DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 04/17/2026. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1) in view of Ha et al. (US 20210143683 A1).
Consider claim 1, Truettner discloses an apparatus for wireless charging (read as wireless charger 100 for wireless charging, figures 1, par [0020]) comprising:
a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel includes an output port for connection to a poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas for wirelessly charging a distinct listener device of a plurality of listener devices (read as charging controller 200 connected to impedance matching network 275 and transmitting antenna 260; impedance matching network 275 and switching network 278 form antenna branch paths with output connections to first antenna 262, second antenna 264, third antenna 266 and fourth antenna 268, and each antenna is aligned to a corresponding charging station for a separate battery pack 400 that receives wireless power through receiving antenna 555, figures 2 and 8, par [0021], [0024], [0038] and [0042]);
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to provide power (rad as charging controller 200 driving transmitting antenna 260 with DC power through impedance matching network 275, and multiple independently controllable antennas within transmitting antenna 260, figure 2, par [0024]); and
wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels by adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a a battery pack type of the respective listener device without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as impedance matching network 272 and switching network 278 setting a specific impedance for transmitting antenna 260; charger controller 200 independently controls antennas 262, 264, 266 and 268, would assign different impedances to different antennas and would provide each antenna with its own impedance matching network 275, which supports per branch impedance adjusment without requiring another branch to change, while the basis for the impedance setting is battery pack type, figures 2 and 10, par [0024] and [0043]-[0044]).
Nonetheless, Truettner discloses the claimed invention above with impedance matched antenna branches control but does not specifically disclose generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels; and using a charging state of the respective listener device as the basis for controlling the respective charging operation.
Nonetheless, Ha discloses device specific power paths in which control circuit 412 controls first power generation circuit 411-1b to generate a first signal for first external electronic device 402-a through first transmission coil 411L-1, control second power generation circuit 411-2b to generate a second signal for second external electronic device 4022 through second transmission coil 411L-2, and sets signals parameters using full charge or remaining charge information for each external device, figures 4 and 10, par [0095]-[0097], [0101], [0182]-[0184].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ha into the teachings of Truettner, to configure the impedance matched antenna branches control using Ha’s distinct signal generation and charging state control, in order to tailor branch power delivery to each receiver’s battery condition while preserving independent branch operation (see par [0107] and [0182] of Ha).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance (read as wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275 (tuners), figure 2, par [0024]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as charger controller 220 independently controlling first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 through impedance matching network 275, including assigning different impedances and providing different charging powers to first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, figures 2 and 9, par [0024] and [0045]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to provide power to the transmitting antenna branches; wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output (read as first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 as separated branch paths through impedance matching network 275, with independent control and different charging powers for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b; the branch outputs feeding those antennas corresponding to the first and second RF outputs, figures 2 and 8, par [0024] and [0045]) but does not specifically disclose generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first RF output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second RF output of the second antenna interface channel.
Nonetheless, Ha further discloses control circuit 412 generating a first signal through first power generation circuit 411-1b and first transmission coil 411L-1, generating a second signal through second power generation circuit 411-2b and second transmission coil 411L-2, and adjusting first and second power magnitudes based on charging states, which corresponds to the first and second charging signals details, figures 4 and 10, par [0095]-[0097], [0103], [0107] and [0183]-[0184].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Ha into the teachings of Truettner, which as modified by Ha, to configure Truettner’s first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 branch paths using Ha’s first and second generated signal control, in order to allow Truettner’s charger controller 200 to provide device specific generated signals and different power levels through corresponding branch paths for separate charged received devices (see par [0095], [0103] and [0107] of Ha).
Consider claim 8, Truettner discloses a system for wireless charging (read as wireless charger 100 for wireless charging, figures 1, par [0020]) comprising:
battery (read as wireless charger 100 receiving DC voltage from source of power such as a battery pack, figure 1, par [0020]);
a poller transmitter electrically connected to the battery and electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to an associated poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas (read as charging controller 200 receiving power from the charger power source and driving transmitting antenna 260 through impedance matching network 275; impedance matching network 275, switching network 278 and branch paths to antennas 262, 264, 266 and 268 correspond to multiple antenna paths, with each path connected to a corresponding antenna, figures 1 and 2, par [0020], [0021] and [0024]);
a plurality of poller antennas, wherein each of the plurality of poller antennas is electrically connected to a different one of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as transmitting antenna 260 including first antenna 262, second antenna 264, third antenna 266 and fourth antenna 268, where each antenna is aligned with a different charging station and would be independently controlled through a corresponding impedance path, figure 2, par [0024]);
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to provide power (rad as charging controller 200 driving transmitting antenna 260 with DC power through impedance matching network 275, and multiple independently controllable antennas within transmitting antenna 260, figure 2, par [0024]); and
wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels by adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a a battery pack type of the respective listener device without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as impedance matching network 272 and switching network 278 setting a specific impedance for transmitting antenna 260; charger controller 200 independently controls antennas 262, 264, 266 and 268, would assign different impedances to different antennas and would provide each antenna with its own impedance matching network 275, which supports per branch impedance adjusment without requiring another branch to change, while the basis for the impedance setting is battery pack type, figures 2 and 10, par [0024] and [0043]-[0044]).
Nonetheless, Truettner discloses the claimed invention above with impedance matched antenna branches control but does not specifically disclose generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels; and using a charging state of the respective listener device as the basis for controlling the respective charging operation.
Nonetheless, Ha discloses device specific power paths in which control circuit 412 controls first power generation circuit 411-1b to generate a first signal for first external electronic device 402-a through first transmission coil 411L-1, control second power generation circuit 411-2b to generate a second signal for second external electronic device 4022 through second transmission coil 411L-2, and sets signals parameters using full charge or remaining charge information for each external device, figures 4 and 10, par [0095]-[0097], [0101], [0182]-[0184].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ha into the teachings of Truettner, to configure the impedance matched antenna branches control using Ha’s distinct signal generation and charging state control, in order to tailor branch power delivery to each receiver’s battery condition while preserving independent branch operation (see par [0107] and [0182] of Ha).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance (read as wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275 (tuners), figure 2, par [0024]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as charger controller 220 independently controlling first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 through impedance matching network 275, including assigning different impedances and providing different charging powers to first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, figures 2 and 9, par [0024] and [0045]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to provide power to the transmitting antenna branches; wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output (read as first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 as separated branch paths through impedance matching network 275, with independent control and different charging powers for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b; the branch outputs feeding those antennas corresponding to the first and second RF outputs, figures 2 and 8, par [0024] and [0045]) but does not specifically disclose generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first RF output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second RF output of the second antenna interface channel.
Nonetheless, Ha further discloses control circuit 412 generating a first signal through first power generation circuit 411-1b and first transmission coil 411L-1, generating a second signal through second power generation circuit 411-2b and second transmission coil 411L-2, and adjusting first and second power magnitudes based on charging states, which corresponds to the first and second charging signals details, figures 4 and 10, par [0095]-[0097], [0103], [0107] and [0183]-[0184].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Ha into the teachings of Truettner, which as modified by Ha, to configure Truettner’s first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 branch paths using Ha’s first and second generated signal control, in order to allow Truettner’s charger controller 200 to provide device specific generated signals and different power levels through corresponding branch paths for separate charged received devices (see par [0095], [0103] and [0107] of Ha).
Claims 5-6, 12-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1) in view of Ha et al. (US 20210143683 A1), and in further view of Partovi (US 20130300204 A1).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses charging state communication between two devices (par [0021], [0039] and [0043] of Truettner, and par [0070] of Ha) and further disclose using NFC communication (see par [0070] of Ha) but does not specifically disclose wherein the poller transmitter is configured to establish an NFC link with each of the plurality of listener devices.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses receiver status communication in which each receiver communicates with the transmitter through Near Field Communication, sends receiver ID, presence, power or voltage requirements, state of the charge, end of charge and battery full information, and the transmitter distinguishes between multiple receivers and delivers appropriate power, figures 9 and 36, par [0131] and [0186]-[0188].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to configure the multi receiver wireless charging control using Partovi’s NFC receiver status communication, in order to identify receiver presence and charge status of each of the different receivers before selecting the corresponding charging path (see par [0131] and [0188] of Partovi).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as first antenna 262, second antenna 264, third antenna 266 and fourth antenna 268 as separately aligned and independently controllable antenna branch paths, figures 2, par [0024]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses charging state communication between two devices (par [0021], [0039] and [0043] of Truettner, and par [0070] of Ha) and further disclose using NFC communication (see par [0070] of Ha) but does not specifically disclose wherein the poller transmitter is configured to establish an NFC link with each of the plurality of listener devices.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses receiver status communication in which each receiver communicates with the transmitter through Near Field Communication, sends receiver ID, presence, power or voltage requirements, state of the charge, end of charge and battery full information, and the transmitter distinguishes between multiple receivers and delivers appropriate power, figures 9 and 36, par [0131] and [0186]-[0188].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to configure the multi receiver wireless charging control using Partovi’s NFC receiver status communication, in order to identify receiver presence and charge status of each of the different receivers before selecting the corresponding charging path (see par [0131] and [0188] of Partovi).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as first antenna 262, second antenna 264, third antenna 266 and fourth antenna 268 as separately aligned and independently controllable antenna branch paths, figures 2, par [0024]).
Consider claim 15, Truettner discloses a method (read as method 800 performed by charger controller 200 for charging battery packs 400, including both first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, figures 8-10, par [0043]-[0045]) comprising:
establishing a plurality of communications between a poller device and a plurality of listener devices, wherein the poller device comprises a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels, wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to a respective one of a plurality of poller antennas, wherein each listener device is associated with one of the antenna interface channels and one poller antenna, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to provide power, wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels by adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel based on a battery pack type of the respective listener device without changing an impedance of any other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as wireless charger 100 with charger controller 200 driving transmitting antenna 260 through impedance matching network 275; impedance matching network 275, switch network 78 and antenna branch paths to antennas 262, 264, 266 and 268 correspond to multiple antenna paths, while battery packs 400a and 400b at corresponding charging stations are associated with respective antenna paths, receive power through receiving antenna 555, and communicate battery pack information through communication circuits 255 and 550, figures 2, 5, 8 and 9, par [0021], [0024], [0038]-[0039] and [0042]-[0045]);
determining a battery pack type (read as charger controller 200 determining battery pack type for battery pack 400 and then adjusting a charging parameter based on that determined type, figures 8-10, par [0043] and [0044]); and
charging at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on determined battery pack type, wherein charging the at least one listener device is via a first power transmitted via a first antenna interface channel to a first poller antenna (read as charger controller 200 determining battery back type, setting an impedance through switching network 278, and providing power to transmitting antenna 260, with first antenna 262 aligned with first charging station 110a for first battery back 400a, figures 2 and 8-10, par [0024], [0038] and [0042]-[0044]).
However, Truettner discloses the claimed invention above with impedance matched antenna branches control but does not specifically disclose generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels; including a first charging signal transmitted via the first antenna interface channel to the first poller antenna, and using a charging state of the respective listener device as the basis for controlling the respective charging operation.
Nonetheless, Ha discloses device specific power paths in which control circuit 412 controls first power generation circuit 411-1b to generate a first signal for first external electronic device 402-a through first transmission coil 411L-1, control second power generation circuit 411-2b to generate a second signal for second external electronic device 4022 through second transmission coil 411L-2, and sets signals parameters using full charge or remaining charge information for each external device, figures 4 and 10, par [0095]-[0097], [0101], [0160]-[0162] and [0182]-[0184].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ha into the teachings of Truettner, to configure the impedance matched antenna branches control using Ha’s distinct signal generation and charging state control, in order to tailor branch power delivery to each receiver’s battery condition while preserving independent branch operation (see par [0107] and [0182] of Ha).
However, Truettner, as modified by Ha above, discloses charging state communication between two devices (par [0021], [0039] and [0043] of Truettner, and par [0070] of Ha) and further disclose using NFC communication (see par [0070] of Ha) but does not specifically disclose establishing a plurality of NFC links between the poller device and the plurality of listener devices, determining which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged based on the plurality of NFC links; and charging at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on the determination of which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses receiver status communication in which each receiver communicates with the transmitter through Near Field Communication, sends receiver ID, presence, power or voltage requirements, state of the charge, end of charge and battery full information, and the transmitter distinguishes between multiple receivers and delivers appropriate power, figures 9 and 36, par [0131] and [0186]-[0188].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to configure the multi receiver wireless charging control using Partovi’s NFC receiver status communication, in order to identify receiver presence and charge status of each of the different receivers before selecting the corresponding charging path (see par [0131] and [0188] of Partovi).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance (read as wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275 (tuners), figure 2, par [0024]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as charger controller 220 independently controlling first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 through impedance matching network 275, including assigning different impedances and providing different charging powers to first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b, figures 2 and 9, par [0024] and [0045]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 15 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein charging the at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on the determination of which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged comprises charging a first listener device at a first power and charging a second listener device at a second power (read as first antenna 262 and second antenna 264 as separated branch paths through impedance matching network 275, with independent control and different charging powers for first battery pack 400a and second battery pack 400b; the branch outputs feeding those antennas corresponding to the first and second RF outputs, figures 2 and 8, par [0024] and [0045]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as first antenna 262, second antenna 264, third antenna 266 and fourth antenna 268 as separately aligned and independently controllable antenna branch paths, figures 2, par [0024]).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1) in view of Ha et al. (US 20210143683 A1), and in further view of Partovi (US 20160056664 A1).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the apparatus for wireless charging is incorporated into a semiconductor chip.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) chip or chipset that is specifically designed to function as the whole or a substantial part of the electronics for wireless charger system, par [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to implement the wireless charger electronics using the ASIC-based approach of Partovi to reduce size.
Claims 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truettner et al. (US 20220094207 A1) in view of Ha et al. (US 20210143683 A1), and in further view of Alam et al. (US 20230275458 A1).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 8 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha, discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose earphones as the receivers (par [0145]) but does not specifically wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Alam discloses a wireless charging system between wireless transmission system and wireless receiver system, which the wireless receiver system would be earbuds (at least two/pair), par [0125].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Alam into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to design the receivers to include a pair of earbuds to improve the wireless charging compatibility of the wireless charging system.
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 15 above, Truettner, as modified by Ha and Partovi, discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose earphones as the receivers (par [0145]) but does not specifically wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Alam discloses a wireless charging system between wireless transmission system and wireless receiver system, which the wireless receiver system would be earbuds (at least two/pair), par [0125].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Alam into the teachings of Truettner, which modified by Ha, to design the receivers to include a pair of earbuds to improve the wireless charging compatibility of the wireless charging system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645