Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wesling does not teach "the first communicator sends first information to the drive unit prior to sending a shifting initiation signal to the transmission device." Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Wesling at least [0068], [0006], claim 9, and [0018] teaching a touch sensor mounted on a shift lever (or grip shifter) that stops the motor before the shift occurs, and an auto shifting mode that can allow a drive motor to propel the bicycle (first information sent to drive unit) and shifts when a torque or cadence is reached (first information sent to drive unit prior to sending a shifting initiation signal).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “first communicator” ([0044], hardware device(s))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200231249A1 Ho in view of US20140235383A1 Wesling.
As per claim 1, Ho teaches:
A shifting device for a human-powered vehicle, the shifting device comprising: a transmission device configured to shift a transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle; a first controller configured to control the transmission device; (Ho at least the abstract, [0018], FIG. 1)
information including at least one of information related to a shifting time of the transmission ratio and information related to a shifting period of the transmission ratio. (Ho at least [0042], [0125-0132], [0201])
Ho does not disclose:
a first communicator configured to perform communication with a drive unit of the human-powered vehicle including a motor configured to apply a propulsion force to the human-powered vehicle, the first controller being further configured to control the first communicator so that the first communicator sends first information to the drive unit in a case where the first controller shifts the transmission ratio,
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least the abstract, [0043], [0070], [0021], FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0006], claim 9, [0018], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to decrease component wear (Wesling [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
a second communicator configured to receive a shifting signal for shifting the transmission ratio from a shift-operating unit, the first controller being configured to control the first communicator so that the first communicator sends the first information to the drive unit in a case where the second communicator receives the shifting signal.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0021-0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the second communicator is configured to receive the shifting signal through wireless communication. (Ho at least [0037])
Regarding claim 4, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the first controller is configured to control the transmission device so that the transmission device initiates shifting of the transmission ratio at an initiation time after a predetermined period elapses in a case where the shifting signal is received; and the first information includes at least one of the initiation time and the predetermined period. (Ho at least [0125-0132])
Regarding claim 5, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the first controller is configured to determine at least one of the shifting time and the shifting period in accordance with at least one of the transmission ratio prior to shifting and the transmission ratio subsequent to shifting. (Ho at least [0008], [0206], FIG. 19, FIGs. 20A 20B)
Regarding claim 6, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
the first controller is configured to control the transmission device in accordance with a shifting signal sent from the drive unit.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0018], [0055], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
a communication housing provided with the first communicator and formed separately from the transmission device. (Ho at least FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 8, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
the first communicator is configured to send the first information to the drive unit through wired communication.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
electric power is supplied from the drive unit.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the transmission device includes a derailleur. (Ho at least FIG. 1)
Conclusion
The claim limitation "the first communicator sends first information to the drive unit prior to sending a shifting initiation signal to the transmission device" can be interpreted in at least four different ways:
touch sensor on a shift lever to disconnect the motor prior to shifting gears (Wesling [0068])
an obviousness “make automatic” rationale for a well known e-bike shifting technique using the brake lever motor disconnect sensor (https://forums.electricbikereview.com/threads/pausing-motor-while-shifting-physical-motor-cutoff-switch.41727/)
automatic or semi-automatic shifting (Wesling at least [0018], [0006], claim 9) (a simplified explanation of the SRAM AXS Eagle coast shifting provided by https://youtu.be/WctGkCrXf0I?si=sKi8zl3gpK8bGhfX)
the delay in derailleur movement from the initiation of shifting from the shifting control lever to allow for the cassette to rotate to a shifting ramp/area (SRAM cassette mapping of the AXS Eagle system) (US20210269120A1)( https://cyclingmagazine.ca/mtb/sram-update-means-t-type-is-now-faster-but-is-it-fast-enough/)
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669