DETAILED ACTION
Statement re Text of U.S. Code
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7, 15-16 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election (of species E, Figures 19-24) was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/13/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-14, 17-18, 20-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0031205 to Guy (hereinafter, “Guy”) in view of (for example) U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0336603 to Matsunaga et al. (hereinafter, “Matsunaga”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 18, Guy discloses:
a power (paragraph 0029 teaches that the 12 can be used for rotary face or end milling operations) tool, comprising:
an output shaft (including at least 16/18, alternatively including 16/18 plus the shaft of the tool device to which 16/18 are attached in order for the tool to be rotated in order to perform the rotary face or end milling described in at least paragraph 0029) rotationally driven (paragraph 0029 teaches rotary face or end milling);
a chuck (12) rotationally driven through the (aforedescribed) output shaft (see Figures 1-2 and at least paragraphs 0027, 0029, for example);
a “second” key drive member (48, 48) on the output shaft (particularly, on body 18 thereof) and configured to operably engage the chuck (12) for rotational driving of the chuck (12) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0029. 0030, 0036, for example, noting that Guy teaches that drive keys 48, 48 of 18 are received within key ways 44, 44 of 12 for transferring torque thereto);
wherein the second key drive member (48, 48) comprises a first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) that projects radially outwardly in a first radial direction (such as the radial direction labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as RD1) from a longitudinal axis (B) of the (aforedescribed) output shaft (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0030 and 0036, for example, noting that the first radial projection below has a dimension that extends in a first radial direction labeled below as RD1 and that is a direction re Figure 2 through the center longitudinal axis B, for example, of the aforedescribed output shaft);
wherein the second key drive member (48, 48) comprises a second radial projection (such as the other of the two members 48, which is the lower 48 with respect to Figure 2) that projects radially outwardly in a second radial direction (such as the axis labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as RD2) from the longitudinal axis (B) of the (aforedescribed) output shaft;
wherein the output shaft further comprises a central protrusion (50, which has peripheral face 54; see Figures 1-3 and at least paragraphs 0030-0031) which extends forwardly (e.g., towards the right re Figures 1-3) of the (aforedescribed) second key drive member (lower 48 re Figure 2) (see Figures 1-2, for example); and
wherein:
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (48) includes an end (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as E1), a first side (either of S1 or S2, labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below), and a second side (the other of S2 or S1 labeled below) opposite the (aforedescribed) first side, the first side (S1 or S2) and the second side (S2 or S1, respectively) extending between the end (E1) and the central protrusion (50) (see Figure 2);
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (48) has a first width (labeled in the enlarged partial annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as “W1”, which is a distance between sides S1, S2) in a direction that is orthogonal to both the first radial direction (R1) and to the longitudinal axis (B) (see Figure 2);
the first width (W1) extends from the first side (S1 or S2) to the second side (the other of S2 or S1, respectively); and
an outer diameter of the central protrusion (50) is greater than the first width (W1) of the first radial projection (48) (see Figure 2, Figure 1; see also paragraph 0031, noting that 50 has cylindrical peripheral face 54 and aperture 56, such that the element labeled in Figure 1 as 50 is the element in Figure 2 that has the aperture 56).
[AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: textbox (E1)][AltContent: textbox (RD1)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (RD2)][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Enlarged partial annotated reproduction of Figure 2:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (W1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (50)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (W2)]
However, while Guy teaches that the assembly shown in Figures 1-3 is for performing metal cutting operations such as rotary face or end milling operations (paragraphs 0001, 0029), Guy does not expressly provide details of the structure of the milling/cutting machine to which the element 16/18 is attached (and which causes the rotation of the assembly 10 for the rotary face or end milling operations). Thus, Guy does not expressly disclose “a housing; a motor in the housing”.
However, attention is directed to, for example, Matsunaga. Matsunaga teaches a spindle unit for rotationally driving a rotary tool 21 (see Figure 1 and at least paragraphs 0003, 0021-0022).
The spindle unit includes a housing 10 in which a motor 30 is provided. (See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0023, for example). The motor 30 includes a stator 31 secured to the housing 10, and also includes a rotor 32 that is secured to a rotary spindle 20. See Figure 1 and paragraph 0022. The spindle 20 is driven to rotate relative to the housing 10 via the motor 30 (noting the rotor 32 and stator 31), and is rotatably supported in the housing 10 via bearings 41-44. See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0023, for example. The spindle unit is also provided with a damper bearing 50 that is a hydrostatic fluid bearing having a damping coefficient greater than the damping coefficients of bearings 41-44. See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0024, for example.
It is also noted that the rotary tool 21 is mounted to the spindle 20 via (taper shank type) element 22. See Figure 1 and paragraph 0023, for example.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the specific spindle unit for rotationally driving the tool and taper shank element (in which the tool is supported) taught by Matsunaga for the generic rotary driving arrangement inherently present in Guy (inherently present or else no rotary face or end milling operations of metal, as taught by Guy in paragraphs 0001 and 0029, could occur), for the purpose of providing a rotary driving arrangement which has sufficient damping force(s) to sufficiently suppress undesirable chatter vibrations, as taught by Matsunaga (see Matsunaga, paragraphs 0006, 0034, 0045-0050, for example). Resultantly, the taper shank end of element 18/16 of Guy is provided to be held by the spindle 20 of Matsunaga’s spindle unit (which Matsunaga’s spindle unit has a housing 10 and a motor 30 in the housing 10). Note that thus, also resultantly, the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) is rotationally driven by the motor (30 of Matsunaga), and the chuck (12 of Guy) is rotationally driven by the motor (30 of Matsunaga) “through” the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: a threaded opening (such as, for example, the opening that includes threads 76, which is a threaded opening that is the central protrusion 50) in the central protrusion (50) (see Figure 3, noting that the cylindrical peripheral face 54 of protrusion 50 is labeled in Figure 3; see also paragraph 0033, for example).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 20, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: a flange (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 below as “F”) on a “front” end/half of the (aforedescribed) output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga); and
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) and the (aforedescribed) second radial projection (such as the lower one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) are disposed on a “front” face of the (aforedescribed) flange (F, labeled in annotated Figure 1 below; see Figures 1-2 as well as at least paragraph 0030, for example).
[AltContent: textbox (OD)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (P3)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (F)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 5 and 14, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) and the (aforedescribed) second radial projection (such as the lower one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) are diametrically opposed (see Figures 1 and 2 of Guy, as well as paragraph 0030 which expressly teaches that the “drive keys 48 are distributed with 180o symmetry about the holder axis B…”).
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 18, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: wherein the chuck (12 of Guy) comprises a first key drive member (44+44) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0029, 0030, and 0063, for example); and wherein the first key drive member (44+44) engages the (aforedescribed) second key drive member (48+48) to non-rotationally couple the first key drive member (44+44) and the second key drive member (48+48) (note that the drive keys 48, 48 are received within the key ways 44, 44 of the chuck 12 for transferring torque from 48 to 44 and thus from 16/18 to 12 of Guy, and serve to “non-rotationally” couple the first and second drive members; see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0029-0030 and 0036, of Guy, for example).
Regarding claims 21 and 18, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: the chuck (12) comprises a chuck body (29+31; see Figures 1-3 and 5-7, as well as paragraph 0029, for example, of Guy); the first key drive member comprises a first slot (one of the two key ways 44) and a second slot (the other of the two key ways 44); and the first slot and the second slot are formed in the chuck body (specifically, 44, 44 are formed within the portion 31 of the chuck body 29+31; see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0029, for example).
Regarding claim 22, re modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses: the outer diameter (such as the largest outer diameter of surface 54) of the central protrusion (50) is greater than a “width” (such as, for example, the width W2 of the aforedescribed second radial projection, which width W2 is labeled in the annotated enlarged partial reproduction of Figure 2 above) of the (aforedescribed) second radial projection in a direction that is orthogonal to both the second radial direction (RD2 labeled above) and to the longitudinal axis (B). See Figure 2. See also Figure 1.
Additionally regarding claim 9, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses:
wherein the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) comprises a first portion (such as either of P1 or P2 labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 below) having a first diameter (see Fig. 1);
wherein the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) comprises a second portion (P2, considering the first portion to be P1 labeled above; alternatively, P3, considering the first portion to be P2 labeled above) having a second diameter (see Fig. 1);
wherein (aforedescribed) the second diameter (of either of P2 or P3 labeled above) is greater than the (aforedescribed) first diameter (of either of P1 or P2, respectively) (see Fig. 1, noting that P2 is diametrically larger than P1, and also/alternatively noting that P3 is diametrically larger than P2).
Regarding claim 10, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses that the (aforedescribed) first portion (either of P1 or P2) has a generally cylindrical shape (see Figure 1); and the (aforedescribed) second portion (either of P2 or P3, i.e., P2 where P1 is the first portion, or P3 where P2 is the first portion) has a generally cylindrical shape (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy teaches that the (aforedescribed) second portion (either of P2 or P3) is closer to the second key drive member (48) than the first portion (P1 or P2, respectively, i.e., P1 when the second portion is P2; P2 when the second portion is P3) is to the second key drive member (48) (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 25, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga, Guy further discloses that “an” outer diameter (such as an outer diameter of 44 that is located approximately ¾ of the way from the radially innermost diameter of 44 to the radially outermost diameter of 44, which is approximately shown with a dashed line labeled as “OD” in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 above) of the first key drive member (44) is less than an outer diameter (such as the outermost diameter of the flange labeled as F in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 above) of the flange (such as flange F, labeled above in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1). See Figures 1-2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 8-14, 17-18, 20-22, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ERICA E CADUGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
eec
March 30, 2026