DETAILED ACTION
This paper is responsive to patent application filed December 21, 2023 claiming priority to Chinese Pat. Application No. 2023112900471 filed September 28, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. US 20220333997 to Ralph Newhouse, Jon O'Donnell and Harold Brooks (hereinafter Newhouse) in view of US Pat. Pub. 20190250043 to Chwan-Chia Wu and Mendel Lin (hereinafter Wu) further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220053405 to Ping Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Newhouse in view of Wu further in view of Wang teaches A pairing method of wireless probe thermometer, wherein the method comprises:
a mobile terminal establishing a communication connection with a charging box of the wireless probe thermometer to send a pairing mode start command to the charging box; (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches each “temperature probe may be assigned such a unique ID during the pairing process with the charging device. For example, the Bluetooth MAC address may be stored in flash memory 140 and may be the primary identification used internally.... the temperature probe 100 may include a setup protocol configured to execute upon the first sync with the charging device.” Examiner interprets a setup protocol as a start command. Newhouse para. [0047] teaches that the charging hub may act as a “relay between the temperature probe 100 and a receiving device or smart device” which teaches a mobile terminal establishing communication with the charging box. Further, para. [0047] teaches that the charging hub may directly receive transmissions over Bluetooth/Wi-Fi or through a cloud network.)
Newhouse does NOT teach the charging box receiving the pairing mode start command, entering a pairing mode according to the pairing mode start command, and deleting original pairing information;
In the analogous art of wireless thermometers, Wu teaches receiving the pairing mode start command, entering a pairing mode according to the pairing mode start command, and [[deleting original pairing information]]; (Wu teaches a thermometer and temperature monitoring system wherein “processor 144 instructs the transceiver 145 to transmit the beacon signal, and the first communication device 30 detects the beacon signal indicating existence of the thermometer 10 and thereafter sends the pairing request to the thermometer 10. After receiving the pairing request from the first communication device 30, the processor 144 stops transmitting the beacon signal, and begins a pairing process with the first communication device 30. During the pairing process, the first communication device 30 sends an assigned identifier and a reference signal to the thermometer 10.” Examiner interprets an instruction to transmit as a start pairing mode command.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Newhouse and Wu to teach a pairing start mode. Each of Wu and Newhouse are directed to wireless thermometer probes using a pairing process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Wu with Newhouse in order to promote efficient power management and reduce power consumption while cooking as taught in Wu para. [0010].
the wireless temperature probe to be paired sending a broadcast signal when the wireless temperature probe to be paired is placed at the charging box, wherein the broadcast signal includes a request pairing information, wherein the request pairing information is used to indicate that the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in a pairable state; (Newhouse para. [0060] teaches “Referring to the initial syncing and/or pairing of the temperature probe 100, in order to distinguish multiple temperature probes transmitting simultaneously, each temperature probe may include a unique identifier (MAC). Accordingly, when the temperature probe 100 is docked in the hub, the unique identifier is communicated to the hub through the charging contacts 130.” )
the charging box or the mobile terminal acquiring the broadcast information of the wireless temperature probe, (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches a Bluetooth broadcast to a charging hub) and determining whether a scanned device exists a wireless temperature probe to be paired according to the acquired broadcast signal, when the wireless temperature probe to be paired exists, determining whether the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in the pairable state according to the acquired broadcast signal, (Newhouse teaches in para. [0037] that the charging device or hub may perform multiple functions. For example, the hub may charge the temperature probe 100. Referring to the initial syncing and/or pairing of the temperature probe 100, in order to distinguish multiple temperature probes transmitting simultaneously, each temperature probe may include a unique identifier (MAC). Accordingly, when the temperature probe 100 is docked in the hub, the unique identifier is communicated to the hub through the charging contacts 130.”) and confirming the wireless temperature probe to be paired in the pairable state as a candidate wireless temperature probe; (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches a unique MAC ID which identifies the charging hub as a pairable state as a candidate. Newhouse para. [0044] teaches that the temperature probe may be adapted to communicate at different voltages during charging and bidirectional communication with the probe 100 and charge takes turns communicating, therefore pairable only when configured during “syncing with the charge device.”)
and
the mobile terminal or the charging box confirming a target wireless temperature probe from the candidate wireless temperature probe, and controlling the charging box to pair with the target wireless temperature probe. (Newhouse para. [0010] teaches that spring contacts may be configured to facilitate pairing of the temperature probe with a smart device and/or the charging device.)
Neither Newhouse nor Wu teaches and deleting original pairing information.
In the analogous art of wireless sensor network node mobility management Wang teaches deleting original pairing information. Wang teaches in para. [0048] that when a mobile node finds out the new parent node, the node clears out old routing tables and “deletes all routing entries”. Therefore, any original pairing information is deleted to enable a new connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Wang and Newhouse to teach deleting original pairing information to enable a new connection. Each of Wang and Newhouse are in the field of wireless communications and wireless sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Wang and Newhouse in order to improve an end-to-end transmission success rate of messages in Low-Power Wireless Personal Area Network, and improve transmission reliability of networks as taught in para. [0028] of Wang.
Regarding claim 5, Newhouse teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile terminal establishes a communication connection with the charging box of the wireless probe thermometer, and the mobile terminal sending the pairing mode start command to the charging box comprises:
the mobile terminal establishing a Bluetooth or WiFi communication connection with the charging box, and the mobile terminal sending the pairing mode start command to the charging box through the Bluetooth or WiFi communication connection. (Newhouse teaches in para. [0047] “The charging hub may be placed in close proximity (for example, less than 10 feet) to the temperature probe 100 and may relay the temperature information to the receiving device or smart device (such as a smart phone) either directly via Bluetooth/Wi-Fi or through a cloud network.” Newhouse Fig. 11 illustrates the communications connections:
Regarding claim 6, Newhouse teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile terminal establishes a communication connection with the charging box of the wireless probe thermometer, the mobile terminal sending the pairing mode start command to the charging box comprises:
the mobile terminal establishing a WiFi communication connection with the charging box through a router, and the mobile terminal sending the pairing mode start command to the charging box by using the WiFi communication connection; (Newhouse para. [0047] teaches “The charging hub may be placed in close proximity (for example, less than 10 feet) to the temperature probe 100 and may relay the temperature information to the receiving device or smart device (such as a smart phone) either directly via Bluetooth/Wi-Fi or through a cloud network” Examiner interprets a cloud network as teaching through a router.)
or,
the mobile terminal establishing a hybrid communication connection with the charging box through a mobile base station, a cloud server and a router, and the mobile terminal sending the pairing mode start command to the charging box by using the hybrid communication connection. (Examiner notes that the use of the word “or” negates the necessity of requiring a teaching of the second element of the claim).
Regarding claim 7, Newhouse teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile terminal or the charging box determining the target wireless temperature probe from the candidate wireless temperature probe comprises:
the mobile terminal or the charging box displaying the candidate wireless temperature probe, and determining the target wireless temperature probe from the candidate wireless temperature probe according to a selection operation of a user; (Newhouse para. [0048] teaches that The smart device (for example, a smart phone) may include an “Instant Read” feature that bypasses the hub or charging device. Such a feature may be used when the temperature probe 100 is temporarily inserted into a food item to check the temperature and then removed shortly thereafter.” The Examiner interprets the selection operation of a user to include an “Instant Read” feature.)
or,
the mobile terminal or the charging box confirming a wireless temperature probe of the largest signal strength as the target wireless temperature probe from the candidate wireless temperature probe. (Examiner notes the use of the word “or” negates the necessity of requiring a teaching of the second element of the claim.)
Regarding claim 8, Newhouse in view of Wu further in view of Wang teaches pairing system of the wireless probe thermometer, comprising:
a mobile terminal, configured to establish a communication connection with a charging box of the wireless probe thermometer to send a pairing mode start command to the charging box; ; (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches each “temperature probe may be assigned such a unique ID during the pairing process with the charging device. For example, the Bluetooth MAC address may be stored in flash memory 140 and may be the primary identification used internally.... the temperature probe 100 may include a setup protocol configured to execute upon the first sync with the charging device.” Examiner interprets a setup protocol as a start command. Newhouse para. [0047] teaches that the charging hub may act as a “relay between the temperature probe 100 and a receiving device or smart device” which teaches a mobile terminal establishing communication with the charging box. Further, para. [0047] teaches that the charging hub may directly receive transmissions over Bluetooth/Wi-Fi or through a cloud network.)
Newhouse does NOT teach the charging box, configured to receive the pairing mode start command, enter a pairing mode according to the pairing mode start command, and original pairing information;
In the analogous art of wireless thermometers, Wu teaches receiving the pairing mode start command, entering a pairing mode according to the pairing mode start command, and [[deleting original pairing information]]; (Wu teaches a thermometer and temperature monitoring system wherein “processor 144 instructs the transceiver 145 to transmit the beacon signal, and the first communication device 30 detects the beacon signal indicating existence of the thermometer 10 and thereafter sends the pairing request to the thermometer 10. After receiving the pairing request from the first communication device 30, the processor 144 stops transmitting the beacon signal, and begins a pairing process with the first communication device 30. During the pairing process, the first communication device 30 sends an assigned identifier and a reference signal to the thermometer 10.” Examiner interprets an instruction to transmit as a start pairing mode command.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Newhouse and Wu to teach a pairing start mode. Each of Wu and Newhouse are directed to wireless thermometer probes using a pairing process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Wu with Newhouse in order to promote efficient power management and reduce power consumption while cooking as taught in Wu para. [0010].
a wireless temperature probe to be paired, configured to send a broadcast signal when the wireless temperature probe to be paired is placed at the charging box, wherein the broadcast signal comprises request pairing information, and the request pairing information is used to indicate that the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in a pairable state; the wireless temperature probe to be paired sending a broadcast signal when the wireless temperature probe to be paired is placed at the charging box, wherein the broadcast signal includes a request pairing information, wherein the request pairing information is used to indicate that the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in a pairable state; (Newhouse para. [0060] teaches “Referring to the initial syncing and/or pairing of the temperature probe 100, in order to distinguish multiple temperature probes transmitting simultaneously, each temperature probe may include a unique identifier (MAC). Accordingly, when the temperature probe 100 is docked in the hub, the unique identifier is communicated to the hub through the charging contacts 130.”)
the charging box or the mobile terminal, further configured to acquire the broadcast information of the wireless temperature probe, (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches a Bluetooth broadcast to a charging hub) determine whether a scanned device exists a wireless temperature probe to be paired according to the acquired broadcast signal, when the wireless temperature probe to be paired exists, determining whether the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in the pairable state according to the acquired broadcast signal, (Newhouse teaches in para. [0037] that the charging device or hub may perform multiple functions. For example, the hub may charge the temperature probe 100. Referring to the initial syncing and/or pairing of the temperature probe 100, in order to distinguish multiple temperature probes transmitting simultaneously, each temperature probe may include a unique identifier (MAC). Accordingly, when the temperature probe 100 is docked in the hub, the unique identifier is communicated to the hub through the charging contacts 130.”) and confirming the wireless temperature probe to be paired in the pairable state as a candidate wireless temperature probe; (Newhouse para. [0037] teaches a unique MAC ID which identifies the charging hub as a pairable state as a candidate. Newhouse para. [0044] teaches that the temperature probe may be adapted to communicate at different voltages during charging and bidirectional communication with the probe 100 and charge takes turns communicating, therefore pairable only when configured during “syncing with the charge device.”)
and
the mobile terminal or the charging box, further configured to confirm a target wireless temperature probe from the candidate wireless temperature probe, and control the charging box to pair with the target wireless temperature probe. (Newhouse para. [0010] teaches that spring contacts may be configured to facilitate pairing of the temperature probe with a smart device and/or the charging device.)
Neither Newhouse nor Wu teaches and deleting original pairing information.
In the analogous art of wireless sensor network node mobility management Wang teaches deleting original pairing information. Wang teaches in para. [0048] that when a mobile node finds out the new parent node, the node clears out old routing tables and “deletes all routing entries”. Therefore, any original pairing information is deleted to enable a new connection.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Wang and Newhouse to teach deleting original pairing information to enable a new connection. Each of Wang and Newhouse are in the field of wireless communications and wireless sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Wang and Newhouse in order to improve an end-to-end transmission success rate of messages in Low-Power Wireless Personal Area Network, and improve transmission reliability of networks as taught in para. [0028] of Wang.
Regarding claim 10, Newhouse in view of Wu and Wang teaches A computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores computer programs, the computer programs execute the pairing method of the wireless probe thermometer according to claim 1 when running on processors. (Newhouse para. [0059] teaches a flash memory 140 and MCU 142 for executing computer programs)
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newhouse in view of Wu further in view Wang and further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20170006533 to Jonathan Andrew Gould and Daniel Mark Floyd (hereinafter Gould).
Regarding claim 2, Newhouse teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining whether a scanned device exists a wireless temperature probe to be paired according to the acquired broadcast signal comprises:
determining a key data feature of the acquired broadcast signal, wherein the key data feature comprises at least one of: a data format, a length, a type and a Bluetooth device identification; (Newhouse teaches in para. [0060] that the temperature probe has a unique MAC ID. Newhouse para. [0037] teaches that during the setup protocol, each temperature probe executes the protocol upon first sync with the charging device, and once synced may broadcast the particular probe’s unique ID.)
and
Newhouse does NOT teach comparing the key data feature with a preset data feature, and confirming that the scanned device exists the wireless temperature probe to be paired when the key data feature is the same as the preset data feature, wherein the preset data feature is a data feature extracted according to the wireless temperature probe.
In the analogous art of wireless home automation Internet of Things Gould teaches comparing the key data feature with a preset data feature, and confirming that the scanned device exists the wireless temperature probe to be paired when the key data feature is the same as the preset data feature, wherein the preset data feature is a data feature extracted according to the wireless temperature probe. (Gould teaches wirelessly connected K4Connect devices including temperature probes in para. [0179]. Further, Gould para. [0007] teaches pairing home automation devices such as temperature probes that are unpaired. The pairing in paras. [0106]-[0107] teaches that a “controller 551 polls the addressable HA devices 31 a-31 n and determines an unpaired addressable HA device from among the plurality thereof based upon the polling. The controller 551 may poll the addressable HA devices 31 a-31 n by polling for a broadcast from the addressable HA devices and/or by scanning for addressable devices responsive to a given one of stored HA device signatures stored in the memory 552. The controller 551 also compares the associated HA device signature of the unpaired addressable HA device with the stored HA device signatures.” )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of invention to have combined Newhouse with Gould to teach scanning for temperature probes such as home automation devices. Each of Gould and Newhouse are directed to wireless temperature probes and pairing thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Gould and Newhouse in order to reduce latency and system failures common on home automation devices that require a network connection as taught in para. [0069].
Regarding claim 9, Newhouse teaches The pairing system according to claim 8, wherein the charging box or the mobile terminal is further configured to confirm a key data feature of the acquired broadcast signal, wherein the key data feature comprises at least one of:
a data format, a length, a type and a Bluetooth device identification; (Newhouse teaches in para. [0060] that the temperature probe has a unique MAC ID. Newhouse para. [0037] teaches that during the setup protocol, each temperature probe executes the protocol upon first sync with the charging device, and once synced may broadcast the particular probe’s unique ID.)
and
Newhouse does NOT teach compare the key data feature with a preset data feature, and confirm that the scanned device exists the wireless temperature probe to be paired when the key data feature is the same as the preset data feature, wherein the preset data feature is a data feature extracted according to the wireless temperature probe.
In the analogous art of wireless home automation Internet of Things Gould teaches compare the key data feature with a preset data feature, and confirm that the scanned device exists the wireless temperature probe to be paired when the key data feature is the same as the preset data feature, wherein the preset data feature is a data feature extracted according to the wireless temperature probe. (Gould teaches wirelessly connected K4Connect devices including temperature probes in para. [0179]. Further, Gould para. [0007] teaches pairing home automation devices such as temperature probes that are unpaired. The pairing in paras. [0106]-[0107] teaches that a “controller 551 polls the addressable HA devices 31 a-31 n and determines an unpaired addressable HA device from among the plurality thereof based upon the polling. The controller 551 may poll the addressable HA devices 31 a-31 n by polling for a broadcast from the addressable HA devices and/or by scanning for addressable devices responsive to a given one of stored HA device signatures stored in the memory 552. The controller 551 also compares the associated HA device signature of the unpaired addressable HA device with the stored HA device signatures.” )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of invention to have combined Newhouse with Gould to teach scanning for temperature probes such as home automation devices. Each of Gould and Newhouse are directed to wireless temperature probes and pairing thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Gould and Newhouse in order to reduce latency and system failures common on home automation devices that require a network connection as taught in para. [0069].
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newhouse in view of Wu, Wang and Gould further in view of International Pat. Pub. WO 2024/046481 to Hengxing Xia et al. (hereinafter Xia).
Regarding claim 3, Newhouse does NOT teach method according to claim 2, wherein the determining whether the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in the pairable state according to the acquired broadcast signal comprises:
determining whether a signal strength of the acquired broadcast signal is in a preset strength range; and determining that the candidate wireless temperature probe is in the pairable state when the signal strength of the acquired broadcast signal falls within the preset strength range.
In the analogous art of wireless pairing of a mobile monitoring devices, Xia teaches determining whether a signal strength of the acquired broadcast signal is in a preset strength range; (Xia page 4 lines 9-32 teaches calculating the signal strength of a broadcast signal and obtain a statistical value, where the statistical value is used to characterize the signal strength of each broadcast signal)
and determining that the candidate wireless temperature probe is in the pairable state when the signal strength of the acquired broadcast signal falls within the preset strength range (Xia page 4 lines 9-32 further teach that statistical value may be a median of the signal strength of the broadcast or a peak value of a histogram of the signal strength of the broadcast signal and comparing the statistical values of the signal strengths of the plurality of broadcast signals, and determining the target pairing device accordingly.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Newhouse and Xia prior to the effective date of the invention to teach signal strengths within a range. Each of Newhouse and Xia are in the field of wireless temperature probes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Newhouse and Xia in order to stablish a communication connection with the target paired device, making the operation very simple and convenient as taught in Xia page 6 lines 15-21.
Regarding claim 4, Newhouse teaches method according to claim 3, wherein the determining whether the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in the pairable state according to the acquired broadcast signal further comprises:
determining that the wireless temperature probe to be paired is in a forbidden state when the signal strength of the acquired broadcast signal does not fall within the preset strength range. (Newhouse teaches in para. [0044] teaches “falling below a first threshold (for example, 0.5V) may signal to the temperature probe 100 that the temperature probe 100 is not properly seated within a charging dock or the dock is not powered. In such an embodiment, a voltage above a second higher threshold (for example, 2V) initiates charging the battery 118. Further, a voltage between the low and high threshold may indicate that the charger is requesting communication with the temperature probe 100.” Therefore when there is not enough charge, there would be no communication, but a threshold teaches a “preset strength range”. Further, para. [0061] teaches “when a temperature probe 100 is interfaced with the hub charging slot, a voltage is applied (for example, 3V) which the probe uses to charge the battery. Periodically, the hub may reduce this voltage to a lower level (for example, less than 1.8V). The probe may detect this change, cease charging, and begin listening for communications (for example, alternating high [>1V] and low [<0.5V])”. Therefore a forbidden state is when the probe detects there is not enough charge and out of range.)
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412