DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/391,658, “NON-AQUEOUS ELECTROLYTE SECONDARY BATTERY”, was filed with the USPTO on 12/21/2023 and has a foreign priority document of JP2023-008078 filed on 1/23/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 12/21/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/391,658, filed on 3/4/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 and 4/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitsuhashi et al. (US 20140322579 A1, provided on IDS filed on 4/22/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Example 2, [0104]; also see 12, Fig. 2; note: Example 2 has the same battery assembly of Example 1, [0104]) comprising an electrode assembly (wound electrode assembly, [0102]; also see 50, Fig. 2) and an electrolyte solution (nonaqueous electrolyte, [0102]), wherein
the electrode assembly (wound electrode assembly, [0102]; also see 50, Fig. 2) includes a positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, [0100]; also see 64, Fig. 2), a separator (separator sheet (polypropylene/polyethylene/polypropylene), [0102]; also see 90, Fig. 2), and a negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, [0101]; also see 84, Fig. 2),
the electrolyte solution (nonaqueous electrolyte, [0102]) contains a lithium salt (LiPF6, [0102]), a solvent (mixed solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC) and ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), [0102]), and an additive agent (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]),
the positive electrode plate (positive electrode sheet, [0100]; also see 64, Fig. 2) includes a positive electrode core body (aluminum foil, [0100]; also see Fig. 62) and a positive electrode active material layer (LiNi1/3Mn1/3Co1/3O2, [0100]; also see 66, Fig. 2),
the negative electrode plate (negative electrode sheet, [0101]; also see 84, Fig. 2) includes a negative electrode core body (copper foil, [0101]; also see 82, Fig. 2) and a negative electrode active material layer (natural graphite particles, [0101]; also see 86, Fig. 2), and
in at least one of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (100 mm negative electrode active material layer, [0112]; also see natural graphite particles, [0101]; also see 86, Figs 2 and 4), a ratio A/B (region E/C = 0.035/0.022, see regions E and C of Example 2 in Table 2, [0112]) of a concentration A of a component (0.035, see boron content (mass %) of region E of Example 2 in Table 2, [0112]) originated from the additive agent (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]) in a region (region E, Fig. 7) disposed on an end portion side (note: region E is an 15mm end, see Fig. 7; 15 mm is 15% of 100 mm, [0112]) in a width direction (direction of length a, see Fig. 7; note: length a is the same direction as arrow X in Fig. 4) of the electrode assembly to a concentration B of the component (0.022, see boron content (mass %) of region C of Example 2 in Table 2, [0112]) originated from the additive agent (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]) in a region (region C, Fig. 7) disposed in a central portion (note: region C is a 15 mm central portion, see Fig. 7; 15 mm is 15% of 100 mm, [0112]) in the width direction (direction of length a, see Fig. 7; note: length a is the same direction as arrow X in Fig. 4) of the electrode assembly is 1.4 or more and 2.6 or less (1.6; region E/C = 0.035/0.022 = 1.6, see regions E and C of Example 2 in Table 2, [0112]).
Regarding claim 3, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches wherein the additive agent (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]) includes at least one selected from a group consisting of LiBOB (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]) and LiFSO3.
Regarding claim 4, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches wherein at least one of the positive electrode active material layer (LiNi1/3Mn1/3Co1/3O2, [0100]; also see 66, Fig. 2) and the negative electrode active material layer (natural graphite particles, [0101]; also see 86, Fig. 2) includes the additive agent (Lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), [0102]; note: Example 2 has only one injection step (S20 but no S30, S40, see Fig. 3) to inject 125 g nonaqueous electrolyte into the battery assembly of Example 1, and the 2.45 g of LiBOB was impregnated throughout the entirety of the wound electrode assembly including active material layers (see [0103]), therefore LiBOB is included in both active material layers; alternatively, the additive-derived coating was formed on the surface of the negative electrode active material, [0103]; note: alternatively, “the additive agent” has been broadly interpreted as “the additive agent (LiBOB) derivative”).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches wherein a thickness of each of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer is 100 μm or more and 260 μm or less (positive electrode active material layer is 155 μm thick, [0100]; negative electrode active material layer is 130 μm thick, [0101]).
Regarding claim 6, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches wherein the electrode assembly (wound electrode assembly, [0102]; also see 50, Fig. 2) is a wound type (wound electrode assembly, see [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuhashi et al. (US 20140322579 A1, provided on IDS filed on 4/22/2025) in view of Onoda (US 20170256822 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Mitsuhashi et al. does not teach wherein a length of each of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer in the width direction of the electrode assembly is 180 mm or more.
Onoda teaches wherein a length of each (length of 14 is 24c and length of 24 is (24c + 24n), see Fig. 3) of the positive electrode active material layer (14, Fig. 3) and the negative electrode active material layer (24, Fig. 3) in the width direction (width direction, Fig. 3) of the electrode assembly is 180 mm or more (length of 14 = 24c is 90 mm or more and 200 mm or less; length of 24 = (24c + 24n) is 92 mm or more and 202 mm or less, see [0063] and Fig. 3; note: 24 n is about 2 mm, see [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the positive electrode active material layer and the length of the negative electrode active material layer taught by Mitsuhashi et al. to be 180 mm or more and 200 mm or less, 180 mm or more and 202 mm or less, respectively as taught by Onoda to have 200 mm or less from the viewpoint of realizing high input and output densities, 90 mm or more from the viewpoint of realizing high energy density and high capacity (see Onoda [0063]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuhashi et al. (US 20140322579 A1, provided on IDS filed on 4/22/2025).
Regarding claim 7, Example 2 of Mitsuhashi et al. does not teach wherein the electrode assembly is a stacked type.
Different embodiment of Mitsuhashi et al. teaches wherein the electrode assembly is a stacked type (stacked electrode assembly, [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the wound electrode assembly taught by Example 2 of Mitsuhashi et al. to be the stacked electrode assembly taught by Mitsuhashi et al. because such stacked electrode assembly is known in the art (see Mitsuhashi et al. [0095]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Ishii) US-20190181429-A1, Figs. 2-3, LiBOB (boron) and LiFSO3 (FSO3−) [0057];
(Miyachi) US-20240266605-A1, exact Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 as Figs. 1-5 of instant application;
(Fujita) US-20240387871-A1, same battery assembly structure, Figs 2-3.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723