DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 7-13 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a nozzle, as required by claim1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toraason (US 5242033 A).
Regarding claim 1, Toraason discloses a gearwheel arrangement (see Fig. 1-3), comprising: a gearwheel (14) configured to be rotatable about an axis of rotation (rotation axis of 14), the gearwheel comprising a gearwheel body (body of 14) and an annular gear tooth section (section comprising 14a and 26) extending around the gearwheel body, the gear tooth section comprising a plurality of external gear teeth (14a), wherein the gear tooth section includes an annular flange (26) formed integrally with the gearwheel (see column 4 lines 13-15, wherein the guide lip 26 is an annulus that may be integrally formed with the gear) and delimiting at least one radially inwardly facing surface (radially inward surface of 26a) in an axial direction (via 26b), wherein at least a part of the gear tooth section extends past a radially outer portion of the gearwheel body in an axial direction of the gearwheel (see Fig. 1, 26 extends past a radially outer portion of 14 in the axial direction of 14), so that the at least one radially inwardly facing surface is provided opposite of the external gear teeth (see Fig. 2 and 3, wherein the radially inward surface of 26a is provide on the left side of the gear tooth section, and the external gear teeth 14a are provided on the right side of the gear tooth section, i.e., provided on opposite sides) for guiding a cooling fluid toward the at least one radially inwardly facing surface so as to cool the gear tooth section during rotation of the gearwheel about the axis of rotation (see column 3 lines 53-56, wherein the present invention uses basic heat transfer principles to remove heat from the area of the gear teeth by circulating a coolant, such as lubricating oil through passages provided in the area of the teeth), wherein the annular flange controls a flow of the cooling fluid and prevents the cooling fluid from flowing off the at least one radially inwardly facing surface in an uncontrolled way (see column 4 lines 9-13, wherein a fundamental aspect of the present invention is that no fluid introduced for cooling purposes should be splattered loose in the gear box, and thus, the system 10 according to the present invention includes a guide lip 26 connected to one side of the gear 14), wherein the means for guiding the cooling fluid toward the at least one radially inwardly facing surface comprises a conduit (38b) having an outlet (see annotated Fig. 3 below, outlet A) via which the cooling fluid may be provided to the at least one radially inwardly facing surface, wherein the conduit is arranged separately from the gearwheel (see Fig. 1, wherein 38b is arranged separately from 14), wherein the outlet comprises a nozzle (see annotated Fig. 3 below, nozzle B) provided radially inside of the at least one radially inwardly facing surface (see annotated Fig. 3 below, wherein nozzle B is provided radially inside of the radially inward surface of 26a), and wherein the annular gear tooth section of the gearwheel arrangement does not comprise any conduit or bore (see Fig. 1-3, wherein the section comprising 14a does not comprise any conduit or bore; note that passages 22 are formed in the body of 14 and not the section comprising 14a and 26).
Regarding claim 2, Toraason discloses the at least one radially inwardly facing surface (surface A) comprises a first annular surface (see annotated Fig. 3 below, right side of surface A) extending between a first side surface of the gear tooth section (left side surface of the section comprising 14a) and a first side surface of the gearwheel body (left side surface of 14).
Regarding claim 3, Toraason discloses the at least one radially inwardly facing surface further comprises a second annular surface (see annotated Fig. 3 below, surface B) extending between a second side surface of the gear tooth section (right side surface of the section comprising 14a) and a second side surface of the gearwheel body (right side surface of 14), the first and the second annular surfaces being formed on axially opposite sides of the radially outer portion of the gearwheel body (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Toraason discloses the at least one radially inwardly facing surface (surface A) forms part of at least one annular groove (see annotated Fig. 3 below, wherein the left side of surface A forms a groove) extending around the axis of rotation (rotation axis of 14).
Regarding claim 7, Toraason discloses the means (34, 36, 38a, 38, 38b, 24) for guiding the cooling fluid further comprises a pump (38) for providing the cooling fluid to the outlet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Toraason discloses a transmission (see Fig. 1) for a vehicle (see column 1 line 53, wherein an aircraft is disclosed), the transmission comprising a shaft (20) extending in the axial direction and the gearwheel arrangement according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), the gearwheel of the gearwheel arrangement being provided on the shaft (see Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly (US 9828924 B1) in view of Toraason (US 5242033 A).
Regarding claim 9, Connolly discloses a powertrain of a vehicle (see Fig. 1, 10). Connolly fails to disclose the transmission according to claim 8. However, Toraason teaches the transmission according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Connolly with the transmission of claim 8, as taught by Toraason, to provide a high speed gear cooling system in which a separate flow circuit is provided for removal of heat, separate and apart from lubrication systems; to provide a high speed gear cooling system which minimizes splatter and lubricant impingement inside the gear box; and the present invention is to provide a high speed gear cooling system capable of scavenging all or nearly all of the cooling fluid that is introduced into the gear box (see column 2 lines 36-46).
Regarding claim 10, Toraason discloses at least one electric machine (26) configured for propulsion of the vehicle (see Fig. 1), and/or at least one other propulsion unit configured to be operated at a rotational speed to recover heat from exhaust.
Regarding claim 11, Connolly discloses a vehicle (see Fig. 1), a transmission (32) comprising a shaft (34) extending in the axial direction, and a powertrain (10) comprising at least one electric machine (26) configured for propulsion of the vehicle (see Fig. 1), and/or at least one other propulsion unit configured to be operated at a rotational speed. Connolly fails to disclose the gearwheel arrangement according to claim 1. However, Toraason teaches the gearwheel arrangement according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 8 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Connolly with the transmission of claim 8, as taught by Toraason, to provide a high speed gear cooling system in which a separate flow circuit is provided for removal of heat, separate and apart from lubrication systems; to provide a high speed gear cooling system which minimizes splatter and lubricant impingement inside the gear box; and the present invention is to provide a high speed gear cooling system capable of scavenging all or nearly all of the cooling fluid that is introduced into the gear box (see column 2 lines 36-46).
Regarding claim 12, Connolly discloses a powertrain of a vehicle (10). Connolly fails to disclose the gearwheel arrangement according to claim 1. However, Toraason teaches the gearwheel arrangement according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 8 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Connolly with the transmission of claim 8, as taught by Toraason, to provide a high speed gear cooling system in which a separate flow circuit is provided for removal of heat, separate and apart from lubrication systems; to provide a high speed gear cooling system which minimizes splatter and lubricant impingement inside the gear box; and the present invention is to provide a high speed gear cooling system capable of scavenging all or nearly all of the cooling fluid that is introduced into the gear box (see column 2 lines 36-46).
Regarding claim 13, Connolly discloses at least one electric machine (26) configured for propulsion of the vehicle (see Fig. 1), and/or at least one other propulsion unit configured to be operated at a rotational speed to recover heat from exhaust.
1 - Toraason (US 5242033 A) Fig. 3 Annotated
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner notes that while the same prior art is relied upon, the rejection of claim 1 cites different portions of the prior art, which was necessitated by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Toraason fails to disclose “the at least one radially inwardly facing surface is provided opposite of the external gear teeth”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the Examiner notes that MPEP 2111.01(III) states “In the absence of an express intent to impart a novel meaning to the claim terms, the words are presumed to take on the ordinary and customary meanings attributed to them by those of ordinary skill in the art…[T]he ordinary and customary meaning of a claim term is the meaning that the term would have to a person of ordinary skill in the art in question at the time of the invention.” In this instance, the specification fails to set forth any special definition of the claim term “opposite”, and must be given its ordinary and customary meaning. Merriam-Webster defines opposite as “on or to an opposite side”. Second, the Examiner notes that claim 1 reads “an annular tooth section…the gear tooth section comprising a plurality of external teeth, wherein the gear tooth section includes an annular flange. As can be seen in the rejection above and in Fig. 2-3 of Toraason, the annular tooth section comprises the portion of 14 comprising teeth 14a, i.e., the portion of 14 above the dashed line in Fig. 3, and the flange 26. The flange 26 comprises the inwardly facing surface of 26a. The portion of 14 comprising teeth 14a is shown on the right side of the gear tooth section, and the inwardly facing surface of 26a is shown on the left side of the gear tooth section. In other words, the inwardly facing surface of 26a is opposite the external gear teeth. Therefore, Toraason discloses “the at least one radially inwardly facing surface is provided opposite of the external gear teeth”.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Toraason fails to disclose “the outlet comprises a nozzle provided radially inside of the at least one radially inwardly facing surface”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen from the rejection of claim1 above, Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 3 of Toraason, a conduit 38b is shown. At the end of the conduit, an outlet B is disclosed and a nozzle B. The nozzle B is provided radially inside of the radially inward facing surface of 26a. Therefore, Toraason discloses “the outlet comprises a nozzle provided radially inside of the at least one radially inwardly facing surface”. The Examiner notes that Applicant’s own drawings do not show a nozzle. Applicant’s Fig. 2 shows conduit 20 and outlet 21 at the end of the conduit. If Applicant wishes for “a nozzle” to be included in the claims, it must be shown in the drawings.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Toraason fails to disclose “the annular gear tooth section of the gearwheel arrangement does not comprise an conduit or bore”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in the rejection of claim 1 above, Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 3 of Toraason, the annular tooth section comprises the portion of 14 comprising teeth 14a, i.e., the portion of 14 above the dashed line in Fig. 3, and the flange 26. There are no conduits or bores in the annular tooth section. The Examiner notes that in Fig. 2, the passages 22 are provided in the gearwheel body, and not in the annular tooth section. Therefore, Toraason discloses “the annular gear tooth section of the gearwheel arrangement does not comprise an conduit or bore”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618