DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 31b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawiedczyk et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20060160429 A1).
As per claim 1, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, comprising: an electrically conductive base body 24 defining a mating opening (along 6) and having a connector mating portion (along 6) adapted to receive a mating connector 100 inserted through the mating opening (along 6); and a keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) removably inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6) and defining a keying portion 1207 extending into an interior (seen in figure 3 and 9) thereof and adapted (seen in figure 3 and 9) to permit a correspondingly shaped mating connector 100 to be inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 2, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the connector 8 is adapted such that, when the mating connector 100 inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6), only a front end portion (along 346) of the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) on the mating opening (along 6) side is exposed from the base body 24.
As per claim 3, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the base body 24 includes a catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in) opened through an outer face (of 24) and inside the connector mating portion (along 6), the catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in) adapted to retain the mating connector 100 within the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 4, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) has an opening (along 106, see figure 9) corresponding to the catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in) of the base body 24 and adapted to permit a portion of the mating connector 100 to pass therethrough to engage with the catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in).
As per claim 5, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the base body 24 includes an insertion-mount portion (see paragraph 9) adapted to be inserted into a circuit board 4 and soldered (see paragraph 44) thereto.
As per claim 6, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the base body 24 further includes a surface-mount portion (see paragraph 9 and 29) adapted to contact 20 a surface of the circuit board 4 when the insertion-mount portion (see paragraph 9) is inserted into the circuit board 4, and adapted to be soldered (see paragraph 44) to the surface of the circuit board 4.
As per claim 7, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, further comprising a contact 20, including: a board connecting portion (20 along 6) adapted to be soldered (see paragraph 44) to the circuit board 4; and a contacting portion 70 extending inside the connector mating portion (along 6) and adapted to contact 20 a contact 20 of the mating connector 100 in the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 8, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the base body 24 is a metal die casting (see paragraph 4 and 19).
As per claim 9, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) is a monolithic element (shown in figure 12, 1207 along 1204) formed from resin (see paragraph 4 and 19).
As per claim 10, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) is one of a plurality of types of keying members (along 346, see paragraph 70) having different colors for each of a plurality of corresponding types of mating connectors 100 differently keyed (see figure 3, 10).
As per claim 11, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) includes a plurality of catch lugs 1135 engaging with corresponding openings (along 106, see figure 9) of the base body 24 and retaining the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) within the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 12, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector 8, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) defines a flange (along 1118) abutting an outer surface (1118 along 1102) of the base body 24 with the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 13, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, comprising: a connector 8, including: an electrically conductive base body 24 defining a mating opening (along 6) and having a connector mating portion (along 6) adapted to receive a mating connector 100 inserted through the mating opening (along 6); and a keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) removably inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6) and defining a keying portion 1207 extending into an interior thereof and adapted to permit a correspondingly shaped mating connector 100 to be inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6); and a mating connector 100 inserted into the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) and the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 14, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, wherein, with the mating connector 100 inserted into the connector mating portion (along 6), a front end portion (along 346) of the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) on the mating opening (along 6) side is exposed from the base body 24.
As per claim 15, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, wherein the base body 24 includes a catch inside (along surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in) the connector mating portion (along 6) and engaging with the mating connector 100 to retain the mating connector 100 within the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 16, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, wherein the keying member (along 346, see paragraph 70) has an opening (along 106, see figure 9) corresponding to the catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in) of the base body 24 and adapted to permit a portion of the mating connector 100 to pass therethrough to engage with the catch hole (surface between 24 and 8, where 130 fits in).
As per claim 17, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, further comprising a circuit board 4.
As per claim 18, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, wherein the base body 24 includes: an insertion-mount portion (see paragraph 9) inserted into a circuit board 4 and soldered (see paragraph 44) thereto; and a surface-mount portion (see paragraph 9 and 29) contacting (along 20) a surface of the circuit board 4 when the insertion-mount portion (see paragraph 9) is inserted into the circuit board 4, and soldered (see paragraph 44) to the surface of the circuit board 4.
As per claim 19, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, further comprising a contact 20, including: “a board connecting portion (20 along 6) soldered (see paragraph 44) to the circuit board 4; and a contacting portion 70 extending inside the connector mating portion (along 6) and contacting (along 20) a contact 20 of the mating connector 100 in the connector mating portion (along 6).
As per claim 20, Dawiedczyk teaches a connector assembly 2, wherein the connector 8 and the circuit board 4 are arranged within an enclosure 106.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831