DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge (previously cited in Office Action 12/11/2025) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0015058).
Regarding claim 1, Edge discloses a method for positioning processing, comprising:
receiving (as disclosed in section 0136), by a first device (target UE), a first positioning reference signal (DL RS); and
measuring or reporting (as disclosed in section 0136, see also section 0144), by the first device, first measurement information (DL location measurements) based on the first positioning reference signal, wherein the first measurement information comprises first-path phase information of at least one positioning reference signal (see carrier phase as disclosed in sections 0129 and 0232) and further comprises at least one of the following: first-path measurement information (such as TOA or RSTD as disclosed in section 0129); additional-path measurement information; frequency domain measurement information; or antenna measurement information,
the method further comprising:
receiving, by the first device, first indication information (RRC Positioning Measurement Request as disclosed in section 0133).
Edge does not specifically disclose first indication information is used to indicate a type of the first measurement information that is measured or received by the first device, wherein the type of measurement information is indicated by a bit string.
However, Li et al. also discloses a method/device for positioning processing (see Abstract), which includes receiving first indication information (measurement request message as disclosed in section 0143, positioning measurement request as disclosed in sections 0188-0195) at a UE, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a type of the first measurement information (as disclosed in sections 0143 and 0192) that is measured or reported by the UE, wherein the type of the first measurement information is indicated by a bit string (RRC reconfiguration message or positioning request message as disclosed in sections 0194). Li et al. further discloses measuring and reporting measurement information which comprises first-path phase (carrier phase measurement as disclosed in sections 0142-0146 and 0188-0192) information of at least one positioning reference signal (see section 0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Edge with the indication information as taught by Li et al. since Li et al. discloses the indication (assistance) information enables the UE to obtain location information more quickly under different scenarios which improves resource utilization rate (see section 0076).
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. further discloses the first indication information is further used to indicate quantity of the measurement information (such as time difference as disclosed in section 0192) that is measured or reported by the UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Edge with the indication information as taught by Li et al. since Li et al. discloses the indication (assistance) information enables the UE to obtain location information more quickly under different scenarios which improves resource utilization rate (see section 0076).
Regarding claim 3, Edge discloses wherein the first indication information carries first information for explicitly indicating the type of the first measurement information (as disclosed in section 0133); and
the first information comprises at least one of the following: first-path measurement information; additional-path measurement information; frequency domain measurement information; antenna measurement information; delay information (latency in obtaining the measurements as disclosed in section 0133); phase information; energy information; angle information; delay difference information; phase difference information; energy difference information; angle difference information; subcarrier phase information; subcarrier energy information; subcarrier phase difference information; or subcarrier energy difference information.
Regarding claim 4, Edge discloses the first indication information (RRC Positioning Measurement Request as disclosed in section 0133) carries a positioning method (carrier phase, see section 0129) for implicitly indicating a type of the first measurement information corresponding to the positioning method (wherein DL location measurements such as carrier phase are selected at stage 2 and included in the request as disclosed in section 0133); and
the positioning method comprises at least one of the following: carrier phase-based (see sections 0070 and 0129) positioning; or machine learning-based positioning.
Regarding claim 5, Edge discloses the first-path measurement information (see section 0129) comprises at least one of the following: first-path phase information of at least one receive beam; first-path phase information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; first-path phase difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports; first-path time information of at least one positioning reference signal; first-path time information of at least one receive beam; first-path time information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; first-path time difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports; first-path time difference information of different positioning reference signals; first-path energy information of at least one positioning reference signal; first-path energy information of at least one receive beam; first-path energy information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; first-path energy difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports; first-path energy difference information of different positioning reference signals; first-path angle information of at least one positioning reference signal (AOA as disclosed in section 0129); first-path angle information of at least one receive beam: first-path angle information of at least one antenna panel or port, first-path angle difference information of different antenna panels or ports; or first-path angle difference information of different positioning reference signals.
Regarding claim 6, Edge discloses the additional-path measurement information (see sections 0129 and 0232) comprises at least one of the following: additional-path phase information of at least one positioning reference signal; additional-path phase information of at least one receive beam; additional-path phase information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; additional-path phase difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports; additional-path phase difference information of different positioning reference signals; additional-path time information of at least one positioning reference signal; additional-path time information of at least one receive beam; additional-path time information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; additional-path time difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports: additional-path time difference information of different positioning reference signals; additional-path energy information of at least one positioning reference signal; additional-path energy information of at least one receive beam (WiFi AP RSSI as disclosed in sections 0129 and 0232); additional-path energy information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; additional-path energy difference information of different antenna elements, panels, or ports: additional-path energy difference information of different positioning reference signals; additional-path angle information of at least one positioning reference signal; additional-path angle information of at least one receive beam; additional-path angle information of at least one antenna panel or port; additional-path angle difference information of different antenna panels or ports; or additional-path angle difference information of different positioning reference signals.
Regarding claim 7, Edge discloses wherein the frequency domain measurement information comprises at least one of the following: first-path energy information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element, panel, or port; additional-path energy information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element, panel, or port; first-path phase information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element, panel, or port; additional-path phase information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element, panel, or port: first-path energy information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal; additional-path energy information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal; first-path phase information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal (GNSS carrier-phase as disclosed in sections 0129 and 0232); additional-path phase information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal; first-path energy difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels, or ports; additional-path energy difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels, or ports; first-path energy difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals; additional-path energy difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals; first-path phase difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels, or ports; additional-path phase difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels, or ports; first-path phase difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals; additional-path phase difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals; energy information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element. panel, or port; phase information of a subcarrier on at least one antenna element, panel, or port; energy information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal; phase information of a subcarrier for at least one positioning reference signal; energy difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels. or ports; phase difference information of subcarriers on different antenna elements, panels, or ports; energy difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals; or phase difference information of subcarriers for different positioning reference signals.
Regarding claim 8, Edge discloses the subcarrier (RF carrier frequency/bandwidth as disclosed in section 0130) is determined based on subcarrier preprocessing information (configuration information as disclosed in section 0130) indicated by a third device or specified by a protocol (XnAP message as disclosed in section 0130).
Regarding claim 9, Edge discloses the subcarrier comprises any one of the following: all subcarriers matching a bandwidth (configured RF carrier frequency and bandwidth as disclosed in section 0130); part of subcarriers sampled based on a sampling rate or sampling function; part of subcarriers truncated based on a subcarrier truncation length: or a subcarrier indicated in a subcarrier set.
Regarding claim 10, Edge discloses the antenna measurement information comprises at least one of the following: phase information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; energy information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; time information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; angle information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; phase difference information of at least one antenna element. panel, or port; energy difference information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port; time difference information of at least one antenna element. panel, or port (receive time-transmission time difference (Rx-Tx) as disclosed in sections 0067 and 0129); or angle difference information of at least one antenna element, panel, or port.
Regarding claim 11, Edge discloses the different positioning reference signals comprise at least one of the following: different positioning reference signals in a same positioning reference signal resource set (as disclosed in section 0130, RF carrier frequency/bandwidth); or different positioning reference signals in a same positioning reference signal resource subset, wherein the positioning reference signal resource subset is predefined by a protocol or configured by a network (see configuration information sent to each TP as disclosed in section 0130).
Regarding claim 13, Edge discloses receiving, by the first device, assistance information (configuration information as disclosed in section 0130), wherein the assistance information is used to assist measurement or reporting of the first measurement information, and the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of a reference antenna element; identification information of a reference antenna port; identification information of a reference antenna panel; the number of antenna elements for which measurement or reporting is requested; the number of antenna ports for which measurement or reporting is requested; the number of antenna panels for which measurement or reporting is requested; identification information of an antenna element for which measurement or reporting is requested; identification information of an antenna port for which measurement or reporting is requested; identification information of an antenna panel for which measurement or reporting is requested; or subcarrier preprocessing information (RF carrier frequency/bandwidth as disclosed in section 0130).
Regarding claim 14, Edge discloses the subcarrier preprocessing information comprises at least one of the following: subcarrier sampling rate; subcarrier sampling function; subcarrier truncation length (duration and periodicity of transmission as disclosed in section 0130); or subcarrier set.
Regarding claim 16, Edge discloses sending (as disclosed in sections 0128-0129), by the first device, positioning capability information to a third device (SgNB), wherein the positioning capability information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether measurement or reporting of first-path measurement information is supported (as disclosed in sections 0197-0198); the number of first paths supported for measurement or reporting; the number of measurement values reportable for each first path; whether measurement or reporting of additional-path measurement information is supported: the number of additional paths supported for measurement or reporting; the number of measurement values reportable for each additional path; whether measurement or reporting for multi-antenna elements is supported: the number of antenna elements supported for measurement or reporting; the number of measurement values reportable for each antenna element; whether measurement or reporting for multi-antenna ports is supported; the number of antenna ports supported for measurement and reporting; the number of measurement values reportable for each antenna port; whether measurement or reporting for multi-antenna panels is supported; the number of antenna panels supported for measurement or reporting; or the number of measurement values reportable for each antenna panel.
Regarding claim 17, Edge discloses a communication device (Fig. 1, block 105, target UE), comprising a memory (see Fig. 19, block 1920) storing a computer program; and
a processor (Fig. 19, block 1904) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising:
receiving (as disclosed in section 0136) a first positioning reference signal (DL RS); and
measuring or reporting (as disclosed in section 0136, see also section 0144) first measurement information (DL location measurements) based on the first positioning reference signal, wherein the first measurement information comprises first-path phase information of at least one positioning reference signal (see carrier phase as disclosed in sections 0129 and 0232) and further comprises at least one of the following: first-path measurement information (such as TOA or RSTD as disclosed in section 0129); additional-path measurement information; frequency domain measurement information; or antenna measurement information,
the operations further comprising:
receiving first indication information (RRC Positioning Measurement Request as disclosed in section 0133).
Edge does not specifically disclose first indication information is used to indicate a type of the first measurement information that is measured or received by the communication device, wherein the type of measurement information is indicated by a bit string.
However, Li et al. also discloses a method/device for positioning processing (see Abstract), which includes receiving first indication information (measurement request message as disclosed in section 0143, positioning measurement request as disclosed in sections 0188-0195) at a UE, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a type of the first measurement information (as disclosed in sections 0143 and 0192) that is measured or reported by the UE, wherein the type of the first measurement information is indicated by a bit string (RRC reconfiguration message or positioning request message as disclosed in sections 0194). Li et al. further discloses measuring and reporting measurement information which comprises first-path phase (carrier phase measurement as disclosed in sections 0142-0146 and 0188-0192) information of at least one positioning reference signal (see section 0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Edge with the indication information as taught by Li et al. since Li et al. discloses the indication (assistance) information enables the UE to obtain location information more quickly under different scenarios which improves resource utilization rate (see section 0076).
Regarding claim 18 and 19, the claimed device includes limitations corresponding to the above rejection of claims 2 and 3, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
Regarding claim 20, Edge further discloses the method of claim 1 (the rejection of which is applicable hereto) implemented using a non-transitory computer readable medium (see section 0009).
5. Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge (previously cited in Office Action 12/11/2025) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0015058), and
in further view of Alawieh et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/11/2025).
Regarding claim 12, Edge discloses receiving, by the first device, first configuration information (configuration information sent to each TP as disclosed in section 0130). Edge and Li et al. do not specifically disclose the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: the number of positioning reference signals in a positioning reference signal resource subset; identification information of the positioning reference signals in the positioning reference signal resource subset; or index information of the positioning reference signal resource subset.
However, Alawieh et al. also discloses receiving configuration information for positioning reference signals (as disclosed in sections 0081 and 0087-0088) wherein the configuration information comprises identification information (PRS resource ID as disclosed in sections 0147-0149) of the positioning reference signals in the positioning reference signal resource subset. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Edge and Li et al. to include a PRS resource ID in configuration data as taught by Alawieh et al. since Alawieh et al. discloses lack of configuration information decreases the accuracy of estimations (see sections 0048 and 0263).
Regarding claim 15, Edge and Li et al. do not specifically disclose the first measurement information further comprises at least one of the following: identification information of a reference antenna element; identification information of a reference antenna port; identification information of a reference antenna panel; identification information of an antenna element for measurement or reporting: identification information of an antenna port for measurement or reporting; and identification information of an antenna panel for measurement or reporting.
However, Alawieh et al. also discloses measuring and reporting first measurement information (as disclosed in section 0282-0290) based on a positioning reference signal (DL-PRS), wherein the first measurement information comprises identification information of an antenna panel for measurement or reporting (Antenna panel ID as disclosed in section 0288). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Edge and Li et al. to include an antenna panel ID in first measurement information as taught by Alawieh et al. since Alawieh et al. discloses using the antenna panel information enables a better estimate of AoD and a reduction in needed DL-PRS resources (see section 0282).
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 May 26, 2026