RIC to determine how a given E2 Node has been configured to support a given RAN Function specific E2SM.”
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412