DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Claims 10 – 14, in the reply filed on July 24, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has failed to provide any evidence to support the assertion that the claimed product can be made by another and materially different process, e.g. one in which the average hole diameter of the through holes is equal to or greater than 1 mm and/or a ratio [D/d] of the beads is greater than 0.4. This is not found persuasive because the evidence is itself is found in the instant claims. Claim 1 sets forth both of these features are required in a method of producing the claims, whereas neither of these features is present as a product-by-process limitation in product Claim 10.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1 – 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2006-307177 to Sasaki. For the purposes of examination, citations for Sasaki are taken from the machine translation of the document filed with the United States Patent and Trademark Office on December 21, 2023, except where expressly noted to be taken from a machine translation of Table 1 of the document obtained from Google Translate in August 2026.
Regarding Claim 10, 13, and 14. Sasaki teaches a molded article of polypropylene resin expanded beads [0001], the molded article being formed by fusion-bonding cylindrical/tubular polypropylene-based resin expanded beads each having a through-hole ([0015], [0060], and [0073]). The obtained molded article has a density of 20 to 35 g/L (kg/m3), as well as porosity/voidage of 0 to 11% by volume [0066].
Sasaki teaches the concept of increasing the closed cell ratio of the molded article [0023] but does not expressly quantify the closed and open cell contents of molded article. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Sasaki teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and also having other property values (density and voidage) in the instantly claimed ranges. Further, Sasaki teaches its molded article is prepared by a substantially similar process According to the original specification, Comparative Beads F and H fail to provide a closed and open cell contents in the instantly claimed ranges due to higher hole diameters (3.31 and 1.55 mm, instead of the 0.95mm or less for the other beads), as well as higher carbon dioxide pressure (3.3 and 3.6 MPa). On the other hand, Sasaki teaches a substantially similar process to that used in the application, in which the through hole diameter is less than 0.95 mm and the carbon dioxide pressure is 2.2 or 1.8 MPa in Examples 1, 5, and 6 (see translated Table 1).
Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a closed cell and open cell contents in the instantly claimed ranges, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 12. Sasaki teaches the molded article of polypropylene resin expanded beads of Claim 1 is silent regarding the ratio [S/DE] of the molded article.
Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Sasaki teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and also having other property values (density and voidage) in the instantly claimed ranges. Further, Sasaki teaches its molded article is prepared by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a ratio [S/DE] of the molded article in the instantly claimed range, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Double Patenting
Claim 10 – 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 – 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,589,534. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variations upon each other.
The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,589,534 differ from the instant claims in that they forth a closed cell content of 85% or more, which substantially overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 90% or more. Moreover, while the claims U.S. Patent No. 12,589,534 do not expressly set forth the open cell content of the molded article, this can be calculated from the claimed closed cell content to be 15% or less, which also substantially overlaps with the instantly claimed open cell content range of 12% or less.
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references also pertain to molded articles formed by fusion-bonding polypropylene-based resin expanded beads having through-holes.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764