DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 4: “the light emitting unit” lacks proper antecedent basis. A light emitting unit was recited in claim 5, from which claim 6 does not depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penders (US 2018/0000405).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 20, Penders discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 5A and 10A shown above for example), including a bio-signal measurement device (abstract) comprising a sensor that collects a user’s bio-signal (Figure 5A: 18; Paragraph 73), and a dock that is installed on a body-wearable and/or body-attachable product and has a space for mounting the sensor (e.g. Figure 5A: near 50; Paragraph 95), wherein the sensor and the dock are detachable and attachable to each other using magnetism (Paragraph 95, middle: permanent magnet, ferromagnet).
Regarding claim 2, Penders discloses a guide member as recited (Paragraph 97).
Regarding claims 4, 19, Penders discloses detecting docking state and controlling sensor on/off states as recited (Paragraph 88).
Regarding claim 5, Penders discloses a light emitting unit as recited (Paragraph 86).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Penders discloses a power supply unit (Paragraph 75) and user input as recited (Paragraph 108).
Regarding claims 7, 14, Penders discloses at least two sensor types as recited (Paragraphs 58-62).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Penders discloses at least one type of wearable product as recited (Paragraphs 55, 62).
Regarding claims 9-10, 13, 20, Penders discloses determining a product type information as recited (Paragraph 87).
Regarding claims 11, 15, Penders discloses at least two modes as recited (Paragraphs 16-18, 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penders (US 2018/0000405) in view of Oleson (US 2015/0342269).
Regarding claim 3, Penders does not disclose a detachment groove. However, Oleson teaches including a detachment groove as recited (Figure 6A: at 97), in order to more easily undock the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Penders as taught by Oleson to include a detachment groove as recited, in order to more easily undock the device.
Claim(s) 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penders (US 2018/0000405) in view of Jariwala (US 2022/0265214).
Regarding claims 12, 17, Penders discloses the device may be rechargeable (Paragraph 75), but does not disclose the charger and communication circuit as recited. However, Jariwala teaches a wearable sensor system that includes a charger and communication unit as recited (Paragraph 27), in order to recharge the wearable sensor and extract sensor data from the sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Penders as taught by Jariwala to include a charger and communication circuit as recited, in order to recharge the wearable sensor and extract sensor data from the sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stone (US 2014/0296651) shows a magnetically docking wearable sensor.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796