Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202110719690.6, filed on 06/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2024 and 05/01/2025 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) being anticipated by Delling et al. patent no. US 9,950,651.
As per claim 1, Delling discloses a component for a vehicle interior configured to be operated by a vehicle occupant comprising (Such a motor-vehicle accessory is for example an armrest of a vehicle seat. The armrest … comprises an arm pivotal about an axis on a support.” [0002]):
a base (“The support is for example formed by the frame of the vehicle seat or of the vehicle.” [0002] “the support leg 12 is fastened to the vehicle” [0035], The support leg/frame is the base.);
a cover moveable relative to the base between a closed position and an open position through an intermediate position between the closed position and the open position (“The armrest … comprises an arm pivotal about an axis on a support.” [0002], “The arm 11 is in a first … position. It can be pivoted … to a second … position … can be pivoted back …” [0036], The arm/armrest is the cover, pivoting between positions.);
a drive mechanism configured to move the cover from the closed position toward the intermediate position (“A respective disk spring is provided on each side of the arm between the support and the arm and biases the arm so it makes no contact with the support, thus preventing rattling.” [0003], “The disk spring 18 of the bearing assembly 20a loads the arm 11 in the direction y1…” [0047], Disk Spring provides a bias (drive force) for movement.);
a retaining mechanism configured to retain the cover in position between the intermediate position and the open position (“In order to increase sliding friction between the mounting screw and the support there is a sleeve, for example of plastic.” [0003], “the friction partners are thus defined…” [0046], Friction sleeve and disk spring retain arm at position.);
a composite mechanism comprising a clutch mechanism; and a pivot joint to couple the cover to the base (“The bearing pin is provided with a first coupling formation that engages with a second coupling formation of the bearing sleeve and prevents relative rotation…” [0011], Coupling formations act as a clutch—preventing or allowing relative rotation.); and
a pivot joint to couple the cover to the base (“Pivoting is ensured by bearing assemblies 20a and 20b…” [0038] Claim 1: “a bearing assembly supporting the first part in the second part for pivoting…”, Pivot joint is the bearing assembly.);
wherein the cover is configured to be moved from the intermediate position to the open position by the vehicle occupant; wherein the cover is configured to be moved from the open position to the closed position by the vehicle occupant (“The armrest … can be pivoted … from the first … to a second … position … can be pivoted back …” [0036], Manual movement by occupant.);
wherein the drive mechanism is disengaged by the clutch mechanism (“the bearing pin is provided with a first coupling formation that engages with a second coupling formation … and prevents relative rotation…” [0011], Coupling formations can be engaged/disengaged (clutch-like);
wherein the clutch mechanism comprises a link on the pivot joint (“An inner wall of the bearing sleeve 22 … is provided with an internal polygon 38 that engages with the polygon 37 of the bearing pin 14.” [0041], The polygonal interface is a “link” in the pivot joint.);
wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to retain in position with the base when the cover is moved between the intermediate position and the open position (“Due to this interlocking, there is no relative rotation between the bearing pin 14 and the bearing sleeve 22.” [0041], Interlocking retains position during movement.)
As per claim 2, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to engage the drive mechanism to move the cover from the base in movement between the closed position and the intermediate position (“the bearing pin is provided with a first coupling formation that engages with a second coupling formation of the bearing sleeve and prevents relative rotation…” [0011], “A respective disk spring is provided … and biases the arm…” [0003], Coupling formations engage/disengage, allowing disk spring (drive mechanism) to act on the armrest).
As per claim 3, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the cover is configured to be moved from the intermediate position to the open position by the vehicle occupant against resistance from the retaining mechanism; wherein the cover is configured to be moved from the open position to the intermediate position by the vehicle occupant against resistance from the retaining mechanism (“In order to increase sliding friction between the mounting screw and the support there is a sleeve…” [0003], “the friction partners are thus defined…” [0046], Friction sleeve provides resistance; occupant must overcome it to move between positions).
As per claim 4 Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the cover is configured to be moved from the intermediate position to the closed position by the vehicle occupant against resistance from the drive mechanism (“A respective disk spring is provided … and biases the arm so it makes no contact with the support…” [0003], Disk Spring provides resistance as armrest is moved toward closed position).
As per claim 5, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the drive mechanism is engaged to provide a force to move the cover from the closed position to the intermediate position (“A respective disk spring is provided … and biases the arm…” [0003]“The disk spring 18 … loads the arm 11…” [0047], Disk spring provides force to move armrest out of closed position).
As per claim 6, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the drive mechanism is disengaged by the clutch mechanism when the cover is between the intermediate position and the open position (“the bearing pin is provided with a first coupling formation that engages with a second coupling formation…” [0011], Coupling formations can be engaged/disengaged, controlling when the spring acts on the armrest).
As per claim 7, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses further comprising a latch to retain the cover in the closed position (“The bearing pin forms, for example, an axial retaining face… can absorb forces that act axially.” [0009], “The bearing sleeve forms for example a flange with an axial counterface…” [0015], Retaining face and flange/counterface act as a latch to hold armrest in position).
As per claim 8, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the drive mechanism comprises at least one of (a) a spring mechanism or (b) a set of springs or (c) a torsion spring (“A respective disk spring is provided …” [0003], “The functional element is for example formed by a disk spring that axially loads the second part.” [0017], Disk spring is the spring mechanism).
As per claim 9, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the retaining mechanism comprises at least one of (a) friction plates; (b) a set of friction plates; (c) a set of aligned friction plates (“In order to increase sliding friction between the mounting screw and the support there is a sleeve, for example of plastic.” [0003], “the friction partners are thus defined…” [0046], Friction sleeve acts as friction plate to retain armrest).
As per claim 10, Delling discloses the component of claim 1, further discloses wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to disengage the retaining mechanism in movement between the intermediate position and the closed position (“the bearing pin is provided with a first coupling formation that engages with a second coupling formation… and prevents relative rotation…” [0011], Coupling formations (clutch) can be disengaged, allowing or preventing friction/retention).
As per claim 11, Delling discloses a component for a vehicle interior comprising:
a base;
a cover connected with the base through a rotating shaft and configured to rotate between a first position and a third position relative to the base and through a second position between the first position and the third position;
a clutch mechanism configured (1) to rotate synchronously with the rotating shaft to rotate the cover from the first position to the second position and/or (2) to keep stationary such that the cover stays at any position between the second position and the third position; and
a drive mechanism configured to drive the cover to rotate from the first position to the second position;
wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to retain in position with the base when the cover is moved between the second position and the third position;
wherein the clutch mechanism comprises a link on the rotating shaft (“The armrest … comprises an arm pivotal about an axis on a support.” [0002], “The arm 11 is in a first … position. It can be pivoted … to a second … position…” [0036], Armrest (cover) pivots on support (base) through shaft, between multiple positions).
As per claim 12, Delling discloses wherein the base comprises a slot and the clutch mechanism comprises a pin in the slot and configured to move within the slot as the cover rotates between the first position and the second position (“The bearing pin passes for example through a hole in a holding strut of the vehicle frame and engages in the arm.” [0014], “Each bearing assembly … comprises a bearing pin 14 that passes through a hole 28 in the respective holding strut 25a and 25b of the support leg 12…” [0039], Bearing pin in hole/slot acts as the pin-in-slot mechanism).
As per claim 13, Delling discloses wherein the cover rotates to the second position when the pin moves to an upper end of the slot (“The arm 11 is in a first … position. It can be pivoted … to a second … position…” [0036], ( “upper end of the slot,” but pin moves through arc to positions, Pin moves through hole/slot as arm rotates, reaching defined positions).
As per claim 14, Delling discloses wherein the clutch mechanism comprises a support plate that rotates synchronously with the rotating shaft; wherein the pin is configured to be connected with the support plate and/or the rotating shaft (“The bearing pin … rotates together with the connected part and moves relative to the other part.” [0017], “The disk spring 18 is braced between the retaining face 30 and the counterface 42, it rotates together with the bearing pin 14 and the sleeve 22.” [0043], Disk spring, bearing pin, and sleeve rotate together, acting as support plate and pin).
As per claim 15, Delling discloses wherein the support plate comprises a circular hole; wherein the rotating shaft comprises a shaft segment matching with the circular hole and having a circular cross section (“The bearing pin comprises for example a cylindrical surface.” [0008], “The bearing sleeve 22 has a central passage 26 through which the bearing pin 14 passes…” [0041], Circular hole/passages for shaft/pin are described).
As per claim 16, Delling discloses wherein the base comprises a stop flange; wherein the cover is in contact with the stop flange and retained in the third position when the cover rotates to the third position (“The bearing sleeve forms for example a flange with an axial counterface.” [0015], “The bearing sleeve 22 has a flange 21…” [0041], Flange acts as stop for armrest rotation).
As per claim 17, Delling discloses wherein the drive mechanism is a torsion spring; wherein the torsion spring is on the base (“A respective disk spring is provided on each side of the arm between the support and the arm…” [0003], “The functional element is for example formed by a disk spring that axially loads the second part.” [0017], Disk spring acts as torsion spring, mounted on base/support).
As per claim 18, Delling discloses wherein one end of the torsion spring is connected with the base and the other end is under the pin (“The disk spring 18 … is braced between the retaining face 30 and the counterface 42…” [0043], Disk spring is braced between elements, one end on base, other under pin).
As per claim 19, Delling discloses wherein the cover has a shaft hole matching with the circular shaft segment; wherein the shaft hole is formed by the intersection and overlap of two circular holes; wherein the shaft hole comprises opposing first and third edges and opposing second and fourth edges (“The bearing sleeve 22 has a central passage 26 through which the bearing pin 14 passes…” [0041], Shaft hole for pin is described, but no explicit mention of overlapping holes/edges).
As per claim 20, Delling discloses wherein two sides of the circular shaft segment are in contact with the first edge and the third edge when the cover is located in the first position; wherein two sides of the circular shaft segment are in contact with the second edge and the fourth edge when the cover is located in the third position (“The bearing pin … is centered in the bore 29.” [0040], Contact at edges/positions is described, but shaft is centered in hole).
Note: For the convenient of the applicant in reviewing the prior art, examiner has provided a paragraphed numbered PDF version of the prior art as well, to make it easier for the applicant to follow the rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190136592 A1 LOCKING ASSEMBLY FOR VEHICLE ARMREST
The vehicle storage compartment includes, in one exemplary implementation, a base bin defining a storage cavity and configured to couple to a vehicle floor, a door coupled to the base bin and configured to move between a closed position and an open position, the door having a latch mechanism configured to selectively engage the base bin to facilitate maintaining the door in the closed position, and a locking assembly coupled to the door and configured to move between a locked position and an unlocked position.
US 10071662 B2 Hinge Unit Of Console Armrest For Vehicle
An object of the present invention is to provide a hinge unit of a console armrest for a vehicle, which has a guide structure that enables an upper bracket to be pressed against a lower bracket and to stably rotate relative thereto when an armrest is opened.
US 5165145 A Hinge For Use With Portable Electronic Apparatus
a means for pivotable movement around a pivot axis, wherein the means for pivotable movement is a hinge mechanism 38 forming the pivot axis. The hinge mechanism 38 comprises a pair of end pieces 45, a shaft 39 extending between the end pieces 45, a pair of C-rings 40 capable of being firmly attached to the shaft 45, a pair of friction plates 33, a pair of friction discs 34, a plurality of friction pads 35, a cam 41, a cam follower 42 and a spring 36
/KAMBIZ ABDI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685