DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US Pat. 9,056,985).
Considering Claim 1: Ko et al. teaches a composition comprising a resinous organopolysiloxane having at least two silicon atoms bonded to alkenyl groups (4:6-17) and having the structure
, where R1-R3 are monovalent hydrocarbons that are preferably alkenyl, a-e are zero or a positive number (3:3-25), preferably a structure of the formula
(Example 1), and thus a is 0.1, b is 0.4, and c is 0.5 in the instant formula, when a+b+c=1; where the organopolysiloxane has an aryl group content of substantially zero (2:13-37); a polyorganosiloxane having a silicon bound hydrogen atoms having an aryl content of 0.2 to 0.8/20 to 80 mole percent (7:15-58); and a hydrosilylation reaction catalyst (12:4-21); where the ratio of silicon bound hydrogen to silicon bound alkenyl groups is 0.5 to 3.0 (7:1-8). Ko et al. does not teach the presence of a linear polyorganosiloxane having alkenyl groups.
Ko et al. teaches the preferred lower bound for b as being zero (4:18-30), and therefore the D unit is optional in the formula of Ko et al. A reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component. Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See MPEP § 2123.
Considering Claim 2: Ko et al. teaches a low molecular weight polyorganosiloxane having two or more alkenyl groups and a molecular weight of 700 or less (8:45-9:49) present in an amount of 7 weight percent of less (9:34-49).
Considering Claims 3 and 9: Ko et al. teaches using a blend of 2 g of a branched polyhydrogenorganosiloxane and 20 g of a linear polyhydrogenorganosiloxane (Example 4).
Considering Claims 4, 10, and 15: Ko et al. teaches a reaction inhibitor in the mixture (13:41-54).
Considering Claims 5, 11, and 16: Ko et al. teaches the composition as comprising titania/a white pigment (13:41-54).
Considering Claims 6, 12, and 17: Ko et al. teaches a cured product from the composition (14:51-56).
Considering Claims 7, 8, 13, 14, 18, and 19: Ko et al. teaches an optical semiconductor device comprising the cured composition (13:55-64). The term reflective material is a statement of intended use.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US Pat. 9,056,985).
Considering Claim 20: Ko et al. teaches a composition comprising a resinous organopolysiloxane having at least two silicon atoms bonded to alkenyl groups (4:6-17) and having the structure
, where R1-R3 are monovalent hydrocarbons that are preferably alkenyl, a-e are zero or a positive number (3:3-25), preferably a structure of the formula
(Example 1), and thus a is 0.1, b is 0.4, and c is 0.5 in the instant formula, when a+b+c=1; where the organopolysiloxane has an aryl group content of substantially zero (2:13-37); a polyorganosiloxane having a silicon bound hydrogen atoms having an aryl content of 0.2 to 0.8/20 to 80 mole percent (7:15-58); and a hydrosilylation reaction catalyst (12:4-21); where the ratio of silicon bound hydrogen to silicon bound alkenyl groups is 0.5 to 3.0 (7:1-8). Ko et al. does not teach the presence of a linear polyorganosiloxane having alkenyl groups. Ko et al. teaches a low molecular weight polyorganosiloxane having two or more alkenyl groups and a molecular weight of 700 or less (8:45-9:49) present in an amount of 7 weight percent of less (9:34-49). Ko et al. teaches using a blend of 2 g of a branched polyhydrogenorganosiloxane and 20 g of a linear polyhydrogenorganosiloxane (Example 4). Ko et al. teaches a reaction inhibitor in the mixture (13:41-54). Ko et al. teaches the composition as comprising titania/a white pigment (13:41-54).
Ko et al. teaches the preferred lower bound for b as being zero (4:18-30), and therefore the D unit is optional in the formula of Ko et al. A reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component. Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See MPEP § 2123.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Ko et al. does not teach the presence of a linear polyorganosiloxane having alkenyl groups is not persuasive. This component is optional in the instant claims, and thus the absence of this component is allowed by the instant claims.
B) The applicant’s argument that Ko et al. teaches the presence of the D unit is not persuasive. Ko et al. teaches the preferred lower bound for b as being zero (4:18-30), and therefore the D unit is optional in the formula of Ko et al. A reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component. Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See MPEP § 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767