DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on December 21st, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rao et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2026/0067918, hereinafter Rao).
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Rao discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
send a report (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, determine and report the positioning information proactively) that indicates a prediction of an upcoming disruption (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, prediction/forecasting techniques) to one or more communication links (paragraph [0091], lines 16-19, report to the network);
obtain a response to the report (paragraph [0168], lines 5-7, in response to measurement and sensing information sent in XR-RRM report), wherein the response indicates to communicate via at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options); and
communicate with a network entity via the at least one communication link in accordance with the response (paragraph [0201], establish connectivity with the one or more of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 2 and 14, Rao discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, wherein the report comprises one or more of:
an indication of a start time for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0085], lines 13-17, start and stop time),
an indication of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0085], lines 13-17, start and stop time), or
an indication of the one or more communication links expected to be affected by the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0097], lines 11-17, serving gNB).
With respect to claim 3, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the upcoming disruption comprises a physical obstruction expected to disrupt the one or more communication links (paragraph [0085], lines 9-22).
With respect to claim 4, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the response indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 5 and 16, Rao discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, wherein the response indicates to modify one or more parameters associated with the at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 6 and 17, Rao discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, wherein the response indicates to switch from the one or more communication links to the at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claim 7, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the response indicates to refrain from communications via the one or more communication links in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption and indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link after the upcoming disruption is expected to end (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Rao discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send capability information indicating a capability of the apparatus to sense a disruption to a communication link (paragraph [0140], lines 1-7, capability information).
With respect to claim 9, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the capability information comprises an indication of one or more measurement capabilities of the apparatus to sense the disruption (paragraph [0140], lines 7-10, capability to perform sensing).
With respect to claims 10 and 19, Rao discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain a configuration indicating when to send the report (paragraph [0103], lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 11, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
monitor for any disruption to the one or more communication links using one or more sensors (paragraph [0147], lines 1-4); and
identify the upcoming disruption based at least in part on one or more measurements of the one or more sensors (paragraph [0157], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 12, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication links comprise one or more beamformed communication links corresponding to one or more beams (paragraph [0059], lines 8-10).
With respect to claim 13, Rao discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0016], lines 1-3), the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a report (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, determine and report the positioning information proactively) indicating a prediction of an upcoming disruption (paragraph [0091], lines 1-4, prediction/forecasting techniques) to one or more communication links (paragraph [0091], lines 16-19, report to the network);
send a response to the report (paragraph [0168], lines 5-7, in response to measurement and sensing information sent in XR-RRM report), wherein the response indicates to communicate via at least one communication link (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options); and
communicate with a user equipment via the at least one communication link in accordance with the response (paragraph [0201], establish connectivity with the one or more of the candidate connectivity options).
With respect to claim 15, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
the upcoming disruption comprises a physical obstruction expected to disrupt the one or more communication links (paragraph [0085], lines 9-22);
the one or more communication links comprise one or more beamformed communication links corresponding to one or more beams (paragraph [0059], lines 8-10); and
the response indicates to communicate via the at least one communication link in at least a portion of a duration for the upcoming disruption (paragraph [0077], lines 5-10, other connectivity options; paragraph [0196], selection of the candidate connectivity options).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Katla Pat. Pub. 2024/0283523
Koo Pat. Pub. 2020/0127907
Roy Pat. Pub. 2017/0064583
Sevindik Pat. Pub. 2022/0183093
3/28/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457