Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication dated 12/21/23.
Original claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application No. 2025/0047542 [hereinafter Kim ] in view of Park et al U,S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0268934 [hereinafter Park]
As per claims 1, 10 and 19 Kim discloses A first station (STA) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first STA ([see figs. 1 and 2 stations) to:
receive a first frame second STA to receive a first number of repetitions of a first signal field of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit(PPDU)(see par. 0018), station 172 may obtain information related to the repetition number of a pattern]
wherein the first number of repetitions comprises more than two(see par. 0118, 0125, 0155, one or more repetitions of the first OFDM symbol block may be concatenated with the first OFDM symbol block.);
encode the PPDU such that the first signal field comprises up to the first number
of repetitions of the second STA; and
(see par. 0125, 0133)
transmit, to the second STA, the PPDU, based on the encoding. Par. 10, 14)
(fig.5 and par. 0057, 0066).
Kim does not explicitly discloses the received first frame indicating a capability of a second station
Park discloses the received a first frame indicating a capability of a second station
(see par. 0080, where the association request frame may include, for example, information related to various capabilities, a beacon listen interval, a service set identifier (SSID), a supported rate, a supported channel, RSN, a mobility domain, a supported operating class, a traffic indication map (TIM) broadcast request, and an interworking service capability. T). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Park into the system of Kim The AP may determine whether to allow the authentication of the STA based on the information included in the received authentication request frame. For example, the transmitting STA may apply BCC encoding based on a ½ coding rate to the 24-bit information of the L-SIG field.
As per claim 2, and 11Kim discloses the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first signal field comprises a first universal signal symbol and a second universal signal symbol(see par. 0135).
As per claim 3, and 12 Kim discloses the first STA of claim 2, wherein the encoding of the PPDU comprises encoding: a first copy of the first universal signal symbol based on a first modulation scheme; and one or more subsequent copies of the first universal signal symbol based on a second modulation scheme, different from the first modulation scheme(see par. 0063, 0099).
As per claim 4, and 13 Km discloses the first STA of claim 3, wherein the first modulation scheme comprises binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) and the second modulation scheme comprises quadrature BPSK (QBPSK).(see par. 0063)
As per claim 5, and 14 Kim discloses the first STA of claim 1, wherein the PPDU comprises a second signal field, the second signal field being encoded with a same number of repetitions as the first number of repetitions of the first signal field(see par. 0118).
As per claim 7, and 16 Kim discloses the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first number of repetitions comprises a maximum number of time domain repetitions for the first signal field that the second STA is able to receive(see par.0155, 0157).
As per alim 8, and 17 Parker discloses the first STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the first STA to receive, from the second STA, a second frame indicating a capability of the second STA to receive a second number of repetitions, in frequency, of the first signal field.(see par. 0118, 0160).
Claims 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application No. 2025/0047542 [hereinafter Kim ] in view of Park et al U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0268934 [hereinafter Park] and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230148403 [hereinafter Fang ].
As per claims 6 and 15 the system of Kim -Park discloses substantial features of the claimed invention as discussed above with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19,
The system of Kim -Park does not explicitly wherein the second signal field comprises at least one ultra-high reliability (UHR) signal field (UHR-SIG).
Fang discloses wherein the second signal field comprises at least one ultra-high reliability (UHR) signal field (UHR-SIG)(see par. 0078, 0080-0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fang into the system of Kim-Park
Thus enabling the UHR STA to encode the U-SIG via one or more bits , as many as 64 to indicate whether the PPDU is configured for an extremely high throughput (EHT) transmission or a UHR transmission.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466