DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 refers to “bright” regions. Based on the specification and claim 8, the “bright” regions correspond to the second positive electrode active material. However, the “bright” regions can still be changed by the settings of the imaging device, such as detecting “bright” protrusions with darker recesses or simply inverting the black/white image. For the purposes of applying art the examiner interprets the “bright” region to be the area of exposed surface that is the second active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (WO 2024/007319; citations to machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 8,
SUN teaches a pole piece (cathode/positive pole) with active material that includes first and second active material abstract. The first and second active material can be a first ternary active material (NCM) and a second phosphate active material which includes a manganese iron phosphate (LMFP) page 8. The first and second active are disposed such that they both have exposed surface areas of the current collector such that the area ratio of the first area to first and second area is 5-90% page 2. The examiner notes that the reference does not analyze the electrode layer with a scanning electrode microscope. However, observing the electrode does not change its composition or structure. Furthermore, the amount of “bright” region can be manipulated by changing the contrast of an image which is independent from the composition and structure of the electrode.
Based on the specification and claim 8, the “bright” regions correspond to the second positive electrode active material. However, the “bright” regions can still be changed by the settings of the imaging device, such as detecting “bright” protrusions with darker recesses or simply inverting the black/white image. For the purposes of applying art the examiner interprets the “bright” region to be the area of exposed surface that is the second active material. SUN teaches the area ratio of first active material to total area is 5-90% page 2 which overlaps the claimed range of 10-70% and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I. The examiner notes that the test area size is arbitrary because the ratio of areas should not change, statistically.
Regarding claims 2 and 3,
The first and second active material have atomic ratios further described in the examples which use NCM811 (LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2) and LiMn0.6Fe0.4PO4 page 13. The active materials fall within the generic formulas.
Regarding claim 4,
SUN further teaches the weight of first active material is 5-90% the total weight of first and second active material page 2 which overlaps the claimed range of 5-95% and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 describes the image processing that results in the claimed “bright” region. However, again the examiner notes that the manner in which a picture is take of an object does not change the object itself. Regardless of the settings for the image processor, the claim appears to be describing the area of a second positive active electrode material on the surface of the cathode which is rejected for the same reasons as described above for claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claims 10,
SUN teaches forming the electrode into a battery (lithium ion) and battery pack abstract.
Regarding claim 11,
The battery pack can be used in phones, computers, toys, tools, cars, ships, spacecraft, etc. (electronic device) page 6.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (WO 2024/007319; citations to machine translation) in view of HOFFERT et al. (US 2022/0069292).
Regarding claims 5 and 6,
The SUN reference teaches using first and second active material but does not teach the particle sizes of either material. Without disclosed particle sizes for the first and second active material one of ordinary skill would look to the art to find operable particle sizes when blending the LFMP and NCM cathode active materials.
HOFFERT similarly teaches using a combination of cathode active materials to improve performance of the cell abstract. The blended cathode active materials similarly include LFMP and NCM [0023], [0032], and [0042]. The D50 particle sizes of both active materials can be about 5µm [0043]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the particle sizes of HOFFERT as a known particle size for a cathode made of both LFMP and NCM.
The reference does not teach a Dv90 (D90) of the particles. However, the Dv90 can be interpreted to be a value higher than the Dv50, because the larger particles (not previously counted in Dv50) bring the average up. The exact increase in size from Dv50 to Dv90 will depend on the standard deviation of the individual particle size distribution. However, regardless of the exact calculation, the Dv90 is implicitly a must necessarily a range larger than the Dv50 and the overlapping ranges are considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HARADA et al. (US 2024/0105917) more generally discusses particle sizes in terms of D90 by describing particle adhesion to the collector and rapid discharge performance [0039]. The reference generally teaches active materials can include LFP and nickel cobalt and mixtures [0145]. The active materials are slightly different and the reference does not focus on particle sizes specifically in the context of blended active materials. However, the reference does note that the desired size can easily be achieved by milling [0058].
SHANG et al. (WO 2024/164119; citations to machine translation) similarly teaches a cathode active material that includes both NCM and LMFP type active materials abstract. The reference further teaches that the Dv50 of first and second active material is 2.1-6.3 µm and 0.25-1.49µm page 3. As noted above the Dv90 is inherently going to be a higher range than the Dv50. The values in SHANG simply skew lower than the disclosed particle sizes in HOFFERT which offers some insight into the usable particle sizes.
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712