Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 7/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, of which 11-20 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US20220169337A1 (“Buechner”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “first communicator” ([0044], hardware device(s))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200231249A1 Ho in view of US20140235383A1 Wesling and US20220169337A1 (“Buechner”).
As per claim 1, Ho teaches:
A shifting device for a human-powered vehicle, the shifting device comprising: a transmission device configured to shift a transmission ratio of the human-powered vehicle; a first controller configured to control the transmission device; (Ho at least the abstract, [0018], FIG. 1)
information including at least one of information related to a shifting time of the transmission ratio and information related to a shifting period of the transmission ratio. (Ho at least [0042], [0125-0132], [0201])
Ho does not disclose:
a first communicator configured to perform communication with a drive unit of the human-powered vehicle including a motor configured to apply a propulsion force to the human-powered vehicle, the first controller being further configured to control the first communicator so that the first communicator sends first information to the drive unit in a case where the first controller shifts the transmission ratio,
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least the abstract, [0043], [0070], [0021], FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0006], claim 9, [0018], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to decrease component wear (Wesling [0010]).
Ho does not disclose:
the first information including a predetermined period for controlling the motor, the predetermined period being specified based on a rotational amount of a rotational body or crank axle.
Buechner teaches the aforementioned limitation (Buechner at least [0104]: “Since the release-side stabilizing tooth and the receiving-side stabilizing tooth are arranged in the circumferential region of the respectively assigned recess formation of upshift and downshift recess formation… delay an upshift operation initiated at a disadvantageous point in time, for example immediately after the release tooth has passed the chain-guiding roller, until a release tooth of the sprocket rotating in the drive direction of rotation approaches the chain-guiding roller again.”, [0108]: “If an upshift operation is now initiated such that an upshift region with a release tooth that is presently in engagement with an inner link plate chain link… delayed by the at least one stabilizing tooth until an upshift region whose release tooth is in engagement with an outer link plate chain link, or is engaging therewith in the present revolution of the sprocket, passes the derailleur.”).
Regarding claim 2, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
a second communicator configured to receive a shifting signal for shifting the transmission ratio from a shift-operating unit, the first controller being configured to control the first communicator so that the first communicator sends the first information to the drive unit in a case where the second communicator receives the shifting signal.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0021-0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the second communicator is configured to receive the shifting signal through wireless communication. (Ho at least [0037])
Regarding claim 4, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the first controller is configured to control the transmission device so that the transmission device initiates shifting of the transmission ratio at an initiation time after the predetermined period elapses in a case where the shifting signal is received; and the first information includes at least one of the initiation time. (Ho at least [0042]: “multiple shifts may be timed relative to one another. In an embodiment, user inputs commanding temporally overlapping front and rear shifts, for example recovery shifts where one gear changer performs and upshift and the other gear changer performs a downshift, may be manipulated to align and/or otherwise control the timing of these shifts.”, [0125-0132])
Regarding claim 5, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the first controller is configured to determine at least one of the shifting time and the shifting period in accordance with at least one of the transmission ratio prior to shifting and the transmission ratio subsequent to shifting. (Ho at least [0008], [0206], FIG. 19, FIGs. 20A 20B)
Regarding claim 6, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
the first controller is configured to control the transmission device in accordance with a shifting signal sent from the drive unit.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0018], [0055], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
a communication housing provided with the first communicator and formed separately from the transmission device. (Ho at least FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 8, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
the first communicator is configured to send the first information to the drive unit through wired communication.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho does not disclose:
electric power is supplied from the drive unit.
Wesling teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wesling at least [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ho with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ho in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Ho additionally teaches:
the transmission device includes a derailleur. (Ho at least FIG. 1)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669