DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 26 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6-15 of the Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that both Cooper and AI-Mufti fail to disclose least the following sub-module of the communication in the present application: crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), digital up converter (DUC), digital down converter (UDC), physical random access channel (PRACH) filtering processing, automatic gain control (AGC), in-phase and quadrature (IQ) data compression and decompression, antenna calibration, and orthogonal frequency division (OFDM) phase compensation. Moreover, Al-Mufti does not even disclose all the sub-modules of the communication signal processing module. Also Cooper fails to specify which modules should be implemented by programmable digital circuits (software) and which module should be implemented by fixed digital circuits (hardware). Since Cooper does not disclose how modules are implemented, a person having ordinary skill in art would not be able to determine how to implement such modules. Further, Cooper fails to disclose several of claimed submodules. Although Annavajjale discloses some of the claimed modules, Annavajjale fail to disclose the programmable fronthaul interface and common public radio interface (CPRI), submodule of OFDM phase compensation. Jeon does not disclose submodules of DPD, AGC, ADC, DAC, and OFDM phase compensation. Cooper fail to disclose CPRI.
Also AI-Mufti does not even disclose the ADC and DAC module of claim 10. Therefore, Cooper, Al-Mufti, Annavajjala, and Jeon does not disclose the claimed limitation..
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Cooper disclose the radio unit which function are implemented in any combination of hardware and software digital circuits having multiple components or sub-components. Also the reconfiguration (through the software or firmware) of radio units and distributed units allows enhance the communication network. Also Cooper states the various modification to the disclosure is apparent to the person having ordinary skill in the art. In general, It would be obvious to implement multiple components/subcomponents in various of combination of hardware, software, and firmware to meet the design aspect of the communication system and the improving the communication system (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0042, 0044, 0055, 0112, 0104, 0123, 0134, 0149, 0230, 0235]). Cooper disclose the combination of the following modules; inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), cyclic prefix (CP) addition, digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), CP removal, fast Fourier transform (FFT), orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) phase compensation (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0058, 0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100]). Also Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]). Also Al-Mufti discloses the fronthaul gateway (interface between the RU and DU) implemented in one or more software module (programmable digital circuit) for improve compatibility (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004, 0021, 0026, 0044, 0085]). Further Jeon discloses the RU referred as remote radio head (RRH) and operation of fronthaul between the RU and DU using common public radio interface implemented in combination of hardware (fixed digital circuit) and software (programmable digital circuit) (Fig. 1B, paragraph [0042, 0055, 0058, 0071, 0183]). Overall, all teachings of Cooper, Annavajjala, Al-Mufti, and Jeon discloses the flexible configuration of MIMO wireless radios to enhance the data transmission and reception.
Applicant also argues that present application achieves unexpected performance of each of maintenance and upgrade, and extension of service life. Also optimization of the communication performance of multiple antenna remote radio head and radio unit. The combination of cited references does not achieve determination of which modules should be allocated to programmable digital circuits or fixed digital circuit and which sub-modules should be included.
he Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because overall claimed limitation does not disclose which specific modules are implemented for programmable digital circuits and fixed digital circuits. Claimed limitation disclose the radio unit comprising either single or multiple programmable digital circuits and fixed digital circuits having multiple modules. Also Cooper discloses the radio unit in general which function are implemented in any combination of hardware and software digital circuits having multiple components or sub-components. Also the reconfiguration (through the software or firmware) of radio units and distributed units allows enhance the communication network. Also Cooper states the various modification to the disclosure is apparent to the person having ordinary skill in the art. In general, It would be obvious to implement multiple components/subcomponents in various of combination of hardware, software, and firmware to meet the design aspect of the communication system and the improving the communication system (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0042, 0044, 0055, 0112, 0104, 0123, 0134, 0149, 0230, 0235]). Cooper disclose the combination of the following modules; inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), cyclic prefix (CP) addition, digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), CP removal, fast Fourier transform (FFT), orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) phase compensation (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0058, 0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100]). Also Annavajjala, Al-Mufti, and Jeon discloses the flexible configuration of MIMO wireless radios to enhance the data transmission and reception which is apparent to the person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20210243617 to Cooper et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20230262485 to Annavajjala et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210120104 to Al-Mufti.
As to Claims 1 and 4, Cooper discloses a digital circuit for a radio unit (RU), comprising (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0112, 0104, 0123, 0134, 0149, 0230], where the radio unit (RU) functions are implemented in any combination of hardware and software digital circuits having multiple components or sub-components):
a single or plurality of programmable digital circuits (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0102, 0104, 0112, 0123, 0149, 0230, 0235], where the radio unit (RU) comprising plurality of functional units/components/subcomponents are implemented in any hardware and software digital circuits);
a single or plurality of fixed digital circuits (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0102, 0104, 0112, 0123, 0149, 0230, 0235], where the radio unit (RU) comprising plurality of functional units/components/subcomponents are implemented in any combination of hardware including application specific integrated circuits (ASIC, discrete hardware components, etc. - fixed circuits));
wherein at least one programmable digital circuit and at least one fixed digital circuit has a single or plurality of communication signal processing modules (Fig. 2-15, paragraph [0078, 0102, 0104, 0111, 0112, 0115, 0118, 0139, 0159, 0230], where RU hardware is implemented for flexible configurations for performing various different baseband and RF functions between the RU and DU communicating digital signals (interface between RU and DU – fronthaul interface) which implemented in any combination of software in general purpose processors/logic devices (programmable digital circuits) and application specific integrated circuits (fixed digital circuits));
wherein the different programmable digital circuit(s) and fixed digital circuit(s) are connected by a single or plurality of interface(s), and the interface can be implemented by JESD204 A/B/C, low voltage differential signaling (LVDS), PCI Express (PCIe), or other interface (Fig. 2-15, paragraph [0112, 0115, 0118, 0139], where the network ports (interface between RU and DU – fronthaul interface) communicating digital signals between the RU and DU include PCIe, Ethernet, etc.);
wherein the communication signal processing module comprises a combination of the following modules; inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT), cyclic prefix (CP) addition, digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), CP removal, fast Fourier transform (FFT), orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) phase compensation (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0058, 0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100], where the RU functional blocks includes the baseband processing (in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) digital samples), IFFT, CP addition, digital to analog converter, analog to digital converter, FFT, equalization (filtering), applying amplitude and phase offsets, OFDM modulation schemes, and applying phase and amplitude offset to adjust the signal (implicitly apply to baseband (I/Q) signal, etc.).
Cooper disclose all of the subject matter as described above for various RU functional blocks (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100]) except for the crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), digital up converter (DUC), digital up converter (DUC), digital down converter (DDC), physical random access channel (PRACH) filtering processing, automatic gain control (AGC), in-phase and quadrature (IQ) data compression and decompression, and antenna calibration.
However, Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use commonly known communication system components as taught by Annavajjala to modify the RU of Cooper to enhance the communication of the system.
Cooper in view of Annavajjala disclose all of the subject matter as described above (Cooper - Fig. 2-15, paragraph [0078, 0102, 0104, 0111, 0112, 0115, 0118, 0139, 0159, 0230]) except for programmable fronthaul module.
However, Al-Mufti in the same field of endeavor teaches the fronthaul gateway (interface between the RU and DU) implemented in one or more software module (programmable digital circuit) for improve compatibility (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004, 0021, 0026, 0044, 0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the software implemented fronthaul gateway (interface between the RU and DU) as taught by Al-Mufti to modify the RU of Cooper to support various 5G/6G communication systems to enhance the communication of the system
modulation, CP addition/removal, analog/digital conversion, equalization, analog processing, etc.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20210243617 to Cooper et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20210120531 to Jeon et al.
As to Claim 10, Cooper discloses a digital circuit for a radio unit (RU), comprising (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0112, 0104, 0123, 0134, 0149, 0230], where the radio unit (RU) functions are implemented in any combination of hardware and software digital circuits having multiple components or sub-components):
a single or plurality of programmable digital circuits (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0102, 0104, 0112, 0123, 0149, 0230, 0235], where the radio unit (RU) comprising plurality of functional units/components/subcomponents are implemented in any hardware and software digital circuits);
a single or plurality of fixed digital circuits (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 18, Fig. 19, paragraph [0102, 0104, 0112, 0123, 0149, 0230, 0235], where the radio unit (RU) comprising plurality of functional units/components/subcomponents are implemented in any combination of hardware including application specific integrated circuits (ASIC, discrete hardware components, etc. - fixed circuits));
wherein at least one programmable digital circuit and at least one fixed digital circuit has a single or plurality of digital to analog converter (DAC) and analog to digital converter (ADC) module(s) (Fig. 2-15, paragraph [0078, 0088, 0089, 0096-0100, 0102, 0104, 0111, 0112, 0115, 0118, 0139, 0159], where RU hardware is implemented for flexible configurations for performing various different baseband and RF functions between the RU and DU communicating digital signals including IFFT/FFT, OFDM modulation, CP addition/removal, digital to analog conversion (DAC), analog to digital conversion (ADC), equalization, analog processing, etc. which implemented in software in general purpose processor/logic device (programmable digital circuits) and application specific integrated circuits (fixed digital circuits)).
Cooper disclose all of the subject matter as described above (F Fig. 2-15, paragraph [0078, 0088, 0096-0100, 0102, 0104, 0111, 0112, 0115, 0118, 0139, 0159]) except for the remote radio head (RRH) and circuit for common public radio interface.
However, Jeon in the same field of endeavor teaches the RU referred as remote radio head (RRH) and operation of fronthaul between the RU and DU using common public radio interface implemented in combination of hardware (fixed digital circuit) and software (programmable digital circuit) (Fig. 1B, paragraph [0042, 0055, 0058, 0071, 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the common public radio interface for RU (RRH) in signal communication system as taught by Jeon to modify the RU of Cooper to support various 5G/6G communication systems to enhance the communication of the system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SUNG S AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2631 (571)-270-3706
sung.ahn@uspto.gov