DETAILED ACTION
The present patent application filed December 21, 2023 claims priority to provisional patent application 63/485,573 filed February 17, 2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to be arguing that the Lee and Liu references are nonanalogous art in that neither address antenna elements in a network apparatus.
Lee, the primary reference, indeed addresses the number of antenna elements in a network apparatus as taught on page 2: “If the RAN node 414 needs to switch antenna and transmit power configurations for a group of UEs 402 to fulfill a different power consumption profile requirement, it needs to reconfigure all the UEs 402 in that group. Currently, antenna configurations, such as those related to CSI measurement and feedback, are configured using individual RRC messaging, where a separate and/or new configuration is required for each UE 402 separately. However, RRC signaling can potentially incur a relatively large latency penalty (e.g., in terms of resource usage and/or overhead). In addition, when a RAN node 414 needs to reconfigure a large number of UEs 402, the latency penalty of RRC signaling may be compounded or otherwise exacerbated by causing excessive system overhead and thereby causing additional latency in the network.”
Lee addresses the problems by teaching that RAN node 414 configures a set of UEs 402 with a set of configurations 111 “corresponding to various power consumption profiles that the RAN node 414 may wish to optimize for.” Lee’s embodiments allow the RAN node 414 “to maximally leverage power saving benefits that stem from use of lower transmission power and smaller number of antenna elements.” In case of higher system performances are needed, the fast adaptation of antenna elements and transmission power “allow RAN node 414 to quickly come back to nominal state of operation and maximize overall system performance.”
Clearly Lee is directed to antenna elements in the RAN dedicated to UEs through spatial adaptation as shown in Fig. 2, below.
Applicant further traverses the combination of Lee and Liu in that the Liu prior art reference addressed a number of antennas but the number of antennas did not “directly” identify that the number was in a network apparatus.
However, the combination of Lee and Liu in teaches claim 1. Examiner respectfully notes that Liu is not nonanalogous art in that it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Liu is in the field of wireless communications and addresses dynamic antenna elements and increasing “a number” of antenna elements.
Applicant’s argument that the antenna elements location as not being in a network element is not persuasive. The Liu reference is provided for support of the term “a number” and not for the proposition that antenna elements are in a communication apparatus that is not a network apparatus. More specifically, Lee indeed teaches that “antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report is less than antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the second measurement report” but does not specifically identify a number. Instead, Lee teaches using less antenna ports such as N/2 and N/4 ports in but doesn’t specify “a number”. In the analogous art, Liu teaches that a reduction of antenna ports can be “a number” of antenna elements. Where the “number” of antenna elements exist was already established by Lee.
Indeed, Lee illustrates via Fig. 2 and Table 1.2-2 that during adaptation, the antenna ports in the network associated with a UE measurement report can increase between subsequent CSI-RS indications 203 according to one or more of the adaptation patterns:
Accordingly, the rejection is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Pat. Pub. WO 2024172894 with priority to US Prov. Pat. 63/484,970 filed February 14, 2023 to Daewon Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) in view of International Pat. Pub. WO 2020233500 to Jiangqin Liu and Zheng Chen (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Lee in view of Liu teaches A method, comprising:
transmitting, by a processor of a communication apparatus, (Lee Fig. 5, processing circuitry 514 supported in prov. para. [0080] processing circuitry yy14) a first measurement report of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) based on a first indication from a network apparatus; (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0021] a RAN configuring two sets of CSI reporting wherein “the first CSI reporting will be based on measurements of configuration of potentially larger number of CSI-RS antenna ports.” Lee Prov. Para. [0020] teaches the UE can perform measurements with a full set or a subset of the antenna elements (or ports).)
and
transmitting, by the processor, a second measurement report of the CSI- RS based on a second indication from the network apparatus, (Lee, prov. Figure 1 illustrated in para. [0018] teaches a second measurement report of a CSI-RS based on “new configuration selection” as shown. Lee prov. para. [0022] teaches that as shown in Fig. 2, the UE can perform multiple CSI feedback for multiple hypothetical CSI-RS configurations and report a CSI feedback 203. Lee Prov. para. [0025] teaches that the first CSI-RS configuration may include a set of antenna port subset indication with a bitmap indicating which antenna ports).
wherein [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report is less than [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the second measurement report. (Lee teaches antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report are less than antenna elements of in a second measurement report in, for example Table 1.2-1, wherein the antenna ports are enabled/disabled according to a pattern wherein the number of elements in the first, earlier measurement port are less than later measurement reports:
As shown, for example, in later measurement reports the antenna ports that are enabled increase according to different pattern indexes.
Furthermore, as shown in Fig. 2, during the “adaptation” period, the number of antenna elements may increase:
)
Lee does not specifically identify “a number” is less than another number for a specific second measurement report.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Liu teaches wherein “a number of antenna elements” associated with the first measurement report is less than “a number of antenna elements” associated with the second measurement report. (Liu teaches on page 3, lines 1-9 that the number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report can be the maximum number of antenna elements. Examiner interprets the maximum in the second measurement report enables the antenna elements associated with the first measurement report to be less than a number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report because Liu teaches on page 3, lines 5-8, “For example, when the terminal device receives the PDSCH sent by the network device by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas, the terminal device may continue to receive and measure the second CSI-RS in the second CSI resource configuration by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas. The second quantity of receiving antennas may be any one of a quantity of receiving antennas that can be used by the terminal device, for example, a maximum quantity of receiving antennas or a quantity of minimum receiving antennas.” Liu further teaches on page 12, line 8 to page 13, line 5, and Fig. 5, that the number of receive antennas can increase from 2RX to 4RX.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date to combine Lee and Liu. Each of Lee and Liu are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of CSI-RS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Liu and Lee in order to support energy saving and support CSI measurement and reporting systems that support accuracy and scheduling “within a period of time after the number of receiving antennas is switched” as taught Liu page 1, lines 17-21.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches The method of Claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a first configuration from the network apparatus, wherein the first configuration comprises a list of sub-configurations, and wherein each sub-configuration indicates one or more enabled or disabled antenna elements of the network apparatus; (Lee teaches a list of sub-configurations in prov. para. [0027], Fig. 3:
and
receiving, by the processor, the first indication to select one or more sub- configurations via a downlink control information (DCI) or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0026] “the antenna port subset indication (e.g. provided in a DCI) may be a bitmap.”)
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches The method of Claim 2, further comprising: measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS based on said one or more sub-configurations, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with said one or more disabled antenna elements indicated in said one or more sub- configurations is not performed; (Lee prov. para. [0022] teaches that the UE performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 203 “based on antenna configurations or ports associated with the CSI-RS.” The CSI-RS 202 includes M≤N ports and the UE performs measurements based on that CSI-RS which would not include the disabled antenna elements.)
and
generating, by the processor, the first measurement report of the CSI- RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee Fig. 1, above and prov. para. [0018], illustrates a UE sending CSI report 103 to RAN node after receiving CSI-RS based on new configuration selection 102)
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches The method of Claim 2, wherein the list of sub-configurations comprises a specific sub-configuration which indicates that all antenna elements of the network apparatus are enabled, (Lee teaches M = N in prov. para. [0022]) and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the processor, the second indication to select the specific sub-configuration via the DCI or the MAC-CE; (Lee prov. para. [0026] teaches receiving an antenna port subset indication provided by DCI).
measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS based on the specific sub- configuration, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0028]-[0029] that “additionally or alternatively to bitmap indication” of CSI antenna port enablement and disablement, the antenna subset field can indicate “predefined patterns of CSI-RS antenna port enablement and disablement.” The number of antenna port configured for a first CSI-RS configuration is N” therefore the measuring is with all antenna elements when all the ports are enabled when M=N.)
and
generating, by the processor, the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches generating a second measurement report as shown in prov. Fig. 1, above).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, the second indication to indicate an all- enabled status of the antenna elements via the DCI or the MAC-CE; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 8, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...” Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])
measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS based on the second indication, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N. Lee page 7 is supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022].)
and
generating, by the processor, the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations. Lee page 7 is supported in prov. paras. [0118]-[0022].)
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, a second configuration from the network apparatus, wherein the second configuration comprises information regarding a period or one or more occasions for enabling all antenna elements of the network apparatus, and wherein the second indication is indicated with the second configuration (Lee teaches in prov. paras. [0015]-[0017] that an activation timer for determining the time period in which configurations are considered valid, which Examiner interprets as a “period”, can be indicated in the configurations related to antenna adjustments, such as L1 signaling. Lee further teaches that “if the RAN node sends updated L1/L2 signaling, UE will repeat the process and use the newly selected configuration measurement and reporting”);
measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS based on the second configuration, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 and in the prov. page 4, para. [0022], that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N)
and
generating, by the processor, the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, and in the prov. on page 4, para. [0022] that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations.)
Regarding claim 8 Lee in view of Liu teaches A communication apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one network apparatus (Lee Fig. 5 as supported in prov. para. [0080] transmit circuitry yy18);
and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations (Lee Fig. 5 as supported in prov. para. [0080] processing circuitry yy14) comprising:
transmitting, via the transceiver, a first measurement report of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) based on a first indication from the network apparatus; (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0021] a RAN configuring two sets of CSI reporting wherein “the first CSI reporting will be based on measurements of configuration of potentially larger number of CSI-RS antenna ports.” Para. [0020] teaches the UE can perform measurements with a full set or a subset of the antenna elements (or ports).)
and
transmitting, via the transceiver, a second measurement report of the CSI-RS based on a second indication from the network apparatus,. (Lee prov. Figure 1 illustrated in para. [0018] teaches a second measurement report of a CSI-RS based on “new configuration selection” as shown. Lee para. [0022] teaches that as shown in prov. Fig. 2, the UE can perform multiple CSI feedback for multiple hypothetical CSI-RS configurations and report a CSI feedback 203. Lee para. [0025] teaches that the first CSI-RS configuration may include a set of antenna port subset indication with a bitmap indicating which antenna ports.
wherein [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report is less than [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the second measurement report. (Lee teaches antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report are less than antenna elements of in a second measurement report in, for example Table 1.2-1, wherein the antenna ports are enabled/disabled according to a pattern wherein the number of elements in the first, earlier measurement port are less than later measurement reports:
As shown, for example, in later measurement reports the antenna ports that are enabled increase.
Further, as shown in Fig. 2, during the “adaptation” period 210, the number of antenna elements can increase according to Table 1.2-1:
Lee does not specifically identify “a number” is less than another number for a specific second measurement report.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Liu teaches wherein “a number of antenna elements” associated with the first measurement report is less than “a number of antenna elements” associated with the second measurement report. (Liu teaches on page 3, lines 1-9 that the number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report can be the maximum number of antenna elements. Examiner interprets the maximum in the second measurement report enables the antenna elements associated with the first measurement report to be less than a number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report because Liu teaches on page 3, lines 5-8, “For example, when the terminal device receives the PDSCH sent by the network device by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas, the terminal device may continue to receive and measure the second CSI-RS in the second CSI resource configuration by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas. The second quantity of receiving antennas may be any one of a quantity of receiving antennas that can be used by the terminal device, for example, a maximum quantity of receiving antennas or a quantity of minimum receiving antennas.” Liu further teaches on page 12, line 8 to page 13, line 5, and Fig. 5, that the number of receive antennas can increase from 2RX to 4RX.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date to combine Lee and Liu. Each of Lee and Liu are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of CSI-RS transmissions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Liu and Lee in order to support energy saving and support CSI measurement and reporting systems that support accuracy and scheduling “within a period of time after the number of receiving antennas is switched” as taught Liu page 1, lines 17-21.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches The communication apparatus of Claim 8, wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a first configuration from the network apparatus, wherein the first configuration comprises a list of sub-configurations, and wherein each sub-configuration indicates one or more enabled or disabled antenna elements of the network apparatus; (Lee teaches a RAN transmitting and a UE receiving a list of sub-configurations in prov. para. [0027] Fig. 3:
receiving, via the transceiver, the first indication to select one or more sub-configurations via a downlink control information (DCI) or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); ). (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0026] “the antenna port subset indication (e.g. provided in a DCI) may be a bitmap.”)
measuring the CSI-RS based on said one or more sub-configurations, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with said one or more disabled antenna elements indicated in said one or more sub-configurations is not performed; (Lee prov. para. [0022] teaches that the UE performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 203 “based on antenna configurations or ports associated with the CSI-RS.” The CSI-RS 202 includes M<N ports and the UE performs measurements based on that CSI-RS which would not include the disabled antenna elements.)
and
generating the first measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee Fig. 1, above and prov. para. [0018], illustrates UE sending CSI report 103 to RAN node, after receiving CSI-RS based on new configuration selection 102).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches The communication apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the list of sub- configurations comprises a specific sub-configuration which indicates that all antenna elements of the network apparatus are enabled, (Lee teaches in prov. para. [0028]-[0029] that “additionally or alternatively to bitmap indication” of CSI antenna port enablement and disablement, the antenna subset field can indicate “predefined patterns of CSI-RS antenna port enablement and disablement.” The number of antenna port configured for a first CSI-RS configuration is N” therefore the measuring is with all antenna elements when all the ports are enabled.) and wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, the second indication to select the specific sub-configuration via the DCI or the MAC-CE; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 8, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...” Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]))
measuring the CSI-RS based on the specific sub-configuration, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]))
and
generating the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches The communication apparatus of Claim 8, wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, the second indication to indicate an all- enabled status of the antenna elements via the DCI or the MAC-CE; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 7, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...”) Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]).
measuring the CSI-RS based on the second indication, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N) Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])
and
generating the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. . (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches The communication apparatus of Claim 8, wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a second configuration from the network apparatus, wherein the second configuration comprises information regarding a period or one or more occasions for enabling all antenna elements of the network apparatus, and wherein the second indication is indicated with the second configuration; (Lee teaches in prov. paras. [0015]-[0017] that an activation timer for determining the time period in which configurations are considered valid, which Examiner interprets as a “period”, can be indicated in the configurations related to antenna adjustments, such as L1 signaling. Lee further teaches that “if the RAN node sends updated L1/L2 signaling, UE will repeat the process and use the newly selected configuration measurement and reporting”)
measuring the CSI-RS based on the second configuration, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 and in the prov. page 4, para. [0022], that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N)
and
generating the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, and in the prov. on page 4, para. [0022] that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations.)
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches A method, comprising:
performing, by a processor of a network apparatus, a spatial domain adaptation by disabling at least one of a plurality of antenna elements of the network apparatus; (Lee teaches in Fig. 1, above, and Fig. 2 a spatial adaptation via disabling identified antenna elements:
and
enabling, by the processor, all of the antenna elements of the network apparatus in a dynamic or a semi-static manner (Lee teaches on page 2, lines 8-12 “The RAN node 414 (pre-)configures the UEs 402 with a set of configurations that correspond to different codepoints of the L1 signaling. The set of configurations that is preconfigured may be also used for UE 402 to compute channel state information or measurement feedback. The set of configurations may include information of which subset of antenna ports from largest antenna port configuration, and potential transmission power offset between CSI-RS and PDSCH.”
receiving, by the processor, from a communication apparatus a first measurement report of a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), wherein the first measurement report is based on a first indication from the network apparatus; (Lee teaches as shown in Fig. 2, and on page 8, lines 2-6 that during adaptation, “a UE 402 may switch between multiple CSI report 202 and single CSI report 204 upon expiry of a timer/validity duration,”. Therefore, during adaptation, a reduced number of antenna ports in the network are dedicated to UE 402 based on reduced CSI-RS 203 mapped to a “first indication”, which lasts “until a DCI indicates to switch, and/or when the RAN node 414 provides a CSI-RS configuration”.
and
receiving, by the processor, from the communication apparatus a second measurement report of the CSI-RS, wherein the second measurement report is based on a second indication from the network apparatus; wherein [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report is less than [[a number of]] antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the second measurement report. (Lee teaches antenna elements of the network apparatus associated with the first measurement report are less than antenna elements of in a second measurement report in, for example Table 1.2-1, wherein the antenna ports are enabled/disabled according to a pattern wherein the number of elements in the first, earlier measurement port are less than later measurement reports:
As shown, for example, in later measurement reports the antenna ports that are enabled increase. Also, as illustrated in Fig. 2 and taught on page 8, lines 2-6 that during adaptation, “a UE 402 may switch between multiple CSI report 202 and single CSI report 204 upon expiry of a timer/validity duration,”. Therefore, during adaptation, a reduced number of antenna ports in the network are dedicated to UE 402 based on reduced CSI-RS 203 mapped to a “first indication”, which lasts “until a DCI indicates to switch, and/or when the RAN node 414 provides a CSI-RS configuration”. At least the DCI indicating a switch is mapped to a “second indication”. )
Lee does not specifically identify “a number” is less than another number for a specific second measurement report.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Liu teaches wherein “a number of antenna elements” associated with the first measurement report is less than “a number of antenna elements” associated with the second measurement report. (Liu teaches on page 3, lines 1-9 that the number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report can be the maximum number of antenna elements. Examiner interprets the maximum in the second measurement report enables the antenna elements associated with the first measurement report to be less than a number of antenna elements associated with the second measurement report because Liu teaches on page 3, lines 5-8, “For example, when the terminal device receives the PDSCH sent by the network device by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas, the terminal device may continue to receive and measure the second CSI-RS in the second CSI resource configuration by using the quantity of the second receiving antennas. The second quantity of receiving antennas may be any one of a quantity of receiving antennas that can be used by the terminal device, for example, a maximum quantity of receiving antennas or a quantity of minimum receiving antennas.” Liu further teaches on page 12, line 8 to page 13, line 5, and Fig. 5, that the number of receive antennas can increase from 2RX to 4RX.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Lee and Liu to teach semi-static enabling. Each of Lee and Liu teach CSI configurations and are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lee and Liu in order to support energy saving and support CSI measurement and reporting systems that support accuracy and scheduling “within a period of time after the number of receiving antennas is switched” as taught Liu page 1, lines 17-21 .
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches The method of Claim 14, further comprising:
determining, by the processor, an enabled or disabled status of the antenna elements for one or more spatial adaptation patterns; (Lee teaches spatial adaptation patterns on page 8 line 31, Table 1.2-2 and similarly in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022] as follows:
transmitting, by the processor, the first configuration to the communication apparatus, wherein the first configuration comprises a list of sub-configurations, and wherein each sub-configuration corresponds to one spatial adaptation pattern; (Lee teaches sub-configurations in page 8, lines 7-14 “When the RAN node 414 configures a set of CSI-RS configurations that contain multiple CSI-RS configurations where one or more of the CSI-RS configurations corresponds to a specific reduction of a number of antenna and/or specific transmission power configuration (e.g., power offset between CSI-RS and PDSCH), instead of explicitly configuring multiple CSI-RS configurations, in some implementations, the RAN node 414 indicates a CSI-RS configuration, denoted as a first CSI-RS configuration, with a set of antenna port subset indication and/or transmission power offset values (potentially corresponding to a new power control offset that indicates Power offset of PDSCH resource element (RE) to CSI-RS RE, and power offset of CSI- RS RE to secondary synchronization signal RE" Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]).
and
transmitting, by the processor, the first indication to select one or more sub-configurations to the communication apparatus via a downlink control information (DCI) or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). (Lee, page 8, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...”) Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches The method of Claim 15, wherein the list of sub-configurations comprises a specific sub-configuration with a specific spatial adaptation pattern in which all of the antenna elements are enabled; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]) and wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the processor, the second indication to select the specific sub-configuration to the communication apparatus via the DCI or the MAC-CE. (Lee, page 8, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...” Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022] ).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches The method of Claim 14, further comprising:
transmitting, by the processor, the second indication to the communication apparatus to indicate the all-enabled status of the antenna elements via the DCI or the MAC-CE. (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 8, lines 24-30 teaches that antenna port enablement and disablement can be indicated a “configuration trigger (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE)...” Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]. Examiner notes that the “configuration trigger” can be a “second indication” ).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches The method of Claim 14, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a second configuration to the communication apparatus, wherein the second configuration comprises information regarding a period or one or more occasions to enable all of the antenna elements; (Lee teaches in prov. paras. [0015]-[0017] that an activation timer for determining the time period in which configurations are considered valid, which Examiner interprets as a “period”, can be indicated in the configurations related to antenna adjustments, such as L1 signaling. Lee further teaches that “if the RAN node sends updated L1/L2 signaling, UE will repeat the process and use the newly selected configuration measurement and reporting”)
and
performing a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission based on the second configuration. (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 2- 12 teaches that RAN node 414 determines a suitable selection based on CSI feedback “the second CSI reporting may correspond to regular CSI-RS reporting that contains the CSI feedback 114”. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches The method of Claim 14, further comprising:
determining, by the processor, whether to change an enabled or disabled status of the antenna elements of the spatial domain adaptation based on the second measurement report. (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 27 to page 8, line 19 that when RAN node 414 may indicate a CSI-RS configuration. Lee Fig. 3 illustrates a second CSI-RS configuration with an antenna port subset with ports 1,3, 5 and 7 disabled. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]. Further, as shown in Fig. 2, in combination with Table 1.2-2, above, the number of antenna ports that are enabled can increase.)
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Liu further in view of European Pat. Pub. EP 4068872 to Jorma Johannes Kaikkonen et al. (hereinafter Kaikkonen).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches The method of Claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, the second indication to indicate an all- enabled status of the antenna elements (Lee teaches (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 7 is supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]) )
[[via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal]];
measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS based on the second indication, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 and in the prov. para. [0022], that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])
and
generating, by the processor, the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, and in the prov. para. [0022] that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations.)
Lee does NOT teach that the second indication is via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Kaikkonen teaches via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal. (Kaikkonen teaches in Fig. 2 that a UE monitors for a paging PEI indication:
Kaikkonen para. [0047]-[0052] teaches that the indication enables the UE to obtain PEI resource configuration for beams, which Examiner interprets as antenna ports. Further “Option 3” teaches that “PEI information can be broadcasted via all beams transmitted in the cell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective date of the invention to combine Lee and Kaikkonen. Each of Lee and Kaikkonen are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kaikkonen with Lee in order to enhance UE system performance and provide “potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact.” as taught in Kaikkonen para. [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Liu further in view Kaikkonen teaches The communication apparatus of Claim 8, wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, the second indication to indicate an all- enabled status of the antenna elements (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022]) [[via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal];
measuring the CSI-RS based on the second indication, wherein the measuring of the CSI-RS associated with all antenna elements are performed; (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 23-26 and in the prov. para. [0022], that the UE 402 performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204, based on the antenna configuration including when M=N)
and
generating the second measurement report of the CSI-RS according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS. (Lee teaches on page 7 lines 21-26, and in the prov. para. [0022] that the UE 402 “performs measurements and reports a CSI feedback 204” based on the antenna configurations.)
Lee does NOT teach that the second indication is via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Kaikkonen teaches via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal. (Kaikkonen teaches in Fig. 2 that a UE monitors for a paging PEI indication:
Kaikkonen para. [0047]-[0052] teaches that the indication enables the UE to obtain PEI resource configuration for beams, which Examiner interprets as antenna ports. Further “Option 3” teaches that “PEI information can be broadcasted via all beams transmitted in the cell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective date of the invention to combine Lee and Kaikkonen. Each of Lee and Kaikkonen are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kaikkonen with Lee in order to enhance UE system performance and provide “potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact.” as taught in Kaikkonen para. [0003].
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Liu further in view of Kaikkonen teaches The method of Claim 14, further comprising:
transmitting, by the processor, the second indication to the communication apparatus to indicate the all-enabled status of the antenna elements (Lee teaches on page 7, lines 13-26 that after a first CSI report 202, the RAN node configures and transmits a different set of CSI-RS(s) with M antenna ports “e.g., where M is a number and M ≤ N”. Therefore, “all-enabled” status is when M=N. Lee page 7 and 8 are supported in prov. paras. [0018]-[0022])
[[via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal];
Lee does NOT teach that the second indication is via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Kaikkonen teaches via a paging signal, a paging early indication (PEI), or a system information block (SIB) based signal. (Kaikkonen teaches in Fig. 2 that a UE monitors for a paging PEI indication:
Kaikkonen para. [0047]-[0052] teaches that the indication enables the UE to obtain PEI resource configuration for beams, which Examiner interprets as antenna ports. Further “Option 3” teaches that “PEI information can be broadcasted via all beams transmitted in the cell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective date of the invention to combine Lee and Kaikkonen. Each of Lee and Kaikkonen are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kaikkonen with Lee in order to enhance UE system performance and provide “potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact.” as taught in Kaikkonen para. [0003].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412