DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 recite, “forth plane”, it should be “fourth plane”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: line 7 recite, “forth plane”, it should be “fourth plane”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawicki (US 20050017821, hereinafter “Sawicki”).
Regarding claim 1, Sawicki discloses,
A coupler structure (A multilayer coupled-lines directional coupler of the quarter wavelength type comprises a first, a second and a third conductive layer, joined by means of dielectric layers, abstract), comprising:
a main signal line located on a first plane (As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 5, the first conductive layer 21 comprises a first 3 and a second 4 conductive strip, with extended shapes, in a conductive material and separated. The first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip are essentially parallel, each in one end connected to a first output 10 and each in another end connected to a second output 10'. Preferably they are also connected to each other at their ends. Note: the first conductive strip is equated as main signal line on a first plane (i.e., first conductive layer);
a first coupling line located on a second plane, wherein the second plane is in parallel with the first plane and the second plane is different from the first plane (As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 6, the second conductive layer comprises a third conductive strip 6, with an extended shape and in a conductive material. The third conductive strip 6 is essentially parallel to the first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip. As can be seen in FIG. 6, at each end the third conductive strip 6 is connected to a transition line 13, by means of which the third conductive strip 6 is connected to the first conductive layer 21. Note: the conductive strip on the second conductive layer is equated as “a first coupling line on a second plane (i.e., second conductive layer) parallel to, and distinct from the first plane (i.e., first conductive layer));
a second coupling line located on a third plane, wherein the third plane is in parallel with the first plane and the third plane is different from the first plane (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0034]:The third conductive layer 23 is located on the face of the second dielectric layer 2 being opposite to the face at which the second conductive layer 22 is located. The third conductive layer 23 comprises a first ground plane 8, and the first conductive layer 21 comprises a plurality of second ground planes 7. Note: a strip on the third conductive layer that also runs along the same coupling region and forms an additional coupled line path relative to the main line.); and
a spacer element connected to the main signal line (As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 5, the first conductive layer 21 comprises a fourth conductive strip 5, with an extended shape and in a conductive material.), wherein:
a projection of the spacer element on the first plane is located between a projection of the first coupling line on the first plane and a projection of the second coupling line on the first plane ([0036]: The fourth conductive strip 5 is essentially parallel to and located between the first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip. It is in one end connected to the third output 12, with the aid of a via-hole 11, which is connected to the third conductive strip 6, which in turn is connected to one of the transition lines 13, which is connected to the third output 12 by means of two via-holes 14.); and the main signal line, the first coupling line and the second coupling line extend along a virtual line (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission).
Regarding claim 2, Sawicki discloses,
wherein the virtual line is a straight line which extends along a first direction (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission).
Regarding claim 3, Sawicki discloses,
wherein the first coupling line and the second coupling line couple signals from the main signal line and the spacer element (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0034]: multilayer coupled-lined directional coupler of the quarter wavelengths type in which the parallel extended sections of strips 3, 4, 5 and 6 form the coupled line region that achieves directional coupling.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawicki and further in view of Schwerg et al. (US 20210105026, hereinafter “Schwerg”).
Regarding claim 4, Sawicki discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Sawicki discloses, the virtual line extends along a first direction; the spacer element extends along a second direction for separating the first coupling line and the second coupling line (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission) and the spacer element is a conductor (the first conductive layer 21 comprises a fourth conductive strip 5).
However, Sawicki does not disclose, the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Schwerg discloses, the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction (The main conductor line 39 is non-straight or the course of the main conductor line 39 is non-straight. Optionally the main conductor line is curved, bent, or sectionally straight, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawicki by specifically providing the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction, as taught by Schwerg for the purpose of reducing the spatial dimension of the inventive directional coupler and improving the implementation of the inventive directional coupler into radio-frequency delivery equipment [0017].
Claims 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawicki and further in view of Mukaiyama (US 20140368293, hereinafter “Mukaiyama”).
Regarding claim 11, Sawicki discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Sawicki discloses, wherein a first node of the main signal line is connected to a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitting end, a second node of the main signal line is connected to a first RF signal output end, a first node of the first coupling signal line is connected to a second RF signal output end ([0002]: Directional couplers are widely used in microwave and RF circuits as separate components, or as parts of other devices. They are used separately for power dividing/combining, for power monitoring and isolation of dc components. They are parts of the following devices: directional filters, mixers, phase shifters, attenuators, balanced amplifiers, magic-tees, modulators, beam-forming networks for array antennas…Figs. 3-5 show the first conductive layer has first conductive strip 3 and second conductive strip 4, each in one end connected to first output 10 and other each end connected to second put 10’. The second conductive layer has a third strip 6 in one end connected to third output 12 an in another end connected to fourth output 12’. As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 5, the first conductive layer 21 comprises a first 3 and a second 4 conductive strip, with extended shapes, in a conductive material and separated. The first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip are essentially parallel, each in one end connected to a first output 10 and each in another end connected to a second output 10'. Preferably they are also connected to each other at their ends. Note: the first conductive strip is equated as main signal line on a first plane (i.e., first conductive layer…([0002]: Directional couplers are widely used in microwave and RF circuits as separate components, or as parts of other devices. They are used separately for power dividing/combining, for power monitoring and isolation of dc components. They are parts of the following devices: directional filters, mixers, phase shifters, attenuators, balanced amplifiers, magic-tees, modulators, beam-forming networks for array antennas…Figs. 3-5 show the first conductive layer has first conductive strip 3 and second conductive strip 4, each in one end connected to first output 10 and other each end connected to second put 10’. The second conductive layer has a third strip 6 in one end connected to third output 12 an in another end connected to fourth output 12’.)
However, Sawicki does not disclose, a power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line.
In the same of field of endeavor, Mukaiyama discloses, a power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line (The directional coupler 120A is of a transmission line type, and includes a main line 121 and a coupling line (secondary line) 122. The main line 121 is connected between the antenna 111 and the transmission power amplifier 113. The detection circuit 114 is connected to the secondary line 122 of the directional coupler 120A and controls the transmission power amplifier 113 based on a signal from the secondary line 122 that couples to the main line 121, [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawicki by specifically providing power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line, as taught by Mukaiyama for the purpose of for measuring high frequency signals in directional couplers [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Sawicki discloses,
A radio frequency (RF) circuit, comprising:
an RF signal transmitting end, a first RF signal output end, a second RF signal output end ([0002]: Directional couplers are widely used in microwave and RF circuits as separate components, or as parts of other devices. They are used separately for power dividing/combining, for power monitoring and isolation of dc components. They are parts of the following devices: directional filters, mixers, phase shifters, attenuators, balanced amplifiers, magic-tees, modulators, beam-forming networks for array antennas…Figs. 3-5 show the first conductive layer has first conductive strip 3 and second conductive strip 4, each in one end connected to first output 10 and other each end connected to second put 10’. The second conductive layer has a third strip 6 in one end connected to third output 12 an in another end connected to fourth output 12’. As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 5, the first conductive layer 21 comprises a first 3 and a second 4 conductive strip, with extended shapes, in a conductive material and separated. The first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip are essentially parallel, each in one end connected to a first output 10 and each in another end connected to a second output 10'. Preferably they are also connected to each other at their ends. Note: the first conductive strip is equated as main signal line on a first plane (i.e., first conductive layer);
a main signal line located on a first plane, wherein a first node of the main signal line is connected to the RF signal transmitting end and a second node of the main signal line is connected to the first RF signal output end ([0002]: Directional couplers are widely used in microwave and RF circuits as separate components, or as parts of other devices. They are used separately for power dividing/combining, for power monitoring and isolation of dc components. They are parts of the following devices: directional filters, mixers, phase shifters, attenuators, balanced amplifiers, magic-tees, modulators, beam-forming networks for array antennas…Figs. 3-5 show the first conductive layer has first conductive strip 3 and second conductive strip 4, each in one end connected to first output 10 and other each end connected to second put 10’. The second conductive layer has a third strip 6 in one end connected to third output 12 an in another end connected to fourth output 12’.);
a first coupling line located on a second plane, wherein the second plane is in parallel with the first plane, the second plane is different from the first plane, and a first node of the first coupling signal line is connected to the second RF signal output end (As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 6, the second conductive layer comprises a third conductive strip 6, with an extended shape and in a conductive material. The third conductive strip 6 is essentially parallel to the first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip. As can be seen in FIG. 6, at each end the third conductive strip 6 is connected to a transition line 13, by means of which the third conductive strip 6 is connected to the first conductive layer 21. Note: the conductive strip on the second conductive layer is equated as “a first coupling line on a second plane (i.e., second conductive layer) parallel to, and distinct from the first plane (i.e., first conductive layer));
a second coupling line located on a third plane, wherein the third plane is in parallel with the first plane and the third plane is different from the first plane (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0034]:The third conductive layer 23 is located on the face of the second dielectric layer 2 being opposite to the face at which the second conductive layer 22 is located. The third conductive layer 23 comprises a first ground plane 8, and the first conductive layer 21 comprises a plurality of second ground planes 7. Note: a strip on the third conductive layer that also runs along the same coupling region and forms an additional coupled line path relative to the main line.);
a spacer element connected to the main signal line (As can be seen in FIGS. 4 and 5, the first conductive layer 21 comprises a fourth conductive strip 5, with an extended shape and in a conductive material.); and
wherein: a projection of the spacer element on the first plane is located between a projection of the first coupling line on the first plane and a projection of the second coupling line on the first plane ([0036]: The fourth conductive strip 5 is essentially parallel to and located between the first 3 and the second 4 conductive strip. It is in one end connected to the third output 12, with the aid of a via-hole 11, which is connected to the third conductive strip 6, which in turn is connected to one of the transition lines 13, which is connected to the third output 12 by means of two via-holes 14.);
a main coupling part of the main signal line, a first coupling part of the first coupling line, a second coupling part of the second coupling line and the spacer element form a coupling structure (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0034]: multilayer coupled-lined directional coupler of the quarter wavelengths type in which the parallel extended sections of strips 3, 4, 5 and 6 form the coupled line region that achieves directional coupling. Note: the quarter-wave overlapping region of the strip 3 on the layer 21 is equated as main coupling part of the main signal line; the overlapping region of the strip 6 of on layer 22 is equated as first coupling part; the overlapping region of the stirp 6 on layer 23 is the second coupling part; strip 5 arranged between strips is spacer element; these together form the coupling structure); and
the main signal line, the first coupling part and the second coupling part extend along a virtual line (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission).
However, Sawicki does not disclose, a power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line.
In the same of field of endeavor, Mukaiyama discloses, a power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line (The directional coupler 120A is of a transmission line type, and includes a main line 121 and a coupling line (secondary line) 122. The main line 121 is connected between the antenna 111 and the transmission power amplifier 113. The detection circuit 114 is connected to the secondary line 122 of the directional coupler 120A and controls the transmission power amplifier 113 based on a signal from the secondary line 122 that couples to the main line 121, [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawicki by specifically providing power detector coupled to a first node of the second coupling line, as taught by Mukaiyama for the purpose of for measuring high frequency signals in directional couplers [0003].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Sawicki discloses,
wherein the virtual line is a straight line which extends along a first direction (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Sawicki discloses,
wherein the first coupling part of the first coupling line and the second coupling part of the second coupling line couple signals from the main coupling part of the main signal line and the spacer element (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0034]: multilayer coupled-lined directional coupler of the quarter wavelengths type in which the parallel extended sections of strips 3, 4, 5 and 6 form the coupled line region that achieves directional coupling.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Mukaiyama discloses,
an amplifier circuit, wherein an input end of the amplifier circuit is coupled to the RF signal transmitting end and an output end of the amplifier circuit is coupled to the first node of the main signal line (The main line 121 is connected to a signal input port RFin and a signal output port RFout at its two end portions. The signal input port RFin is connected to the transmission power amplifier 113. The signal output port RFout is connected to the antenna 111. The secondary line 122 is connected to a coupling port CPL and an isolation port ISO at its two end portions, [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Mukaiyama discloses,
wherein the first RF signal output end is coupled to a transmitting antenna (Fig. 7A and [0005]: The signal output port RFout is connected to the antenna 111).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Mukaiyama discloses,
wherein: the power detector outputs a direct current signal (Figs. 7A-7C and [0004]-[0006]: the detection circuit 114 connected to CPL produces a detected output, that output is DC signal corresponding to the RF power at CPL,); and an alternative current signal is outputted via the second RF signal output end (Figs. 7A-7C and [0004]-[0006]: “an alternate current signal is ouptputted via the second RF signal output end”, i.e., RFout at the mail line 121 continues to carry the RF transmit signal toward the antenna 111. This is an RF (AC) signal, distinct from the DC detected signal at the detection circuit 114.)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawicki, in view of Mukaiyama and further in view of Chen (US 20050212617, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 12), however the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama does not disclose, wherein: a second node of the first coupling line is coupled to a first resistor; and a second node of the second coupling line is coupled to a second resistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen disclose, wherein: a second node of the first coupling line is coupled to a first resistor; and a second node of the second coupling line is coupled to a second resistor (Fig. 2 and [0023]-[0028]: a directional coupler that includes a first circuit line that has a first end and a second end. An input port is connected to the first end and an output port is connected to the second end. The second circuit line has a third end and a fourth end. The circuit lines are located proximate to each other such that they are electromagnetically coupled …… wherein the first low pass filter comprises: a first resistor having a first and second end, the first end of the first resistor connected to the forward coupled port; a second resistor having a third and fourth end, the third end of the second resistor connected to the third end of the second circuit line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama by specifically providing wherein: a second node of the first coupling line is coupled to a first resistor; and a second node of the second coupling line is coupled to a second resistor, at taught by Chen for the purpose of providing a directional coupler that has a small size with good electrical performance [0008].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawicki, in view of Mukaiyama and further in view of Hart (US 2872577, hereinafter “Hart”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 12), however the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama does not disclose, wherein the power detector is a logarithmic power detector.
In the same field of endeavor, Hart discloses, wherein the power detector is a logarithmic power detector (Col. 1; lines 15-45: This invention relates to apparatus for detecting high frequency signals and, more particularly, to an integrator of high frequency signals employing a resonant electromechanical system as a means of accumulating and storing signal energy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama by specifically providing wherein the power detector is a logarithmic power detector, as taught by Hart for the purpose of providing many desirable features for detecting small, low frequency signals, but the purely mechanical vibrating reed system does not lend itself to high- speed communications (Col. 1; lines 40-45).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawicki, Mukaiyama and further in view of Schwerg et al. (US 20210105026, hereinafter “Schwerg”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Sawicki discloses, the virtual line extends along a first direction; the spacer element extends along a second direction for separating the first coupling line and the second coupling line (Figs. 3-5 and [0030]-[0036] describes the first conductive strip 3 and the second conductive strip 4 and the fourth conductive strip 5, are each described as extended, mutually parallel strips forming a coupled line section of given length in the direction of transmission) and the spacer element is a conductor (the first conductive layer 21 comprises a fourth conductive strip 5).
However, Sawicki does not disclose, the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Schwerg discloses, the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction (The main conductor line 39 is non-straight or the course of the main conductor line 39 is non-straight. Optionally the main conductor line is curved, bent, or sectionally straight, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sawicki and Mukaiyama by specifically providing the second direction is not in parallel with the first direction, as taught by Schwerg for the purpose of reducing the spatial dimension of the inventive directional coupler and improving the implementation of the inventive directional coupler into radio-frequency delivery equipment [0017].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior arts, Sawicki and Schwerg, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the coupler structure comprises wherein: the spacer element includes a first spacer part and a second spacer part; the first spacer part is connected between the main signal line and the second spacer part along the second direction; the second spacer part is located on a fourth plane, wherein the fourth plane is in parallel with the first plane and the fourth plane is different from the first plane; and the first spacer part includes a plurality of conductor vias disposed along the first direction or is a conductor wall extending along the first direction”, in combination with limitations in claim 1 and intervening claim 4.
Claim 6 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior arts, Sawicki and Schwerg, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the coupler structure comprises a conductor layer located on a fifth plane, wherein: the fifth plane is in parallel with the first plane, and the fifth plane is different from the first plane, the second plane and the third plane; the spacer element is connected between the main signal line and the conductor layer along the second direction; and the first coupling line and the second coupling line are located between the main signal line and the conductor layer”, in combination with limitations in claim 1 and intervening claim 4.
Claims 8-10 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 5.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 12199585: the disclosure relates to a balun. The balun includes a first pair of coupled lines including a first conductive line and a second conductive line, a second pair of coupled lines including a third conductive line and a fourth conductive line, and a transmission line connecting the first conductive line of the first pair of coupled lines to the third conductive line of the second pair of conductive lines.
US 12148976: A directional coupler includes a substrate, a main line, a first sub-line, and a ground conductor. The main line includes a first conductor line and a second conductor line electrically connected to each other. The first sub-line includes a third conductor line. The first conductor line and the second conductor line are able to be electromagnetically coupled to the third conductor line.
US 20230113980: The directional coupler in which impedance can be adjusted in such a way as to minimize variation in degree of coupling in a substrate without necessarily need to increase thickness of the substrate, and is capable of enabling impedance adjustment in such way as to minimize variation in degree of coupling without necessarily need to increase thickness of the substrate, capable of monitoring radio-frequency signals with wide applicability to communication apparatuses.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641