DETAILED ACTION
Statement re Text of U.S. Code
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7, 15-16 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election (of species E, Figures 19-24) was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/13/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14, 17-18, 20-21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, lines 5-6, the claim now recites “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body defining a central bore configured to receive a tool bit and a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit”. However, it is unclear as set forth in the claim with what “and a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit” is intended to go, i.e., “the chuck including…”, “chuck body defining…”, or “central bore configured to receive…” Thus, it is unclear as set forth in the claim whether the claim intends to recite “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body… and” (the chuck including) “a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit”, vs. whether the claim instead intends to recite “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body defining a central bore configured to receive a tool bit and…” (the chuck body defining) “a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit”, vs. whether the claim instead intends to recite “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body defining a central bore configured to receive a tool bit and” (the central bore configured to receive) “a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit”. (As a side note, it is noted that it appears that support exists regarding all three of the aforementioned possible interpretations. See especially Figures 21 and 24, as well as Figure 8, paragraphs 0052-0053, 0038-0039, as well as the incorporated-by-reference U.S. Pat. No. 5,765,839 described in paragraph 0039, for example.)
In claim 18, lines 16-20, the claim now recites “wherein the chuck comprises a chuck body that defines a central bore configured to receive a tool bit, an angled passageway in communication with the central bore, and a jaw at least partially disposed in the angled passageway and moveable between an axially forward and radially inward clamping position to clamp the tool bit, and an axially rearward and radially outward retracted position”. However, it is unclear as set forth in the claim with what “an angled passageway in communication with the central bore” is intended to go, i.e., “the chuck comprises…”, “chuck body that defines…”, or “central bore configured to receive…” Additionally, it is unclear as set forth in the claim with what “and a jaw at least partially disposed in the angled passageway…” is intended to go, i.e., “the chuck comprises…”, “chuck body that defines…”, “central bore configured to receive…”, or “angled passageway in communication with…”
In claim 21, the claim sets forth “wherein the chuck comprises a chuck body”. However, noting that claim 21 depends from claim 8, and that claim 8 depends from claim 1, and noting that claim 1 already previously set forth “the chuck including a chuck body…”, it is unclear as set forth in claim 21 whether “a chuck body” is intended to be the same as the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 1, or whether “a chuck body” in claim 21 is instead intended to be additional to the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 1.
In claim 21, last line, the limitation “the chuck body” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim, as it is unclear as set forth in the claim whether “the chuck body” is intended to refer to the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 1¸ or whether “the chuck body” in claim 21 is instead intended to refer to the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 21, lines 1-2.
In claim 24, the claim recites “wherein the chuck body includes a surface at an end of the chuck body that is recessed with respect to an end of the outer sleeve”. However, it is unclear as set forth in the claim what is being set forth as “recessed with respect to an end of the outer sleeve”, i.e., the claimed surface, or the claimed end of the chuck body. For example, it is unclear as set forth in the claim whether this limitation intends to recite “wherein the chuck body includes a surface at an end of the chuck body”, which end of the chuck body “is recessed with respect to an end of the outer sleeve”, vs. “wherein the chuck body includes a surface at an end of the chuck body”, which surface “is recessed with respect to an end of the outer sleeve”.
In new claim 26, lines 7-8, the claim recites “a chuck body that defines an angled passageway, the chuck body including a surface that defines an opening in the angled passageway”, which surface and which opening are further set forth in claim 26 in the limitation “a first key drive member that extends from the surface in an axial direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the output shaft and that is located radially inward of the opening”. However, it is unclear as set forth in the claim whether “the chuck body including a surface that defines an opening in the angled passageway” intends to require an opening that is somehow within/inside of the angled passageway, or whether the claim merely intends to indicate that the chuck body has a surface that defines an opening to or of the angled passageway.
Claims 18, 20-21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 18, lines 16-20, the claim now recites “wherein the chuck comprises a chuck body that defines a central bore configured to receive a tool bit, an angled passageway in communication with the central bore, and a jaw at least partially disposed in the angled passageway and moveable between an axially forward and radially inward clamping position to clamp the tool bit, and an axially rearward and radially outward retracted position”. However, it is unclear as set forth in the claim with what “an angled passageway in communication with the central bore” is intended to go, i.e., “the chuck comprises…”, “chuck body that defines…”, or “central bore configured to receive…” Additionally, it is unclear as set forth in the claim with what “and a jaw at least partially disposed in the angled passageway…” is intended to go, i.e., “the chuck comprises…”, “chuck body that defines…”, “central bore configured to receive…”, or “angled passageway in communication with…” That said, in the event that the claim intends to recite that the central bore is configured to receive an angled passageway, or that the claim intends to recite that the chuck body defines a jaw, it does not appear that the specification as filed provides support for such (in combination with all of the other limitations of claim 18).
In claim 21, the claim sets forth “wherein the chuck comprises a chuck body”. However, noting that claim 21 depends from claim 8, and that claim 8 depends from claim 1, and noting that claim 1 already previously set forth “the chuck including a chuck body…”, it is unclear as set forth in claim 21 whether “a chuck body” is intended to be the same as the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 1, or whether “a chuck body” in claim 21 is instead intended to be additional to the “chuck body” previously set forth in claim 1. That said, to the extent that claim 21 intends to set forth that the power tool has both of the chuck bodies (i.e., the one set forth in claim 1, as well as the one set forth in claim 21, lines 1-2), then the specification as originally filed does not appear to support such.
In new claim 26, lines 7-8, the claim recites “a chuck body that defines an angled passageway, the chuck body including a surface that defines an opening in the angled passageway”, which surface and which opening are further set forth in claim 26 in the limitation “a first key drive member that extends from the surface in an axial direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the output shaft and that is located radially inward of the opening”. However, firstly, it is unclear as set forth in the claim whether “the chuck body including a surface that defines an opening in the angled passageway” intends to require an opening that is somehow within/inside of the angled passageway, or whether the claim merely intends to indicate that the chuck body has a surface that defines an opening to or of the angled passageway. That being said, it does not appear that the specification as originally filed provides support for (as the claim literally says) the chuck body including a surface that defines an opening “in” the angled passageway (and from which surface a first key drive member extends in an axial direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the output shaft), as set forth in claim 26. See, for example, Figure 24, noting that element 430 is the chuck body, and that the “angled passageway” is element 438, and there does not appear to be a surface that defines an opening that is “in”/inside/within the angled passageway 438, and from which surface the first key drive member 455 extends in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the output shaft 420. In contrast, the specification does provide support for the chuck body 430 including a surface (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 23 below as “Q”) that defines an opening (such as the opening, labeled below as O1, to one of the angled passageways 438) of one of the angled passageways 438 (and from which surface Q the first key drive member 455 extends in an axial direction parallel to a longitudinal axis X of the output shaft 420; see also Figure 20), such that Applicant may wish to consider changing “an opening in the angled passageway” to –an opening of the angled passageway--, for example.
[AltContent: textbox (O1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Q)][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-14, 17, and 21-22, any of which that were rejected under 35 USC 112 above are as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0031205 to Guy (hereinafter, “Guy”) in view of (for example) U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0336603 to Matsunaga et al. (hereinafter, “Matsunaga”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0248425 to Andersson et al. (hereinafter, “Andersson”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Guy discloses:
a power (paragraph 0029 teaches that 12 can be used for rotary face or end milling operations) tool, comprising:
an output shaft (including at least 16/18, alternatively including 16/18 plus the shaft of the tool device to which 16/18 are attached in order for the tool to be rotated in order to perform the rotary face or end milling described in at least paragraph 0029) rotationally driven (paragraph 0029 teaches rotary face or end milling);
a chuck (12) rotationally driven through the (aforedescribed) output shaft (see Figures 1-2 and at least paragraphs 0027, 0029, for example), the chuck (12) including a chuck body (29+31) (to which tool “bits”/inserts 30 are attached; see Figures 1-3 and 5-7, as well as at least paragraph 0029, for example);
a “second” key drive member (48, 48) on the output shaft (particularly, on body 18 thereof) and configured to operably engage the chuck (12) for rotational driving of the chuck (12) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0029. 0030, 0036, for example, noting that Guy teaches that drive keys 48, 48 of 18 are received within key ways 44, 44 of 12 for transferring torque thereto);
wherein the second key drive member (48, 48) comprises a first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) that projects radially outwardly in a first radial direction (such as the radial direction labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as RD1) from a longitudinal axis (B) of the (aforedescribed) output shaft (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0030 and 0036, for example, noting that the first radial projection below has a dimension that extends in a first radial direction labeled below as RD1 and that is a direction re Figure 2 through the center longitudinal axis B, for example, of the aforedescribed output shaft);
wherein the second key drive member (48, 48) comprises a second radial projection (such as the other of the two members 48, which is the lower 48 with respect to Figure 2) that projects radially outwardly in a second radial direction (such as the axis labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as RD2) from the longitudinal axis (B) of the (aforedescribed) output shaft;
wherein the output shaft further comprises a central protrusion (50, which has peripheral face 54; see Figures 1-3 and at least paragraphs 0030-0031) which extends forwardly (e.g., towards the right re Figures 1-3) of the (aforedescribed) second key drive member (lower 48 re Figure 2) (see Figures 1-2, for example); and
wherein:
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (48) includes an end (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as E1), a first side (either of S1 or S2, labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below), and a second side (the other of S2 or S1 labeled below) opposite the (aforedescribed) first side, the first side (S1 or S2) and the second side (S2 or S1, respectively) extending between the end (E1) and the central protrusion (50) (see Figure 2);
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (48) has a first width (labeled in the enlarged partial annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as “W1”, which is a distance between sides S1, S2) in a direction that is orthogonal to both the first radial direction (R1) and to the longitudinal axis (B) (see Figure 2);
the first width (W1) extends from the first side (S1 or S2) to the second side (the other of S2 or S1, respectively); and
an outer diameter of the central protrusion (50) is greater than the first width (W1) of the first radial projection (48) (see Figure 2, Figure 1; see also paragraph 0031, noting that 50 has cylindrical peripheral face 54 and aperture 56, such that the element labeled in Figure 1 as 50 is the element in Figure 2 that has the aperture 56).
[AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: textbox (E1)][AltContent: textbox (RD1)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (RD2)][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Enlarged partial annotated reproduction of Figure 2:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (W1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (50)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (W2)]
However, firstly, while Guy teaches that the assembly shown in Figures 1-3 is for performing metal cutting operations such as rotary face or end milling operations (paragraphs 0001, 0029), Guy does not expressly provide details of the structure of the milling/cutting machine to which the element 16/18 is attached (and which causes the rotation of the assembly 10 for the rotary face or end milling operations). Thus, regarding claims 1 and 9, Guy does not expressly disclose “a housing; a motor in the housing”.
However, attention is directed to, for example, Matsunaga. Matsunaga teaches a spindle unit for rotationally driving a rotary tool 21 (see Figure 1 and at least paragraphs 0003, 0021-0022).
The spindle unit includes a housing 10 in which a motor 30 is provided. (See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0023, for example). The motor 30 includes a stator 31 secured to the housing 10, and also includes a rotor 32 that is secured to a rotary spindle 20. See Figure 1 and paragraph 0022. The spindle 20 is driven to rotate relative to the housing 10 via the motor 30 (noting the rotor 32 and stator 31), and is rotatably supported in the housing 10 via bearings 41-44. See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0023, for example. The spindle unit is also provided with a damper bearing 50 that is a hydrostatic fluid bearing having a damping coefficient greater than the damping coefficients of bearings 41-44. See Figure 1 and paragraphs 0021-0024, for example.
It is also noted that the rotary tool 21 is mounted to the spindle 20 via (taper shank type) element 22. See Figure 1 and paragraph 0023, for example.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the specific spindle unit for rotationally driving the tool and taper shank element (in which the tool is supported) taught by Matsunaga for the generic rotary driving arrangement inherently present in Guy (inherently present or else no rotary face or end milling operations of metal, as taught by Guy in paragraphs 0001 and 0029, could occur), for the purpose of providing a rotary driving arrangement which has sufficient damping force(s) to sufficiently suppress undesirable chatter vibrations, as taught by Matsunaga (see Matsunaga, paragraphs 0006, 0034, 0045-0050, for example). Resultantly, the taper shank end of element 18/16 of Guy is provided to be held by the spindle 20 of Matsunaga’s spindle unit (which Matsunaga’s spindle unit has a housing 10 and a motor 30 in the housing 10). Note that thus, also resultantly, the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) is rotationally driven by the motor (30 of Matsunaga), and the chuck (12 of Guy) is rotationally driven by the motor (30 of Matsunaga) “through” the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga).
Additionally, regarding claims 1 and 9, Guy is silent as to how the cutting inserts/bits (30) are affixed to the aforedescribed chuck body (29+31) (see Figures 1-3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0029). Thus, regarding claim 1, Guy does not expressly teach that the chuck (12) includes a “jaw movable in the chuck body” (29+31) “to clamp” the tool bit (30). Similarly, regarding claim 9, Guy does not expressly teach that the chuck body defines “a central bore configured to receive a tool bit and a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit”.
However, attention is directed to Andersson. Andersson teaches a tool having a rotatable (about center axis C1) basic body/“chuck body” (1), which body (1) has a plurality of milling cutting inserts/bits (2) that are affixable thereto. See Figure 1 and paragraph 0033. Each insert/bit (2) is received with a respective chip pocket (4), and the chip pockets (4) each include a respective threaded hole (12) and (among other geometrical features) a respective round seating or “bore” (46) that is delimited by a respective bottom (49) and flank surface (50). See Figures 1, 2, 6, and at least paragraphs 0033-0035, 0048-0049, for example. The cutting inserts/bits (2) each include a plurality of knobs (31, 32) on an underside (26) thereof, which knobs are configured to be received by corresponding seatings/female features (46, 47, and the female feature formed by 62, 63, 64, 340, 440; see Figures 2-3, for example) (see Figures 1-6, for example, as well as at least paragraphs 0040-0057, for example) in order to stably seat the inserts/bits (2) on the body (1) in such a way that the active cutting edge of the cutting insert is reliably located in a correct position relative to the body (1) (paragraphs 0010-0011, for example) and prevent translation of the cutting insert (2) in the plane of the interface (between the inserts 2 and the body 1) (see also the abstract). The inserts/bits (2) are each clamped to the body (1) via a respective tightening screw (3) that passes through a respective through hole (22) in the insert/bit (2) and that is received in the corresponding threaded hole (12) (see Figure 1 and at least paragraphs 0033-0035, 0039, 0054, 0065), or via a clamp (paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the specific cutting insert locating and fixating arrangement(s) taught by Andersson for the arrangement taught by Guy by which the inserts/bits (30) of Guy are affixed to the body (29+31) of Guy, and specifically, to have made each of the cutting inserts/bits (30) taught by Guy, and that are each received within a respective chip pocket of a body (29+31) as taught by Guy (see Guy, Figures 1-3 and 5-7, for example, and paragraph 0029), be, specifically, provided with knobs and a center through hole and fastening screw, as taught by Andersson, and to have provided the seating faces of each of the chip pockets of the body (29+31) taught by Guy with the threaded hole and female features (corresponding to the knobs) taught by Andersson, for the purpose of providing a cutting insert locating and fastening arrangement that stably seats the cutting inserts/bits (30) of Guy on the body (29+31) in such a way that the active cutting edge of the cutting insert(s) is reliably located in a correct position relative to the body, as taught by Andersson (paragraphs 0010-0011 and abstract of Andersson). Resultantly, note that the chuck (12) of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson comprises a chuck body (29+31 of Guy) that “defines a central” (as broadly claimed) “bore” (the female seating/bore 46 of Andersson, provided to the seating surfaces of the chip pockets of Guy; regarding such a bore 46 being a “central” bore, as broadly claimed, attention is directed to the partial enlarged annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below, noting that, for example, the bit labeled as B1, and thus the bore 46 of the receiving face of the corresponding chip pocket of Andersson, is “centrally” located with respect to a diametral direction L1 that is perpendicular to line L2 labeled below, which lines L1 and L2 are both on the end face 38 and both pass through the axis B of Guy) configured to receive a tool bit (30 of Guy as modified by Andersson). Furthermore, resultantly, a “jaw”, such as the fastening screw (3) of Andersson, is “movable in” (i.e., as the screw 3 of Andersson threads into the corresponding threaded hole 12 of Andersson that has been provided in the body 29+31 of Guy, as previously described) the chuck body (29+31) of Guy to clamp the tool bit.
[AltContent: textbox (L2)]
[AltContent: textbox (B1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (L1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (29)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claims 3 and 12, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses: a threaded opening (such as, for example, the opening that includes threads 76, which is a threaded opening that is the central protrusion 50) in the central protrusion (50) (see Figure 3, noting that the cylindrical peripheral face 54 of protrusion 50 is labeled in Figure 3; see also paragraph 0033, for example).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses: a flange (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 below as “F”) on a “front” end/half of the (aforedescribed) output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga); and
the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) and the (aforedescribed) second radial projection (such as the lower one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) are disposed on a “front” face of the (aforedescribed) flange (F, labeled in annotated Figure 1 below; see Figures 1-2 as well as at least paragraph 0030, for example).
[AltContent: textbox (OD)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (P3)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (F)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 5 and 14, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses: the (aforedescribed) first radial projection (such as the upper one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) and the (aforedescribed) second radial projection (such as the lower one of the members 48 with respect to Figure 2) are diametrically opposed (see Figures 1 and 2 of Guy, as well as paragraph 0030 which expressly teaches that the “drive keys 48 are distributed with 180o symmetry about the holder axis B…”).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses: wherein the chuck (12 of Guy) comprises a first key drive member (44+44) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0029, 0030, and 0063, for example); and wherein the first key drive member (44+44) engages the (aforedescribed) second key drive member (48+48) to non-rotationally couple the first key drive member (44+44) and the second key drive member (48+48) (note that the drive keys 48, 48 are received within the key ways 44, 44 of the chuck 12 for transferring torque from 48 to 44 and thus from 16/18 to 12 of Guy, and serve to “non-rotationally” couple the first and second drive members; see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0029-0030 and 0036, of Guy, for example).
Regarding claim 21, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, as noted above, Guy further discloses: the chuck (12) comprises a/the chuck body (29+31; see Figures 1-3 and 5-7, as well as paragraph 0029, for example, of Guy); the first key drive member comprises a first slot (one of the two key ways 44) and a second slot (the other of the two key ways 44); and the first slot and the second slot are formed in the chuck body (specifically, 44, 44 are formed within the portion 31 of the chuck body 29+31; see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0029 of Guy, for example).
Regarding claim 22, re modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses: the outer diameter (such as the largest outer diameter of surface 54) of the central protrusion (50) is greater than a “width” (such as, for example, the width W2 of the aforedescribed second radial projection, which width W2 is labeled in the annotated enlarged partial reproduction of Figure 2 above) of the (aforedescribed) second radial projection in a direction that is orthogonal to both the second radial direction (RD2 labeled above) and to the longitudinal axis (B). See Figure 2. See also Figure 1.
Additionally regarding claim 9, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses:
wherein the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) comprises a first portion (such as either of P1 or P2 labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 below) having a first diameter (see Fig. 1);
wherein the output shaft (16/18 of Guy, or 16/18 of Guy plus 20 of Matsunaga) comprises a second portion (P2, considering the first portion to be P1 labeled above; alternatively, P3, considering the first portion to be P2 labeled above) having a second diameter (see Fig. 1);
wherein (aforedescribed) the second diameter (of either of P2 or P3 labeled above) is greater than the (aforedescribed) first diameter (of either of P1 or P2, respectively) (see Fig. 1, noting that P2 is diametrically larger than P1, and also/alternatively noting that P3 is diametrically larger than P2).
Regarding claim 10, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy further discloses that the (aforedescribed) first portion (either of P1 or P2) has a generally cylindrical shape (see Figure 1); and the (aforedescribed) second portion (either of P2 or P3, i.e., P2 where P1 is the first portion, or P3 where P2 is the first portion) has a generally cylindrical shape (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, re the modified device of Guy/Matsunaga/Andersson, Guy teaches that the (aforedescribed) second portion (either of P2 or P3) is closer to the second key drive member (48) than the first portion (P1 or P2, respectively, i.e., P1 when the second portion is P2; P2 when the second portion is P3) is to the second key drive member (48) (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Claim 26, as best understood in view of the above rejection(s) based on 35 USC 112, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 2,996,302 to Haviland et al. (hereinafter, “Haviland”).
Haviland teaches a power tool (see col. 2, lines 60-64, for example), comprising:
a housing (it is considered inherent that the “heavy duty portable electric drill” disclosed in col. 2, lines 60-64 must inherently include some form of a housing in order to be a portable drill);
a motor (the power source disclosed in col. 2, lines 60-64 that drives the spindle/shaft/arbor 10 in rotation constitutes, as broadly claimed, a “motor”);
an output shaft (10) rotationally driven by the motor (see col. 2, lines 60-64), the output shaft (10) including a second key drive member (recess 38; see Figures 3-7, and at least col. 4, lines 35-54, col 1, line 63 through col. 2, line 20, as well as col. 4, lines 6-26, for example);
a chuck (12) rotationally driven by the (aforedescribed) motor through the output shaft (10) (Figures 1-2, col. 2, lines 60-71, and col. 3, lines 74-75, for example), the chuck (12) including:
a chuck body (11; see Figures 1-2, 6, 7, and col. 2, lines 60-67, for example) that “defines” an “angled” passageway (14, which has a longitudinal axis that is “angled” with respect to, for example, the longitudinal axis of the body 11, which longitudinal axis of the body 11 extends in the horizontal left/right direction with respect to Figure 1, for example; see Figures 1-2 and col. 2, lines 63-71, for example), the chuck body including a surface (such as the surface labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 2 below as “S”) that defines an opening (i.e., the opening in that surface to the adjacent angled passageway 14) in the angled passageway (14) (see Figure 2, for example);
a jaw (15) moveable in the angled passageway (14) to clamp a tool bit (which tool bit is received in bore 13; see Figure 1 and col. 2, lines 60-71, and col. 3, lines 1-11, for example);
a first key drive member (such as, for example, the portion of 11 that extends from the surface S towards the right re Figure 1, in combination with the driving key 35, which is affixed thereto, the aforementioned combination being labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 1 below as “K1”; see Figures 1-2, 7, col. 4, lines 6-26, and col. 4, lines 55-75 and col. 5, lines 1-8, for example) that extends (towards the right re Figure 1) from the surface (S) in an axial direction parallel to a longitudinal axis (horizontal left/right axis re Figure 1) of the output shaft (10) and that is located (such as at the radially inner half of 35, or alternatively, such as at 35 it its entirety which is radially inward of the radially outermost edge of surface S) radially inward of the opening (in S, to the adjacent passageway 14);
wherein the first key drive member (K1) engages the second key drive member (recess 38) to non- rotationally couple the first key drive member (K1) and the second key drive member (38) (see Figures 1-2, 6, 7, and col. 1, lines 63-68, as well as at least col. 6, lines 3-6, for example).
[AltContent: textbox (K1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (S)][AltContent: connector]
However, while a “housing” is considered to be inherent, given the teaching by Haviland of the “heavy duty portable electric drill” (col. 2, lines 60-64), and while Haviland does teach that the drill is electric and also teaches that the shaft/spindle 10 can be driven by “any suitable source of power” (and thus, Haviland teaches, broadly speaking, a “motor” in that any drive arrangement that provides such motive power to rotate the shaft is a “motor”), Haviland does not expressly teach that the motor is “in” the housing.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice the use of a(n electric, for example) motor that is provided inside the housing of a portable electric drill is extremely well-known and is a widely-provided arrangement in portable drills in order to provide a compact power tool that is capable of providing rotation to the output spindle and thus to a drill or driver to be attached to the portable drill device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the portable electric drill taught by Haviland (Haviland, col. 2, lines 60-64) have a housing in which an electric motor is provided that provides rotation to the output shaft/spindle 10, as is well-known, for the purpose of achieving a compact power tool arrangement, capable of providing rotation to the output spindle and thus to a drill or driver to be attached to the portable drill device, as is well-known.
Comment Regarding Non-Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
A thorough search has been conducted re the elected invention/claims. That being said, though no art rejections are considered to presently apply to claims 18, 20, 24, 25, and 27, no indication regarding the allowability of the subject matter of elected claims 18, 20, 24, 25, and 27 with respect to the prior art is being made at this time due to the rejection(s) thereof based on 35 USC 112(a), set forth above, particularly given that is unclear what changes to the claims might be necessary/made to overcome the above-described issues with respect to 35 USC 112(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments (on pages 10-11 of the response filed 5/27/2026) with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 8-14, 17, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, it is noted that Applicant is asserting that neither U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0031205 to Guy nor U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0336603 to Matsunaga et al. teach the newly-added limitations “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body and a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp a tool bit” (claim 1) or “a chuck rotationally driven by the motor through the output shaft, the chuck including a chuck body defining a central bore configured to receive a tool bit and a jaw movable in the chuck body to clamp the tool bit” (claim 9). However, it is noted that the Haviland reference (U.S. Pat. No. 2,996,302) has now been provided to teach these new limitations.
That being said, it is noted that Applicant does additionally assert that the element 12 taught by Guy is “not a chuck, it is a milling cutter”, it is noted that the term “chuck” is sufficiently broad as to encompass the arrangement 12 taught by Guy. Attention is directed to, for example, the definition (3) of the noun “chuck” from the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th ed., cited on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) attached to this Office Action, which indicates that a chuck is “an attachment for holding a workpiece or tool in a machine (as a drill or lathe)”. Regarding the element 12 in the Guy reference, it is noted that 12 is an arrangement/attachment for holding a tool (such as the cutting insert(s) 30) in a machine, and for at least this reasoning, is a “chuck”.
It is additionally noted that on page 10 of the response filed 5/27/2026, Applicant has indicated that “Claims 23 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form” and “New independent claim 26 recites subject matter similar to claim 23”. To the extent that Applicant is intending to assert that new independent claim 26 should be allowable because it contains all of the limitations of previous dependent claim 23 and previous independent claim 18 (from which previous dependent claim 23 depended), it is noted that new independent claim 26 contains far fewer than all of the limitations of previous dependent claim 23 and of previous independent claim 18 (from which previous claim 23 depended), as can be seen by comparing new independent claim 26 to previous claims 23 and 18.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2001/0042965 to Gaddis et al. teaches a chuck with “angled” jaws and that has a sleeve 20 having recesses for receiving studs 50 of driver housing 30, so as to rotationally lock the chuck body 12 relative to the housing 30. See Figure 1 and at least paragraph 0033, for example.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ERICA E CADUGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
eec
September 15, 2026