Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JAPAN 2021-107737, filed on 06/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023, 03/07/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/392436 filed on 12/21/2023.
Claims 1-3, 4-5, 6-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) in view of Harada et al. ( US 20240090054, hereinafter, Harada’s 054 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) teaches a communication apparatus configured to connected to a master node associated with a master cell group ( N ode associated with serving cell of first cell group) [see Figure 24 ] and connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (Node associated with Serving cell of the second cell group ) [see Figure 24 ] , the communication apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information) [see Figure 18 and Figures 21-25, and Paragraphs 0212 & 0213 & 0219 & 0220 & 0212 & 0236 & & 0240 & 0245 & 0249 & 0303 & 0311 & 0407 & 0375 & 0469 & 0373 & 0380 & 0381 & 0382 & 0407 & 0428 & 0272-0274 & 0220 & 0212];
the first information indicating deactivation of the secondary cell group (the first information indicating deactivation of the secondary cell group) [see Paragraphs 0434-0437 ] ,
the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP (the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP) [see Paragraph 0212] ,
a controller configured
to perform the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information (to perform the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information) [see Paragraphs 0434-0437 ], and
perform the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information (perform the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information) [see Paragraph 0407 ] , and
a transmitter configured to on a basis of the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, transmit an SCGFailureInformation message (SCGFAILUREINFORMATION ) [see Figure 26A and Figure 26B ] for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell (a transmitter configured to on a basis of the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, transmit an SCGFailureInformation message for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell ) [see Paragraph 0469 ].
However, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) does not explicitly teach a configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message.
US 20240090054, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information ) [see Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0152 & 0039 & 0033].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230337020 in view of US 20240090054 because US 20240090054 suggests that In order to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs in MR-DC, 3GPP Rel-17 includes a work item for efficient SCG/SCell activation/deactivation. This can be especially important for MR-DC configurations with NR SCG since, in some cases, NR UE energy consumption is three-to-four times higher than in LTE.
Regarding to the claim 2, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) further teaches wherein the receiver is configured to receive information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message, the transmitter is configured to transmit the SCGFailureInformation message based on the information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message (SCGFAILUREINFORMATION ) [see Figure 26A and Figure 26B and Paragraph 0469 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) teaches a master node ( Node associated with Serving cell of first cell group 1930 ) [see Figure 24 ] configured to connected to a communication apparatus (UE 1910 ) [see Figure 24 ] and connected to a secondary node (Node associated with Serving cell of the second cell group 1920 ) [see Figure 24 ] associated with a secondary cell group, the master node ( Node associated with Serving cell of first cell group 1930 ) comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus (the UE 1910 ) , a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information) [see Figure 18 and Figures 21-25, and Paragraphs 0212 & 0213 & 0219 & 0220 & 0212 & 0236 & & 0240 & 0245 & 0249 & 0303 & 0311 & 0407 & 0375 & 0469 & 0373 & 0380 & 0381 & 0382 & 0407 & 0428 & 0272-0274 & 0220 & 0212] ,
the first information indicating deactivation of the secondary cell group (the first information indicating deactivation of the secondary cell group) [see Paragraphs 0434-0437 ],
the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP (the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP) [see Paragraph 0212],
a controller configured to control the communication apparatus to
perform the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information (perform the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information) [see Paragraphs 0434-0437 ], and
perform the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information (perform the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information) [see Paragraph 0407 ], and
a receiver configured to
in a case where the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, receive, from the communication apparatus, an SCGFailureInformation (SCGFAILUREINFORMATION) message for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell ( in a case where the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, receive, from the communication apparatus, an SCGFailureInformation message for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell) [see Paragraph 0469] .
However, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) does not explicitly teach a configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message.
US 20240090054, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information ) [see Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0152 & 0039 & 0033].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230337020 in view of US 20240090054 because US 20240090054 suggests that In order to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs in MR-DC, 3GPP Rel-17 includes a work item for efficient SCG/SCell activation/deactivation. This can be especially important for MR-DC configurations with NR SCG since, in some cases, NR UE energy consumption is three-to-four times higher than in LTE.
Regarding to the claim 5, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) further teaches wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message, the receiver is configured to receive the SCGFailureInformation message based on the information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message ) wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message, the receiver is configured to receive the SCGFailureInformation message based on the information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message) (SCGFAILUREINFORMATION) [see Figure 26A and Figure 26B and Paragraph 0469].
Regarding to the claim 6, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) teaches a communication method executed by a communication apparatus configured to connected to a master node associated with a master cell group and connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group, the communication method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information) [see Figure 18 and Figures 21-25, and Paragraphs 0212 & 0213 & 0219 & 0220 & 0212 & 0236 & & 0240 & 0245 & 0249 & 0303 & 0311 & 0407 & 0375 & 0469 & 0373 & 0380 & 0381 & 0382 & 0407 & 0428 & 0272-0274 & 0220 & 0212] ,
the first information indicating deactivation of the secondary cell group,
the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP ( the second information indicating a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for beam failure detection in a case where the deactivation of the secondary cell group is indicated, the third information configuring a resource of a reference signal for the beam failure detection on the downlink BWP ) [see Paragraph 0212 ] ;
performing the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information (performing the deactivation of the secondary cell group based on the first information) [see Paragraphs 0434-0437 ];
performing the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information (performing the beam failure detection according to evaluation of the resource of the reference signal based on the second information and the third information) [see Paragraph 0407 ] ; and
on a basis of the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, transmitting an SCGFailureInformation ( SCGFAILUREINFORMATION) [see Figure 26A and Figure 26B ] message for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell (on a basis of the beam failure of a primary secondary cell belonging to the deactivated secondary cell group is detected, transmitting an SCGFailureInformation message for the beam failure of the primary secondary cell) [see Paragraph 0469 ].
However, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) does not explicitly teach a configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message.
US 20240090054, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information (a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including first information, second information and third information ) [see Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0152 & 0039 & 0033].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230337020 in view of US 20240090054 because US 20240090054 suggests that In order to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs in MR-DC, 3GPP Rel-17 includes a work item for efficient SCG/SCell activation/deactivation. This can be especially important for MR-DC configurations with NR SCG since, in some cases, NR UE energy consumption is three-to-four times higher than in LTE.
Regarding to the claim 7, ( US 20230337020, Provisional Application No. 63085117 ) further teaches receiving information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message; and transmitting the SCGFailureInformation message based on the information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message (receiving information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message; and transmitting the SCGFailureInformation message based on the information used for determining transmission of the SCGFailureInformation message) (SCGFAILUREINFORMATION) [see Figure 26A and Figure 26B and Paragraph 0469].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose “wherein the controller includes a physical layer, a MAC (Medium Access Control) layer, and an RRC layer, the physical layer is configured to notify the MAC layer of a beam failure instance indicator based on the evaluation of the resource of the reference signal, and the MAC layer is configured to notify the RRC layer of the beam failure on a basis of the beam failure instance indicator and a value of a counter”.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose “wherein the communication apparatus includes a physical layer, a MAC (Medium Access Control) layer, and an RRC layer, the communication method further comprising: notifying by the physical layer, the MAC layer of a beam failure instance indicator based on the evaluation of the resource of the reference signal; and notifying by the MAC layer, the RRC layer of the beam failure on a basis of the beam failure instance indicator and a value of a counter ”.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412