DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant filed an RCE on 01/30/2026. Claims 1, 5, and 15 were amended. Claim 21 was newly added. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are presented and pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 with respect to Yoo (US20210031725A1) in view of Schneider et al. (US20230206942A1) have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection of the newly amended claim limitation does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US20210031725A1) in view of Schneider et al. (US20230206942A1) and in further view of Zhou et al. (US20230100827A1), hereinafter referred to as Yoo, Schneider and Zhou respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 14, 15 and 20, Yoo discloses a vehicle comprising:
a microphone (“the rain sensor includes a microphone” [0009]);
one or more processors (“and a processor that determines precipitation” [0011]);
and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (“The memory (not illustrated) may be implemented with at least one of storage media such a flash memory, a Random Access Memory (RAM), a Static Random Access Memory (SRAM), a Read Only Memory (ROM), a Programmable Read Only Memory (PROM), an Electrically Erasable and Programmable ROM (EEPROM), an Erasable and Programmable ROM (EPROM), a register, and the like.” [0044]) which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving an audio signal from the microphone (“The processor 130 receives sensing signals” [0044]);
estimating, based at least in part on the determined number of raindrops, a characteristic associated with an environment of the vehicle (“the processor 130 may estimate (measure) the amount and speed of raindrops in view of strength and frequency characteristics of the sound signal.” [0046]);
determining, based at least in part on the estimated characteristic, that the environment is outside of an approved operational design domain (ODD) for the vehicle (“determining, by the rain sensor, a rainfall step based on at least one of the sound signal or the detected capacitance change; and controlling, by a wiper controller, a movement of the wiper according to the rainfall step.” [0023]);
Yoo does not explicitly teach applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) to the received audio signal to generate a spectrogram of the received audio signal
processing, using a convolutional neural network (CNN), at least part of the generated spectrogram to determine a number of raindrops striking the vehicle in a vicinity of the microphone within an interval
However, Schneider does teach applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) to the received audio signal to generate a spectrogram of the received audio signal (“In some embodiments, the 2D representation of the vibration waveform 1239 is generated by a log STFT operation 1235 and a vibrational waveform 1232.” [0510]);
processing, using a convolutional neural network (CNN), at least part of the generated spectrogram to determine a number of raindrops striking the vehicle in a vicinity of the microphone within an interval (“An unprocessed vibration waveform 1240 may be retained for processing by the vibration fusion convolutional neural network.” [0510]). Both Yoo and Schneider teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Schneider explicitly teaches applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) to the received audio signal to generate a spectrogram of the received audio signal, processing, using a convolutional neural network (CNN), at least part of the generated spectrogram to determine a number of raindrops striking the vehicle in a vicinity of the microphone within an interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo to also include applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) to the received audio signal to generate a spectrogram of the received audio signal, processing, using a convolutional neural network (CNN), at least part of the generated spectrogram to determine a number of raindrops striking the vehicle in a vicinity of the microphone within an interval, as taught by Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Schneider, 0510]).
Yoo in view of Schneider does not explicitly teach controlling, based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD, autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment.
However, Zhou does teach controlling, based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD, autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment (“The end result of this modeling approach is the ability to give a discrete classification or continuous regression/estimation of road wetness, which has a number of beneficial uses. These include the triggering of safety precautions (e.g., pulling over for roads too wet to handle); causing a change in real-time motion control (e.g., adjusting acceleration/deceleration, braking distance, changing lanes, etc.); making changes to the perception system (e.g., modifying thresholds for filtering, sensor noise level, sensor field of view adaptation, sensor validation logic, pedestrian detectors, etc.)” [0100] and “the model can be used during real-time driving operations of the vehicle. For instance, the model can be deployed in autonomous vehicles, such as a fleet of vehicles shown in FIG. 12A for classifying/regressing the road wetness with on-board and/or off-board signals as the input, without referring to the ground truth. The model can be applied by each vehicle to enhance autonomous operation. This can include, for instance, altering current driving actions (e.g., changing lanes, slowing down, changing the rate of deceleration, speeding up, etc.), modifying planned routes or trajectories, activating on-board cleaning systems (e.g., a wiper system, defogger, defroster or the like), etc.” [0118]). Both Yoo in view of Schneider and Zhou teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Zhou explicitly teaches controlling, based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD, autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo in view of Schneider to also include controlling, based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD, autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment, as taught by Zhou, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves autonomous vehicle operations (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Zhou, 0100, 0118]).
Regarding claims 2, 6 and 16, Yoo discloses The vehicle of claim 1,
and the estimating of the characteristic comprises estimating, using the data indicative of the speed of the vehicle and the determined number of raindrops striking the vehicle in within the interval, the absolute rain rate (“The processor may determine a rainfall step by estimating a size, an amount, and a speed of a raindrop by analyzing the capacitance change.” [0020])
Yoo does not explicitly teach wherein: the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval;
However, Schneider does teach wherein: the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval;(“ In some embodiments, vehicle data such as audio data and engine vibration data may be recorded by the user’s mobile device or a separate device, such as an MVDD. Then, engine data streams, such as rpms, voltage, and system temperature, may be obtained from the OBDII port by the user’s mobile device or the MVDD.” [0562]). Both Yoo and Schneider teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Schneider explicitly teaches the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo to also include the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval, as taught by Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Schneider, 0562]).
Regarding claims 7, 12, 13 and 19,
Yoo does not explicitly teach comprising obtaining data indicative of an environmental condition, wherein: the processing comprises processing, using the neural network, the data indicative of the environmental condition together with the audio feature
and the environmental condition comprises any of wind velocity, humidity, air temperature, or air pressure
However, Schneider does teach comprising obtaining data indicative of an environmental condition, wherein: the processing comprises processing, using the neural network, the data indicative of the environmental condition together with the audio feature (“instructions that when executed by the at least one computer hardware processor perform a method for using a trained machine learning (ML) model to detect presence of environmental noise in audio acquired at least in part during operation of an engine of a vehicle, the method comprising: obtaining a first audio recording that was acquired, using at least one acoustic sensor, at least in part during operation of the engine; and processing the first audio recording, using the trained ML model, to detect the presence of environmental noise in the first audio recording, the processing comprising: generating an audio waveform from the first audio recording, and processing the audio waveform using the trained ML model to obtain output indicating whether environmental noise was present in the first audio recording.” See at least [0110]);
and the environmental condition comprises any of wind velocity, humidity, air temperature, or air pressure (“In some embodiments, the environmental noise includes one or more types of noise selected from the group consisting of: rain noise, water flow noise, wind noise, human speech, sound generated by a device not attached to vehicle, sound generated by one or more vehicles different from the vehicle.” [0115]). Both Yoo and Schneider teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Schneider explicitly teaches the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo to also include the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval, as taught by Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Schneider, 0110, 0115]).
Regarding claim 11,
Yoo does not explicitly teach wherein the neural network is a fine-tuned neural network, the method comprising: obtaining a set of base layers of a pre-trained neural network, wherein the pre-trained neural network has been trained to detect audio events
adding a network head to the set of base layers to obtain an intermediate neural network
and training the intermediate neural network using data comprising training audio features with respective labels indicating respective characteristics associated with the training audio features, thereby to obtain the fine-tuned neural network
However, Schneider does teach wherein the neural network is a fine-tuned neural network, the method comprising: obtaining a set of base layers of a pre-trained neural network, wherein the pre-trained neural network has been trained to detect audio events (“Some embodiments provide for a method for using a trained machine learning (ML) model to detect presence of vehicle defects from audio acquired at least in part during operation” [0004]);
adding a network head to the set of base layers to obtain an intermediate neural network (“a first neural network portion comprising a plurality of one-dimensional (1D) convolutional layers configured to process the audio waveform” [0019]);
and training the intermediate neural network using data comprising training audio features with respective labels indicating respective characteristics associated with the training audio features, thereby to obtain the fine-tuned neural network (“he training data may include audio, vibration, and/or any other types of signals acquired by MVDD sensors from vehicles.” [0288]). Both Yoo and Schneider teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Schneider explicitly teaches the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo to also include the operations comprise obtaining data indicative of a speed of the vehicle within the interval, as taught by Schneider, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Schneider, 0004, 0019, 0288]).
Regarding claim 21,
Yoo in view of Schneider does not explicitly teach wherein controlling autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD comprises one or more of:(i) restricting vehicle maneuvers performable by the vehicle;(ii) suspending full autonomous driving operations;(iii) causing the vehicle to pull over or stop;(iv) causing vehicle control to be based at least in part on instructions from a remote operator; or (v) determining to not implement a trajectory determined by a planning component of the vehicle.
However, Zhou does teach wherein controlling autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD comprises one or more of:(i) restricting vehicle maneuvers performable by the vehicle;(ii) suspending full autonomous driving operations;(iii) causing the vehicle to pull over or stop;(iv) causing vehicle control to be based at least in part on instructions from a remote operator; or (v) determining to not implement a trajectory determined by a planning component of the vehicle (“The end result of this modeling approach is the ability to give a discrete classification or continuous regression/estimation of road wetness, which has a number of beneficial uses. These include the triggering of safety precautions (e.g., pulling over for roads too wet to handle); causing a change in real-time motion control (e.g., adjusting acceleration/deceleration, braking distance, changing lanes, etc.); making changes to the perception system (e.g., modifying thresholds for filtering, sensor noise level, sensor field of view adaptation, sensor validation logic, pedestrian detectors, etc.)” [0100] and “the model can be used during real-time driving operations of the vehicle. For instance, the model can be deployed in autonomous vehicles, such as a fleet of vehicles shown in FIG. 12A for classifying/regressing the road wetness with on-board and/or off-board signals as the input, without referring to the ground truth. The model can be applied by each vehicle to enhance autonomous operation. This can include, for instance, altering current driving actions (e.g., changing lanes, slowing down, changing the rate of deceleration, speeding up, etc.), modifying planned routes or trajectories, activating on-board cleaning systems (e.g., a wiper system, defogger, defroster or the like), etc.” [0118]). Both Yoo in view of Schneider and Zhou teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Zhou explicitly teaches wherein controlling autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD comprises one or more of:(i) restricting vehicle maneuvers performable by the vehicle;(ii) suspending full autonomous driving operations;(iii) causing the vehicle to pull over or stop;(iv) causing vehicle control to be based at least in part on instructions from a remote operator; or (v) determining to not implement a trajectory determined by a planning component of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo in view of Schneider to also include wherein controlling autonomous navigation of the vehicle through the environment based at least in part on the determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD comprises one or more of:(i) restricting vehicle maneuvers performable by the vehicle;(ii) suspending full autonomous driving operations;(iii) causing the vehicle to pull over or stop;(iv) causing vehicle control to be based at least in part on instructions from a remote operator; or (v) determining to not implement a trajectory determined by a planning component of the vehicle, as taught by Zhou, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves autonomous vehicle operations (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Zhou, 0100, 0118]).
Claims 3, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Schneider and in further view of Smith et al . (US20200066257A1), hereinafter referred to as Yoo, Schneider and Smith respectively.
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 17, Yoo in view of Schneider discloses wherein: the microphone is a first microphone disposed at a first position on the vehicle (“The first sensor may include a Micro Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) microphone.” [0012]);
the audio signal is a first audio signal (a first sensor that is disposed on a first surface of the substrate and that senses a sound signal” [0011]);
Yoo in view of Schneider does not explicitly teach the operations comprise receiving a second audio signal from a second microphone disposed at a second position on the vehicle
and the estimating of the characteristic is further based on the second audio signal
However, Smith does teach the operations comprise receiving a second audio signal from a second microphone disposed at a second position on the vehicle (“the second microphone configured to output a second audio signal, whereby a difference in the audio signal output by the microphone disposed in the housing and the second audio signal is used to improve the accuracy of event classification.” [0032]);
and the estimating of the characteristic is further based on the second audio signal (“the second audio signal is used to improve the accuracy of event classification.” [0032]). Both Yoo in view of Schneider and Smith teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Smith explicitly teaches the operations comprise receiving a second audio signal from a second microphone disposed at a second position on the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo in view of Schneider to also include the operations comprise receiving a second audio signal from a second microphone disposed at a second position on the vehicle, as taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Smith, 0032]).
Claims 4, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Schneider and in further view of Kawamoto (US11835954B2), hereinafter referred to as Yoo, Schneider and Kawamoto respectively.
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 18,
Yoo in view of Schneider does not explicitly teach wherein the operations comprise suspending full autonomous driving operations based at least in part on determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD.
However, Kawamoto does teach wherein the operations comprise suspending full autonomous driving operations based at least in part on determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD (“In step S105, the autonomous driving control section 53 terminates autonomous driving mode to switch to manual driving mode.”[Col.22 ln 14-16]). Both Yoo in view of Schneider and Kawamoto teach methods for determining vehicle environment characteristics. However, Kawamoto explicitly teaches wherein the operations comprise suspending full autonomous driving operations based at least in part on determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring and classification method of Yoo in view of Schneider to also include wherein the operations comprise suspending full autonomous driving operations based at least in part on determining that the environment is outside of the approved ODD, as taught by Kawamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the detection of vehicle environment events (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kawamoto, Col.22]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668