DETAILED ACTION
Request of Continued Examination
This action is in response to applicant’s Request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 08/10/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 08/10/2026. Claims 1, 5, 8, 15, 17 and 18 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20180062442 A1) in view of Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1), and in further view of Manova-Elssibony (US 20160204643 A1).
Consider claim 1, Qiu discloses an apparatus for wireless charging (read as wireless energy transfer system 200, in which transmitter device 202 transfers energy to receiver deices 204, 206 and 208 for charging a rechargeable battery, figure 2, par [0047] and [0056]-[0057]) comprising:
a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel includes an output port for connection to a poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas for wirelessly charging a distinct listener device of a plurality of listener devices (read as transmitter device 202 (poller transmitter), in which shared power converter 210 supplies three respective paths (antenna interface channels) through signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and transmitter resonate circuitry 220, 222 and 224; the output of each transmitter resonant circuitry corresponds to the antenna interface channel’s output port and is electrically coupled to a respective transmitter coil 226, 228 and 230; each coil transfers energy to a distinct receiver device 204, 206 and 208 (listener devices) through its corresponding receiver coil, figure 2, par [0038], [0049] and [0052]-[0053]);
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as signal converter 214, 216 and 218 generating respective AC coil signals for the three resonant circuit paths; the signal characteristics would be customized so that a unique or individualized AC coil signal is supplied through each respective path and transmitter coil to its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0037] and [0049]-[0050]);
wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to: establish a near-field communication (NFC) link with each listener device of the plurality of listener devices (read as communication circuitry 256 and 258 establishing communication channel 260, which would be implemented as Near Field Communication (NFC) with NFC link; and having similarly configured receiver communication circuitry for receiver devices 206 and 208 and multiple communication circuitry in transmitter device 202, with the NFC implementation, the respective circuits provide the NFC link with each receiver device, figure 2, par [0047], [0066] and [0070]-[0071]);
receive, over the NFC link with each listener device, listener data (read as with the NFC implementation with NFC link above, a receiver device transmitting communication signals identifying its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260, and the transmitter device 202 receive each receiver device’s type (listener data) over the respective NFC link, figures 2 and 7, par [0066], [0070] and [0116]);
select, for each respective listener device, a respective antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as processing device 248 using receiver identity to determine which signal converter 214, 216 and 218 receives switch signals when energy is transferred to one or more receiver devices; each signal converter is connected to a fixed respective transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, so selecting the converter selects the antenna interface channel path associated with the respective receiver device, figure 2, par [0049], [0052], [0062] and [0068]); and
configure the selected respective antenna interface channel for the respective listener device based on the listener data received over the NFC link (read as the receiver device transmitting its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260 in the NFC implementation with NFC link, the transmitter determines switch signal characteristics based on the receiver device type and sends the switch signals to a particular trailing half bridge; the switch signals customize the AC coil signal supplied through the selected converter and resonant circuitry path, configuring that path for the respective receiver device according to the received receiver device type (listener data), figures 2 and 7, par [0050], [0066], [0116] and [0119]); and
wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as dynamically configurable shared power converter in which each trailing half bridge operates with the leading half bridge as an independent full bridge phase shift inverter; the AC signal supplied to each transmitter coil is independently regulated, producing a unique or individualized AC coil signal for its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0006], [0027] and [0037]).
However, Qiu discloses the claimed invention above and respective resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224 supplied with independently regulated AC coil signals (figures 2 and 3, par [0006], [0037], [0050] and [0052]) but does not specifically disclose adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels.
Nonetheless, Truettner discloses independent impedance matching networks for a wireless charging system, comprising impedance matching network 275 with switching network 278 that selects electrical components to set a specific antenna impedance for each antennas 262-268 within transmitting antenna 260; each antenna is independently controllable and would have its own impedance matching network and impedance setting; structurally, the corresponding separate networks and independent control permit the controller 200 to change one antenna path’s switch and impedance setting while leaving the switching and impedance settings of the other antenna paths unchanged, figures 2, 9 and 10, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, to configure Qiu’s respective transmitter resonant paths using a separate independently controllable impedance matching network for each antenna, with the selected network adjusted while other network settings remain unchanged, in order to maintain maximum wireless power transfer for each receiver by setting its antenna path to the respective impedance (see par [0022] and [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
However, Qiu, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above with separate independently controlled impedance setting for each respective transmitter path/channel (see par [0049]-[0050] and [0052] of Qiu, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045] of Truettner) but does not specifically disclose adjusting the impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a charging state of the respective listener device.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony discloses impedance control responsive to charging state, comprising monitoring a receiving unit 102’s battery/second cell 124’s charging state through changes in impedance mismatch and controlling adaptive impedance matching unit 118 of transmitting unit 101; as secondary cell/battery 124 accumulates charge, the receiver impedance and transmitter return loss S11 change; controller 114 uses that feedback and the detected charging process state to control the adaptive impedance matching unit 118 and change the transmitting unit’s impedance matching network, figure 3, par [0046], [0097] and [0101]-[0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner, to configure each of Qiu’s independently matched transmitter path using Manova-Elssibony’s battery state monitoring and adaptive impedance matching, in order to restore impedance matching and high transfer efficiency when charging the receiver’s battery changes the receiver impedance (see par [0097] and [0100]-[0102] of Manova-Elssibony).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as shared power converter 300 selectively operating a respective transmitter path accordingly to which trailing half bridge 304, 306 or 308 receives switch signal; and selectively activating two individual transmitter coils and transferring energy through their respective paths sequentially, which permits the first antenna interface channel/path to operate separately from the second antenna interface channel/path, figure 3, par [0027] and [0083]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second output of the second antenna interface channel (read as first and second transmitter paths comprising respective signal converters 214, 216, transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and transmitter coils 226 and 228; signal converters 214 and 216 generate respective AC coil signals and the corresponding resonant circuit outputs supply those signals to the first and second transmitter coils,; the related bridge configuration provides AC coil signal 404 across first transmitter coil 318 and AC coil signal 504 across second transmitter coil 328, which separately controlled signal characteristics, figures 2-5C, par [0049], [0052], [0090] and [0100]) but does not specifically disclose wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output.
Nonetheless, Truettner further discloses different respective charging powers control, in which the charger controller 200 adjusting a charging power and providing power to the transmitter antenna 260; the controller 200 performs the charging process independently for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, which would receiver different charging powers according to their respective capacities, figures 9-10, par [0044]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure each of Qiu’s first and second transmitter paths using Truettner’s different respective charging powers control, in order to supply each receiver with power suited to its battery capacity while retaining independent multi-device charging (see par [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
However, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above with first and second outputs of the first and second antennas having different powers but does not specifically disclose with first and second outputs of the first and second antennas are respective RF outputs.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony further discloses respective controlled RF outputs, in which two transmitter sub-units 112 and 112’ that generate and transfer respective RF signals to the transmitting antennas 110 and 110’; the respective transmitter to antenna signal paths thus provide first and second RF outputs/energy, and controller 114 controls the power of the signal issued through such a path, figures 3 and 5, par [0088] and [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure Qiu’s wireless charging system to produce RF signal outputs using Manova-Elssibony’s respective RF signal outputs, in order to use RF output signals for wireless charging as RF output signals enable sending RF energy over longer charging distances.
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the listener data comprises an identifier of the respective listener device (read as receiver device transmitting its receiver device type, which would specific its make or model, to the transmitter device; that transmitted type information identifies the respective receiver device and thus provide an identifier in the listener data, figure 7, par [0114] and [0116]) and monitoring the charging level of receiver battery and transmitting a communication signal when the battery reaches a sufficient level (figure 7, par [0120]) but does not specifically the listener data comprising the current charge level of the battery of the respective listener device.
Nonetheless, Truettner further discloses battery pack controller 500 transmitting battery pack charging parameters to charger controller 200 through second communication circuit 550 and identifies each battery pack’s charging capacity and charging state, including charging complete, as per-battery charging information, which corresponds to respective receiver device’s battery current charge level information in the transmitted charging parameters, figures 2, 3 and 5, par [0028]-[0030] and [0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure Qiu’s receiver communication to carry the battery charging level information, in order to allow the transmitter device to control the identified receiver’s charging according to its current battery condition (see par [0028]-[0030] and [0039]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as three respective transmitter paths comprising signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and corresponding transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, each connected to a respective transmitter coil, figure 2, par [0049] and [0052]).
Consider claim 8, Qiu discloses a system for wireless charging (read as wireless energy transfer system 200, in which transmitter device 202 transfers energy to receiver deices 204, 206 and 208 for charging a rechargeable battery, figure 2, par [0047] and [0056]-[0057]) comprising:
battery (read as rechargeable battery, figure 2, par [0056]-[0057]);
a poller transmitter electrically connected to the battery and electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to an associated poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas (read as transmitter device 202 (poller transmitter), in which shared power converter 210 supplies three respective paths (antenna interface channels) through signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and transmitter resonate circuitry 220, 222 and 224; the output of each transmitter resonant circuitry corresponds to the antenna interface channel’s output port and is electrically coupled to a respective transmitter coil 226, 228 and 230; each coil transfers energy to a distinct receiver device 204, 206 and 208 (listener devices) through its corresponding receiver coil, figure 2, par [0038], [0049] and [0052]-[0053]);
wherein each of the plurality of poller antennas is electrically connected to a different one of the plurality of antenna interface channels;
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as signal converter 214, 216 and 218 generating respective AC coil signals for the three resonant circuit paths; the signal characteristics would be customized so that a unique or individualized AC coil signal is supplied through each respective path and transmitter coil to its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0037] and [0049]-[0050]);
wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to: establish a near-field communication (NFC) link with each listener device of the plurality of listener devices (read as communication circuitry 256 and 258 establishing communication channel 260, which would be implemented as Near Field Communication (NFC) with NFC link; and having similarly configured receiver communication circuitry for receiver devices 206 and 208 and multiple communication circuitry in transmitter device 202, with the NFC implementation, the respective circuits provide the NFC link with each receiver device, figure 2, par [0047], [0066] and [0070]-[0071]);
receive, over the NFC link with each listener device, listener data (read as with the NFC implementation with NFC link above, a receiver device transmitting communication signals identifying its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260, and the transmitter device 202 receive each receiver device’s type (listener data) over the respective NFC link, figures 2 and 7, par [0066], [0070] and [0116]);
select, for each respective listener device, a respective antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as processing device 248 using receiver identity to determine which signal converter 214, 216 and 218 receives switch signals when energy is transferred to one or more receiver devices; each signal converter is connected to a fixed respective transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, so selecting the converter selects the antenna interface channel path associated with the respective receiver device, figure 2, par [0049], [0052], [0062] and [0068]); and configure the selected respective antenna interface channel for the respective listener device based on the listener data received over the NFC link (read as the receiver device transmitting its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260 in the NFC implementation with NFC link, the transmitter determines switch signal characteristics based on the receiver device type and sends the switch signals to a particular trailing half bridge; the switch signals customize the AC coil signal supplied through the selected converter and resonant circuitry path, configuring that path for the respective receiver device according to the received receiver device type (listener data), figures 2 and 7, par [0050], [0066], [0116] and [0119]); and
wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as dynamically configurable shared power converter in which each trailing half bridge operates with the leading half bridge as an independent full bridge phase shift inverter; the AC signal supplied to each transmitter coil is independently regulated, producing a unique or individualized AC coil signal for its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0006], [0027] and [0037]).
However, Qiu discloses the claimed invention above and respective resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224 supplied with independently regulated AC coil signals (figures 2 and 3, par [0006], [0037], [0050] and [0052]) but does not specifically disclose adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels.
Nonetheless, Truettner discloses independent impedance matching networks for a wireless charging system, comprising impedance matching network 275 with switching network 278 that selects electrical components to set a specific antenna impedance for each antennas 262-268 within transmitting antenna 260; each antenna is independently controllable and would have its own impedance matching network and impedance setting; structurally, the corresponding separate networks and independent control permit the controller 200 to change one antenna path’s switch and impedance setting while leaving the switching and impedance settings of the other antenna paths unchanged, figures 2, 9 and 10, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, to configure Qiu’s respective transmitter resonant paths using a separate independently controllable impedance matching network for each antenna, with the selected network adjusted while other network settings remain unchanged, in order to maintain maximum wireless power transfer for each receiver by setting its antenna path to the respective impedance (see par [0022] and [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
However, Qiu, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above with separate independently controlled impedance setting for each respective transmitter path/channel (see par [0049]-[0050] and [0052] of Qiu, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045] of Truettner) but does not specifically disclose adjusting the impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a charging state of the respective listener device.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony discloses impedance control responsive to charging state, comprising monitoring a receiving unit 102’s battery/second cell 124’s charging state through changes in impedance mismatch and controlling adaptive impedance matching unit 118 of transmitting unit 101; as secondary cell/battery 124 accumulates charge, the receiver impedance and transmitter return loss S11 change; controller 114 uses that feedback and the detected charging process state to control the adaptive impedance matching unit 118 and change the transmitting unit’s impedance matching network, figure 3, par [0046], [0097] and [0101]-[0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner, to configure each of Qiu’s independently matched transmitter path using Manova-Elssibony’s battery state monitoring and adaptive impedance matching, in order to restore impedance matching and high transfer efficiency when charging the receiver’s battery changes the receiver impedance (see par [0097] and [0100]-[0102] of Manova-Elssibony).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as shared power converter 300 selectively operating a respective transmitter path accordingly to which trailing half bridge 304, 306 or 308 receives switch signal; and selectively activating two individual transmitter coils and transferring energy through their respective paths sequentially, which permits the first antenna interface channel/path to operate separately from the second antenna interface channel/path, figure 3, par [0027] and [0083]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second output of the second antenna interface channel (read as first and second transmitter paths comprising respective signal converters 214, 216, transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and transmitter coils 226 and 228; signal converters 214 and 216 generate respective AC coil signals and the corresponding resonant circuit outputs supply those signals to the first and second transmitter coils,; the related bridge configuration provides AC coil signal 404 across first transmitter coil 318 and AC coil signal 504 across second transmitter coil 328, which separately controlled signal characteristics, figures 2-5C, par [0049], [0052], [0090] and [0100]) but does not specifically disclose wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output.
Nonetheless, Truettner further discloses different respective charging powers control, in which the charger controller 200 adjusting a charging power and providing power to the transmitter antenna 260; the controller 200 performs the charging process independently for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, which would receiver different charging powers according to their respective capacities, figures 9-10, par [0044]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure each of Qiu’s first and second transmitter paths using Truettner’s different respective charging powers control, in order to supply each receiver with power suited to its battery capacity while retaining independent multi-device charging (see par [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
However, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above with first and second outputs of the first and second antennas having different powers but does not specifically disclose with first and second outputs of the first and second antennas are respective RF outputs.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony further discloses respective controlled RF outputs, in which two transmitter sub-units 112 and 112’ that generate and transfer respective RF signals to the transmitting antennas 110 and 110’; the respective transmitter to antenna signal paths thus provide first and second RF outputs/energy, and controller 114 controls the power of the signal issued through such a path, figures 3 and 5, par [0088] and [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure Qiu’s wireless charging system to produce RF signal outputs using Manova-Elssibony’s respective RF signal outputs, in order to use RF output signals for wireless charging as RF output signals enable sending RF energy over longer charging distances.
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to establish an NFC link with each of the plurality of listener devices (read as communication circuitry 256 and 258 establishing communication channel 260, which would be implemented as Near Field Communication (NFC) with NFC link; and having similarly configured receiver communication circuitry for receiver devices 206 and 208 and multiple communication circuitry in transmitter device 202, with the NFC implementation, the respective circuits provide the NFC link with each receiver device, figure 2, par [0047], [0066] and [0070]-[0071]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as three respective transmitter paths comprising signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and corresponding transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, each connected to a respective transmitter coil, figure 2, par [0049] and [0052]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 8 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony further discloses receiving unit 102 as a chargeable device or as a component of a device to be charged, which is sized to fit on a hearing aid that can fit into a person’s ear, figure 3, par [0078] and [0086].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure Qiu’s two receiver devices using Manova-Elssibony’s hearing aid receiving unit design for each device, in order to enable wireless charging of two compact hearing aids devices that fit into a user’s ears (see par [0086] of Manova-Elssibony).
Consider claim 15, Qiu discloses a method (read as wireless energy transfer system 200 with energy transfer method, in which transmitter device 202 transfers energy to receiver deices 204, 206 and 208 for charging a rechargeable battery, figure 2, par [0047] and [0056]-[0057]) comprising:
establishing a plurality of NFC links between a poller device and a plurality of listener devices (read as communication circuitry 256 and 258 establishing communication channel 260, which would be implemented as Near Field Communication (NFC) with NFC link; and having similarly configured receiver communication circuitry for receiver devices 206 and 208 and multiple communication circuitry in transmitter device 202, with the NFC implementation, the respective circuits provide the NFC link with each receiver device, figure 2, par [0047], [0066] and [0070]-[0071]), wherein the poller device comprises a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to a respective one of a plurality of poller antennas, wherein each listener device is associated with one of the plurality of antenna interface channels and one poller antenna (read as transmitter device 202 (poller transmitter), in which shared power converter 210 supplies three respective paths (antenna interface channels) through signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and transmitter resonate circuitry 220, 222 and 224; the output of each transmitter resonant circuitry corresponds to the antenna interface channel’s output port and is electrically coupled to a respective transmitter coil 226, 228 and 230; each coil transfers energy to a distinct receiver device 204, 206 and 208 (listener devices) through its corresponding receiver coil, figure 2, par [0038], [0049] and [0052]-[0053]), wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as signal converter 214, 216 and 218 generating respective AC coil signals for the three resonant circuit paths; the signal characteristics would be customized so that a unique or individualized AC coil signal is supplied through each respective path and transmitter coil to its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0037] and [0049]-[0050]), wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as dynamically configurable shared power converter in which each trailing half bridge operates with the leading half bridge as an independent full bridge phase shift inverter; the AC signal supplied to each transmitter coil is independently regulated, producing a unique or individualized AC coil signal for its associated receiver device, figure 2, par [0006], [0027] and [0037]);
receiving, over the NFC link with each respective listener device, listener data (read as with the NFC implementation with NFC link above, a receiver device transmitting communication signals identifying its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260, and the transmitter device 202 receive each receiver device’s type (listener data) over the respective NFC link, figures 2 and 7, par [0066], [0070] and [0116]);
selecting, for each respective listener device, a respective antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as processing device 248 using receiver identity to determine which signal converter 214, 216 and 218 receives switch signals when energy is transferred to one or more receiver devices; each signal converter is connected to a fixed respective transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, so selecting the converter selects the antenna interface channel path associated with the respective receiver device, figure 2, par [0049], [0052], [0062] and [0068]); and
configuring the selected respective antenna interface channel for the respective listener device based on the listener data received over the NFC link (read as the receiver device transmitting its receiver device type (listener data) over communication channel 260 in the NFC implementation with NFC link, the transmitter determines switch signal characteristics based on the receiver device type and sends the switch signals to a particular trailing half bridge; the switch signals customize the AC coil signal supplied through the selected converter and resonant circuitry path, configuring that path for the respective receiver device according to the received receiver device type (listener data), figures 2 and 7, par [0050], [0066], [0116] and [0119]); and
determining which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged based on the plurality of NFC links (read as each similarly configured receiver device monitoring the charge level of its rechargeable battery and transmitting a communication signal through communication channel 260 when energy transfer should stop; otherwise, energy transfer continues; in the NFC implementation, the communications from the respective receiver devices, together with processing device 248’s selection of the converters that receive switch signals, identify which receiver paths continue to receive energy and thus which receiver devices are to be charged, figures 2 and 7, par [0062], [0066], [0070] and [0120]-[0121]); and
charging at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on determining which of the plurality of listener devices are to be charged, wherein charging the at least one of the plurality of listener devices is via a first charging signal transmitted via a first antenna interface channel to a first poller antenna (read as determining from receiver’s charge level communication whether energy transfer is to continue and continuing the transfer for a receiver that remains to be charged; processing device 248 determines which signal converter receives the switch signals; in the first path, signal converter 214 generates a first AC coil signal that passes through transmitter resonant circuitry 220 to transmitter coil 226, which transfers energy to receiver device 204 to charge its battery, figures 2 and 7, par [0049], [0052]-[0053], [0062] and [0119]-[0121]).
However, Qiu discloses the claimed invention above and respective resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224 supplied with independently regulated AC coil signals (figures 2 and 3, par [0006], [0037], [0050] and [0052]) but does not specifically disclose adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels.
Nonetheless, Truettner discloses independent impedance matching networks for a wireless charging system, comprising impedance matching network 275 with switching network 278 that selects electrical components to set a specific antenna impedance for each antennas 262-268 within transmitting antenna 260; each antenna is independently controllable and would have its own impedance matching network and impedance setting; structurally, the corresponding separate networks and independent control permit the controller 200 to change one antenna path’s switch and impedance setting while leaving the switching and impedance settings of the other antenna paths unchanged, figures 2, 9 and 10, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, to configure Qiu’s respective transmitter resonant paths using a separate independently controllable impedance matching network for each antenna, with the selected network adjusted while other network settings remain unchanged, in order to maintain maximum wireless power transfer for each receiver by setting its antenna path to the respective impedance (see par [0022] and [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
However, Qiu, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above with separate independently controlled impedance setting for each respective transmitter path/channel (see par [0049]-[0050] and [0052] of Qiu, par [0024] and [0043]-[0045] of Truettner) but does not specifically disclose adjusting the impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a charging state of the respective listener device.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony discloses impedance control responsive to charging state, comprising monitoring a receiving unit 102’s battery/second cell 124’s charging state through changes in impedance mismatch and controlling adaptive impedance matching unit 118 of transmitting unit 101; as secondary cell/battery 124 accumulates charge, the receiver impedance and transmitter return loss S11 change; controller 114 uses that feedback and the detected charging process state to control the adaptive impedance matching unit 118 and change the transmitting unit’s impedance matching network, figure 3, par [0046], [0097] and [0101]-[0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner, to configure each of Qiu’s independently matched transmitter path using Manova-Elssibony’s battery state monitoring and adaptive impedance matching, in order to restore impedance matching and high transfer efficiency when charging the receiver’s battery changes the receiver impedance (see par [0097] and [0100]-[0102] of Manova-Elssibony).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as shared power converter 300 selectively operating a respective transmitter path accordingly to which trailing half bridge 304, 306 or 308 receives switch signal; and selectively activating two individual transmitter coils and transferring energy through their respective paths sequentially, which permits the first antenna interface channel/path to operate separately from the second antenna interface channel/path, figure 3, par [0027] and [0083]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 15 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein charging the at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on determining which of the plurality of listener devices are to be charged (read as each similarly configured receiver device monitoring the charge level of its rechargeable battery and transmitting a communication signal through communication channel 260 when energy transfer should stop; otherwise, energy transfer continues; in the NFC implementation, the communications from the respective receiver devices, together with processing device 248’s selection of the converters that receive switch signals, identify which receiver paths continue to receive energy and thus which receiver devices are to be charged, figures 2 and 7, par [0062], [0066], [0070] and [0120]-[0121]) but does not specifically disclose charging a first listener device at a first power and charging a second listener device at a second power.
Nonetheless, Truettner further discloses different respective charging powers control, in which the charger controller 200 adjusting a charging power and providing power to the transmitter antenna 260; the controller 200 performs the charging process independently for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, which would receiver different charging powers according to their respective capacities, figures 9-10, par [0044]-[0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure each of Qiu’s first and second transmitter paths using Truettner’s different respective charging powers control, in order to supply each receiver with power suited to its battery capacity while retaining independent multi-device charging (see par [0044]-[0045] of Truettner).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as three respective transmitter paths comprising signal converters 214, 216 and 218 and corresponding transmitter resonant circuitry 220, 222 and 224, each connected to a respective transmitter coil, figure 2, par [0049] and [0052]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 15 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Manova-Elssibony further discloses receiving unit 102 as a chargeable device or as a component of a device to be charged, which is sized to fit on a hearing aid that can fit into a person’s ear, figure 3, par [0078] and [0086].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manova-Elssibony into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure Qiu’s two receiver devices using Manova-Elssibony’s hearing aid receiving unit design for each device, in order to enable wireless charging of two compact hearing aids devices that fit into a user’s ears (see par [0086] of Manova-Elssibony).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20180062442 A1) in view of Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1), and in further view of Manova-Elssibony (US 20160204643 A1), and in further view of Toncich et al. (US 20090284220 A1).
Consider claims 2, 9 and 16, as applied to claim 1, 8 and 15 respectively above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above with the respective transmitter paths, each provided with an independently controllable impedance matching network that would be adjusted during charging (see claim 1 rejection above with par [0049] and [0052] of Qiu, par [0024] of Truettner, and par [0100]-[0102] of Manova-Elssibony) but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance.
Nonetheless, Toncich discloses adaptive antenna tuning in which controller 930 adjust both variable capacitor VC1B and variable capacitor VC2B within a single L-network 950L (see figure 21B), then implements VC1B and VC2B as separate switched/variable capacitor groups in figure 23A, which the VC1B and VC2B switched/variable capacitor groups correspond to plurality of automatic antenna tuners as controller 930 automatically adjusts each separately switched capacitor group through the adaptive feedback loop; changing the selected capacitance of each group changes its capacitive reactance and impedance at the operating frequency, figures 21B and 23A, par [0163], [0165], [0167]-[0168] and [0171].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Toncich into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to configure each respective Qiu transmitter path using Toncich’s adaptive network 950L with separately controlled variable capacitors VC1B and VC2B, in order to improve the impedance match and minimize reflected power as antenna loading changes, which would maintain efficient power transfer to the associated receiver devices (see par [0162] and [0168] of Toncich).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20180062442 A1) in view of Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1), and in further view of Manova-Elssibony (US 20160204643 A1), and in further view of Partovi (US 20120235636 A1).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, discloses the claimed invention above with wherein the apparatus for wireless charging includes an ASIC (read as implementing the processing device as an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), figure 2, par [0061] and [0065]) but does not specifically disclose the apparatus is incorporated into a semiconductor chip.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses wireless charger ASIC integration, which implements the whole wireless charger electronics as an ASIC chip (i.e. semiconductor chip) and integrating all the wireless charger functions into the ASIC chip to achieve smaller footprint, better performance/noise, etc. and/or cost advantages, figure 1, par [0063] and [0121].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Qiu, as modified by Truettner and Manova-Elssibony, to implement Qiu’s transmitter and antenna interface electronics using Partovi’s ASIC chip integration, in order to reduce circuit footprint and cost while improving performing and noise characteristics (see par [0121] of Partovi).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645