DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/21/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halyal et al. (US 20220029467 A1) in view of Truettner (US 20220094207 A1).
Consider claim 1, Halyal discloses an apparatus for wireless charging (read as the wireless transfer system, figure 12A, par [0137] and [0140]) comprising:
a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels (read as the poller transmitter system 110A connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]), wherein each antenna interface channel includes an output port for connection to a poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas for wirelessly charging a distinct listener device of a plurality of listener devices (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging listener receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly), figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]-[0138]);
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as the different output signals of input power source for the wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B respectively as shown in figure 12A, par [0137]-[0138]).
However, Halyal discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels by adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275, figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal by designing each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275 (tuners), figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first RF output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second RF output of the second antenna interface channel; wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly) with different and distinct wireless power signals (see the different signal arrows), figure 12A, par [0137]-[0138]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to establish an NFC link with each of the plurality of listener devices (read as wherein the wireless power transfer system is configured for wireless power transfer via the Near Field Communications Direct Charge (NFC-DC) or Near Field Communications Wireless Charging (NFC WC) draft or accepted standard, the wireless transmission system 20 may be referenced as a “listener” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system 20 and the wireless receiver system 30 may be referenced as a “poller” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system, par [0073]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Consider claim 8, Halyal discloses a system for wireless charging (read as the wireless transfer system, figure 12A, par [0137] and [0140]) comprising:
battery (read as the input power source as battery, par [0079]);
a poller transmitter electrically connected to the battery and electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels (read as the poller transmitter system 110A connected to the battery (input power source) and connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]), wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to an associated poller antenna of a plurality of poller antennas (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging listener receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly), figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]-[0138]);
a plurality of poller antennas, wherein each of the plurality of poller antennas is electrically connected to a different one of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging listener receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly), figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]-[0138]);
wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a plurality of charging signals with a distinct charging signal transmitted to each of the plurality of antenna interface channels (read as the different output signals of input power source for the wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B respectively as shown in figure 12A, par [0137]-[0138]).
However, Halyal discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel is configured to be dynamically tuned independently of each other antenna interface channel of the plurality of antenna interface channels by adjusting an impedance of the respective antenna interface channel.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275, figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal by designing each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 for different receiver station and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275 (tuners), figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels includes a first antenna interface channel and a second antenna interface channel, wherein the poller transmitter is configured to generate a first charging signal for the first antenna interface channel to generate a first output at a first RF output of the first antenna interface channel; wherein the poller transmitter is further configured to generate a second charging signal for the second antenna interface channel to generate a second output at a second RF output of the second antenna interface channel; wherein a first power of the first RF output is configured to be different than a second power of the second RF output (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly) with different and distinct wireless power signals (see the different signal arrows), figure 12A, par [0137]-[0138]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to establish an NFC link with each of the plurality of listener devices (read as wherein the wireless power transfer system is configured for wireless power transfer via the Near Field Communications Direct Charge (NFC-DC) or Near Field Communications Wireless Charging (NFC WC) draft or accepted standard, the wireless transmission system 20 may be referenced as a “listener” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system 20 and the wireless receiver system 30 may be referenced as a “poller” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system, par [0073]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Consider claim 15, Halyal discloses a method (read as the charging method of wireless transfer system, figure 12A, par [0137] and [0140]) comprising:
establishing a plurality of NFC links between a poller device and a plurality of listener devices (read as wherein the wireless power transfer system is configured for wireless power transfer via the Near Field Communications Direct Charge (NFC-DC) or Near Field Communications Wireless Charging (NFC WC) draft or accepted standard, the wireless transmission system 20 may be referenced as a “listener” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system 20 and the wireless receiver system 30 may be referenced as a “poller” of the NFC-DC wireless transfer system, par [0073]), wherein the poller device comprises a poller transmitter electrically connected to a plurality of antenna interface channels (read as the poller transmitter system 110A connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]), wherein each antenna interface channel is electrically connected to a respective one of a plurality of poller antennas, wherein each listener device is associated with one or the antenna interface channels and one poller antenna (read as each of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B has an output port for connecting to antennas 21A and 21B respectively for wirelessly charging listener receivers 130A and 130B respectively (distinctly), figure 12A, par [0073] and [0137]-[0138]);
However, Halyal discloses the claimed invention above and NFC links (par [0073]) but does not specifically disclose determining which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged based on the plurality of NFC links; and charging at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on the determination of which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged, wherein charging the at least one listener device is via a first charging signal transmitted via a first antenna interface channel to a first poller antenna.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 is determined to be aligned with different receiver stations for charging, and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275, figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal by designing each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network that corresponds to the specific receiver to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each antenna interface channel includes a plurality of automatic antenna tuners, and wherein each automatic antenna tuner is configured to change impedance.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 is determined to be aligned with different receiver stations for charging, and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275, figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network that corresponds to the specific receiver to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the poller transmitter is configured to operate a first antenna interface channel separately from a second antenna interface channel (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein charging the at least one of the plurality of listener devices based on the determination of which of the plurality of listener devices to be charged comprises charging a first listener device at a first power and charging a second listener device at a second power.
Nonetheless, in related art, Truettner discloses a wireless charging system comprising plurality of antennas, wherein each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 is determined to be aligned with different receiver stations for charging, and be independently controllable by the charger controller 200 through the impedance matching network 275 (e.g., to ensure maximum wireless power transfer); the charger controller 200 may associate the first antenna 262 with a first impedance, the second antenna 264 with a second impedance, and the third antenna 266 with a third impedance; and each antenna 262, 264, 266, 268 has their own impedance matching network 275, figure 2, par [0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Truettner into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design each of the antenna paths of Halyal to have their own independent impedance matching network that corresponds to the specific receiver to ensure maximum wireless power transfer (see par [0024] of Truettner).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses wherein the plurality of antenna interface channels comprises three or more antenna interface channels (read as the transmitter system 110A separately connected to plurality of wireless power transmission systems 120A and 120B, with antennas 21A and 21B respectively, figure 12A, par [0137]).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halyal et al. (US 20220029467 A1) in view of Truettner (US 20220094207 A1), and in further view of Partovi (US 20160056664 A1).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the apparatus for wireless charging is incorporated into a semiconductor chip.
Nonetheless, Partovi discloses an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) chip or chipset that is specifically designed to function as the whole or a substantial part of the electronics for wireless charger system, par [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Partovi into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to implement the wireless charger electronics using the ASIC-based approach of Partovi to reduce size.
Claims 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halyal et al. (US 20220029467 A1) in view of Truettner (US 20220094207 A1), and in further view of Alam et al. (US 20230275458 A1).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose earphones as the receivers (par [0145]) but does not specifically wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Alam discloses a wireless charging system between wireless transmission system and wireless receiver system, which the wireless receiver system would be earbuds (at least two/pair), par [0125].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Alam into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design the receivers to include a pair of earbuds to improve the wireless charging compatibility of the wireless charging system.
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 8 above, Halyal, as modified by Truettner, discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose earphones as the receivers (par [0145]) but does not specifically wherein the plurality of listener devices are a pair of earbuds or hearing aids.
Nonetheless, Alam discloses a wireless charging system between wireless transmission system and wireless receiver system, which the wireless receiver system would be earbuds (at least two/pair), par [0125].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Alam into the teachings of Halyal, which modified by Truettner, to design the receivers to include a pair of earbuds to improve the wireless charging compatibility of the wireless charging system.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645