Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections made under §103 have been fully considered and found to be persuasive. The claims are rejected under new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation “the first machine-readable code encodes a dynamic link specific to a user's reservation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Its not clear if this is the link in “generate a first machine-readable code indicative of a link through which control of a set of smart devices is performed” or different link. For the purpose of examination this would be interpreted as the same link.
The dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 inherit the rejection of their respective base claim 1 and 10 and, as such are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 16 , and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA (2020/0327758 A1) in view of NOHISA YORIYASU (JP2024054912A) in view of GuestConnect ( Reference U of the PTO-892) in further view of Suryavanshi (US 2015/014 1005 A1)
As per claim 1, Ma teaches:
A method for controlling smart devices, ( see at least: Fig.2, smart home system abstract, provides smart device controls [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features, such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
generating, by a hotel connectivity system, a first machine-readable code indicative of a link through which control of a plurality of smart devices is performed, ( see at least: Fig. 23, #51 QR code to download guest app to control hotel room smart devices [0164] a scan code 51 that provides not only a link to the guest app 95, the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58, [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
wherein the plurality of smart devices is located in a hotel room; ( see at least; Fig. 11, smart devices inside hotel room, Fig.27 [0068]).
While Ma teaches displaying the first machine-readable code and a second machine-readable code, (see at least: Fig.23, #51 QR code [0164] guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58) Ma does not explicitly teach outputting, via a display located in the hotel room by the hotel connectivity system, machine-readable code, however, GuestConnect teaches that ( See: At check-in, your guests can be offered a QR code, generated uniquely for them to control the TV in their room alone for the duration of their stay. This QR code can be scanned using the camera on their smart phones or personal mobile devices. from the welcome message on the home screen of their in-room Philips MediaSuite TV. Once your guests have scanned the QR code, they will have full control of the TV – this web-based service means there’s no need to download an app.)
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate displaying the QR code feature for the same reasons its useful in GuestConnect - namely, to allow guests to control and operate the MediaSuite TV in their hotel room using their own smart phones, tablets or any other personal mobile devices with a camera to scan the unique QR code, with no need for them to touch the physical remote in their room. This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
Ma does not explicitly teach the first machine-readable code and the second machine-readable code are presented via the display concurrently. However, NOHISA YORIYASU teaches that ( see at least: [0027] When the private room user enters the private room, the one-time code is displayed on the display unit 10a of the private room control device 10 for that private room 2.[ 0049] after a private room user enters a private room, the facility management server 6 receives an entry signal sent from the accounting processing device 7, generates an authentication code unique to the private room 2, and displays it on the display unit 10a of the private room control device 10 of the private room 2. The smartphone 3 of the private room user who has entered reads a first QR code (registered trademark) pre-installed in the private room 2, thereby connecting the smartphone 3 to the Wi-Fi access point 4, and further reads a second QR code (registered trademark) pre-installed in the private room 2, causing an authentication page screen for inputting the authentication code unique to the private room 2 to be displayed on the smartphone 3.).
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to incorporate the displaying of the QR codes feature for the same reasons its useful in NOHISA YORIYASU -namely, to connect to the Wi-Fi and link the private room 2 with the smartphone 3 of the user until the private room user leaves the room ( par.49). This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
Ma further teaches provides access a wireless network ( see at least: Fig.27 #326 Fig.30 #346 [0113] Fig.19, The screen 252 includes options 253-256 for enabling WiFi communications, [0160])
While Ma teaches second machine-readable code ( see at least: [0164] the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51 ) Ma does not explicitly teach wherein the second machine-readable code provides wireless network credentials to access a wireless network, the second machine-readable code encodes a service set identifier. However, this is taught by Suryavanshi ( see at least: [0027] the mobile device may use signal strengths to determine the next wireless network access point to evaluate (and connect to) when iterating through the identifiers (e.g., SSIDs) of proximate wireless network access points. In another embodiment, the mobile device may be configured to use connected sensors (e.g., a camera) to detect quick response codes (“QR codes”) that may indicate SSIDs or other unique identifiers most relevant to a particular room/section. For example, the mobile device may scan a QR code on the wall of a break-out room to obtain the SSID to which the mobile device may connect to receive or participate in a location-relevant service.).
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate the Suryavanshi’s QR code with SSID feature to provide wireless credentials to access wireless network for the same reasons its useful in Suryavanshi -namely, so the mobile device may connect to receive or participate in a location-relevant service. ( par.27) . This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
While Ma teaches the first machine-readable code ( see at least:[0164]), Ma does not explicitly teach the first machine-readable code encodes a dynamic link specific to a user's reservation; however, this is taught by GuestConnect ( At check-in, your guests can be offered a QR code, generated uniquely for them to control the TV in their room alone for the duration of their stay. This QR code can be scanned using the camera on their smart phones or personal mobile devices. from the welcome message on the home screen of their in-room Philips MediaSuite TV. Once your guests have scanned the QR code, they will have full control of the TV – this web-based service means there’s no need to download an app.)
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate the dynamic link feature for the same reasons its useful in GuestConnect - namely, to allow guests to control and operate the MediaSuite TV in their hotel room using their own smart phones, tablets or any other personal mobile devices with a camera to scan the unique QR code, with no need for them to touch the physical remote in their room. This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
Ma further teaches receiving, by the hotel connectivity system, a request to change a state of a smart device of the plurality of smart devices from a user mobile device; in response to the request, transmitting, by the hotel connectivity system, a command to the smart device of the plurality of smart devices; ( see at least: Fig.30, Fig.33, Fig.22 [0133] When a guest selects the “Automation Features” button 353 in the panel screen 352, the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system [0128])
Ma further teaches after transmitting the command, determining, by the hotel connectivity system, that a reservation linked to the hotel room has expired; and in response to determining that the reservation linked to the hotel room has expired, revoking, by the hotel connectivity system, access to control the plurality of smart devices by the user mobile device. ( see at least: Fig.9, [0128] In order to terminate the guest's access to the smart devices 42 , the system 10 need only to enforce an expiration date and time for the guest's stay or send a command ,via network or via a block card, to purge [revoking access ]the LMS credential 70 and / or derivatives 71 , 72 thereof [0075] When or after the guest checks out, the LMS 11 remotely purges, disables, resets, and/or replaces the credential verification codes 76, if any, and/or the credentials 70 themselves. Alternatively, the LMS 11 remotely deletes the users and/or reset the passwords or other credentials associated with the group of smart devices 42 associated with the rental unit. Reset the home automation group so that the guest can no longer access the smart devices 42 [0078] The LMP's purge of credential verification codes 76 is coordinated with the PMP's management of check-outs.)
As per claim 7, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, and Suryavanshi teaches claim 1. Ma further teaches:
wherein determining that the reservation linked to the hotel room has expired comprises receiving a reservation end time from a hotel reservation management system in communication with the hotel connectivity system. ( see at least: [0128] in order to terminate the guest's access to the smart devices 42, the system 10 need only to enforce an expiration date and time for the guest's stay or send a command, via network or via a block card, to purge the LMS credential [0154] the guest uses the guest app to check out . The check - out request is sent to the PMP 31 [hotel reservation management] , which checks the guest out and signals the LMS 11 to purge the credential verification codes 74 from the lock and amenity controllers 80 that have them . Alternatively , the credentials 70-72 are disabled by some other manner ( examples of which have been described in this specification [0078] Each PMP 33 communicates with a database 14 , storing and retrieving reservation, check-in , check-out see also Fig.1 )
As per claim 20, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, and Suryavanshi teaches claim 10. Ma further teaches:
transmit the command to the smart device of the set of smart devices comprises the hotel connectivity system transmitting the command to a smart device host system via the Internet, wherein the smart device host system relays the command to the smart device of the set of smart devices. ( see at least: Fig.2, smart home system #42 smart devices, Fig.30 abstract, After authenticating the LMS credential, the lock controller or gateway transmits a command to the smart device that is backed by a configurable smart device credential. [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system. [0173] wireless )
Claims 10 and 16 recite similar limitations as claims 1 and 7, therefore they are rejected over the same rationales.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA (US2020/0327758 A1) in view of NOHISA YORIYASU (JP2024054912A) in view of GuestConnect ( Reference U of the PTO-892) in view of Suryavanshi (US2015/0141005 A1) in further view of Warrick (US 2020/0045089 A1)
As per claim 2, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, and Suryavanshi teaches claim 1. Ma further teaches:
While Ma teaches the link by the hotel connectivity system ( see at least: [ 0164] scan code 51 provide link to the guest app 95 )
Ma does not explicitly teach the link refers to a webpage served locally by the system and the webpage is only accessible by the user mobile device via the wireless network. However, this is taught by Warrick ( see at least: Fig.2 #214 login portal #112 Hotel LA, Fig. 19 shows web browser [ 0040] UI generated by the login portal [0149] a web browser may interact with the login portal 214 over the hotel LAN 112. [ hotel local area network corresponds to served locally], [0046] The system controller 102 dynamically controls the ability of guest devices 118 , 120 [ user mobile device] at the hotel to share media content with in- room media devices 121, 122 , 123 , 124 over the hotel's LAN 112 [0176] Once connected to the login portal 214, the web browser on the guest device 118 displays UI screen 1900 (top screen of FIG. 19) the user scans connect code 1702 using a web cam or other scanner on guest device 118)
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to substitute the Ma’s link to download the guest app feature with Warrick’s link to locally served webpage feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick -namely, to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey ( par.40). Based on the level of skill displays in the references, the substitution of Ma’s link to guest app with Warrick’s QR webpage for controlling a smart device can be performed by routine engineering producing predictable results . Thus, simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As per claim 3, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi , and Warrick teaches claim 2. Ma further teaches:
the first machine-readable code and the second machine-readable code are quick response (QR) codes. ( see at least: [0164] the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51 [ first and second machine-readable codes], one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58 [ first machine-readable code], and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58 [0118-119] the guest card has a bar or matrix code 51 (e.g., a “QR code”))
As per claim 4, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 2. Ma further teaches:
imaging, by the user mobile device, the second machine-readable code; ( see [0164] the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58)
While Ma teaches accessing, by the user mobile device, the wireless network ( see at least: Fig.27 #326 Fig.30 #346 [0113] Fig.19, The screen 252 includes options 253-256 for enabling WiFi communications, [0160])
Ma does not explicitly teach accessing the wireless network using the wireless network credentials indicated by the second machine-readable code; However, this is taught by Suryavanshi ( see at least: [0027] the mobile device may use signal strengths to determine the next wireless network access point to evaluate (and connect to) when iterating through the identifiers (e.g., SSIDs) of proximate wireless network access points. In another embodiment, the mobile device may be configured to use connected sensors (e.g., a camera) to detect quick response codes (“QR codes”) that may indicate SSIDs or other unique identifiers most relevant to a particular room/section. For example, the mobile device may scan a QR code on the wall of a break-out room to obtain the SSID to which the mobile device may connect to receive or participate in a location-relevant service.).
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate the Suryavanshi’s QR code with SSID feature to provide wireless credentials to access wireless network for the same reasons its useful in Suryavanshi -namely, so the mobile device may connect to receive or participate in a location-relevant service. ( par.27) . This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
While Ma teaches imaging the first machine readable code( see [0164] the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58),
Ma does not explicitly teach after accessing the wireless network, imaging the first machine-readable code; requesting the link from the first machine-readable code using via the wireless network. However, this is taught by NOHISA YORIYASU ( see at least: [0049] after a private room user enters a private room, the facility management server 6 receives an entry signal sent from the accounting processing device 7, generates an authentication code unique to the private room 2, and displays it on the display unit 10a of the private room control device 10 of the private room 2. The smartphone 3 of the private room user who has entered reads a first QR code pre-installed in the private room 2, thereby connecting the smartphone 3 to the Wi-Fi access point 4, and further reads a second QR code [this corresponds to imaging the first machine-readable code after accessing the wireless network ] pre-installed in the private room 2, causing an authentication page screen [ requesting the link using the wireless network] for inputting the authentication code unique to the private room 2 to be displayed on the smartphone 3. The private room user inputs the authentication code unique to the private room 2 into the smartphone 3, and a process of linking the private room 2 with the smartphone 3 is performed until the private room user leaves the room. See also, [0027])
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate the imaging of the QR code after accessing to the wireless feature for the same reasons its useful in NOHISA YORIYASU - namely, so it would be possible for users of the private room 2 at the accommodation facility to easily use their smartphone 3 to order food and drink, control the audio-visual equipment in the private room 2, and pay for usage fees ( par.50). This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 6, Ma in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, and Suryavanshi teaches claim 1. Ma further teaches:
removing access to control the plurality of smart devices ( see at least: [0128] Advantageously, in order to terminate the guest's access to the smart devices 42, the system 10 need only to enforce an expiration date and time for the guest's stay or send a command, via network or via a block card, to purge the LMS credential 70 and/or derivatives 71, 72 thereof, also see [0075] [0078] checking out ).
Ma does not explicitly teach revoking access to the wireless network for the user mobile device. However, this is taught by Warrick ( Warrick: see at least: [0134] deactivate the communication feature between the guest device and the in - room media devices in the subset associated with the guest device [0152] The expiry time may also correspond to the end time 1206 of the guest's reservation [0133-134] deactivate the communication feature)
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to incorporate the revoking the wireless network feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick - namely, for deactivating in - room media sharing support when a guest device is no longer authorized to share content with a subset of the hotel's in - room media devices ( par.61).This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 8, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 2. Ma further teaches:
accessing, by the hotel connectivity system, a hotel smart device database; retrieving, by the hotel connectivity system, data about the plurality of smart devices located in the hotel room from the hotel smart device database; ( see at least: Fig.2 #45 [0105] The configure SDCs button 223 opens a configure SDC screen 212 (FIG. 16), which presents a scrollable hierarchical list 211 [ accessing database and retrieve data about the smart devices ] of the smart devices 42 and the rooms, zones, abodes, communities, and/or other groups to which they belong [0128] SDC credentials 66 and optionally smart device configurations are stored in the flash memory 88 of the lock controller 80.)
While Ma teaches generating, by the hotel connectivity system, a link to a app that provides a control of the plurality of smart devices, ( see at least: see at least: Fig. 23, #51 QR code to download guest app to control hotel room smart devices [0164] a scan code 51 that provides a link to the guest app 95, the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58], [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features (which are not restricted to homes), such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
Ma does not explicitly teach generating the webpage; However, this is taught by Warrick ( see at least: Fig.9 [0040] FIG . 19 shows examples of user interface ( UI ) screens generated by a login portal and displayed in a web browser of a guest device to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey [0176] Once connected to the login portal 214, the web browser on the guest device 118 displays UI screen 1900 (top screen of FIG. 19) the user scans connect code 1702 using a web cam or other scanner on guest device 118)
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to substitute the Ma’s link to download the guest app feature with Warrick’s webpage feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick -namely, to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey ( par.40). Based on the level of skill displays in the references, the substitution of Ma’s link to guest app with Warrick’s webpage for controlling a smart device can be performed by routine engineering producing predictable results . Thus, simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As per claim 9, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 8. Ma further teaches
retrieving data about a second smart device located in a hotel common area from the hotel smart device database, provides control of the second smart device located in the hotel common area ( see at least: Fig.32 amenities access Fig.38-40, [ controlling smart lock devices 65 of the outdoor pool 580, basketball gym 590, exercise room 570] [0094] the integrated lock management and smart device control system comprises one or more access - controlled smart devices 42 and one or more amenity controllers 80 that control access to a smart device 42 or amenity in the room , facility , or on the premises of the room or facility [0095] Examples of smart appliances/devices 42 [ includes devices insides the room and outside the room in the common are such as a pool or rooftop bar] [0101] guests get access to amenities using their physical tokens 50 and/or mobile phones 58 [0128] SDC credentials 66 and optionally smart device configurations are stored in the flash memory 88 of the lock controller 80)
While Ma teaches generating a link to a mobile application that provides a control of the plurality of smart devices located in the hotel common area, ( see at least: see at least: Fig. 23, #51 QR code to download guest app to control hotel room smart devices [0164] a scan code 51 that provides a link to the guest app 95, the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58], [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
Ma does not explicitly teach generating the webpage; However, this is taught by Warrick ( see at least: Fig.9 [0040] FIG . 19 shows examples of user interface ( UI ) screens generated by a login portal and displayed in a web browser of a guest device to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey [0176] Once connected to the login portal 214, the web browser on the guest device 118 displays UI screen 1900 (top screen of FIG. 19) the user scans connect code 1702 using a web cam or other scanner on guest device 118)
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to substitute the Ma’s link to download the guest app feature with Warrick’s webpage feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick -namely, to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey ( par.40). Based on the level of skill displays in the references, the substitution of Ma’s link to guest app with Warrick’s webpage for controlling a smart device can be performed by routine engineering producing predictable results . Thus, simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As per claim 17, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 11. Ma further teaches:
access a hotel smart device database; retrieve data about the plurality of smart devices located in the hotel room from the hotel smart device database; ( see at least: Fig.2 #45 [0105] The configure SDCs button 223 opens a configure SDC screen 212 (FIG. 16), which presents a scrollable hierarchical list 211 [ accessing database and retrieve data about the smart devices] of the smart devices 42 and the rooms, zones, abodes, communities, and/or other groups to which they belong [0128] SDC credentials 66 and optionally smart device configurations are stored in the flash memory 88 of the lock controller 80.)
While Ma teaches generating a link to a mobile application that provides a control of the plurality of smart devices, ( see at least: see at least: Fig. 23, #51 QR code to download guest app to control hotel room smart devices [0164] a scan code 51 that provides a link to the guest app 95, the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58], [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
Ma does not explicitly teach generating the webpage; However, this is taught by Warrick ( see at least: Fig.9 [0040] FIG . 19 shows examples of user interface ( UI ) screens generated by a login portal and displayed in a web browser of a guest device to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey [0176] Once connected to the login portal 214, the web browser on the guest device 118 displays UI screen 1900 (top screen of FIG. 19) the user scans connect code 1702 using a web cam or other scanner on guest device 118)
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to substitute the Ma’s link to download the guest app feature with Warrick’s webpage feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick -namely, to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey ( par.40). Based on the level of skill displays in the references, the substitution of Ma’s link to guest app with Warrick’s webpage for controlling a smart device can be performed by routine engineering producing predictable results . Thus, simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As per claim 18, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 17. Ma further teaches:
a second plurality of smart devices, wherein the second plurality of smart devices are located in one or more common areas of the hotel. ( see at least: Fig.32 amenities access Fig.38-40, [ controlling smart lock devices 65 of the outdoor pool 580, basketball gym 590, exercise room 570] [0094] the integrated lock management and smart device control system comprises one or more access - controlled smart devices 42 and one or more amenity controllers 80 that control access to a smart device 42 or amenity in the room , facility , or on the premises of the room or facility[0095] Examples of smart appliances/devices 42 [ includes devices insides the room and outside the room in the common are such a pool or rooftop bar] [0101] guests get access to amenities using their physical tokens 50 and/or mobile phones 58)
As per claim 19, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 18. Ma further teaches:
retrieve data about a second smart device of the second plurality of smart devices located in a hotel common area from the hotel smart device database, provides control of the second smart device of the second plurality of smart devices located in the hotel common area. ( see at least: Fig.32 amenities access Fig.38-40, [ controlling smart lock devices 65 of the outdoor pool 580, basketball gym 590, exercise room 570] [0094] the integrated lock management and smart device control system comprises one or more access - controlled smart devices 42 and one or more amenity controllers 80 that control access to a smart device 42 or amenity in the room , facility , or on the premises of the room or facility[0095] Example of LMS - controlled community amenities include a pool and spa, lounge, dining hall, dance hall, exercise room, fitness center, gym , tennis court, racquetball court, studio, conference room, theater , and the like [0101] guests get access to amenities using their physical tokens 50 and/or mobile phones 58 [0128] SDC credentials 66 and optionally smart device configurations are stored in the flash memory 88 of the lock controller 80.))
While Ma teaches generating a link to a mobile application that provides a control of the plurality of smart devices located in the hotel common area, ( see at least: see at least: Fig. 23, #51 QR code to download guest app to control hotel room smart devices [0164] a scan code 51 that provides a link to the guest app 95, the guest's token is provided with two scan codes 51, one for downloading the guest app 95, enabling transfer the LMS credential 70 to the phone 58, and one for downloading the SD credential 66 to the phone 58], [0133] the guest app 95 presents controls for one or more “home automation” features (which are not restricted to homes), such as a light, fan, fireplace, garage door, HVAC, or home theater system)
Ma does not explicitly teach generating the webpage; However, this is taught by Warrick ( see at least: Fig.9 [0040] FIG . 19 shows examples of user interface ( UI ) screens generated by a login portal and displayed in a web browser of a guest device to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey [0176] Once connected to the login portal 214, the web browser on the guest device 118 displays UI screen 1900 (top screen of FIG. 19) the user scans connect code 1702 using a web cam or other scanner on guest device 118)
It would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to substitute the Ma’s link to download the guest app feature with Warrick’s webpage feature for the same reasons its useful in Warrick -namely, to allow the user of the guest device to enable in - room media content streaming according to a location - specific passkey ( par.40). Based on the level of skill displays in the references, the substitution of Ma’s link to guest app with Warrick’s webpage for controlling a smart device can be performed by routine engineering producing predictable results . Thus, simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claims 11-13, 15 recite similar limitations as claims 2-4, 6, therefore they are rejected over the same rationales.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA(US2020/0327758 A1) in view of NOHISA YORIYASU (JP2024054912A) in view of GuestConnect ( Reference U of the PTO-892) in further view of Suryavanshi (US2015/0141005 A1) in view of Warrick (US2020/0045089 A1) in further view of Silverstein (US 20230026368 A1)
As per claim 5, Ma teaches in view of NOHISA YORIYASU, GuestConnect, Suryavanshi and Warrick teaches claim 2. Ma further teaches:
removing access to control the plurality of smart devices ( see at least: [0128] in order to terminate the guest's access to the smart devices 42, the system 10 need only to enforce an expiration date and time for the guest's stay or send a command, via network or via a block card, to purge the LMS credential [0075] When or after the guest checks out, the LMS 11 remotely purges, disables, resets, and/or replaces the credential verification codes 76, if any, and/or the credentials 70 themselves [0078] checking out ).
Ma does not explicitly teach deactivating the link to the webpage; however, this is taught by Sliverstein ( see at least: [0171] if an unauthorized user, through their browser application, enters the URI corresponding to a website indicated through this set of access control policies, the virtual machine instance 216 may determine that the unauthorized user has not been granted access to the website. Accordingly, the virtual machine instance 216 may return an error or other indication that the unauthorized user has not been granted access to the website (e.g., an HTTP 404—File Not Found error, etc.).)
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to incorporate Silverstein’s deactivating of the link feature with Ma’s removing access for the same reasons its useful in Silverstein- namely, to prevent unauthorized access to premium and/or exclusive content that may be made available to subscribers or otherwise to users paying a requisite fee to access such premium and/or exclusive content ( par.226).This is merely a combination of old elements. In the combination no elements would serve a purpose other than it already did independently and one skill in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 5, therefore its rejected over the same rationales.
Conclusion
/MANAL A. ALSAMIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 3628