DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of Applicants’ remarks and amended claims filed on July 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-4, 7-12, and 15-20 have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
All claims are under examination in this application.
Withdrawn Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 7-12 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because the claims recite “cycle 1”; “cycle 2”; “cycle 3”; and “first cycle”; “second cycle”; and “third cycle”, respectively, however, there is no recitation in claim 1 of cycles. After a review of the specification, it is unclear if the cycles are referring to treatment cycles or menstrual cycles has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims to recite treatment cycles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiser et al. (US 2014/0209100) has been withdrawn in view of the arguments regarding the selection active agents, however, attention is directed to the modified rejection below.
Modified and New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiser et al. (US 2014/0209100) in view of Mayo Clinic, Ethinyl estradiol and etonogestrel (vaginal route), available online August 9, 2014).
Kiser discloses an intravaginal drug delivery device, such as a ring (abstract). The device comprises a drug containing core with a hydrophilic elastomer surrounding, at least in part the core (paragraph 0020).
Contraceptive agents, hormones, and estrogen receptor modulators may be delivered with the device (paragraph 0032).
Ethyl estradiol and etonogestrel are disclosed (paragraph 0034; claim 29; Example 4).
The devices are adapted to delivery pharmaceutically effective amounts of each drug (paragraph 0035).
The device capable of providing sustained delivery of one or more vaginally administrable drugs in a substantially zero order release profile. The devices exhibit a substantially zero order release profile of the drug over at least one day or the devices exhibit a substantially zero order release profile of the drug over at least several days (e.g., over at least 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 days), over at least a week, over at least one month, or over more than a month (e.g., over at least 45, 60, or 90 days) (paragraph 0036).
The device comprises a rate controlling membrane over the drug containing core (paragraph 0061).
The devices exhibit release rates of about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 25 mg, about 50 mg, about 75 mg, about 100 mg, about 150 mg, about 200 mg, about 500 mg, about 750 mg, about 1 mg, about 2 mg, about 3 mg, about 4 mg, about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 15 mg, about 20 mg, about 30 mg, about 40 mg, about 50 mg of drug per day and ranges between and including any two such values (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claims 2-4, as noted above, the device exhibits release rates of including about 5 mg and about 10 mg, which is less than an average of 0.120 mg and 0.010 mg, as recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 5-20, the claims recite the functional properties of the device recited in claim 1. Since the prior art of Kiser discloses a core comprising ethyl estradiol and etonogestrel which exhibits release rates including about 5 mg and about 10 mg, it would therefore have the same functional properties as those recited in the instant claims. Applicants’ attention is directed to MPEP 2112.01 which discloses "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Kiser does not exemplify a device having ethinyl estradiol and etonogestrel, however, both active agents are disclosed as acceptable agents to be included in a contraceptive device.
The Mayo Clinic information sheet discloses NuvaRing which is an etonogestrel and ethinyl estradiol combination used to prevent pregnancy in the form of a vaginal ring. Thereby indicating that the specific combination was well known to be used in vaginal ring devices prior to the effective filing date of the invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated two known and disclosed agents into the device disclosed by Kiser in order to achieve the benefits of each agent individually.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/240284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and copending claims recite a drug delivery device comprising a core of ethinyl estradiol and etonogestrel with a membrane covering said core. Both devices are additionally disclosed to deliver 0.013 mg per day of ethinyl estradiol over a period of time ranging from 21 days to 3 months. The release profile of etonogestrel is disclosed in dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s acknowledgement of the rejections is noted. However, they will not be held in abeyance. As detailed in MPEP 714.02 “[t]he reply by the applicant or patent owner must be reduced to a writing which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action. The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. If the reply is with respect to an application, a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Double patenting rejections are not “objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims” and are not eligible to be held in abeyance.
Conclusion
Due to the modified rejections presented in this office action, this action is made Non-Final.
/MELISSA S MERCIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615