DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AGIWAL, Anil (US-20210099954-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Anil).
Regarding independent claim(s) 1 and 11, Anil teaches:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (e.g., UE of Anil) in a wireless communication system (e.g., 5th generation wireless communication system of Anil), the method comprising: receiving a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (e.g., a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) structure (FIG. 2K) of Anil) including a MAC control element (CE) (e.g., MAC CE of Anil) indicating at least one target cell configuration (e.g., the search space configuration identifier for the WUS can be indicated (by the gNB) to the UE using MAC control element (CE)) (See at least Anil, ¶ [0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU... The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…"); and performing a primary cell (PCell) change (e.g., handover or cell/BS/TRP switching of Anil) to a target cell based on the at least one target cell configuration (See at least Anil, ¶ [0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU... The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…control information may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The control information may include one or more of buffer status indication, beam information (e.g., one or more DL TX beam ID(s) or SSB ID(s)), beam failure recovery indication/information, data indicator, cell/BS/TRP switching indication, connection re-establishment indication, reconfiguration complete or handover complete message, etc…").
Regarding independent claim(s) 6 and 16, Anil teaches:
A method performed by a base station (e.g., gNB of Anil) in a wireless communication system (e.g., 5th generation wireless communication system of Anil), the method comprising: generating a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (e.g., a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) structure (FIG. 2K) of Anil) including a MAC control element (CE) (e.g., MAC CE of Anil) indicating at least one target cell configuration (e.g., the search space configuration identifier for the WUS can be indicated (by the gNB) to the UE using MAC control element (CE)) (See at least Anil, ¶ [0288, 0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…Several RARs for various Random access preambles detected by the gNB can be multiplexed in the same RAR MAC PDU by the gNB…", "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU... The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…"); and transmitting the MAC PDU including the MAC CE (See at least Anil, ¶ [0292, 0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…after MsgA transmission, the UE monitors for a response from the network (i.e. the gNB) within a configured window. The response is also referred as MsgB…", "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…control information may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The control information may include one or more of buffer status indication, beam information (e.g., one or more DL TX beam ID(s) or SSB ID(s)), beam failure recovery indication/information, data indicator, cell/BS/TRP switching indication, connection re-establishment indication, reconfiguration complete or handover complete message, etc…") wherein the at least one target cell configuration is associated with a target cell to which a primary cell (PCell) change (e.g., via a handover or cell/BS/TRP switching operation of Anil) is performed (See at least Anil, ¶ [0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…control information may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The control information may include one or more of buffer status indication, beam information (e.g., one or more DL TX beam ID(s) or SSB ID(s)), beam failure recovery indication/information, data indicator, cell/BS/TRP switching indication, connection re-establishment indication, reconfiguration complete or handover complete message, etc…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 2, 7, 12 and 17, Anil teaches:
wherein the MAC PDU further includes a MAC header (e.g., MAC Header (FIG. 2K) of Anil) that indicates whether a message authentication code for integrity (MAC-I) (e.g., message authentication code (MAC-I) of Anil) for the MAC CE (e.g., MAC CE of Anil) is included in the MAC PDU (e.g., a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) structure (FIG. 2K) of Anil) (See at least Anil, ¶ [0334, 0352, 0482]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…Referring to FIG. 2G, in NR, multiple unicast links can be established between same pair of UEs... Source Layer L2 ID, Destination L2 ID and LCID 0 is included in MAC PDU... Same issue will occur for security mode command, security mode complete and other signaling messages…", "…Link ID is included in SL SCH MAC header of SL SCH MAC PDU as shown in 2K-10. So, MAC SDU(s) of one unicast link are multiplexed in MAC PDU…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 3 and 13, Anil teaches:
wherein the MAC-I (e.g., message authentication code (MAC-I) of Anil) is determined by a MAC entity of the terminal (See at least Anil, ¶ [0334, 0367]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…FIG. 2E illustrates the use of the integrity algorithm EIA to authenticate the integrity of messages. Based on these input parameters the sender computes a 32-bit message authentication code (MAC-I) using the integrity algorithm EIA…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 4 and 14, Anil teaches:
performing, by a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity (e.g., packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) of Anil) of the terminal, an integrity verification for the MAC-I (e.g., message authentication code (MAC-I) of Anil) (See at least Anil, ¶ [0306, 0319, 0334, 0367]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…The UE requests transmission resources from the gNB. The gNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data…", "…Protection for the signaling and user plane data between the UEs is provided at the PDCP layer…", "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…FIG. 2E illustrates the use of the integrity algorithm EIA to authenticate the integrity of messages. Based on these input parameters the sender computes a 32-bit message authentication code (MAC-I) using the integrity algorithm EIA…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 5 and 15, Anil teaches:
receiving a UE information request message (See at least Anil, ¶ [0306]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…The UE requests transmission resources from the gNB. The gNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data…"); and transmitting a UE information response message including capability information indicating whether the UE supports processing of the MAC PDU (See at least Anil, ¶ [0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…control information may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The control information may include one or more of buffer status indication, beam information (e.g., one or more DL TX beam ID(s) or SSB ID(s)), beam failure recovery indication/information, data indicator, cell/BS/TRP switching indication, connection re-establishment indication, reconfiguration complete or handover complete message, etc…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 8 and 18, Anil teaches:
wherein the MAC-I is generated by a MAC entity of the base station (See at least Anil, ¶ [0306, 0319, 0334, 0367]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…The UE requests transmission resources from the gNB. The gNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data…", "…Protection for the signaling and user plane data between the UEs is provided at the PDCP layer…", "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…FIG. 2E illustrates the use of the integrity algorithm EIA to authenticate the integrity of messages. Based on these input parameters the sender computes a 32-bit message authentication code (MAC-I) using the integrity algorithm EIA…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 9 and 19, Anil teaches:
wherein the MAC-I is generated by a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of the base station (See at least Anil, ¶ [0306, 0319, 0334, 0367]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…The UE requests transmission resources from the gNB. The gNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data…", "…Protection for the signaling and user plane data between the UEs is provided at the PDCP layer…", "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…FIG. 2E illustrates the use of the integrity algorithm EIA to authenticate the integrity of messages. Based on these input parameters the sender computes a 32-bit message authentication code (MAC-I) using the integrity algorithm EIA…").
Regarding dependent claim(s) 10 and 20, Anil teaches:
transmitting a UE information request message (See at least Anil, ¶ [0306, 0319, 0334, 0367]; FIGS. 2A, 2E, 2K, 2G; "…The UE requests transmission resources from the gNB. The gNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data…", "…Protection for the signaling and user plane data between the UEs is provided at the PDCP layer…", "…For integrity protection algorithms the receiver verifies the data integrity of the message by comparing it to the received message authentication code, i.e. MAC-I…", "…FIG. 2E illustrates the use of the integrity algorithm EIA to authenticate the integrity of messages. Based on these input parameters the sender computes a 32-bit message authentication code (MAC-I) using the integrity algorithm EIA…"); and receiving a UE information response message including capability information indicating whether the UE supports processing of the MAC PDU (See at least Anil, ¶ [0293]; FIGS. 2A, 2K; "…The UE ID may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The UE ID such as C-RNTI may be carried in MAC CE wherein MAC CE is included in MAC PDU…control information may be included in the MAC PDU of the MsgA. The control information may include one or more of buffer status indication, beam information (e.g., one or more DL TX beam ID(s) or SSB ID(s)), beam failure recovery indication/information, data indicator, cell/BS/TRP switching indication, connection re-establishment indication, reconfiguration complete or handover complete message, etc…").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO–892)
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217 – 9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786 – 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 – 1000.
/IDOWU O OSIFADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675