DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
No claim amendments have been submitted
All claims are under examination in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 2, 2024 is acknowledged. A signed copy is attached to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “cycle 1”; “cycle 2”; “cycle 3”; and “first cycle”; “second cycle”; and “third cycle”, respectively, however, there is no recitation in claim 1 of cycles. After a review of the specification, it is unclear if the cycles are referring to treatment cycles or menstrual cycles. The specification discloses treatment cycles can vary including a 28, 26, 24, or 21 day insertion period (paragraph 0075), whereas the menstrual cycle is disclosed to be 28 days (paragraph 0076). Clarification and amendment is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiser et al. (US 2014/0209100).
Kiser discloses an intravaginal drug delivery device, such as a ring (abstract). The device comprises a drug containing core with a hydrophilic elastomer surrounding, at least in part the core (paragraph 0020).
Contraceptive agents, hormones, and estrogen receptor modulators may be delivered with the device (paragraph 0032).
Ethyl estradiol and etonogestrel are disclosed (paragraph 0034; claim 29; Example 4).
The devices are adapted to delivery pharmaceutically effective amounts of each drug (paragraph 0035).
The device capable of providing sustained delivery of one or more vaginally administrable drugs in a substantially zero order release profile. The devices exhibit a substantially zero order release profile of the drug over at least one day or the devices exhibit a substantially zero order release profile of the drug over at least several days (e.g., over at least 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 days), over at least a week, over at least one month, or over more than a month (e.g., over at least 45, 60, or 90 days) (paragraph 0036).
The device comprises a rate controlling membrane over the drug containing core (paragraph 0061).
The devices exhibit release rates of about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 25 mg, about 50 mg, about 75 mg, about 100 mg, about 150 mg, about 200 mg, about 500 mg, about 750 mg, about 1 mg, about 2 mg, about 3 mg, about 4 mg, about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 15 mg, about 20 mg, about 30 mg, about 40 mg, about 50 mg of drug per day and ranges between and including any two such values (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claims 2-4, as noted above, the device exhibits release rates of including about 5 mg and about 10 mg, which is less than an average of 0.120 mg and 0.010 mg, as recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 5-20, the claims recite the functional properties of the device recited in claim 1. Since the prior art of Kiser discloses a core comprising ethyl estradiol and etonogestrel which exhibits release rates including about 5 mg and about 10 mg, it would therefore have the same functional properties as those recited in the instant claims. Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2112.01 which discloses "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Kiser does not exemplify a device having ethinyl estradiol and etonogestrel, however, both active agents are disclosed as acceptable agents to be included in a contraceptive device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated two known and disclosed agents into the device disclosed by Kiser in order to achieve the benefits of each agent individually.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/240284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and copending claims recite a drug delivery device comprising a core of ethinyl estradiol and etonogestrel with a membrane covering said core. Both devices are additionally disclosed to deliver 0.013 mg per day of ethinyl estradiol over a period of time ranging from 21 days to 3 months. The release profile of etonogestrel is disclosed in dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Holmberg et al. (US 2018/0104181) which discloses a method for altering the release characteristics of a long acting drug delivery device containing at least two drugs in different segments, wherein the segments are arranged to a specific sequence. Additionally disclosed is a drug delivery device with reduced initial burst containing two different drugs in different segments. The invention further relates to a delivery device manufactured according to the a.m. method and its use in contraception and gynecological therapies (abstract).
The matrix/core material thermoplastic polymer can be ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) (paragraph 0066).
The membrane material can be the same as the core segment material (paragraph 0065).
Devices include intravaginal rings (paragraph 0019).
Particularly preferred drugs include ethinyl estradiol (paragraph 0052) and etonogestrel (paragraph 0051).
/MELISSA S MERCIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615