DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/21/23. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 6 of Remarks, “independent claim 1 recites a "temperature detector configured to detect respective temperatures of two or more areas of the resonance circuit". Applicant submits the applied art does not suggest that feature. With respect to the above-noted claim feature the outstanding rejection appears to cite Morinaga to disclose temperature sensors 51 and 52,1 but applicant submits those temperature sensors 51 and 52 in Morinaga do not meet the claim features. Applicant submits Morinaga discloses a temperature sensor 51 that detects an element temperature, and a further temperature sensor 52 that detects a cooling-water temperature. Thereby those temperature sensors 51 and 52 in Morinaga detect different temperature types, but do not detect "respective temperatures of two or more areas of the resonance circuit". In that respect for example the temperature sensor 52 detects a cooling-water temperature and not a temperature at another area of a resonance circuit.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Morinaga fig 1 (provided below) discloses an inverter 3 including a power element 3a. The inverter 3 is provided with a temperature sensor 51 which detects the temperature of the power element 3a and a water temperature sensor 52 which detects the temperature of the cooling water 41 flowing in the power element water jacket 3b. The cooling water jacket 3b and the power element 3a are shown in fig 1 to be located at two separate areas of the inverter 2. Therefore, the claim 1 limitation “respective temperatures of two or more areas of the resonance circuit” is disclosed in Morinaga.
On pages 7-8 applicant argues that, “Hida particularly does not disclose or suggest disconnecting the output of a temperature sensor after a temperature sensor circuit is diagnosed to be faulty”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hida discloses a temperature sensor 10 is disposed in a power conversion apparatus (not shown) such as an inverter. The temperature sensor 10 is connected with a temperature sensor circuit 11. See fig 1 below. Microcomputer 17 receives either characteristic signal 18a or diagnostics signal 18b. During normal operation, the changeover signal 19 is normally OFF (High) and, at this time, the switch circuit 21 of the first circuitry 20 is disconnected and the temperature sensor 10 is enabled. The temperature sensor 10 is connected with the temperature sensor circuit 11, so that the characteristic signal 18a by the temperature sensor 10 is input to the microcomputer 17 and the microcomputer 17 performs temperature measurement. When microcomputer 17 detects the diagnostics signal 18b output from the temperature sensor circuit 11 and, on the basis of the detection result, performs the fault diagnostics procedure for the temperature sensor circuit 11, the changeover signal 19 is ON (Low), the switch circuit 21 is brought into a conductive state and the temperature sensor 10 is disabled. The microcomputer compares a read value of the diagnostics signal 18b with a previously established reference value. If it is determined at Step S45 that the detection range 35 is exceeded, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is detected to be faulty and the microcomputer 17 outputs at Step S47 information indicating that the temperature sensor circuit 11 is faulty to the host control apparatus. he first circuitry 20 disables the temperature sensor 10. The second circuitry 22 changes a connection destination of the temperature sensor circuit 11 to the resistor 24 under a condition in which the first circuitry 20 disables the temperature sensor 10. The fault diagnostics procedure for the temperature sensor circuit 11 is performed when, for example, the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 10 indicates an abnormal value. If, as a result, a fault in the temperature sensor circuit 11 is detected, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is determined to be faulty; and if a fault in the temperature sensor circuit 11 is not detected, then the temperature sensor 10 is determined to be faulty. This approach allows which one of the temperature sensor 10 or the temperature sensor circuit 11 to be determined to be faulty when a measured temperature is abnormal. Therefore, the claim 1 limitation “detect an abnormality of the temperature detector configured to detect the temperatures of the resonance circuit, and, in response to detection of an abnormality of the temperature detector, execute control to cut off an abnormal output from the temperature detector from the detection of an abnormality of the resonance frequency” is disclosed in Hida.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/21/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US10050546 B1), hereinafter Choi, and further in view of Morinaga (US9823140 B2) and Hida et al. (US20170363481 A1), hereinafter Hida. Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a power conversion apparatus (fig 1, on-board charger) comprising: a voltage adjusting circuit (fig 1, power factor corrector (PFC) 30) configured to adjust power from a power supply to power of a desired voltage (col 5 lines 1-3 “The PFC 30 may be configured to rectify the AC voltage input from the outside to convert the AC voltage into a DC voltage and then output the DC voltage”); an inverter (fig 1, LLC converter 40) configured to convert the power output by the voltage adjusting circuit into alternate-current power (col 5 lines 9-13 “The LLC converter 40 may include a resonance circuit and a switch that includes switching elements Q1, Q2 configured to receive the DC voltage output from the PFC 30 and output the AC voltage to a first side of a transformer via switching”); a resonance circuit having an inductance and a capacitance (fig 1, resonance circuit of inductors and capacitor on primary side of transformer within LLC converter 40); a high-frequency transformer (fig 1, transformer (shown but not labelled) in LLC converter 40) configured to convert a voltage of the alternate-current power of the inverter (col 5 lines 13-17 “the LLC converter 40 may include the transformer configured to receive the AC voltage output from the switch at the first side thereof and adjust the voltage level of the AC voltage and output the AC voltage via a second side thereof”); a rectifier (fig 1, rectifier on secondary side of the transformer) configured to convert the alternate-current power output from the high-frequency transformer into direct-current power (col 5 lines 17-19 “a rectifier configured to rectify the AC voltage output from the second side of the transformer and outputs a DC voltage”); and a controller (fig 1, apparatus for controlling the LLC converter 100, further detailed in fig 2).
Choi does not disclose a temperature detector configured to detect respective temperatures of two or more areas of the resonance circuit; a controller configured to: detect an abnormality of a resonance frequency in response to that at least one of the temperatures are equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature threshold, and execute control for handling the abnormality; and also detect an abnormality of the temperature detector configured to detect the temperatures of the resonance circuit, and, in response to detected an abnormality of the temperature detector, execute control to cut off an abnormal output from the temperature detector from the detection of an abnormality of the resonance frequency.
Morinaga discloses a controller for use with inverter power elements which have a temperature sensor. Morinaga discloses a temperature detector (fig 1, temperature sensors 51 and 52) configured to detect respective temperatures of two or more areas of the resonance circuit (fig 1, temperature sensors 51 and 52 are two separate areas of the inverter circuit); a controller (fig 1, control device (sensor abnormality determining apparatus) controller 5) configured to: detect an abnormality of a resonance frequency (col 16 lines 38-43 “by mapping the relationship between a power element electric current and a power element temperature rise, the temperature rise of the power element 3a may be appropriately obtained in accordance with the electric current applied to the power element 3a”; detected rise in both current and temperature in a resonant circuit is a strong indicator of an abnormality or deviation in the resonant frequency) in response to that at least one of the temperatures are equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature threshold (col 4 lines 35-44 “Various detection signals are inputted into the control device 5 from a temperature sensor 51, a water temperature sensor 52, and a current sensor 53. The control device 5 is for carrying out the abnormality determination of the temperature sensor 51 by executing a temperature sensor abnormality determining steps described below, and comprises an abnormality determining section 5a and a determination temperature setting section 5b”;), and execute control for handling the abnormality (claim 1” a determination temperature setting section that sets the determination temperature difference to a lower value upon determining the power element temperature detected by the power element temperature sensor is lower than the water temperature detected by the water temperature sensor as compared to a value for the determination temperature difference upon determining the power element temperature detected by the power element temperature sensor is higher than the water temperature detected by the water temperature sensor”); and also detect an abnormality of the temperature detector configured to detect the temperatures of the resonance circuit (claim 1 “a controller programmed to include an abnormality determining section, which determines that the power element temperature sensor is abnormal when a temperature difference between the power element temperature detected by the power element temperature sensor and the water temperature detected by the water temperature sensor is higher than a previously set determination temperature difference”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Choi and incorporate the controller and temperature sensors as taught by Morinaga. The advantage of this design is to detect temperature near electrical components and execute an action in response to an abnormal temperature.
Choi and Morinaga do not disclose in response to detected an abnormality of the temperature detector, execute control to cut off an abnormal output from the temperature detector from the detection of an abnormality of the resonance frequency.
Hida discloses a fault detection apparatus including a temperature sensor circuit (fig 3, 10 and 11) and controller (fig 3, microcomputer and host control apparatus). Hida discloses in response to detected an abnormality of the temperature detector, execute control to cut off an abnormal output from the temperature detector from the detection of an abnormality of the resonance frequency (par [0022] “the microcomputer 17 monitors temperatures of the temperature sensor 10. It is noted that the changeover signal 19 is OFF under the normal condition in which the temperatures of the temperature sensor 10 are monitored. Specifically, the temperature sensor 10 is connected with the temperature sensor circuit 11 and the characteristic signal 18a by the temperature sensor 10 is input to the microcomputer 17, so that the microcomputer 17 monitors the temperatures.”; par [0037] “The fault diagnostics procedure for the temperature sensor circuit 11 is performed when, for example, the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 10 indicates an abnormal value. If, as a result, a fault in the temperature sensor circuit 11 is detected, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is determined to be faulty; and if a fault in the temperature sensor circuit 11 is not detected, then the temperature sensor 10 is determined to be faulty. This approach allows which one of the temperature sensor 10 or the temperature sensor circuit 11 to be determined to be faulty when a measured temperature is abnormal.”; par [0016] “changeover signal 19 is input to a switch circuit 21 of a first circuitry 20. The first circuitry 20 is connected in parallel with the temperature sensor 10. When the changeover signal 19 is ON (Low), the switch circuit 21 is brought into a conductive state and the temperature sensor 10 is disabled. When the changeover signal 19 is OFF (High), the switch circuit 21 is brought into a disconnected state and the temperature sensor 10 is enabled.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Choi and Morinaga and incorporate the control of the temperature sensor to disable an output taught by Hida. The advantage of this design is to disable the output of the sensor when it is determined that the sensor is faulty.
Regarding claim 2, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller calculates a value of an increase of the temperatures detected by the temperature detector after a certain period of time has elapsed since an operation of the apparatus is started (Hida par[0020] “Under normal conditions from the start of measurement up to measurement time t, the characteristic signal 18a by the temperature sensor 10 is input to the microcomputer 17 for measurement of temperatures. During the fault diagnostics procedure that starts with the measurement time t, the diagnostics signal 18b by the resistor 24 is input to the microcomputer 17 and temperatures are measured to correspond to the values of the diagnostics signal 18b… the diagnostics signal 18b during the fault diagnostics procedure is detected; when the detected value falls within a predetermined detection range 35 established with reference to the output characteristic 30, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is diagnosed to be operational; and when the detected value exceeds the detection range 35, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is diagnosed to be faulty”), and determines an abnormality of the temperature detector based on the temperature increase value (Hida par [0020]; Morinaga col 8 line 61-66 and col 9 lines 1-3 “In step S16, following a determination in step S14 that the temperature difference ΔT>the first determination temperature difference, or, the determination time<the first determination time, or, following the determination in step S15 that the temperature difference ΔT<the second determination temperature difference, or, the determination time<the second determination time, the temperature difference ΔT is determined assumed to be large, an abnormality is determined to be occurring in the temperature sensor 51, and the process ends.”).
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines an abnormality of the temperature detector by comparing the temperatures of the resonance circuit detected by the temperature detector with a temperature measured by a temperature measuring unit configured to measure a temperature of an area different from the resonance circuit (Morinaga col 8 lines 7-12 “the temperature of the power element 3a is detected by the temperature sensor 51, and the temperature of the cooling water 41 which flows in the power element water jacket 3b is detected by the water temperature sensor 52”; col 8 lines 12-19 “In step S13, following a detection of the power element temperature and the cooling water temperature in step S12, the difference between the temperature of the power element 3a and the temperature of the cooling water 41 (hereinafter referred to as temperature difference ΔT) detected in step S12 is calculated, and the process proceeds to step S14. The temperature difference ΔT is obtained”; col 8 line 61-66 and col 9 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller measures an initial temperature of the resonance circuit when an operation of the temperature detector is started, and determines an abnormality of the temperature detector based on the initial temperature (Morinaga fig. 2 is a flowchart illustrating the flow of the temperature sensor abnormality determining steps carried out in a control device. The disclosure cols 5-9 detail each step of the process to include initial temperature reading of the power element 3a taken from sensor 51 and comparing the temperature to the temperature of sensor 52 to obtain temperature difference during predetermined time and if temperature difference ΔT is determined to be large, an abnormality is determined to be occurring in the temperature sensor 51).
Regarding claim 6, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines an abnormality of the temperature detector by comparing a maximum temperature and a minimum temperature among the temperatures detected by the temperature detector (Morinaga par [0020] “Under normal conditions from the start of measurement up to measurement time t, the characteristic signal 18a by the temperature sensor 10 is input to the microcomputer 17 for measurement of temperatures. During the fault diagnostics procedure that starts with the measurement time t, the diagnostics signal 18b by the resistor 24 is input to the microcomputer 17 and temperatures are measured to correspond to the values of the diagnostics signal 18b… the diagnostics signal 18b during the fault diagnostics procedure is detected; when the detected value falls within a predetermined detection range 35 established with reference to the output characteristic 30, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is diagnosed to be operational; and when the detected value exceeds the detection range 35, the temperature sensor circuit 11 is diagnosed to be faulty”; examiner interprets the detection range to have a maximum and minimum temperature value and when the temperature exceeds that range which corresponds to diagnostics signal 18b).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the temperature detector includes at least one of thermistors (Hida fig 1, thermistor 10; [0012] “A temperature sensor 10 is disposed in a power conversion apparatus (not shown) such as an inverter. The temperature sensor 10 has a resistance value that varies corresponding to a temperature coefficient of resistance dependent on a temperature change.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, Choi, Morinaga, and Hida disclose the power conversion apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines an abnormality of the temperature detector by comparing a temperature measured by the temperature detector with temperatures measured by the other temperature detector (Morinaga cols 5-9 detail each step of the process to include initial temperature reading of the power element 3a taken from sensor 51 and comparing the temperature to the temperature of sensor 52 to obtain temperature difference during predetermined time and if temperature difference ΔT is determined to be large, an abnormality is determined to be occurring in the temperature sensor 51).
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “comparing a temperature measured by the temperature detector with an average value of temperatures measured by the other temperature detector”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imamura et al. (WO 2021199418 A1) a resonance circuit connected to the temperature sensor and in which impedance becomes an extreme value when AC power of a resonance frequency is supplied.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN ASHLEY SHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838