DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 15-19, 21, 23, 25-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (2022/0377641) and Jin et al. (2021/0337394) hereinafter “Jin”.
As to claim 1, Liu discloses A distributed network node for wireless communication, comprising:
a processing system (130) that includes one or more processors (131) and one or more memories (132) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured (see [0159], Fig 3, [0067]) to cause the distributed network node to:
transmit, to a central network node, a restriction indication ([0147]: “PCI conflict report”) that indicates a restriction for a physical cell identifier (PCI) configuration of a cell that is served by the distributed network node, the distributed network node being associated with an integrated access and backhaul node, see [0060]; and
receive, from the central network node, a PCI configuration ([0064]-[0066] … mobile IAB is configured with (re-sent) non-conflicting PCI) of the cell that is in accordance with the restriction indication. Also see [0068].
Liu is silent to yet in an analogous art Jin discloses wherein the restriction indication includes a first PCI value that is not to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell and a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and
wherein the PCI configuration of the cell includes a PCI value that does not correspond to the first PCI value and that is in accordance with the plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell.
See [0020]: “…A central unit determines first information, where the first information includes at least one of the following: allowed physical cell identifier PCI information, unallowed PCI information, or PCI conflict information; and the central unit sends the first information to a distributed unit.”
And [0021]: “In this embodiment of this application, the central unit sends the first information to the distributed unit, and the first information is used to indicate the allowed PCI information, the unallowed PCI information, or the PCI conflict information, so that the distributed unit determines a PCI of a serving cell of the distributed unit based on the first information. In this way, a PCI allocation and optimization solution can be provided, to improve PCI allocation efficiency.”. Also see Fig 6.
Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu wherein the restriction indication includes a first PCI value that is not to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell and a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and wherein the PCI configuration of the cell includes a PCI value that does not correspond to the first PCI value and that is in accordance with the plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, as taught by Jin for the purpose of improving efficiency.
As to claim 3. (Currently Amended) The combination of Liu and Jin provide for the distributed network node of claim 1, Jin discloses wherein the restriction indication includes a plurality of PCI values that are not to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and wherein the PCI configuration includes PCI values that do not correspond with any of the plurality of PCI values identified in the restriction indication. See [0098]-[0099], [0112].
As to claims 5 & 6, the combination of Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node (as applied above to claim 1), wherein the cell (claim 5) / a PCI value (claim 6) is indicated using a cell identifier. See [0105]-[0106].
As to claim 7, (Original) the combination of Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 6, wherein, to cause the distributed network node to receive the PCI configuration of the cell, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to receive a PCI configuration of the cell that includes another PCI value that is equal to the PCI value. See Figs 4-5 of Jin.
As to claim 8, (Original) the combination of Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 6, wherein, to cause the distributed network node to receive the PCI configuration of the cell, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to receive a PCI configuration of the cell that includes another PCI value that is different than the PCI value. See Figs 4-5 of Jin.
As to claim 9, (Original) the combination of Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 5, wherein the cell identifier is a cell global identity. See Jin [0105].
As to claim 15, the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 1, (inherently) wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit, to the central network node, another restriction indication that includes an updated restriction for the PCI configuration of the cell.
As to claim 16, the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 15, is silent to wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication in accordance with the distributed network node adding or deleting another cell having a PCI value associated with the updated restriction. The examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the instant invention it was well known in the art to update a network in real time when adding or deleting another cell and that at the minimum such would result in the detection and transmission as applied above.
As to claim 17, the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 15, is silent to wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication in accordance with the distributed network node activating or deactivating another cell having a PCI value associated with the updated restriction. The examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the instant invention it was well known in the art to update a network in real time when activating or deactivating another cell and that at the minimum such would result in the detection and transmission as applied above.
As to claim 18, the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 1, to (inherently) cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the other restriction indication in accordance with the distributed network node reconfiguring a PCI value for another cell that is served by the distributed network node.
As to claim 19, the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 1, wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication that indicates the restriction for the PCI configuration of the cell, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit a restriction indication that (inherently) indicates a restriction for a PCI configuration of a frequency resource, wherein the cell is associated with the frequency resource.
As to claim 21, Liu discloses A central network node (see [0046]: (“CU” 120 of “CU-DU in an IAB system”, Fig 3) for wireless communication, comprising:
a processing system (see [0158]: Fig 12) that includes one or more processors (121) and one or more memories (122) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the central network node to:
receive (see [0147]: PCI conflict report), from a distributed network node associated with an integrated access and backhaul node, a restriction indication that indicates a restriction for a physical cell identifier (PCI) configuration of a cell that is served by the distributed network node (see [0060]; and
transmit, (see [0064]-[0066]: “configuring” implies transmission given Fig 11) to the distributed network node, a PCI configuration of the cell that is in accordance with (“selecting a PCI that does not conflict with a PCI of the first cell”) the restriction indication.
Liu is silent to yet in an analogous art Jin discloses wherein the restriction indication includes a first PCI value that is not to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell and a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and
wherein the PCI configuration of the cell includes a PCI value that does not correspond to the first PCI value and that is in accordance with the plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell. See [0020]: “…A central unit determines first information, where the first information includes at least one of the following: allowed physical cell identifier PCI information, unallowed PCI information, or PCI conflict information; and the central unit sends the first information to a distributed unit.” And [0021]: “In this embodiment of this application, the central unit sends the first information to the distributed unit, and the first information is used to indicate the allowed PCI information, the unallowed PCI information, or the PCI conflict information, so that the distributed unit determines a PCI of a serving cell of the distributed unit based on the first information. In this way, a PCI allocation and optimization solution can be provided, to improve PCI allocation efficiency.”. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu wherein the restriction indication includes a first PCI value that is not to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell and a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and wherein the PCI configuration of the cell includes a PCI value that does not correspond to the first PCI value and that is in accordance with the plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, as taught by Jin for the purpose of improving efficiency.
Claims 23 and 25-28 correspond to claims 3 and 5-8 respectively. Corresponding citations apply as above
Claims 29, 31, & 32 and 30, 33, & 34 recite methods corresponding to the apparatus / nodes of claims 1, 5, & 23 and 21, 5, & 23 respectively. See above for corresponding claim mapping.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Jin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (2021/0345232), hereinafter “Zhou”.
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) the combination of Liu and Jin provides for The distributed network node of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Zhou discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit, on a shared frequency resource, a first synchronization signal block (SSB) that is in accordance with the PCI configuration (new / changed PCI) and a second SSB that is in accordance with a restricted PCI value (original / conflicting PCI). Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to transmit, on a shared frequency resource, a first synchronization signal block (SSB) that is in accordance with the PCI configuration (new / changed PCI) and a second SSB that is in accordance with a restricted PCI value as taught by Zhou for the purpose of positioning.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 12, 13, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Jin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lenovo (3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #119 R3-230341, “PCI collision mitigation of mobile IAB-node mobility”, 2/17/2023.
As to claim 4, Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Lenovo discloses wherein the restriction indication includes a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and wherein, to cause the distributed network node to receive the PCI configuration of the cell, the processing system is (inherently) configured to cause the distributed network node to receive a PCI configuration of the cell that is in accordance with a PCI value of the plurality PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell. See Proposals 3 & 4. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to wherein the restriction indication includes a plurality of PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell, and wherein, to cause the distributed network node to receive the PCI configuration of the cell, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to receive a PCI configuration of the cell that is in accordance with a PCI value of the plurality PCI values that are allowed to be used for the PCI configuration of the cell for the purpose of optimization.
Claim 24 corresponds to claim 4, see corresponding citations as applied above.
As to claim 10, Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Lenovo discloses wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication to the central network node, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication to the central network node in accordance with transmitting an indication of a restricted PCI value to another cell. See 7.8 wherein its known to additionally notify IAB-donor-CU. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu to cause the node to transmit in accordance with transmitting an indication of a restricted PCI value to another cell for the purpose of system optimization and/or handoff notification / preparation.
As to claim 12, the combination of Liu, Jin, and Lenovo discloses The distributed network node of claim 10, wherein the other cell is associated with another central network node, wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication to the central network node, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with transmitting an indication of the other cell to the other central network node. (See Lenovo: 7.8 wherein its known to additionally notify IAB-donor-CU).
As to claim 13, the combination of Liu, Jin, and Lenovo disclose The distributed network node of claim 10, wherein the other cell is associated with another central network node (IAB-donor-CU), wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication to the central network node, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with an indication that the other central network node has activated the other cell. The examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the instant application it would known to transmit/receive an activation indication and therefore before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with an indication that the other central network node has activated the other cell to avoid interference.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jin, and Lenovo as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (2022/0232655) hereinafter “Noh”.
As to claim 11, the combination of Liu, Jin, and Lenovo discloses The distributed network node of claim 10, is silent to yet in an analogous art Noh discloses wherein the cell is associated with a first frequency carrier and the other cell is associated with a second frequency carrier, wherein the first frequency carrier at least partially overlaps with the second frequency carrier, (see [0395]-[0399] for DC-CA, such cooperation is necessary) and wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication to the central network node, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with the first frequency carrier overlapping with the second frequency carrier. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with the first frequency carrier overlapping with the second frequency carrier for the purpose of avoiding interference in DC-CA embodiments.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Jin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2025/0150874).
As to claim 20, Liu and Jin discloses The distributed network node of claim 1, wherein, to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication, the processing system is configured to cause the distributed network node to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with receiving another PCI configuration of the cell (inherently - nothing to prevent such), is silent to yet in an analogous art Kim discloses and in accordance with rejecting the other PCI configuration or indicating a failure to apply the other PCI configuration. See [0407]-[-408] Kim teaches to send a rejection message upon receiving a conflicting configuration message. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to transmit the restriction indication in accordance with rejecting the other PCI configuration or indicating a failure to apply the other PCI configuration as taught by Kim for the purpose of allowing notifications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649