Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to remove Fluorine”. It should be “to remove fluorine”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the used neon gas" in line 3.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites “FTIR” in line 3. It is unclear what ‘FTIR’ referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koura et al (US 2018033751; hereinafter Koura).
As regarding claim 1, Koura discloses the claimed invention for a system for recovering neon from used neon ([0018]; 1 of fig. 2B), the system comprising: a pretreatment component (13 of fig. 2B) operatively coupled to receive used neon gas from a system for producing UV light using neon ([0067] and [0181]); and a capture component ([0227]-[0228]; 14 of fig. 2B) operatively coupled to the pretreatment component.
As regarding claim 2, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for wherein the pretreatment component houses an absorbent media comprising one or more of alumina, modified alumina, zeolite, transition metal hydride, transition metal getter, silica gel, and/or activated carbon, the absorbent media configured to retain used neon gas contaminants ([0068] – transition metal getter (Cu), [0205], [0226]).
As regarding claim 3, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for wherein the pretreatment component is operatively configured with one or more of a membrane, cryogenic separation, and/or pressure swing sorption, each of which is configured to retain used neon gas contaminants ([0018]).
As regarding claim 4, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for wherein the capture component comprises a vacuum pump and/or a compressor ([0219], 141 of fig. 2B).
As regarding claim 11, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for a purification component (14) operatively engaged to receive neon released from the pretreatment component ([0018], [0020], [0067], [0132]-[0133], [0144], [0181], and [0223]).
As regarding claim 12, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for an analysis component (132 of fig. 2B) operatively aligned between the pretreatment component and the purification component, the analysis component configured to determine impurity concentrations ([0199]).
As regarding claim 14, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for capturing (13, 14) and/or compressing (141) components operatively engaged between the absorbent component and the analysis component ([0117]).
As regarding claim 15, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for wherein the purification component is configured to expose the neon retained on the absorbent component ([0021], [0068]).
As regarding claim 17, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention for wherein the pretreating removes pretreatment component is configured to remove Fluorine from the used neon gas ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koura et al (US 2018033751; hereinafter Koura) as applied supra, and further in view of Manginell et al (US 10197532; hereinafter Manginell).
As regarding claim 13, Koura discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Koura discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the analysis component is one or more of GC-PDHID (pulse discharged helium ionization detector), FTIR, CRDS (cavity ring down spectroscopy), and/or BGA (binary gas analyzer). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the analysis component is one or more of GC-PDHID (pulse discharged helium ionization detector), FTIR, CRDS (cavity ring down spectroscopy), and/or BGA (binary gas analyzer) in order to achieve ultra-sensitive, nearly universal, non-radioactive detection of trace impurities – including noble and halogen gases – making it far superior to regular GC detectors for high-purity gas monitoring in excimer laser system, since it was known in the art as shown in Manginell (col 5 ln 17-23).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773