DETAILED ACTION
The applicant amended claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-12 and 16 and canceled claims 5 and 13 in the amendment filed on 05/08/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadallah et al. (US 2014/0052847) in view of McCrory et al. (US 2022/0100625).
With respect to claim 1, Jadallah teaches determining traffic flow, application and network parameters (e.g., determining key performance indicator (KPI) for each of network resources where KPIs include bandwidth, application and types, subscriber, sections [0008]-[0009], [0051], and [0078]). Jadallah teaches collecting the network parameters for a predetermined time period (e.g., collecting utilization data, [0050]-[0052], [0055], and [0059]). Jadallah teaches determining growth wherein the growth comprise: node or link growth, application and category growth and subscriber tier plan growth, based on the traffic flow, application and network parameters (e.g., determining a growth rate for each of the KPIs, where KPIs include bandwidth, application and types, subscriber, sections [0008]-[0010], [0013], [0040]. [0043], and [0078]). Jadallah teaches correlating the growths (e.g., aggregating each of the KPIs, sections [0008], [0053]-[0055], and [0075]). Jadallah teaches determining the growth of the network based on the correlated growths to determine network capacity planning and congestion management planning for the network (e.g., determining a predicted utilization metric based on the aggregated KIPs and a growth rate, sections [0009], [0011], [0040], [0056], [0075]. [0077]-[0078], and [0082]). Jadallah does not explicitly disclose a growth model. However, McCrory teaches a growth model (e.g., building a models for predicting the growth areas (storage capacity, population growth, applications, etc., section [0099]) in order to provide recommendations for growth prediction. Therefore, based on Jadallah in view of McCrory, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of McCrory to the system of Jadallah in order to provide recommendations for growth prediction.
With respect to claim 2, Jadallah teaches the network and application parameters are related to application throughput, subscriber throughput and node throughput (e.g., data throughput, section [0003]).
With respect to claim 3, Jadallah teaches the network and application parameters are related to application Quality of Experience (QoE), subscriber QoE and node QoE (e.g., KPIs include a quality of experience metric (QoE), such as round-trip time, Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) mean opinion score (MOS), and video quality of experience score, section [0072]).
With respect to claim 4, Jadallah teaches the network and application parameters are high frequency parameters that are aggregated over a predetermined time period (e.g., peak usage of each network resource, sections [0059], [0061], [0065], and [0072]).
With respect to claim 6, Jadallah teaches the capacity planning is in a period of months in the future (e.g., projections for next year, section [0056]).
With respect to claim 7, Jadallah teaches the capacity planning is performed for one of node, link, or network device (e.g., network resource (device) for optimization, section [0060]).
With respect to claim 8, Jadallah teaches the capacity planning is performed for at least one of Node growth based on node capacity or throughput; Node growth based on Quality of Experience (QoE); and Node growth based on subscriber throughput (e.g., network resource (cable channel, router ports) for optimization, sections [0060] and [0087]).
The limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 and 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447
07/02/2026