DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed on 12/21/2023, claims priority to EP23161577.4 filed 03/13/2023, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/476,661 filed on 12/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 02/13/2026, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits, except where noted.
Status of claims
The premilitary amendment filed on 12/21/2023, that amended claims 6, 9, 10, 12, 15-18, 23, 25, 28-36 and 40, and 28-29, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-40 are pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s response filed on 04/07/2026 to Restriction/Election Requirement filed on 02/27/2026, is acknowledged. Applicant elected without traverse Group I drawn to a crystalline form of Compound A and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the crystalline form according to claim 1 and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Claims 1-9, 17-28, and 37-40 read on the elected Group. Claims 10-14, 15-16, 29-30 and 31-36 of Group II, III, IV and V are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Thus, claims 1-40 are pending with claims 10-16 and 29-36 withdrawn, and claims 1-9, 17-28 and 37-40 are currently under consideration.
Claim interpretation
Examination requires claim terms first be construed in terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. See MPEP § 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. It is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. MPEP § 2111.01 (III). However, specific embodiments of the specification cannot be imported into the claims, particularly where the subject claim limitation is broader than the embodiment. MPEP § 2111.01(II).
Claim interpretation of crystal form of compound A:
Claim 1 recites “… Compound A) in crystalline form, characterized by having an X-ray powder diffractogram comprising a reflection at 2-theta angles in the range of from 4.00 to 4.60 when measured at a temperature in the range of from 20 to 30°C with Cu-Ka radiation having a wavelength of 0.15406 nm. ° Claims 2-9 further recite spectroscopic characterization.
The instant specification defines the crystalline form of compound A as:
“The crystalline materials of the present invention were found to be physically and chemically stable against temperature and humidity stress. E.g. the crystalline form of Compound A obtained according to the procedure of Example 1 was stable when subjected to accelerated stress conditions of 40°C/75% relative humidity for 6 months. form A. [page 3, line 5-8]. Figure 1: illustrates the XRPD of the crystalline form of Compound A of the present invention obtained from the solvent system IPA/H20 according to Example 1 herein. The x-axis shows the scattering angle in °2-theta, the y-axis shows the intensity of the scattered X-ray beam in counts of detected photons. [page 9, ln. 29- page 10, ln. 2].
The instant specification also recites:
A solid-state form of Compound A may be referred to herein as being characterized by graphical data "as shown in" a figure. Such data include, for example, XRPDs, ssNMR spectra, FTIR spectra, Raman spectra, DSCs, TGAs and GMS isotherms. The person skilled in the art understands that factors such as variations in instrument type, response and variations in sample directionality, sample concentration, sample purity, sample history and sample preparation may lead to variations for such data when presented in graphical form, for example variations relating to the exact peak positions and intensities. [page 7, ln. 13-21].
The art teaches that compounds can exists in multiple crystalline forms, and the gold standard to distinguish these forms is through XRPD. The XRPD consider to be the fingerprint in determining and identifying the particular crystalline form. In view of the instant specification, the claimed crystalline form of compound A is defined by XRPD peaks as shown in Figure 1, and in view of the art, the crystalline form of compound A is defined by Figure 1 and will be interpreted as the crystal form of Figure 1.
The claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. MPEP 2111. In particular, the reference to “Crystalline Form of compound A” in the instant specification and in the claims is always associated with the language “comprising” and “characterized by” regarding spectroscopic information i.e., XRPD peaks. Consistent with MPEP 2111.03, the claims are construed as being open-ended to allowing additional elements (“comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps). In this case, the claims are construed as allowing other spectroscopic information as well as other solid forms “characterized” by additional information.
However, in view of the above interpretation, crystalline form of compound A is not defined by the “open-ended” claims 1-9 and the recited XRPD peaks, instead, the crystalline form of compound A is defined by Figure 1.
Claim interpretation for “predetermined amount/effective amount
Claim 23 and 24 recite “the pharmaceutical composition according to claim18 comprising a predetermined and/or effective amount of said crystalline form.” The instant specification described the predetermined and effective amount as:
"A predetermined amount" as used herein with regard to Compound A, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a crystalline form thereof, refers to the initial amount of Compound A, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a crystalline form thereof, used for the preparation of a pharmaceutical composition having a desired dosage strength of Compound A. The term "effective amount" as used herein with regard to Compound A, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a crystalline form thereof, encompasses an amount of Compound A, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a crystalline form thereof, which causes the desired therapeutic and/or prophylactic effect. [page 7, ln. 25]. In one embodiment, the predetermined and/or effective amount may be in the range of from about 1 to 200 mg, preferably of from about 5 to 100 mg, and most preferably of from about 10 to 60 mg, such as from about 10 to 45 mg, calculated as free Compound A. For example, the predetermined and/or effective amount is selected from the group consisting of 1 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg, 25 mg, 30 mg, 35 mg, 40 mg, 45 mg, 50 mg, 55 mg, 60 mg, 65 mg, 70 mg, 75 mg, 80 mg, 85 mg, 90 mg, 95 mg, 100 mg, 105 mg, 110 mg, 115 mg, 120 mg, 125 mg, 130 mg, 135 mg, 140 mg, 145 mg, 150 mg, 155 mg, 160 mg, 165 mg, 170 mg, 175 mg, 180 mg, 185 mg, 190 mg, 195 mg and 200 mg, calculated as free Compound A. In a preferred embodiment, the predetermined and/or effective amount is selected from the group consisting of 1 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg, 30 mg, 45 mg, 50 mg and 60 mg, calculated as free Compound A. In a particularly preferred embodiment, the predetermined and/or effective amount is selected from the group consisting of 10 mg, 30 mg and 45 mg, calculated as free Compound A. Most preferably, the predetermined and/or effective amount is 30 mg or 45 mg, calculated as free Compound A. [page 47].
Thus, the terms “predetermined” and “effective amount” will be interpreted consistent with the specification.
Abstract
The Abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract recites “The present invention relates to a crystalline form of an MDM2-p53 inhibitor and methods for its preparation”. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns”, “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 15 recites “Use of the crystalline form according to claim 1 for the preparation of a pharmaceutical composition.” The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “Use" claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. Although a claim should be interpreted in light of the specification disclosure, it is generally considered improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims. See In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969) and In re Winkhaus, 527 F.2d 637, 188 USPQ 129 (CCPA 1975).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 17 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
§ 112(b)- Claim 17
In the present instance, claim 17 recites “Use of the crystalline form according to claim 1 for the preparation of a pharmaceutical composition”, without reciting the steps of using the process. Claiming a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process render the claim indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
Intended use of claim 17
Claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. MPEP § 2111.04 (citing In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir.2005). with respect to preamble phrases, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP § 2112.02(II) (citing Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")). The recitation in claim 17 is considered an intended use.
§ 112(b)- Claim 40
Claim 40 recites “… consisting of fillers (diluents), binders, …”. The recitation of the parentheses renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations in the parentheses are part of the claimed invention and further limit the excipients or are exemplary of the fillers. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the claim must apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of its scope so as to provide clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement. MPEP 2173.02(II); Solomon v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 216 F.3d 1372, 1379, 55 USPQ2d 1279, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
§ 103 Rejection over Rudolph in view of Barth and Morissette
Claims 1-9, 17-19, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over D. Rudolph et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0101079A1, 04/02/2020, “Rudolph” cited in the PTO-892) in view of J. Cornillie et al. Clin Transl Oncol 22, 546–554 (2020), “Cornillie” cited in the PTO-892), W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892).
Joint Inventorship
This application currently names joint assignee. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Rudolph teaches MDM2 inhibitors for treating cancer, wherein MDM2 inhibitors including MDM2 inhibitor 28, [[0015], [0082], Table 1, comp. 28, and claim 3]:
Rudolph teaches that the term “MDM2 inhibitor” as used herein also includes the MDM2 inhibitor in all its solid, preferably crystalline forms and in all the crystalline forms of its pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates and solvates. [0083]
However, Rudolph does not specifically teach the claimed crystalline form of Rudolph’s compound 28 or the spectroscopic characterization. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art need to specifically select compound 28 from Rudolph list.
Cornillie teaches the anti-tumor activity of the MDM2 inhibitor BI-907828. [Abstract]. BI-907828 is the code name of the MDM2 inhibitor taught by Rudolph and claimed in the instant application. Cornillie teaches that BI-907828 showed significant anti-tumor activity, BI-907828 significantly inhibited tumor growth in UZLX-STS5, tumors even disappeared completely after 15-day treatment with BI-907828, and no tumor regrowth was observed during the follow-up period. Cornillie teaches that BI-907828 showed a dose-dependent effect. [Abstract].
In the same art area, namely pharmaceutical preparations and their use in treating disease, Barth teaches the following:
“[c]rystalline forms of compounds are ordinarily preferable to the non-crystalline forms thereof. The crystalline materials have superior stability, appearance and handling characteristics when compared to their amorphous counterparts. For pharmaceutical use crystalline compounds are especially advantageous in manufacturing procedures and in formation and use of acceptable dosage forms such as solutions, suspensions, elixirs, tablets, capsules and various pharmaceutically elegant preparations required by the medical and pharmaceutical professions.” [Pg. 2, col. 1, ln. 60- col. 2, ln. 2].
Morissette teaches an automated high-throughput crystallization to form polymorphs, salts, co-crystals and solvate forms of pharmaceuticals [Title, abstract]. The prior art describes the successful application of the automated high-throughput technique to several known pharmaceuticals and details how thousands of crystallization conditions can be performed in parallel, computer analyzed and then used to produce the polymorphic forms of a given pharmaceutical [Page 296, para. 2].
At the time of invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to specifically pick compound 28 from Rudolph MDM2 inhibitors for preparing crystalline forms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Rudolph teaches that the MDM2 inhibitors including compound 28 are anti-cancer and anti-tumor agents and Cornillie teaches the effectiveness and potency of compound 28 (BI-907828) as anticancer agent. Cornillie teaches that compound 28 (BI-907828) significantly inhibited tumor growth with tumors even disappeared completely after 15-day treatment with BI-907828, and no tumor regrowth was observed during the follow-up period, [Abstract].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare crystalline forms of the Rudolph’s pharmaceutical compound MDM2 inhibitor compound 28 because Barth teaches that crystalline forms are preferred over non-crystalline forms; have superior stability; are preferred in formulation of dosage forms; and are advantageous in manufacturing procedures. [page 2, col. 1, ln. 60- col. 2, ln. 2].
One of ordinary skill in the art practicing the Rudolph’s pharmaceutical compound 28 would form a crystalline form in accordance with the specific teaching of Rudolph. Utilizing the routine “High-throughput salt selection” taught by Morissette [page 285-287] one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed invention. Specifically, because Rudolph teaches that crystalline forms of the MDM2 inhibitors, i.e., compound 28 are preferred. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention.
In the instant case one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in following the teaching of Rudolph and utilizing the well-known and routine automated high-throughput screening described by Morissette arrive at the claimed invention because such acts are conventional and routine in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be expected to apply methods within their technical grasp (such as automated high-throughput screening) to improve that which is already known in the art. The Supreme Court stated in KSR “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill.” KSR Intern. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1731 (2007). Here, the use of an automated system to screen a pharmaceutical salt for crystallization is well known and specifically taught by Morissette. Therefore, the method is within the technical grasp of those of ordinary skill in the art and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same method and apply it to the Rudolph’s compound 28.
Regarding the spectroscopic characterization of the obvious product, such properties are inherent in the product (MPEP 2112.02: "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered producing the crystalline salt form which would inherently show the same spectroscopic parameters as are in the claim. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, or ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977).
Thus, claims 1-9 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
With regard to claim 17-19, 21-22 and 25-28, Rudolph teaches a pharmaceutical composition or dosage form comprising an MDM2 inhibitor i.e., compound 28, and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients and/or vehicles, [0030], [0133], wherein the pharmaceutical composition is tablets prepared with excipients including diluents, disintegrants, binders, lubricants, etc. [0133]-[0135], wherein the excipients includes, for example, paraffins, vegetable oils, sugars, methylcellulose, starch, magnesium stearate, stearic acid and sodium lauryl sulphate. [0141], [0142]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the crystalline form of Rudolph, Cornillie, Barth and Morissette (established above) in preparing the pharmaceutical composition or dosage form of Rudolph. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Rudolph teaches that dosage form of MDM2 inhibitors in table 1, i.e., 28 is prepared by solid form of MDM2 inhibitor, i.e., 28 [0144]; Rudolph teaches that the MDM2 inhibitor i.e., 28 is use in all its solid, preferably crystalline, forms [0083]; and Barth teaches that crystalline forms of compounds are ordinarily preferable to the non-crystalline forms in preparing acceptable dosage forms such as tablets or capsules because the crystalline forms have superior stability, advantageous in manufacturing procedures, and handling characteristics when compared to their amorphous counterparts.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare Rudolph’s composition, i.e., tablet with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients including diluents, binders, and surfactant (sodium lauryl sulfate) using the crystalline form of MDM2 inhibitor, 28 taught by the combination of Rudolph, Morissette and Barth, and therefore, meet each and every limitation of claims 18-19, 21-22 and 25-28.
With regard to claims 23 and 24, Rudolph teaches that the dosage for oral use for MDM2 inhibitors, in particular for MDM2 inhibitors in table 1 (e.g., comp. 28), is from 1 mg to 2000 mg per dose, in a more preferred embodiment from 10 mg to 500 mg per dose; most preferred is from 10 mg to 100 mg per dose). All amounts given refer to the free base of the MDM2 inhibitor. [0144]. As described by MPEP 2144.05, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Moreover, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
§ 103 Rejection over Rudolph, Barth and Morissette in view Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients
Claims 20, 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over D. Rudolph et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0101079A1, 04/02/2020, “Rudolph” cited in the PTO-892) in view of J. Cornillie et al. Clin Transl Oncol 22, 546–554 (2020). “Cornillie” cited in the PTO-892), W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892) as applied above to claims 1-9, 18-19, 21-25-28, further in view of R. Rowe et al. (Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients, Retrieved from Internet archive: https://www.gmpua.com/RD/RD/HandbookPharmaceutical%20Excipients.pdf, 5th edition 2006, pages 687-689, cited in the PTO-892).
The combination of Rudolph, Morissette and Barth teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the crystalline form of MDM2 inhibitor comp. 28 (Compound A) and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients including diluents, binders, and surfactant (sodium lauryl sulfate). However, the combination of Rudolph, Morissette and Barth does not teach that the amount of sodium lauryl sulfate is 0.1-5%.
The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipient teaches that sodium lauryl sulfate (sodium lauryl sulfate is the other name for dodecyl sodium sulfate, see the Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipient, page 687, col. 1, Synonyms), is an anionic surfactant employed in a wide range of pharmaceutical formulations. It is a detergent and wetting agent effective in both alkaline and acidic conditions. [page 687, col. 1, last para.]. The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipient teaches that sodium lauryl sulfate use in an amount of 0.5-2.5% as an anionic surfactant. [Table I, page 687].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use sodium lauryl sulfate taught by Rudolph in an amount of 0.1-5% in preparing a pharmaceutical composition of the crystalline form of compound A because the combination of Rudolph, Morissette and Barth teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the crystalline form of MDM2 inhibitor Compound A and sodium lauryl sulfate, and the Handbook of pharmaceutical Excipient teaches that is sodium lauryl sulfate employed in a wide range of pharmaceutical formulations as an effective anionic surfactant in both alkaline and acidic conditions in an amount of 0.5-2.5%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use sodium lauryl sulfate (sodium dodecyl sulfate) at 0.1-0.5% because the Handbook of pharmaceutical Excipients teaches that sodium lauryl sulfate uses as an anionic surfactant in an amount of 0.5-2.5%. Moreover, MPEP 2144.05 explains that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, “Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Therefore, the combination of Rudolph, Morissette, Barth and the Handbook of pharmaceutical Excipients teach each and every limitation of claims 20 and 37-40.
Conclusion
Claims are 1-9, 17-28 and 37-40 rejected. No claim is allowed.
/M.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622