Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that prior art Jones does not teach processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the obtained information (about a contrast agent containing a plurality of substances with mutually different chemical shifts), a frequency band related to a decrease in a magnetic resonance signal due to the mutually different chemical shifts in such a manner that the determined frequency band includes predetermined frequency ranges centered on frequencies at which the magnetic resonance signal decreases due to the mutually different chemical shifts, as recited in amended Claim 1. The applicant further argues that while Jones does teach using various frequency bands, Jones does not teach the argued limitation.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner believes Jones does teach the argued limitation of processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the obtained information (about a contrast agent containing a plurality of substances with mutually different chemical shifts), a frequency band related to a decrease in a magnetic resonance signal due to the mutually different chemical shifts in such a manner that the determined frequency band includes predetermined frequency ranges centered on frequencies at which the magnetic resonance signal decreases due to the mutually different chemical shifts [Jones – wherein 3.0 to 6.9 ppm is determined based on known information of iopamidol and that the acidoCEST protocol measures the two CEST signals produced by the amide protons of iopamidol. 3.0-6.9 ppm is also centered around the two peaks (4.2 ppm and 5.6 ppm) of iopamidol. See also rest of reference.]. Therefore, the arguments are not considered persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (“Clinical Translation of Tumor Acidosis Measurements with AcidoCEST MRI”).
Regarding claim 1, Jones teaches a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to obtain information about a contrast agent containing a plurality of substances with mutually different chemical shifts [See iopamidol. See also rest of reference.], and determine, based on the obtained information, a frequency band related to a decrease in a magnetic resonance signal due to the mutually different chemical shifts [See Materials and Methods section. See also In Vivo MRI Acquisition Methods section. See 3.0 to 6.9 ppm, wherein the Introduction section discloses that the “acidoCEST MRI” protocol measures the two CEST signals (known 4.2 ppm and 5.6 ppm peaks) produced by the amide protons of iopamidol which is inside the band 3.0 to 6.9 ppm. See also rest of reference.] in such a manner that the determined frequency band includes predetermined frequency ranges centered on frequencies at which the magnetic resonance signal decreases due to the mutually different chemical shifts [The 3.0 to 6.9 ppm is determined based on known information of iopamidol and that the acidoCEST protocol measures the two CEST signals produced by the amide protons of iopamidol. 3.0-6.9 ppm is also centered around the two peaks (4.2 ppm and 5.6 ppm) of iopamidol. See also rest of reference.]; and
sequence control circuitry configured to acquire, prior to contrast enhancement using the contrast agent, a first magnetic resonance signal group in the determined frequency band by chemical exchange saturation transfer (CEST) imaging under different saturation pulse conditions [See Materials and Methods section. See also In Vivo MRI Acquisition Methods section. This sequence was repeated with a series of 20 saturation frequencies at 3.0 to 6.9 ppm in 0.1 ppm increments. Image Analysis section, see pre-injection spectra. See also rest of reference.], and acquire, after the contrast enhancement using the contrast agent, a second magnetic resonance signal group in the determined frequency band by CEST imaging under different saturation pulse conditions [See Materials and Methods section. See also In Vivo MRI Acquisition Methods section. This sequence was repeated with a series of 20 saturation frequencies at 3.0 to 6.9 ppm in 0.1 ppm increments. Image Analysis section, see post-injection spectra. See also rest of reference.],
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
calculate a difference between a first Z-spectrum generated based on the first magnetic resonance signal group and a second Z-spectrum generated based on the second magnetic resonance signal group [See Image Analysis section where difference between pre and post-contrast z-spectra images are determined at each saturation frequency.], and
detect, from the calculated difference, a plurality of peaks indicating the decrease in the magnetic resonance signal due to the mutually different chemical shifts of the plurality of substances [See Image Analysis and Results sections where peaks are used to determine pH. See 3.0 to 6.9 ppm, wherein the Introduction section discloses that the “acidoCEST MRI” protocol measures the two CEST signals (known 4.2 ppm and 5.6 ppm peaks) produced by the amide protons of iopamidol which is inside the band 3.0 to 6.9 ppm.].
Regarding claim 3, Jones further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to detect the plurality of peaks by function fitting to a signal-value distribution in the calculated difference or by estimating an approximate form of the signal-value distribution [Image Analysis section, see peaks were fit using Lorentzian line shape or Bloch fitting. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 4, Jones further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the obtained information, a frequency being outside the determined frequency band and irrelevant of the decrease in the magnetic resonance signal due to the chemical shifts [In Vivo MRI Acquisitions Methods section, wherein WASSR protocol is used and acquired at -2 to 2 ppm. See also rest of reference.],
the sequence control circuitry is further configured to acquire reference MR signals to be a basis of the first Z-spectrum and the second Z-spectrum, by using the determined frequency as a saturation pulse or without using any saturation pulse [Referenced to the water frequency set to 0 ppm as determined from WASSR MRI results. See also rest of reference.],
the first Z-spectrum is generated based on the first magnetic resonance signal group and the acquired reference MR signals [See pre-injection signals. See also rest of reference.], and
the second Z-spectrum is generated based on the second magnetic resonance signal group and the acquired reference MR signals [See post-injection signals. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 5, Jones further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a state quantity in an imaging region with respect to the first Z-spectrum and the second Z-spectrum according to the detected plurality of peaks and the acquired reference MR signals [See pH is determined. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 6, Jones further teaches wherein the state quantity represents a temperature or pH in the imaging region [See pH is determined. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 7, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to claim 7. Claim 7 is the method version of apparatus claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Jones, in view of Fautz (US 2013/0009640).
Regarding claim 2, Jones teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Jones further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the frequency band using a B0 offset generated prior to the CEST imaging [A WASSR MRI protocol identified the B0 offset. See also rest of reference.].
However, Jones is silent in teaching a B0 map.
Fautz, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the frequency band using a B0 map generated prior to the CEST imaging [¶0016, ¶0031. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones and Fautz because both references are in the field of CEST imaging using MRI and because Fautz teaches it is known in the art to use a B0 to determine the optimum saturation frequency for a specific point in space [Fautz - ¶0016, ¶0031. See also rest of reference.].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Jones, in view of Aime (US 2011/0152671).
Regarding claim 8, Jones teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Jones further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the frequency band that includes the predetermined frequency ranges, wherein the predetermined frequency ranges are set to ± ppm centered on the frequencies at which the magnetic resonance signal decreases due to the mutually different chemical shifts [The 3.0 to 6.9 ppm is determined based on known information of iopamidol and that the acidoCEST protocol measures the two CEST signals produced by the amide protons of iopamidol. 3.0-6.9 ppm is also centered around the two peaks (4.2 ppm and 5.6 ppm) of iopamidol. See also rest of reference.].
However, Jones is silent in teaching ± 1 ppm.
Aime, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches ± 1 ppm [¶0094, see ± 1 ppm.]. Aime further teaches herein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the frequency band that includes the predetermined frequency ranges, wherein the predetermined frequency ranges are set to ± 1 ppm centered on the frequencies at which the magnetic resonance signal decreases due to the mutually different chemical shifts [¶0094, see ± 1 ppm.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones and Aime because both references are in the field of CEST MRI and because Aime teaches it is obvious preference to use ± 1 ppm sampling around the CEST frequency [Aime - ¶0094, see ± 1 ppm.].
Conclusion
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896