DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed August 19, 2025. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wunderman et al. (U.S. Patent 6,122,042).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, Wunderman et al. disclose (Figs. 2D, 2E) an optical sensing device, comprising: a carrier plate (76); a first block wall (36) and a second block wall (side wall, not labelled), arranged on the carrier plate; a plurality of light-receiving devices (48), comprising a first light-receiving device (first instance of 48) and a second light-receiving device (second instance of 48) which are not separated from each other by a block wall, arranged on the carrier plate in a linear configuration along a first direction; and a plurality of first light-emitting devices (46), arranged on the carrier plate in a linear configuration along the first direction and separated from the first light-receiving device by the first block wall; wherein the first light-receiving device and the second light-receiving device are configured to receive lights with different dominant wavelengths (col. 9, lines 13-14) or different peak wavelengths from the plurality of first light-emitting devices, wherein the plurality of first light-emitting devices is equal to the plurality of light- receiving devices in quantity. The first and second light receiving device are located within a space sandwiched by the first and second block wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderman et al. in view of Tu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0091364).
Regarding claims 4, 11, Wunderman et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Wunderman et al. do not specifically disclose a transparent encapsulating material covering the first light-receiving device. Tu et al. teach (Figs.) a transparent encapsulating material (60) covering a light-receiving device (50); a third light emitting device (another instance of 40) and a connecting device (bond wire) as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a covering in the apparatus of Wunderman et al. in view of Tu et al. to provide further protection for the light receiving device, or to provide essential connections for proper operation as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Wunderman et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Wunderman et al. do not specifically disclose different distances between a topmost surface of the wall and the top surface of the first light-emitting device or top surface of the light-receiving device. Tu et al. teach (Figs.) different distances as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such different distances in the apparatus of Wunderman et al. in view of Tu et al. to accommodate different sized emitting and receiving devices, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderman et al. in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0269347).
Regarding claims 7, 8, Wunderman et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Wunderman et al. do not disclose a light absorbing material as claimed. Chen et al. teach (Fig. 3A) wherein the wall is facing the light receiving device and is light absorbing ([0035]) as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such light absorption in the apparatus of Wunderman et al. in view of Chen et al. to reduce reflections and crosstalk as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderman et al. in view of Cheng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0315313).
Regarding claims 12, 13, Wunderman et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Wunderman et al. do not disclose a flip chip photodiode or LED as claimed. Cheng teaches ([0025], [0026]) a flip chip photodiode and a flip chip light emitting device. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such flip chip elements in the apparatus of Wunderman et al. in view of Cheng to more resiliently couple the elements as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderman et al. in view of Cao et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0097105).
Regarding claim 14, Wunderman et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Wunderman et al. do not disclose first and second electrodes surrounded by a supporting structure as claimed. Cao et al. teach (Fig. 2) first and second electrodes (215) surrounded by a supporting structure (23) as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such electrodes and supporting structure in the apparatus of Wunderman et al. in view of Cao et al. to properly and conventionally couple the light emitting device as taught, known and predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878