DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/16/2025, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Declaration of Dr. Devang Patel under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/16/2025 is insufficient to overcome the following grounds of rejection for the reasons set forth further below.
Claims 1-5, 9, 14, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by EP 3536771 to Stolte. Stolte discloses disinfecting and solidying tablets, the tablets comprising at least one binding agent such as MGDA (paragraph 8), at least one solidifying agent such as polyethylene glycol hydroxyethylene cellulose (a solidifying agent) (paragraphs 44 and 51), a disinfectant (paragraphs 34-47) such as didecyldimethyl ammonium chloride (a low molecular weight quaternary ammonium compound) (paragraph 37), additives such as surfactants (paragraph 8), a polyacrylate (a superabsorbent polymer), and dichloroisocyanurate (dichloro-s-triazinetrione) (paragraph 33). Stolte further discloses a kit comprising a plurality of its disinfecting and solidifying tablets and a plurality of containers configured to house a liquid, such as plastic (paragraphs 40 and 65-68). The container may be made from a flexible film material (varying shape) (paragraph 65). The container is made to contain an aqueous medium (paragraphs 56-57). Stolte teaches a pH of about 7.5 to about 10.5 (paragraph 54), and further that the binding agent may be present in the range of about 10 to about 90% (paragraph 12), the solidifying agent may be present in the range of up to about 20 wt%, and the disinfectant may be present in a range of up to about 75 wt% (paragraph 37). In addition, Stolte teaches that other agents that are solidifying agents may be added, such as polyacrylate may be added, and be present in amounts of over 70 weight percent (paragraph 21).
Stolte fails to teach the presently claimed weight percentages of binding agent, solidifying agent, and disinfectant. Stolte further fails to teach a pH of about 5-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the weight percentages of the binding agent, solidifying agent, and disinfectant to optimize the disinfectant properties of the composition. In this way, the artisan would find the present values through routine experimentation. Stolte provides sufficient guidance to this end, as the ranges of about 20 to 90 weight % binding agent, up to about 20 wt% solidifying agent, and up to about 75 wt% disinfectant taught by Stolte overlaps with or nearly touches with the presently claimed ranges. Regarding claims 23-24, which require at least 35 weight percent and at least 50 weight percent, respectively, Stolte teaches that polyacrylate (a solidifying agent) may be present in amounts of over 70 weight percent (paragraph 21), which overlaps with the presently claimed ranges. It would have been further obvious to optimize the pH of the composition of Stolte to improve the efficacy of the formulation to act as a disinfecting agent. In this way, one would find a pH of about 5-8 through routine experimentation. The prior art provide sufficient guidance to this end as the pH range of about 7.5 to about 10.5 disclosed by Stolte overlaps with the present range. “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Stolte teaches up to 20%, the examiner’s response is that Stolte teaches for incorporation of hydroxyethylene cellulose, it teaches up to about 20%. Regarding applicant’s arggment that a teaching of up to 20% [sic “up to about 20%”] constitutes a teaching away from values over 20%, the examiner’s response is that the range of up to about 20 wt% taught by Stolte nearly touches applicant’s range and therefore provides sufficient guidance for the artisan to find applicant’s value through routine experimentation. However, in addition to teaching incorporation of the solidifying agent hydroxyethyl cellulose, Stolte further teaches incorporation of the solidifying agent polyacrylate which can be present in up to 70% of the composition (paragraph 21) (“suitable solidifying agents can include… polyacrylate”; specification, page 8). The examiner appreciates the declaration of Dr. Patel. The declaration, which states that a tablet a tablet that includes 20-90% binding agent, up to 20 wt% solidifying agent, and 0.5-20 wt% disinfectant would not have optimal tablet property, the examiner’s response is that the rejection is not based on a tablet having up to 20 wt% solidifying agent, but a tablet that has at least 25 weight percent (claim 1), at least 35 weight percent (claim 23), and at least 50 weight percent (claim 24). For the reasons given above, the prior art’s ranges overlap with these ranges.
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3536771 to Stolte in view of CN1019335613A (hereafter CN ‘101; a Machine Translation is already in record). The revalent portions of Stolte are given above.
Stolte fails to teach incorporation of microcrystalline cellulose and sodium polyacrylate.
CN’ 101 teaches that high polymers, such as of microcrystalline cellulose and sodium polyacrylate, aid in preparing a uniformly dispersed composition for disinfecting compositions (Machine Translation, page 2, paragraph beginning “High Polymer comprises”; page 3, top line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate microcrystalline cellulose and sodium polyacrylate into the composition of Stolte. The motivation for this would have been to prepare a uniformly dispersed disinfecting composition.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Applicant argues that Stolte nor Stolte in view of CN ‘101 render obvious applicant’s invention. The examiner’s response is that the references render obvious applicant’s invention including applicant’s ranges for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
October 9, 2025