DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 18 SEPTEMBER 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 SEPTEMBER 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 DECEMBER 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 MAY 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification/Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the present abstract is not in a single paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 3, character 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “wireless communication unit configured to: wirelessly transmit, from the sensing device to an external device..” in claim 4 ; and “wireless communication unit is further configured to: wirelessly receive…” in claim 7.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe the “wireless communication unit”.
A “control unit configured to control the activation…” in claim 5; a “control unit is further configured for allowing…” in claim 6; a “control unit is configured to provide the electric voltage…” in claim 8.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe the “wireless communication unit”.
A “communication device … configured to receive a data set…configured to analyze” in claim 14.
A “device” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “communication device” to be a computer, table or a mobile phone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “wireless communication unit configured to: wirelessly transmit, from the sensing device to an external device..” in claim 4 ; and “wireless communication unit is further configured to: wirelessly receive…” in claim 7 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of wirelessly transmit, from the sensing device to an external device… and wirelessly receive… and is performed. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to wirelessly transmit and wirelessly receive. The use of the term “wirelessly” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which wirelessly structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “control unit configured to control the activation…” in claim 5; a “control unit is further configured for allowing…” in claim 6; a “control unit is configured to provide the electric voltage…” in claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of to control, for allowing and to provide is performed. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to control, for allowing and to provide. The use of the term “control”, “allowing” and “provide” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which control, allowing and providing structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear to the Examiner what ‘when dependent upon claim 4’ means in Claim 7. Based upon the dependency presented in the claim set, Claim 7 will never be dependent upon Claim 4 because Claim 5 is dependent upon Claim 1.
Since this is a conditional claim, of ‘when dependent upon claim 4’; Claim 7 and its function claim language does not need to be satisfied or performed at all.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of wirelessly transmit, from the sensing device to an external device… and wirelessly receive… and “control”, “allowing” and “provide”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GUERY, US Publication No. 2021/0353184 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 09 MAY 2024, US Patent Documents Cite No. A4.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference GUERY discloses a sensing device for detection of at least one characteristic of a substance, Figure 1, 5, 6C, implant 100/sensor array 500/sensor 504 [0036, 0041, 0046] , the sensing device comprising:
a plurality of cavities, wherein each cavity of the plurality of cavities comprises an opening, Figure 6C, wells 612A-D, [0046];
a plurality of sensors configured for detecting the at least one characteristic of the substance, wherein the plurality of sensors is arranged into a plurality of sets of one or more sensors, and wherein each set of one or more sensors is arranged in a mutually unique cavity of the plurality of cavities, Figure 1 and 5, elements 108/sites 502, [0021, 0023, 0041];
a plurality of protective membranes, wherein each protective membrane of the plurality of protective membranes is arranged to cover the opening of the mutually unique cavity, so as to prevent the substance from entering the cavity, Figure 6C, protection layer 644, [0046], thereby protecting a mutually unique set of one or more sensors of the plurality of sets from being exposed to the substance, [0046];
wherein the sensing device is configured for providing a different activation timing for different protective membranes among the plurality of protective membranes, to allow the set of one or more sensors protected by the different protective membranes to be exposed to the substance, whereby different sets of one or more sensors are exposed to the substance at different points in time, for providing detection of the at least one characteristic of the substance at multiple time points, [0026, 0027, 0034 0041].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 3: wherein the sensing device according to claim 1, wherein each set of one or more sensors comprises a first sensor configured for detecting the at least one characteristic of the substance, and a second sensor configured for detecting a background signal, Figure 6C, [0023, 0042, 0046] .; Claim 4: wherein the sensing device according to claim 1, further comprising a wireless communication unit configured to: wirelessly transmit, from the sensing device to an external device, a data set comprising information from at least one detection of the at least one characteristic of the substance, [0036, 0037, 0067, 0073]. ; Claim 5: wherein the sensing device according to claim 1, further comprising a control unit configured to control the activation timing for each protective membrane, thereby controlling the points in time at which the set of one or more sensors protected by the different protective membranes is allowed to be exposed to the substance, Claim 8, [0021-0024, 0026].; Claim 6: wherein the sensing device according to claim 5, wherein the control unit is further configured for allowing programmable control of the activation timing for each protective membrane, Claim 8, [0021-0024, 0026, 0041].; Claim 7: wherein the sensing device according to claim 5, when dependent on claim 4, wherein the wireless communication unit is further configured to: wirelessly receive a control message for controlling the activation timing for at least one protective membrane of the plurality of protective membranes; and transfer the control message to the control unit, thereby allowing wireless control of the activation timing for each protective membranes, [0021, 0022, 0037, 0127].; Claim 8: wherein the sensing device according to claim 5, wherein, for each protective membrane, the protective membrane is an electrically breakable membrane, such that the protective membrane breaks upon application of an electric voltage across the protective membrane, and wherein the control unit is configured to provide the electric voltage across each protective membrane at the respective activation timing, Figure 6C, [0026, 0046, 0049]. ; Claim 9: wherein the sensing device according to claim 8, wherein, for each protective membrane, the protective membrane undergoes low-temperature oxidation upon application of an electric voltage across the protective membrane, [0029, 0056, 0057]. It should be noted that the instant claim language is directed towards how the device is intended to be used and operated, i.e. upon application, rather than further defining the structure. See MPEP 2114. ; Claim 10: wherein the sensing device according to claim 1, wherein, for each sensor of the plurality of sensors, the sensor is configured to generate an electric signal in response to being exposed to the substance, and wherein the electric signal is dependent on a level of the at least one characteristic of the substance, abstract, [0002, 0024, 0025, 0069].; Claim 11: wherein the sensing device according to claim 10, further comprising at least one auxiliary electrode, wherein the sensing device is configured such that the at least one auxiliary electrode is employed in reading out the electric signal from more than one set of one or more sensors, for detection of the at least one characteristic of the substance at more than one point in time, [0026, 0065]. ; and Claim 12: wherein the sensing device according to claim 1, wherein, for each sensor of the plurality of sensors, the sensor comprises a reagent selected from any one of the groups: enzymes, antibodies, DNA, RNA, aptamers, supramolecular scaffolds, and molecularly imprinted polymers, [0028].
Applicant’s invention is directed towards an apparatus, a capsule.
Regarding Claim 13, the reference GUERY discloses a capsule for monitoring of at least one characteristic of a substance, [0046], the capsule comprising: a sensing device according to claim 1; wherein the capsule is configured to be immersed into the substance, and wherein the sensing device is arranged in the capsule such that the sensing device is allowed to be exposed to the substance, [0046].
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a system.
Regarding Claim 14, the reference GUERY discloses a system for monitoring of at least one characteristic of a substance, the system comprising: a sensing device according to claim 1, see Rejection of Claim 1 above;
a communication device external to the sensing device, and configured to receive a data set comprising information from at least one detection of the at least one characteristic of the substance, the communication device being further configured to analyze the data set and/or present results based on the data set to a user, [0127].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUERY, US Publication No. 2021/0353184 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 09 MAY 2024, US Patent Documents Cite No. A4, and further in view of SHAH, US Publication No. 2006/0076236 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, the GUERY reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the device further comprising a plurality of semi-permeable membranes, wherein each semi-permeable membrane of the plurality of semi-permeable membranes is arranged to cover the opening of the mutually unique cavity, wherein each semi-permeable membrane is configured to allow passage of a liquid through the semi-permeable membrane and to prevent passage a solid substance through the semi-permeable membrane, thereby protecting the mutually unique set of one or more sensors of the plurality of sets from being exposed to the solid substance.
SHAH discloses a sensing device for detection of at least one characteristic of a substance, abstract, Figure 2, [0054], the sensing device comprising:
a plurality of cavities, [0030, 0093, 0094, 0117, 0136], wherein each cavity of the plurality of cavities comprises an opening, [0117];
a plurality of sensors configured for detecting the at least one characteristic of the substance, wherein the plurality of sensors is arranged into a plurality of sets of one or more sensors, and wherein each set of one or more sensors is arranged in a mutually unique cavity of the plurality of cavities, Figure 2, layer 110, [0058];
a plurality of protective membranes, wherein each protective membrane of the plurality of protective membranes is arranged to cover the opening of the mutually unique cavity, so as to prevent the substance from entering the cavity, thereby protecting a mutually unique set of one or more sensors of the plurality of sets from being exposed to the substance; wherein the sensing device is configured for providing a different activation timing for different protective membranes among the plurality of protective membranes, to allow the set of one or more sensors protected by the different protective membranes to be exposed to the substance, Figure 2, layer 114, [0061];
further comprising a plurality of semi-permeable membranes, wherein each semi-permeable membrane of the plurality of semi-permeable membranes is arranged to cover the opening of the mutually unique cavity, wherein each semi-permeable membrane is configured to allow passage of a liquid through the semi-permeable membrane and to prevent passage a solid substance through the semi-permeable membrane, thereby protecting the mutually unique set of one or more sensors of the plurality of sets from being exposed to the solid substance, [0077, 0081, 0082], analyte modulating constituent, Figure 2, element 116.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of GUERY to further include a semi-permeable membranes, wherein each semi-permeable membrane of the plurality of semi-permeable membranes is arranged to cover the opening of the mutually unique cavity as taught by SHAH to modulate the diffusion of one or more analytes and to prevent or restrict the diffusion of one or more analytes as well as to facilitate the diffusion of one or more analytes, through the constituents, SHAH [0081, 0082].
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797