CTNF 18/391,655 CTNF 88010 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2023/0268331) – ( also published as KR 2021-0155382 ) . Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a time-of-flight (ToF) module [Fig 15; 0079] comprising: a light source configured to emit pulsed illumination light [#200 of Fig 15; 0077; 0079] ; a driver module including electrical circuitry configured to selectively drive the light source to emit the pulsed illumination light [#1000 of Fig 14 ; 0074-75]; a light sensor configured to sense returning light, wherein the returning light is the pulsed illumination light reflecting or scattering from a target [#300 of Fig 14, 15; 0073; 0075-76; 0078-79] ; and a substrate to provide electrical traces for controlling the driver module and the light sensor, wherein the driver module or the light sensor is disposed between the light source and the substrate to reduce a footprint of the ToF module [#1000 of Fig 14; 0074-75]. Regarding Claims 15 and 20, Park discloses a fabrication process for fabricating a time-of-flight (ToF) module [Fig 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072; 0079], a light source configured to emit pulsed illumination light [#200 of Fig 14, 15; 0073-76]; the fabrication process comprising: disposing a light sensor on tape [Fig 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072; 0079]; disposing a backside mold compound over the tape and alongside the light sensor [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0030-40; 0054; 0072-79]; forming frontside through mold vias (TMVs) traversing through the mold compound to the tape [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0030-40; 0054; 0072-79]; forming backside redistribution layers (RDLs) that are electrically coupled to the frontside TMVs [0030-40; 0054; 0072-79]; removing the tape from the light sensor; forming a frontside RDL on a frontside of the light sensor that is opposite a backside of the light sensor [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0030-40; 0054; 0072-79], the frontside TMVs electrically coupling the frontside RDL and backside RDLs [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0030-40; 0054; 0072-79]; and coupling a driver module to a non-photosensitive region of the light sensor, wherein the driver module is coupled between a light source and the non-photosensitive region of the light sensor [#1000 of Fig 14; 0054; 0072; 0074-75]. Regarding Claim 2, Park also discloses a wherein the light sensor includes a photosensitive region and a non-photosensitive region, and wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the non-photosensitive region of the light sensor [0053; 0072-79]. Regarding Claim 3, Park also discloses wherein the driver module is disposed between the light sensor and the substrate, and wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the substrate [#1000 of Fig 14; 0074-75]. Regarding Claim 4, Park also discloses wherein wirebonding electrically couples the electrical traces of the substrate to the light sensor [0042-48; 0060]. Regarding Claim 11, Park also discloses wherein the light sensor includes an array of single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) [#300 of Fig 14, 15; 0074-75]. Regarding Claim 12, Park also discloses wherein the light sensor is sensitive to infrared light and rejects visible light [#300 of Fig 14, 15; 0074-75]. Regarding Claim 13, Park also discloses wherein the light source includes an array of illuminators to generate the pulsed illumination light [#200 of Fig 14, 15; 0073-76]. Regarding Claim 14, Park also discloses wherein the illuminators in the array of illuminators include vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers [#200 of Fig 14, 15; 0073-76]. Regarding Claim 16, Park also discloses wirebonding the driver module to the frontside RDL [0042-48; 0060]. Regarding Claim 17, Park also discloses forming dams around a photosensitive region of the light sensor; and disposing a frontside mold compound to house the light sensor and the driver module while the dams exclude the frontside mold compound from the photosensitive region of the light sensor [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79] Regarding Claim 18, Park also discloses electrically coupling electrical components to the backside RDLs; disposing a middle mold compound layer over the electrical components [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79]; and forming backside TMVs through the middle mold compound layer to electrically connect the backside TMVs to the backside RDLs [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79]. Regarding Claim 19, Park also discloses utilizing a hot bar to electrically couple a flex circuit with the backside TMVs [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79] . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-9, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasukawa (US 2022/0278499) . Regarding Claim 1, Yasukawa discloses a time-of-flight (ToF) module [Fig 3; 0054] comprising: a light source configured to emit pulsed illumination light [0043-44]; a driver module including electrical circuitry configured to selectively drive the light source to emit the pulsed illumination light [#200, #300 of Fig 3b, 3c; 0054-58]; a light sensor configured to sense returning light, wherein the returning light is the pulsed illumination light reflecting or scattering from a target [#200, #300 of Fig 3b, 3c; 0054-58]; and a substrate to provide electrical traces for controlling the driver module and the light sensor, wherein the driver module or the light sensor is disposed between the light source and the substrate to reduce a footprint of the ToF module [#200, #300 of Fig 3b, 3c; 0054-58]. Regarding Claim 3, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the driver module is disposed between the light sensor and the substrate, and wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the substrate [0054-58]. Regarding Claim 4, Yasukawa also discloses wherein wirebonding electrically couples the electrical traces of the substrate to the light sensor [0043-44]. Regarding Claim 5, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the driver module is bonded to the substrate in a die-attach process [#300 of Fig 15; 0109-0111]. Regarding Claim 6, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the driver module is a Fan Out Wafer Level Chip-scale package (FOWLCSP) that is surface-mounted to the substrate, and wherein a ball grid array (BGA) of the FOWLCSP electrically couples the electrical traces of the substrate to the driver module [0043-44; 0054-58; 0109-11]. Regarding Claim 7, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the light sensor is a chip-scale package (CSP) electrically connected to driver module with micro solder bumps or interconnect pillars [0043-44; 0054-58; 0109-11]. Regarding Claim 8, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the light sensor is bonded to the driver module in a die-attach process [#300 of Fig 15; 0109-0111]. Regarding Claim 9, Yasukawa also discloses a substrate includes a cavity to house the driver module, wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the substrate and the driver module is also disposed between the light sensor and the substrate [0096-98]. Regarding Claim 13, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the light source includes an array of illuminators to generate the pulsed illumination light [0043-44]. Regarding Claim 14, Yasukawa also discloses wherein the illuminators in the array of illuminators include vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers [0043-44] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou (WO 2022/105733) . Regarding Claim 1, Chou discloses a time-of-flight (ToF) module [Fig 2] comprising: a light source configured to emit pulsed illumination light [#20 of Fig 2]; a driver module including electrical circuitry configured to selectively drive the light source to emit the pulsed illumination light [#20, #100 of Fig 2; 0057-61]; a light sensor configured to sense returning light, wherein the returning light is the pulsed illumination light reflecting or scattering from a target [#10 of Fig 2; 0057-61]; and a substrate to provide electrical traces for controlling the driver module and the light sensor, wherein the driver module or the light sensor is disposed between the light source and the substrate to reduce a footprint of the ToF module [#10 of Fig 2; 0057-61]. Regarding Claim 2, Chou also discloses a wherein the light sensor includes a photosensitive region and a non-photosensitive region, and wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the non-photosensitive region of the light sensor [0057]. Regarding Claim 4, Chou also discloses wherein wirebonding electrically couples the electrical traces of the substrate to the light sensor [0060]. Regarding Claim 5, Chou also discloses wherein the driver module is bonded to the substrate in a die-attach process [0056-57]. Regarding Claim 8, Chou also discloses wherein the light sensor is bonded to the driver module in a die-attach process [0056-57]. Regarding Claim 9, Chou also discloses a substrate includes a cavity to house the driver module, wherein the driver module is disposed between the light source and the substrate and the driver module is also disposed between the light sensor and the substrate [0056-58]. Regarding Claim 11, Chou also discloses wherein the light sensor includes an array of single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) [0003; 0057-61]. Regarding Claim 12, Chou also discloses wherein the light sensor is sensitive to infrared light and rejects visible light [0003; 0057-61]. Regarding Claim 13, Chou also discloses wherein the light source includes an array of illuminators to generate the pulsed illumination light [0003; 0057-61]. Regarding Claim 14, Chou also discloses wherein the illuminators in the array of illuminators include vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers [0003; 0057-61] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa (US 2022/0278499) , as applied to claim s 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Park (US 2023/0268331) – ( also published as KR 2021-0155382 ) . Regarding Claim 10, Yasukawa does not explicitly teach – but Park does teach a mold compound disposed in the cavity of the substrate [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79], wherein the mold compound is disposed between the driver module and the substrate and between the light sensor and the substrate; one or more through mold vias (TMVs) traversing through the mold compound between the substrate and the light sensor [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79]; a redistribution layer (RDL) electrically coupled to the one or more TSVs, the RDL disposed between the light sensor and the mold compound [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79 ] ; and one or more wire bonds electrically coupling the light sensor to the RDL, wherein the one or more TMVs and the RDL combines to electrically couple the light sensor to the electrical traces of the substrate [Fig 5-7; 14, 15; 0038-40; 0054; 0072-79]. It would have been obvious to modify the module of Yasukawa to include a mold compound, vias, redistribution layers to electrically connect the package and the mother substrate, provide the driving power to the light-emitting element and the semiconductor chip, but also function as a heat sink. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES R HULKA whose telephone number is (571)270-7553. The examiner can normally be reached M-R: 9am-6pm, F: 10am-2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Helal Algahaim can be reached at 5712705227. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JAMES R. HULKA Primary Examiner Art Unit 3645 /JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/391,655 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645