DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 19 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, the limitations “a first connecting part is arranged at one end of the tube body” and “a second connecting part is arranged at one end of the handle” in claim 1 are indefinite since it is unclear whether independent structures of first / second connecting parts are required (i.e. connecting structures separate from, but arranged at, the tube body and handle respectively) OR whether these structures may be incorporated portions of the tube body and handle respectively (i.e. threads on the tube/handle which screw together and/or shapes that snap fit etc.). See also third and fourth connecting parts as in claim 2 to which the same indefiniteness applies.
As best understood based on the drawings and specification, for purpose of examination and in order to expedite prosecution these connecting parts will be interpreted as the latter, portions of the body and handle respectively (see at least instant figs. 2 and 3; instant publication at [0011-12]; and instant claims 3 and 4).
However, positive recitation of the metes and bounds applicant intends to claim including the distinctness or integrality in the claimed parts is required.
Further, claim 5 recites limitations “a plurality of convex,”; “the plurality of convex is arranged at intervals”; and “each of the convex is correspondingly snapped”.
The term “convex” appears to be missing a structural modifier as the term generally references a shape. It is noted that these “convex” are not shown in the drawings (see however, instant publication at [0060-62] describing the convex).
As best understood for purpose of examination and in order to expedite prosecution these limitations along with the “plurality of clamping grooves” will be considered as referencing a structural part of a snap-fit attachment/fastening structure where the convex is considered as “convex structure” or “convex protrusion” or the like.
However, positive in claim recitation of the structural metes and bounds applicant intends to claim is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240310215; hereinafter Wang) in view of Sonnendorfer (US 20120225170).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a probe (abstract; see fig. 1), comprising:
a tube body (tube of portion 211; see fig. 5 and fig. 1), which defines a first mounting channel inside (see at least fig. 1 showing this mounting channel defined by the tube of element 211), wherein along a first direction (axial to the portions of the thermometer), a first connecting part is arranged at one end of the tube body (end portion of 211 away from tip; see at least figs. 2, 5 and 6), and a probe part (conical/pointed tip structure; see fig. 5) is arranged at other end of the tube body (see fig. 5 showing this arrangement at the other end of the tube body), so as to conduct heat through the probe part ([0121] teaches that the probe tip is inserted into food; [0025] teaches that “first temperature sensor is used to obtain internal temperature of the food through heat conduction of the probe portion”; see also abstract); and
a handle (at least “handle portion 212” with constituent portions; see also 213; [0121] “portion 213 has a metal structure and serves as a handle portion”; see figs. 1, 2 and 5), wherein a second connecting part is arranged at one end of the handle (end portion of 212 oriented toward the tip; see at least figs. 2, 5 and 6), and define a containing cavity between the tube body and the handle (see at least fig. 2 showing this defined containing cavity between the tube body and handle with at least element 250 therein; see also figs. 1 and 6 also showing this cavity).
Wang (as best understood; see 112(b) section above) does not directly state that the first connecting part is specifically connected to the second connecting part (teaching generally that all the housing parts “are connected sequentially” [0121]; see also [0133-134] and [0137] “housing 210 includes a probe portion 211 and a handle portion 212 connected to one end of the probe portion 211”; see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6).
Regardless, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a handle/grip (11; see fig. 3) connected via first and second connecting parts (threads on the tube and handle respectively; [0088] “the grip 11 may be formed separately and be connected with the tube 16, in particular by means of a press fit, wherein in alternative embodiments, a threaded connection, adhesive connection or the like may be provided.”; see also [0135]) forming a containing cavity between the tube body and handle/grip (see fig. 3 showing this configuration).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with specific connecting parts (threaded connection) connected together as in Sonnendorfer. This is because the need for connecting the parts/portions of housing is known from both Wang and Sonnendorfer as above and further using threaded parts which are connected to each other allows for simple and effective connecting/joining via screwing the parts/portions together. This is important in order to provide a stable and well-understood connection amongst the parts for an end user.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches that the handle comprises a body (at least main portion of 212/213) and a cover (see 280/240/215 in various drawings as examples of this end cap/cover), wherein the cover is arranged at one end of the body away from the tube body ([0107] teaches regarding “member 280 disposed at an end of the handle portion 212 away from the probe portion 211”; see also figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 showing various examples of the handle with a body and cover portions; see [0121] regarding elements 213/214/215); the body defines a second mounting channel (at least also figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 show this second mounting channel; see especially fig. 2 clearly showing the circuit may be mounted at least partially therein), and the second mounting channel is communicated with the first mounting channel to form the containing cavity (see fig. 2; see also figs. 1, 3-4 and 6); and a third connecting part is arranged at one end away from the tube body of the handle (at least the far end/edge of 212/213), a fourth connecting part is arranged at one end of the cover (at least end/edge of the cap/cover/end portion oriented toward the main handle portion).
Wang does not directly and specifically state that the fourth connecting part is connected to the third connecting part (teaching generally that all the housing parts “are connected sequentially” [0121]; see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6).
Regardless, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a handle/grip (11; see fig. 3) connected via first and second connecting parts (threads on the tube and handle respectively; [0088] “the grip 11 may be formed separately and be connected with the tube 16, in particular by means of a press fit, wherein in alternative embodiments, a threaded connection, adhesive connection or the like may be provided.”; see also [0135]) forming a containing cavity between the tube body and handle/grip (see fig. 3 showing this configuration).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with specific connecting parts (threaded connection) connected together as in Sonnendorfer. This is because the need for connecting the parts/portions of housing is known from both Wang and Sonnendorfer as above and further using threaded parts which are connected to each other allows for simple and effective connecting/joining via screwing the parts/portions together. This is important in order to provide a stable and well-understood connection amongst the parts for an end user.
Regarding claim 3, Wang lacks direct and specific teaching that the first connecting part is a first thread, the second connecting part is a second thread, and the first connecting part is threadedly connected to the second connecting part.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a handle/grip (11; see fig. 3) connected via first and second connecting parts (threads on the tube and handle respectively; [0088] “the grip 11 may be formed separately and be connected with the tube 16, in particular by means of a press fit, wherein in alternative embodiments, a threaded connection, adhesive connection or the like may be provided.”; see also [0135]) forming a containing cavity between the tube body and handle/grip (see fig. 3 showing this configuration).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with specific connecting parts (threaded connection) connected together as in Sonnendorfer. This is because the need for connecting the parts/portions of housing is known from both Wang and Sonnendorfer as above and further using threaded parts which are connected to each other allows for simple and effective connecting/joining via screwing the parts/portions together. This is important in order to provide a stable and well-understood connection amongst the parts for an end user.
Regarding claim 4, Wang lacks direct and specific teaching that the third connecting part is a third thread, the fourth connecting part is a fourth thread, and the third connecting part is threadedly connected to the fourth connecting part.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a handle/grip (11; see fig. 3) connected via first and second connecting parts (threads on the tube and handle respectively; [0088] “the grip 11 may be formed separately and be connected with the tube 16, in particular by means of a press fit, wherein in alternative embodiments, a threaded connection, adhesive connection or the like may be provided.”; see also [0135]) forming a containing cavity between the tube body and handle/grip (see fig. 3 showing this configuration).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with specific connecting parts (threaded connection) connected together as in Sonnendorfer. This is because the need for connecting the parts/portions of housing is known from both Wang and Sonnendorfer as above and further using threaded parts which are connected to each other allows for simple and effective connecting/joining via screwing the parts/portions together. This is important in order to provide a stable and well-understood connection amongst the parts for an end user.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches that the body is a ceramic body ([0123] teaches that at least element 114 which is part of the body is “a ceramic member”).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching that the cover is a stainless-steel cover.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a handle/grip (11; see fig. 3) which may be stainless steel ([0090] “also the grip 11 and/or the tip 23, are made from food-grade stainless steel”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with stainless steel grip/end portion as in Sonnendorfer. This is because stainless steel allows for having a material with “resistance with respect to heat, detergents and mechanical stress” (Sonnendorfer at [0090]). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 8, Wang lacks direct and specific teaching that the tube body is a stainless-steel tube.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) where the tube may be stainless steel ([0090] “housing tube 16, … made from food-grade stainless steel”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with stainless steel tube portion as in Sonnendorfer. This is because stainless steel allows for having a material with “resistance with respect to heat, detergents and mechanical stress” (Sonnendorfer at [0090]). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches that a shape of the probe part comprises at least any one of a cone or a polygonal pyramid (see at least fig. 1 showing that the tip / probe is a cone).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 11, Wang lacks direct and specific teaching that the elastic member comprises at least any one of a spring, an air cushion, an elastic rubber, an elastic support.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a spring (17; [0098]; see fig. 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connected portions of the probe of Wang with the knowledge of using the probe with spring as in Sonnendorfer. This is because the spring allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Claims 5, 7, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240310215; hereinafter Wang) as modified by Sonnendorfer (US 20120225170) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above and further in view of Seitel et al. (US 20200187900, hereinafter Seitel).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Sonnendorfer lacks direct and specific teaching that the first connecting part comprises a plurality of convex, and the plurality of convex is arranged at intervals at a circumferential direction of the tube body; the second connecting part comprises a plurality of clamping grooves, and the plurality of clamping grooves are arranged at intervals at inner wall of the handle; and each of the convex is correspondingly snapped with one of the clamping grooves.
However, Seitel teaches a probe (abstract) with a variety of options for connection elements ([0021-23] teaching many connection elements are known including “snap-fit” fasteners and connections) and further shows that some of the connection elements may be convex (see at least fig. 3A showing convex elements 122, 126; see [0052] “component 122 may be a snap-fit fastener”) and correspond to grooves/indents (see fig. 3A).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the connections of Wang as modified by Sonnendorfer with the specific knowledge of using the convex snap-fit elements with grooves / indentions or other applicable connection structures as taught in Seitel. This is because such convex and groove connection structures allow for securely attaching components. This is important in order to provide a robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Sonnendorfer lacks direct and specific teaching that an anti-slip layer is arranged at a surface of the body.
However, Seitel teaches a probe (abstract) having a surface or surfaces with “a layer of anti-slip material” ([0026]; see also [0056]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the probe of Wang as modified by Sonnendorfer with the specific knowledge of using anti-slip material for a probe of Seitel. This is because such material helps to prevent sliding on the surface to which it is applied. This is important in order to foster a better environment for preventing relative movement between the probe and an end user.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches that the probe further comprises a supercapacitor (270; [0099] “the power storage element 270 is a supercapacitor”; see also [0111] and [0146]) and a control board arranged in the containing cavity (250; [0092]; see also [0006]; [0015]); and one end of the control board is connected to the supercapacitor ([0099] “the power storage element 270 is electrically connected to the main control board 250”; [0015]; see at least fig. 2), and the other end of the control board abuts against the handle (see fig. 2 showing this configuration).
Wang lacks direct and specific teaching regarding an elastic member, and where one end of the elastic member abuts against the probe part, and the other end of the elastic member abuts against the power storage element.
However, Sonnendorfer teaches a probe (see at least fig. 3; see also abstract) having a tube body, with a mounting channel therein (fig. 3 showing at least a power source, circuit board, sensor(s) and spring mounted in the tube 16) with a power storage / voltage source (7) and an elastic member / spring (17) where the spring abuts the probe and the voltage source (see fig. 3 showing the probe, spring and the power source abutting with the spring in the middle; [0098]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the probe with a supercapacitor for power source of Wang with the knowledge of using the spring abutting the power / voltage source and probe part as in Sonnendorfer. This is because such spring placement allows for bracing the components and providing electrical connectivity ([0098] of Sonnendorfer). This is important in order to provide robust device to an end user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN/ SPE, Art Unit 2855