DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU CN-208890421-U.
With respect to claim 1, LIU teaches a battery apparatus (charger; See the Abstract) applied to an electronic apparatus (electric tool; See the Abstract), the battery apparatus (charger; See the Abstract) comprising: a battery management system (battery protection plate 112; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15); a plurality of batteries (battery pack 111 comprises multiple single batteries; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15); electrically connected to the battery management system (battery pack 110 comprises a battery pack 111 and a battery protection plate 112, battery pack 111 and battery protection plate 112 connection; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15); and an identification-and-wakeup integrated port (a second charging detection end ID12; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15) electrically connected to the battery management system (battery protective plate 112 provided with a second charging detection end ID12; Fig.
2; Description, paragraph 15), wherein the electronic apparatus transmits a first voltage to the battery management system through the identification-and-wakeup integrated port (first charging detecting end ID11 activating wake-up circuit 1123; Description, paragraph 42); the battery management system being configured to receive the first voltage through the identification-and-wakeup integrated port to inform the electronic apparatus of a type of the batteries (first controller 125 configured for, when the first charge detecting end ID11 connected with the second charging detection end ID12, obtaining second charging detecting voltage value of the charging detection end ID12 according to the charging detection voltage value and preset charging mode for charging the battery pack 110; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15; battery protective plate 112 provided with a second charging detection end ID12; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15); the battery management system is configured to receive the first voltage through the identification-and-wakeup port to wake up the battery management system (first charging detecting end ID11 activating wake-up circuit 1123; Description, paragraph 42). With respect claim 2, the battery management system (battery protective plate 112; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15) comprises: a battery identification circuit (battery protective plate 112 provided with and several first detecting resistor ID1; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15) electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup port (one end of multiple first detecting resistor ID1 connected with the second charging detection end ID12; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15), wherein the electronic apparatus transmits the first voltage to the battery identification circuit through the identification-and-wakeup port (first charging detecting end ID11 activating wake-up circuit 1123; Description, paragraph 42); the battery identification circuit is configured to receive the first voltage through the identification- and-wakeup port to inform the electronic apparatus of the type of the batteries (charger 120 provided first charge detecting end ID11, second charging detection end ID12 is the battery pack 110, the charger 120 and the battery pack 110 connection, charger 120 of the first controller 125 can pass the second charging detecting end ID12 detects first detecting resistor ID1 of the voltage value, the packet 110 to identify cell voltage types, so as to choose different charging mode for charging the battery pack 110; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15). With respect claim 3, the battery management system (battery protective plate 112; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15) further comprises: a battery wakeup circuit ( battery protection board 112 comprises discharging wake-up circuit 1126; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 21) electrically connected to the batteries, the identification- and-wakeup port, and the battery identification circuit (discharge control circuit first end 1128 further wake-up circuit 1126 first end connecting with the discharge, discharge control circuit second end 1128 connected with the battery management circuit 1121, discharge control circuit 1128 third end pole connecting and grounded with the cathode of the battery pack 111; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 23), wherein the electronic apparatus transmits the first voltage to the battery wakeup circuit through the identification-and-wakeup port (the second controller 1122 detects that discharge the awaking circuit 1126 voltage is 0; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 44); the battery wakeup circuit is configured to receive the first voltage through the identification-and-wakeup port to wake up the battery management system (the second controller 1122 detects that discharge the awaking circuit 1126 voltage is 0; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 44; Examiners Note: awaking circuit 1126 is capable of having a voltage and connect to other electrical devices in the battery management system). With respect claim 4, the battery identification circuit (several first detecting resistor ID1; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15) comprises: an identification-side resistor electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup port and the battery wakeup circuit (several first detecting resistor ID1; one end of multiple first detecting resistor ID1 connected with the second charging detection end ID12, the other end grounding of multiple first detecting resistor ID1, first detecting resistor ID1 and the number of single cell of the battery pack 111 Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15; Examiners Note: awaking circuit 1126 is capable of having a voltage and connect to other electrical devices in the battery management system ).
LIU does not teach that the identification-and-wakeup port is integrated (claim 1).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the identification-and-wakeup port of LIU being integrated, because essential working parts of the device is prima facie obvious. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). LIU teaches a first controller 125 configured for, when the first charge detecting end ID11 connected with the second charging detection end ID12, obtaining second charging detecting voltage value of the charging detection end ID12 according to the charging detection voltage value and preset charging mode for charging the battery pack 110; battery protective plate 112 provided with a second charging detection end ID12. See Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU CN-208890421-U in view of CHARTHAD et al. CA-3179567-A1.
LIU teaches a battery apparatus as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. With respect claim 5, a battery identification circuit (several first detecting resistor ID1; Fig. 2; Description, paragraph 15). With respect claim 8, the battery wakeup circuit further comprises: a second switch sub-circuit electrically connected to the first switch sub-circuit and the batteries (wake-up switch MOS controller 1222. switch MOS controller 1222 by sending a PWM signal; FIG. 5). With respect claim 9, the battery management system further comprises: a microprocessor electrically connected to the battery wakeup circuit (first controller 125 can be a processor such as single chip microcomputer; Specific implementation methods, paragraph 31).
LIU does not teach: an identification-side capacitor electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup integrated port, the battery wakeup circuit, and the identification-side resistor (claim 5); the battery wakeup circuit comprises: a Schottky diode electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup integrated port and the battery identification circuit (claim 6); the battery wakeup circuit further comprises: a first switch sub-circuit electrically connected to the Schottky diode (claim 7); the first voltage is 5 volts or 3.3 volts (claim 10).
CHARTHAD teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: an identification-side capacitor (capacitor coupled to the first power circuit and configured to store at least a portion of the recovered wireless power from the first power circuit as capacitor energy; teaching claim 35; claim 5); the battery wakeup circuit comprises: a Schottky diode (Schottky diode; FIG. 13A; claim 6); the battery wakeup circuit further comprises: a first switch sub-circuit (teaching claim 41; claim 7).
LIU and CHARTHAD are analogous art from the field of endeavor, namely fabricating battery chargers with battery management systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacitor of CHARTHAD, in the battery apparatus of LIU, in order to store power from the circuit. With respect to the capacitor being electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup integrated port, the battery wakeup circuit, and the identification-side resistor (claim 5); it would have been obvious, in the battery apparatus of LIU in view of CHARTHAD, as
rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to the Schottky diode being electrically connected to the identification-and-wakeup integrated port and the battery identification circuit (Schottky diode claim 6); it would have been obvious, in the battery apparatus of LIU in view of CHARTHAD, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to the first switch sub-circuit being electrically connected to the Schottky diode (claim 7); it would have been obvious, in the battery apparatus of LIU in view of CHARTHAD, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to the first voltage is 5 volts or 3.3 volts (claim 10); it would have been obvious, in the battery apparatus of LIU in view of CHARTHAD, as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723