DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speks (US 8929892, hereinafter “Speks”) and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20220150812, hereinafter “Lin”)
Regarding claim 1, Speks discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ( FIG. 3 shows a further detailed schematic diagram of the mobile terminal shown in FIG. 1), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (shown in FIG. 3, the network selection mode control unit 14 comprises a border memory unit 18, a mode selection area memory unit 20), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
calculate a set of distances from a location of the UE to at least one crossing of a border between a first region and a second region (monitoring step S10 shown in FIG. 2 is a determination whether the mobile terminal crosses a border of its home country, either from the home country to at least one foreign country or from a foreign country to the home country'. Indeed determining whether the terminal crossed a border using a GPS position implies calculating distances to known border location points, Col. 4; lines 50-58), wherein the UE is initially located in the first region (Fig. 5; step 24), wherein the set of distances is based on a corresponding set of border points and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location fix for the UE (Position Monitoring Unit 12 in fig.1 and mobile terminal based solutions typically calculate the position using satellite positioning services, e.g., GPS');
estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border (there is initiated a guard time interval when the mobile terminal 10 crosses the border from the home country to the foreign country to delay registration to a foreign network according to a “predetermined guard time interval” and Guard Timer Running” at S28 in fig.5. As shown in FIG. 5, assuming that the interrogation in step S24 is affirmative, then in step S28, operatively executed by the guard interval timer 22 shown in FIG. 3, it is interrogated whether the guard interval timer 22 is running. If so, the process branches back to step the S22 to delay the activation of the automatic network selection mode. Indeed in order to perform S28, the UE must estimate the elapsed time since it has crossed the border because the guard timer starts when the border is crossed, Col. 7; lines 20-55); and
provide, for a network entity and based on the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border and a crossing threshold condition, an indication (The reason for the provision of the guard interval timer 22 is that due to limited accuracy of the positioning solution or a movement along the border under certain conditions it may happen that the mobile terminal 10 considers itself to be repeatedly moving between the home country and the foreign country. This leads to frequent location registration if loss and regaining of coverage of the home network occurs in this process. Here, the guard interval timer 22 may be used to overcome this problem without violating the principle that the mobile terminal 10 is registered to the home network while located in the home country. Registration to the foreign network is delayed by a certain time, Col. 7; lines 29-50).
However, Speks does not disclose, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances, or a current speed of the UE (In step S320, the UE stores the indication of country of UE location and starts a timer. The timer length value may be indicated in the message received from the network, or configured in the UE, or configured in the USIM, or broadcasted from the network, or determined/calculated by the UE based on one or more parameters, such as the distance from the UE to the country boarder, and the moving speed and/or moving direction of the UE, [0051] and [0061] and Figs. 3-4) and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region (the UE moves to country B (with MCC=“BBB”), the UE refrains from selecting a PLMN of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection before the timer expires. When the timer expires and in response, the UE is allowed to select a PLMN (e.g., the NTN PLMN X) of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection, [0051]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speks by specifically providing estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region associated with roaming of the UE in the second region, as taught by Lin for the purpose of a mechanism to control the validity of the network recommended MCC information, by introducing a new timer in the UE to limit the period of time in which the network recommended MCC information is considered valid [0009].
Regarding claim 2, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Speks discloses,
wherein to calculate the set of distances from the location of the UE to the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to periodically calculate the set of distances based on a dynamic periodicity, wherein the dynamic periodicity is adjusted based on the elapsed time estimated at which the UE crossed the border and a periodicity threshold condition; wherein to estimate the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to estimate updated elapsed times at which the UE crossed the border for each performance of periodically calculating the set of distances ( As shown in FIG. 5, the interrogation step S22 may be supplemented by an optional interrogation whether the mobile terminal is located in an area either of the home country or the foreign country to which location based network selection according to the present invention applies. The logic behind this is that for the purpose of power saving the positioning mechanism may be activated only for location areas that are close to the border. The data that is provisioned to the mobile terminal 10 must in this case be extended by a list of location areas where positioning shall apply as stored in the area memory unit 20 shown in FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 5, assuming that the interrogation in step S22 is affirmative, in a step S24, operatively executed by the position monitoring unit 12 shown in FIG. 3, it is interrogated whether the border is crossed from the home country to the foreign country in a step S24 or from the foreign country to the home country in a step S26. Here, the latter step S26 may be considered as optional assuming that the border is either crossed form the home country to the foreign country or vice versa, Col. 7; lines 29-50).
Regarding claim 3, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Speks discloses,
wherein the periodicity threshold condition is met when the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border is less than or equal to a trigger time minus a time offset (Fig. 5; S22-S28).
Regarding claim 5, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition Lin discloses,
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: identify that the location of the UE is in the second region based on an updated GNSS location fix; wherein to provide the indication of the regional communication code of the second region, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide the indication further based on at least one of (i) a latest one of the updated elapsed times being greater than or equal to a minimum time threshold after the elapsed time plus a time offset, (ii) the location of the UE being in the second region, or (iii) the current heading of the vehicle associated with the UE (In step S320, the UE stores the indication of country of UE location and starts a timer. The timer length value may be indicated in the message received from the network, or configured in the UE, or configured in the USIM, or broadcasted from the network, or determined/calculated by the UE based on one or more parameters, such as the distance from the UE to the country boarder, and the moving speed and/or moving direction of the UE, [0051] and [0061] and Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Lin discloses,
wherein the indication of the regional communication code of the second region is based on historical information, wherein the historical information includes at least one of trip history information associated with the UE, a map geometry, a road geometry, or cell history information associated with the UE (In step S320, the UE stores the indication of country of UE location and starts a timer. The timer length value may be indicated in the message received from the network, or configured in the UE, or configured in the USIM, or broadcasted from the network, or determined/calculated by the UE based on one or more parameters, such as the distance from the UE to the country boarder, and the moving speed and/or moving direction of the UE, [0051] and [0061] and Figs. 3-4)
Regarding claim 12, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Lin discloses,
wherein the cell history information associated with the UE includes at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) of a last serving cell for the UE in the second region, a cell identity of the last serving cell for the UE in the second region, a roaming transition identifier, a number of times the UE has traversed the border, or another number of times the UE has traversed the border over a period of time; wherein the cell history information associated with the UE is based on a UE record or is based on a crowdsourcing data associated with a cloud-based entity (the UE moves to country B (with MCC=“BBB”), the UE refrains from selecting a PLMN of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection before the timer expires. When the timer expires and in response, the UE is allowed to select a PLMN (e.g., the NTN PLMN X) of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection, [0051]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination Speks and Lin discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Lin discloses,
wherein the minimum time threshold after the elapsed time is a reduced value based on the historical information (the UE 110 stores the indication of country of UE location and start a timer upon receiving the indication. The UE 110 keeps the indication valid until the timer expires. During the time when the stored indication is valid, the UE refrains from selecting a PLMN of a country that is not indicated by the MCC(s) as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection for normal service or emergency service. When the timer expires, the UE invalidates the stored indication by deleting or removing the stored indication, and then allows itself to select a PLMN of a country that is not indicated by the MCC(s) as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection for normal service or emergency service, [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination Speks and Hiet discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Speks discloses,
wherein the UE comprises the vehicle (the outcome of the monitoring step S10 shown in FIG. 2 is a determination whether the mobile terminal crosses a border of its home country, either from the home country to at least one foreign country or from a foreign country to the home country).
Regarding claim 18, the combination Speks and Hiet discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Speks discloses,
a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor; wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, from the network entity via the transceiver, a configuration indicative of a switch to a cell associated with the regional communication code of the second region; and switch to the cell based on the configuration (As shown in FIG. 5, when it is determined in the step S28 that the guard interval timer is not running then follows a step S30, operatively executed by the network selection mode control unit 14 shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, so as to switch to the automatic network selection mode.)
Regarding claim 19, Speks discloses,
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ( FIG. 3 shows a further detailed schematic diagram of the mobile terminal shown in FIG. 1), comprising:
calculating a set of distances from a location of the UE to at least one crossing of a border between a first region and a second region (monitoring step S10 shown in FIG. 2 is a determination whether the mobile terminal crosses a border of its home country, either from the home country to at least one foreign country or from a foreign country to the home country'. Indeed determining whether the terminal crossed a border using a GPS position implies calculating distances to known border location points, Col. 4; lines 50-58), wherein the UE is initially located in the first region (Fig. 5; step 24), wherein the set of distances is based on a corresponding set of border points and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location fix for the UE (Position Monitoring Unit 12 in fig.1 and mobile terminal based solutions typically calculate the position using satellite positioning services, e.g., GPS');
estimating an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border (there is initiated a guard time interval when the mobile terminal 10 crosses the border from the home country to the foreign country to delay registration to a foreign network according to a “predetermined guard time interval” and Guard Timer Running” at S28 in fig.5. As shown in FIG. 5, assuming that the interrogation in step S24 is affirmative, then in step S28, operatively executed by the guard interval timer 22 shown in FIG. 3, it is interrogated whether the guard interval timer 22 is running. If so, the process branches back to step the S22 to delay the activation of the automatic network selection mode. Indeed in order to perform S28, the UE must estimate the elapsed time since it has crossed the border because the guard timer starts when the border is crossed, Col. 7; lines 20-55); and
providing, for a network entity and based on the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border and a crossing threshold condition, an indication (The reason for the provision of the guard interval timer 22 is that due to limited accuracy of the positioning solution or a movement along the border under certain conditions it may happen that the mobile terminal 10 considers itself to be repeatedly moving between the home country and the foreign country. This leads to frequent location registration if loss and regaining of coverage of the home network occurs in this process. Here, the guard interval timer 22 may be used to overcome this problem without violating the principle that the mobile terminal 10 is registered to the home network while located in the home country. Registration to the foreign network is delayed by a certain time, Col. 7; lines 29-50).
However, Speks does not disclose, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances, or a current speed of the UE (In step S320, the UE stores the indication of country of UE location and starts a timer. The timer length value may be indicated in the message received from the network, or configured in the UE, or configured in the USIM, or broadcasted from the network, or determined/calculated by the UE based on one or more parameters, such as the distance from the UE to the country boarder, and the moving speed and/or moving direction of the UE, [0051] and [0061] and Figs. 3-4) and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region (the UE moves to country B (with MCC=“BBB”), the UE refrains from selecting a PLMN of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection before the timer expires. When the timer expires and in response, the UE is allowed to select a PLMN (e.g., the NTN PLMN X) of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection, [0051]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speks by specifically providing estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region associated with roaming of the UE in the second region, as taught by Lin for the purpose of a mechanism to control the validity of the network recommended MCC information, by introducing a new timer in the UE to limit the period of time in which the network recommended MCC information is considered valid [0009].
Regarding claim 20, Speks discloses,
A computer-readable medium storing computer executable code at a user equipment (UE) ( FIG. 3 shows a further detailed schematic diagram of the mobile terminal shown in FIG. 3 and shown in FIG. 3, the network selection mode control unit 14 comprises a border memory unit 18, a mode selection area memory unit 20), the code when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to:
calculate a set of distances from a location of the UE to at least one crossing of a border between a first region and a second region (monitoring step S10 shown in FIG. 2 is a determination whether the mobile terminal crosses a border of its home country, either from the home country to at least one foreign country or from a foreign country to the home country'. Indeed determining whether the terminal crossed a border using a GPS position implies calculating distances to known border location points, Col. 4; lines 50-58), wherein the UE is initially located in the first region (Fig. 5; step 24), wherein the set of distances is based on a corresponding set of border points and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location fix for the UE (Position Monitoring Unit 12 in fig.1 and mobile terminal based solutions typically calculate the position using satellite positioning services, e.g., GPS');
estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border (there is initiated a guard time interval when the mobile terminal 10 crosses the border from the home country to the foreign country to delay registration to a foreign network according to a “predetermined guard time interval” and Guard Timer Running” at S28 in fig.5. As shown in FIG. 5, assuming that the interrogation in step S24 is affirmative, then in step S28, operatively executed by the guard interval timer 22 shown in FIG. 3, it is interrogated whether the guard interval timer 22 is running. If so, the process branches back to step the S22 to delay the activation of the automatic network selection mode. Indeed in order to perform S28, the UE must estimate the elapsed time since it has crossed the border because the guard timer starts when the border is crossed, Col. 7; lines 20-55); and
provide, for a network entity and based on the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border and a crossing threshold condition, an indication (The reason for the provision of the guard interval timer 22 is that due to limited accuracy of the positioning solution or a movement along the border under certain conditions it may happen that the mobile terminal 10 considers itself to be repeatedly moving between the home country and the foreign country. This leads to frequent location registration if loss and regaining of coverage of the home network occurs in this process. Here, the guard interval timer 22 may be used to overcome this problem without violating the principle that the mobile terminal 10 is registered to the home network while located in the home country. Registration to the foreign network is delayed by a certain time, Col. 7; lines 29-50).
However, Speks does not disclose, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses, estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances, or a current speed of the UE (In step S320, the UE stores the indication of country of UE location and starts a timer. The timer length value may be indicated in the message received from the network, or configured in the UE, or configured in the USIM, or broadcasted from the network, or determined/calculated by the UE based on one or more parameters, such as the distance from the UE to the country boarder, and the moving speed and/or moving direction of the UE, [0051] and [0061] and Figs. 3-4) and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region
associated with roaming of the UE in the second region (the UE moves to country B (with MCC=“BBB”), the UE refrains from selecting a PLMN of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection before the timer expires. When the timer expires and in response, the UE is allowed to select a PLMN (e.g., the NTN PLMN X) of country B as a candidate for satellite access or NTN PLMN selection, [0051]-[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Speks by specifically providing estimate an elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border based on at least one of a current heading of a vehicle associated with the UE, at least one distance of the set of distances and a current speed of the UE and provide indication of a regional communication code of the second region associated with roaming of the UE in the second region, as taught by Lin for the purpose of a mechanism to control the validity of the network recommended MCC information, by introducing a new timer in the UE to limit the period of time in which the network recommended MCC information is considered valid [0009].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-10 and 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: obtain traffic information associated with the vehicle associated with the UE; wherein the dynamic periodicity is adjusted further based on the traffic information and the current heading of the vehicle associated with the UE being indicative of UE movement away from a crossing of the at least one crossing of the border at which the UE crossed the border”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1 and claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein to estimate the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to estimate a set of elapsed times at which the UE crossed the border respectively associated with one or more distances of the set of distances; wherein for a number of preceding elapsed times of the set of elapsed times: the elapsed time is greater than the minimum time threshold after the elapsed time plus the time offset, the location of the UE is in the second region, and the current heading of the vehicle associated with the UE is indicative of UE movement that is away from a crossing of the at least one crossing of the border at which the UE crossed the border”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1, 2 and 5.
Claim 7 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein to estimate the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to estimate a set of elapsed times at which the UE crossed the border respectively associated with one or more distances of the set of distances; wherein for a number of preceding elapsed times of the set of elapsed times: the elapsed time is greater than or equal to the periodicity threshold condition minus the time offset, the location of the UE is in the first region, and the current heading of the vehicle associated with the UE is indicative of UE movement that is away from a crossing of the at least one crossing of the border; wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: increase a time interval for calculating distances of the set of distances from the location of the UE to the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1, 2 and 5.
Claims 9 and 10 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: obtain, from an inference engine and based on at least one vehicle camera input of a camera of the vehicle, an inference of a road traffic status for a road associated with the UE of the vehicle, wherein the inference of the road traffic status indicates an amount of traffic that meets a traffic threshold condition; and wherein the minimum time threshold after the elapsed time is a reduced value based on the inference of the road traffic status, or wherein to provide the indication of the regional communication code of the second region, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide the indication further based on a distance of the set of distances that meets a distance threshold condition associated with the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region, wherein the distance threshold condition is a reduced condition based on the inference of the road traffic status”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1, 2 and 5.
Regarding claim 15, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: obtain, based on at least one vehicle camera input of a camera of the vehicle, a road indication of a road type or a road geometry for a road associated with the UE of the vehicle; and wherein the minimum time threshold after the elapsed time is a reduced value based on the road indication of the road type or the road geometry, or wherein to provide the indication of the regional communication code of the second region, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide the indication further based on a distance of the set of distances that meets a distance threshold condition associated with the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region, wherein the distance threshold condition is a reduced condition based on the road indication of the road type or the road geometry”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1, 2 and 5.
Regarding claim 16, the prior arts, Speks and Lin, whether taken alone or in combination does not disclose the following novel feature: “wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: identify that the location of the UE is in the first region based on an updated GNSS location fix; and obtain, based on at least one vehicle camera input of a camera of the vehicle, a sign indication of a road sign for a road associated with the UE of the vehicle, wherein the sign indication of the road sign is indicative of a distance from the location of the UE to the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region; wherein to estimate the elapsed time at which the UE crossed the border, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to estimate the elapsed time further based on the distance from the location of the UE to the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region, or wherein to periodically calculate the set of distances based on the dynamic periodicity, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to periodically calculate the set of distances further based on the distance from the location of the UE to the at least one crossing of the border between the first region and the second region”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1 and 2.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2023135061: The method involves determining a second reception-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference between a pair of signals communicated with a network node of a communications network. A second message is transmitted to the network node, where the second message comprises an indication of the second Rx-Tx time difference. An aperiodic tracking reference signal (TRS) is received, where the second message is transmitted in response to receiving the aperiodic TRS.
WO 2022045867: The user equipment has a transceiver receiving system information having information corresponding to location coordinates for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) gateway. The information corresponds to a processing delay between the equipment and a base station (BS). A processor (340) is operably connected to the transceiver. The processor determines a timing advance based on a timing difference between a reference point location and the BS. The transceiver transmits the timing advance report based on the determined timing advance.
US 20200322756: he apparatus comprises processing circuitry, and memory to determine a position estimate of user equipment (UE). The processing circuitry is configured to generate signaling to configure a multiple of transmit-receive points (TRPs) of the NG-RAN to transmit downlink (DL) position reference signals (DL PRSs). Encoded positioning data for transmission to the UE, the positioning data is received from a location server to assist the UE with positioning. Decoded from the UE, one or more measurement reports has UE Rx-Tx time differences.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641