DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on June 4th, 2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 are currently pending. Claims 1, 13, and 20 are currently amended. Claims 5 and 16 are currently canceled. And claims 21-22 are newly presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2026/0067918, hereinafter Rao) in view of Bayeseth et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2021/0076417, hereinafter Bayeseth).
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Rao discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
send a report (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, determine and report the positioning information proactively) that indicates a prediction of an upcoming disruption (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, prediction/forecasting techniques) to one or more communication links (paragraph [0091], lines 16-19, report to the network);
obtain a response to the report (paragraph [0168], lines 5-7, in response to measurement and sensing information sent in XR-RRM report), wherein the response indicates to communicate via at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options); and
communicate with a network entity via the at least one communication link in accordance with the response (paragraph [0201], establish connectivity with the one or more of the candidate connectivity options).
But Rao does not disclose wherein the response indicates to modify one or more parameters associated with the at least one communication link, wherein the one or more parameters comprises one or more of a modulation coding scheme, a code rate, a channel bandwidth, a carrier frequency band, a total number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, or a subcarrier spacing.
However, Bayeseth discloses wherein the response indicates to modify one or more parameters associated with the at least one communication link (paragraph [0050], configure a suitable communication signal; paragraph [0111], update the modulation and coding components; paragraph [0152], improve the communication performance), wherein the one or more parameters comprises one or more of a modulation coding scheme (paragraph [0126], lines 3-7), a code rate, a channel bandwidth (paragraph [0103], lines 1-6), a carrier frequency band (paragraph [0055]), a total number of multiple-input multiple-output layers (paragraph [0069]), or a subcarrier spacing (paragraph [0137]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for extended reality assisted radio resource management of Rao with the system for sensing half duplex networks of Bayeseth. The motivation to combine being to improve wireless communication. The wireless communication being improved by using sensing signals to determine the properties of the environment (abstract: Beyeseth).
With respect to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, Rao further discloses wherein the report comprises one or more of:
an indication of a start time for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0085], lines 13-17, start and stop time),
an indication of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0085], lines 13-17, start and stop time), or
an indication of the one or more communication links expected to be affected by the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0097], lines 11-17, serving gNB).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Rao further discloses wherein the upcoming disruption comprises a physical obstruction expected to disrupt the one or more communication links (paragraph [0085], lines 9-22).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Rao further discloses wherein the response indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 6 and 17, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, Rao further discloses wherein the response indicates to switch from the one or more communication links to the at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Rao further discloses wherein the response indicates to refrain from communications via the one or more communication links in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption and indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link after the upcoming disruption is expected to end (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, Rao further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send capability information indicating a capability of the apparatus to sense a disruption to a communication link (paragraph [0140], lines 1-7, capability information).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 8, Rao further discloses wherein the capability information comprises an indication of one or more measurement capabilities of the apparatus to sense the disruption (paragraph [0140], lines 7-10, capability to perform sensing).
With respect to claims 10 and 19, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, Rao further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain a configuration indicating when to send the report (paragraph [0103], lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Rao further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
monitor for any disruption to the one or more communication links using one or more sensors (paragraph [0147], lines 1-4); and
identify the upcoming disruption based at least in part on one or more measurements of the one or more sensors (paragraph [0157], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Rao further discloses wherein the one or more communication links comprise one or more beamformed communication links corresponding to one or more beams (paragraph [0059], lines 8-10).
With respect to claim 13, Rao discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a report (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, determine and report the positioning information proactively) indicating a prediction of an upcoming disruption (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, prediction/forecasting techniques) to one or more communication links (paragraph [0091], lines 16-19, report to the network);
send a response to the report (paragraph [0168], lines 5-7, in response to measurement and sensing information sent in XR-RRM report), wherein the response indicates to communicate via at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options); and
communicate with a user equipment via the at least one communication link in accordance with the response (paragraph [0201], establish connectivity with the one or more of the candidate connectivity options).
But Rao does not disclose wherein the response indicates to modify one or more parameters associated with the at least one communication link, wherein the one or more parameters comprises one or more of a modulation coding scheme, a code rate, a channel bandwidth, a carrier frequency band, a total number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, or a subcarrier spacing.
However, Bayeseth discloses wherein the response indicates to modify one or more parameters associated with the at least one communication link (paragraph [0111], update the modulation and coding components; paragraph [0152], improve the communication performance), wherein the one or more parameters comprises one or more of a modulation coding scheme (paragraph [0126], lines 3-7), a code rate, a channel bandwidth (paragraph [0103], lines 1-6), a carrier frequency band (paragraph [0055]), a total number of multiple-input multiple-output layers (paragraph [0069]), or a subcarrier spacing (paragraph [0137]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the system for extended reality assisted radio resource management of Rao with the system for sensing half duplex networks of Bayeseth. The motivation to combine being to improve wireless communication. The wireless communication being improved by using sensing signals to determine the properties of the environment (abstract: Beyeseth).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 13, Rao further discloses:
the upcoming disruption comprises a physical obstruction expected to disrupt the one or more communication links (paragraph [0085], lines 9-22);
the one or more communication links comprise one or more beamformed communication links corresponding to one or more beams (paragraph [0059], lines 8-10); and
the response indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Beyeseth further discloses wherein the report comprises an indication of a location of where the upcoming disruption is expected to occur (paragraph [0049], sensing could determine the location, shape, and/or velocity of one or more objects).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Rao and Beyeseth discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Beyeseth further discloses wherein the report comprises an indication of duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0050], predict the future location of the intended receiver), and wherein the upcoming disruption comprises a physical disruption expected to disrupt one or more communication links for the duration (paragraph [0049], scattering objects that can potentially disrupt communications).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nair Pat. Pub. 2022/0383118
Filin Pat. Pub. 2026/0129540
Gao Pat. Pub. 2024/0322885
Hu Pat. Pub. 2025/0088890
Pattar Pat. Pub. 2023/0067492
Grieco Pat. Pub. 2023/0362934
Steittiner Pat. Pub. 2021/0156982
Bhargava Pat. Pub. 2016/0337971
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
7/22/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457